Oil & Gas Careers V6, Upstream and Downstream
Stamp
Jul 19 2014, 11:09 PM
QUOTE(wanfauzan @ Jul 19 2014, 06:39 PM) Guys, Going to interview at PBJV next week for a commissioning engineer position. Anyone went to their interview? Any heads up? Thanks PBJV? Hopefully you are good and they take you in so that you can help them raise their stature as an effective brownfield contractor. We are getting nervous with their current performance. This post has been edited by Stamp: Jul 19 2014, 11:10 PM
Stamp
Sep 7 2014, 10:14 PM
QUOTE(kelvin988 @ Sep 7 2014, 09:27 PM) Any chance of fresh graduate in Quantity Surveying working in OnG industry?? Anyone of you have experience on this?? please share~ Yes. My friend a QS graduate is now a Procurement Manager in one of the PSC. He started working as an estimator with a fabricator in the procurement department.
Stamp
Sep 8 2014, 08:44 AM
QUOTE(kelvin988 @ Sep 7 2014, 10:47 PM) he carry few year experience in other industry before he enter to ONG industry?? how about the salary and working scope and condition?? mind sharing? appreciate it very much - No, he was a fresh graduate when he started in O&G fabrication sector. - Salary was typical of fresh graduate scale at that time (this was more than 2 decades ago), working hours were long, occasionally high pressure. I suggest you just work hard, smart and be patient if you want to work in O&G. Income will start to get 'exciting' after you've worked more than 8 - 10 years. Beyond that, the sky is the limit. Don't dwell too much on the salary when you start working in O&G.
Stamp
Sep 8 2014, 03:08 PM
QUOTE(kelvin988 @ Sep 8 2014, 11:13 AM) but will very hard to join if dun have network inside the OnG company?? coz always heard that OnG is very hard to join unless u are very pro engineer  You are already being negative before you even start to look for work in O&G. Not a good attitude.
Stamp
Sep 8 2014, 03:24 PM
QUOTE(kelvin988 @ Sep 8 2014, 03:11 PM) reality is cruel ma bro haha~ btw salary for QS in OnG attractive too? coz enroll in Construction and OnG industry both of them got pro and cons haha Good luck in which ever industry you choose to get into. You keep the same attitude you have now, you won't succeed in any industry you work in.
Stamp
Sep 12 2014, 04:17 PM
Technip is rumoured to be downsizing its staff soon. VSS will be on the plate.
This is the first time ever that Technip will layoff some of its staff since the company was set up in early 1980's.
Earlier RWorley reduced its staff by almost to 1/3.
O&G engineering development area is certainly in the downturn.
Stamp
Sep 30 2014, 06:43 PM
QUOTE(mhyug @ Sep 30 2014, 05:18 PM) land ahoyyy. been a while at sea. by the way anyone got the news about the punch-through incident with aqua marine? saw the photos, the rig needs a tow back to the dry docks by the looks of it. some of the dangers us ONG peeps face. did you mean the spud can sank deeper into the soil?
Stamp
Oct 3 2014, 03:38 PM
QUOTE(mhyug @ Oct 1 2014, 10:36 PM) yuhh. the aqua marine incident was at miri, im not sure of the block tho. a photo of the incident. » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « slow drilling days this year.completion, development, exploration all veryyy slow.  any latest news on the incident?
Stamp
Oct 7 2014, 09:58 PM
QUOTE(merce026 @ Oct 7 2014, 05:35 PM) Hye sifus!!! Anyone got any info about process engineer at TLO? any description about it? TLO specializes in offshore installations. I wonder why they need a process engineer in their company.
Stamp
Oct 10 2014, 11:48 AM
QUOTE(budak minyak @ Oct 10 2014, 09:44 AM) I just got into Murphy. But now shell keeps calling me to attend the 3rd stage SRD interview. Should i go or jz stay at murphy? Bcoz it will be hard for me to apply for holiday to attend the shell interview bcoz i jz got into murphy. Any advise? Would it be a great loss if im not trying my luck with shell? tell murphy your cat passed away and you need to give it a royal burial.
Stamp
Oct 14 2014, 01:23 PM
QUOTE(sho3lace @ Oct 13 2014, 11:32 PM) guys im looking for an engineering job where it pays (basic+allowance) well and get to work outside of the office (sometimes get to be in office still okay). Which department, position and company would you recommend? first you need to wake up and smell the coffee. it's a tough life out there.
