Oil & Gas Careers V6, Upstream and Downstream

Stamp
post Nov 29 2014, 10:07 PM

4,864 posts

It's going to be a tough year in 2015.

Petronas' cutting CAPEX by almost 20%, unless the oil price is over USD80bbl.

Experts predict the oil price will only go up to the USD100bbl level in mid 2016. hmm.gif

http://www.thestar.com.my/Business/Busines...n-Pe/?style=biz
Stamp
post Dec 3 2014, 01:41 AM

4,864 posts

QUOTE(ethanpoh @ Dec 2 2014, 11:14 AM)
I heard THHE has started their retrenchment exercise today.. anyone can confirm this unfortunate news?
SBM is also giving out 'golden handshakes' to some of its KL employees.

Technip is rumored to be preparing to let go some of its KL employees too.

This post has been edited by Stamp: Dec 3 2014, 01:41 AM
Stamp
post Dec 7 2014, 06:11 PM

4,864 posts

TTHE expanded too fast. The management were too confident of getting jobs. Having Tabung Haji name does not necessarily mean automatic projects for them. Bottom line is commercial proposal.

And there are too many fabricators of offshore platforms in Msia, 8 to be exact. The cake isn't big enough to be shared amongst the local fabricators. unfortunately fabrication of a few big platforms had to be bidded out to overseas bidders like Samsung, HHI, Mcdermott, etc., since the local fabricators except MMHE are incapable to fabricate those platforms.

But I guess the slowdown in O&G will weed out the O&G fabricator wannabes like Labuan Shipyard, Muhibbah, Boustead and Oceanmight.

This post has been edited by Stamp: Dec 7 2014, 06:15 PM
Stamp
post Dec 8 2014, 11:19 AM

4,864 posts

QUOTE(BaRT @ Dec 7 2014, 11:33 PM)
I heard TTHE also bid with lower price, too low as long they can secure a new job.
A few PSCs have minimum bid price. They don't necessarily award the job to the lowest bidder. The job may get into problem if the contractor is not financially sound.
Stamp
post Dec 18 2014, 05:30 PM

4,864 posts

Talisman Energy has been sold to Spanish REPSOL.

Finally REPSOL will stamp their presence in SEA oil & gas.

http://www.wsj.com/articles/repsol-to-buy-...lion-1418715863

This post has been edited by Stamp: Dec 18 2014, 05:31 PM
Stamp
post Dec 24 2014, 03:53 PM

4,864 posts

QUOTE(Binyamin @ Dec 24 2014, 08:59 AM)
Some of their sub departments within their department are like 90% contract staff. I wonder how they will restructure. It will be interesting to see.
Shell will need to balance between laying off local contract staff and expat contract staff.

Heard rumors in the grapevine that news that one international o&g engineering design company's decision to keep expat contract staff and to retrench local contract staff have reached the government ministry. It's better braced for future law suits from former disgruntled retrenched staff.

This post has been edited by Stamp: Dec 24 2014, 03:53 PM
Stamp
post Dec 26 2014, 08:48 AM

4,864 posts

QUOTE(Binyamin @ Dec 24 2014, 04:33 PM)
Very unusual to keep expats and lay of local. Unless their expats are cheaper workers from places like Philippines or India. i.e lower wage workers VS Malaysian workers.
These are engineering professionals la, not some blue collar workers. By default, priority MUST be given to Malaysian professionals.
Stamp
post Dec 26 2014, 08:49 AM

4,864 posts

QUOTE(jimbet1337 @ Dec 24 2014, 04:38 PM)
Company "T" ?
whistling.gif
Stamp
post Dec 29 2014, 02:27 PM

4,864 posts

QUOTE(sendatpadatketat @ Dec 29 2014, 01:09 PM)
asalamualaikum dan salam sejahtera. currently I am doing petroleum engineering and have 1 more semester to graduate. my results are not that good because I mess up during my year 1 and 2. year 3 subject I tried my best to score but I barely pass through it.

with this academic transcript, I am quite demotivated at the moment. however because of my inspiring supervisor I suck it up and will not give up as I have nothing to lose.

I want to pursue career as wireline engineer, is there any way that I can climb into this career path? if I cannot get through it as a fresh graduate, maybe I start from other related job and hop into wireline works later on. kindly advise me on this. thank you.
finish your degree first and then come back to LYN to seek advice.
Stamp
post Jan 6 2015, 09:33 PM

4,864 posts

QUOTE(mohdyakup @ Jan 5 2015, 04:27 PM)
AmResearch pegs buy call on KKB Engineering

Posted on January 3, 2015, Saturday

KUCHING: AmResearch Sdn Bhd (AmResearch) reiterated its buy call on KKB Engineering Bhd (KKB) as the group is said to be a possible frontrunner for the engineering, fabrication and procurement of one of Canadian player Talisman’s Kinabalu deep wellhead platforms.

KKB could possibly be among eight Malaysian fabricators in the running to provide the services to Talisman for the fabrication of the 3,000-tonne platform, which includes process modules, it said in a note yesterday.

“The current lowest bid that is five per cent lower than those of the others, which include SapuraKencana Petroleum Bhdand Malaysian Marine & Heavy Engineering Bhd,” iut added.

It is said that Talisman was evaluating KKB’s track record as the Kinabalu wellhead platform will be at a high-pressure, high-temperature zone.

The platform and associated pipelines will be linked to the existing infrastructure.

To note, Talisman holds a 60 per cent stake in the Kinabalu oil production sharing contract, which is a mature oilfield off Sabah.

“We believe the speculated contract value includes associated works. Our O&G order for KKB is conservative at only RM80 million for each of FY15F and FY16F, and at RM130 million for FY17F. Our net profit margin assumption is at 14 to 15 per cent.

“Regardless, we still expect the contract value for the wellhead platform to be substantial, possibly in the region of between US$60 million and US$80 million.

“We view this development positively. It is tangible evidence that KKB is able to compete based on pricing, with the advantages of its geographical operations in Sabah and Sarawak.”

“We expect the award winner for this 12-month contract to be announced by 1Q15, as well as for most of KKB’s 43 per cent-owned associate Oceanmight Sdn Bhd’s RM960 million bids for O&G fabrication jobs.”

AmResearch pegged KKB Engineering with an unchanged fair value of RM2.05 per share by virtue of its assocuat OceanMight Sdn Bhd’d oil and gas fabrication potential in Sarawak.

Read more: http://www.theborneopost.com/2015/01/03/am.../#ixzz3NvwkPQIC
"Phising" work by one of the project bidders! hmm.gif

I wonder how they knew their bid was "5%" lower than the main fabricators.

And actually there are no new pipelines in the project. brows.gif

Stamp
post Jan 17 2015, 03:18 PM

4,864 posts

QUOTE(Dagger69 @ Jan 14 2015, 08:29 AM)
Interesting. Who will win this?
The one with lowest bid.
Stamp
post Jan 19 2015, 02:06 PM

4,864 posts

QUOTE(syazone90 @ Jan 19 2015, 10:12 AM)
Hi, I have just graduated from Universiti Teknologi PETRONAS (UTP) taking Bachelor in Mechanical Engineering. My major is Materials and learnt Failure Analysis, NDT, Corrosion & NanoMaterials. I also have experienced 7 months internship at ARKEMA Lychee Project, Kerteh as a Trainee Project Engineer for ALGOTECH for Mechanical & Piping Department. Up to now I've sent more than 150 job applications (email & website) and only received 2 interview offers, one is SLB (managed until 1st stage only- group & individual) and Gas Malaysia Berhad (interview this Wednesday).
My concern is that, most o&g companies are now freezing hiring and downsizing and most job vacancies are for those with experience only and an engineer from a Client company recently told me, we need CABLE to get into o&g especially client. Even UTP grads don't get the opportunity to be hired that easily by PETRONAS anymore.
I want to ask the seniors here to guide me on what to do for now and what to plan ahead. By the way, I would really love it if managed to secure a job with client as I'm the kind of guy who likes to talk and manage and I've experienced working with contractor(ALGOTECH) and also in manufacturing/automotive during my Diploma with PROTON.So, would really like to venture into new area  biggrin.gif  smile.gif  hmm.gif
Keep on sending in your job application.
Stamp
post Jan 20 2015, 10:02 PM

4,864 posts

QUOTE(chekbob @ Jan 20 2015, 04:24 PM)
Hello everyone. I am new here i was wondering if i am now working in a downstream OnG company, is there any training or certificate i could take so that my resume would be impressive for an OnG upstream company?
It's an uphill task to advise you since we have no idea which discipline you are in now and which area in O&G upstream that you are aiming to be in! hmm.gif
Stamp
post Jan 29 2015, 05:19 PM

4,864 posts

QUOTE(supersound @ Jan 29 2015, 04:32 PM)
Expecting 1 big shocking news in June for O&G in Malaysia. Stay tuned.
Which year?

Wish I had your crystal ball. brows.gif
Stamp
post Jan 29 2015, 09:37 PM

4,864 posts

QUOTE(meonkutu11 @ Jan 29 2015, 08:51 PM)
i guess all the operators start spending back again, rigs easy to get contracts and demand high dayrate....kekekeke...
* touch wood * brows.gif
Stamp
post Jan 29 2015, 09:38 PM

4,864 posts

QUOTE(supersound @ Jan 29 2015, 05:34 PM)
Will be this year. Earliest june, latest by September.
you sounded like KeTum; Sept 16! tongue.gif
Stamp
post Feb 1 2015, 11:41 PM

4,864 posts

recent postings have deviated from the intention of this thread.

i think the discussions on the oil price should continue in RWI.

this thread is about CAREER in oil and gas, fellas.
Stamp
post Feb 3 2015, 07:19 PM

4,864 posts

QUOTE(E Crew @ Feb 3 2015, 02:12 PM)
Hi guys, I have recently received an internship offer from Technip Malaysia at Jln Tun Razak and will be place in Static Equipment Department as I am studying mechanical engineering. Personally I am interested in developing my career in Oil and Gas industry. Will I get to learn a lot in this company or what should I expect to learn in that department ? because I am not sure what static equipment department is all about  rclxub.gif
Is this a good starting point for me to gain exposure ? Would it be wise to accept that offer ?
Hope all the sifus can enlighten me with advise  sweat.gif  sweat.gif
STATIC equipment is exactly what it is literally, equipment that do not move or rotate; example pressure vessels, tanks, dearetors, etc.

the other mechanical dpt is ROTATING equipment, which deals with compressors, pumps, cranes, etc., which have components that rotate, vibrate, etc.

Mechanical engineering graduates can also later specialise in piping design, materials engineering, etc in o&g industry.

I suggest you take up the internship offer from Technip, as it is very competitive to get an internship with that company.

3 Pages < 1 2 3Top

0.0524sec    0.18    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 12:50 AM