Stamp
Oct 16 2014, 10:35 PM
QUOTE(BillySteel @ Oct 16 2014, 09:25 AM) What are you talking? The employer sets the salary...and not many local comps i know in o&g pays anything above 3k to their freshies.MNC's also very few. I started my first job in klang valley for 1.4k a month. If no allowance that month i makan timun. From most people i hear in Malaysia high salary does not equate to higher responsibility and challenge it equates to who you know and how pandai u taichi. I make more money now overseas with so much less resposibility than i did locally in Malaysia with more responsibility. Why you think everyone in Malaysia want to jump? Exactly the message I wanted to send to that fella who demanded from us to tell him where the high paying job for freshies! Experience tak da mau demand salary tinggi2. Kerjalaa dulu, prove your worth to the company you are working for.
Stamp
Oct 20 2014, 03:22 PM
QUOTE(noruazumi @ Oct 20 2014, 10:11 AM) It was reported that there was a fatal accident happened at Rig E-104 (Chemingat Rig? anyone?). 2 crews were working on the life boat when the life boat suddenly fell off 35m onto the sea. Both were found dead by the rescue team. I heard of this accident too, but it seems that there's a news black out on this accident.
Stamp
Oct 24 2014, 07:16 PM
QUOTE(DuFfz @ Oct 23 2014, 10:10 AM) Typical oil & gas worker drives big cars, own big houses. Many ppl envy those in this industry. Little known that the industry is quite volatile as witnessed in the 97 crisis where many were out of job including my own uncle in shell that time. If you were referring to Shell upstream, the retrenchments were carried out because Shell wanted to downsize its employee size because it had gotten too big. But the compensation to those retrenched was pretty good. Exxon also underwent the same staff reduction late 1990's when it decided to close down its operation in Kertih and dwindling down of new green field PSCs for them. But they screwed up in terms of compensation because those lay off staff dragged the issue to Labour Office due to unsatisfactory compensation. Rumors said that it cost its HR GM his job also for trying to 'save some money' for Exxon by not paying enough to those retrenched even though the money was there to cover reasonable compensations. This is a classic HR case where the HR's trying to suck up to the higher management by downtrodden the staff. This post has been edited by Stamp: Oct 24 2014, 07:20 PM
Stamp
Oct 30 2014, 10:29 AM
QUOTE(thesnake @ Oct 28 2014, 09:57 PM) Global Oil price now dropping, still want to join OnG ar guys? You need to look up the global oil price from 1990s to present. The trend has always been up, and up and up. The price would never come down to the 1990 level (about USD20 per barrel). Read more before dispensing hollow advice on oil & gas business. Better not give any advice or comment if you are not in oil & gas industry at all. This post has been edited by Stamp: Oct 30 2014, 10:31 AM
Stamp
Nov 2 2014, 09:54 PM
QUOTE(mhyug @ Nov 1 2014, 11:31 AM) mmg pon bro....talent la sgt asyik dok sapu dia punya utp ja. yg dr luar ni mana nak masuk petronas. nak tgk CV pon depa x mau.  their scholars in utp got good grades, tau. coz they picked high SPM achievers as their scholars, min 7A+ to qualify to apply for Petronas scholarship. competition super duper stiff.
Stamp
Nov 17 2014, 06:04 PM
QUOTE(noruazumi @ Nov 17 2014, 09:21 AM) http://ir.murphyoilcorp.com/phoenix.zhtml?...icle&ID=1983279Yeah, Murphy sold its PM blocks to Pertamina for $2b. Their SK blocks are doing pretty well. Heard their Kikeh is still producing plenty of sand, instead of OIL!
Stamp
Nov 27 2014, 08:56 AM
QUOTE(BRC @ Nov 26 2014, 12:11 AM) yeap... in this industry, the skies the limit... believe it when you think you are earning a lot... there's always someone earning more Drillers seem to be on top of the pile. I know one drilling supervisor earning close to RM200k/month for a year's contract. Phew!
Stamp
Nov 28 2014, 04:59 PM
QUOTE(ak101ss @ Nov 28 2014, 04:52 PM) I got invited for a Pearson English One Assessment (STEP+). Guess I kinda passed the interview lol. Of course the country needs it, but the level of songlapness is insane. Backbreaking work, low pay and less holidays is also practiced in this MRT project, that's how songlap works. I want to join OnG cause I want to experience the field, I have done IT, power generation, semiconductor, power distribution and construction. It's time for me to see what's OnG really about. Money not a concern, just want to experience it. So if you think I'm worth it, do kindly PM me regarding the drilling service recruitment. so, after OnG, which industry you want to "experience"?
Stamp
Nov 28 2014, 05:09 PM
QUOTE(ak101ss @ Nov 28 2014, 05:06 PM) Either automobile or banking. However, I highly doubt that will happen as I have already spent years in engineering, so guess I will have to go back to one of the the fields I'm most suited/passionate about. Are you trying to be a 'MacGyver'?