How is Form 6 science stream?, calling all SCIENCE STREAM STUDENTS!!~

TSShizukayyn24
post May 1 2014, 10:25 PM, updated 12y ago

25 posts

Anyone here a form 6 science stream student?Can you please share your experience to me icon_question.gif .They say science stream is even harder than matrix is that true???how hard is it?i got selected in form 6 science stream,and i absolutely have no idea about it..:s I really like science though especially chemistry so i'm considering of taking it and also because my result is meh..got credits for both chemistry and physics in spm..so should i take it or change to other stream??cry.gif

This post has been edited by Shizukayyn24: May 1 2014, 11:49 PM
Y_vonne
post May 1 2014, 10:34 PM

240 posts

Erm.. No discouraging comments then how are you gonna get the true picture ._. ...
Anyways, i am former stpm science stream student. Graduated last year. Well, ermm.. Stpm is definitely harder than matrix lah, haha. But lemme share wit u my experience... Well my 1 and a half yrs in form 6 is definitely fun.. Would say is my best 1 and a half yr of my school life haha. But let me just tell you tat, during the first sem is harder cuz u havent adapt to the sustem, but dun worry if u feel stress in sem 1, cuz normally we'll catch up in sem2 then it'll be better frm then onwards...well it's pack tats tru, assignments then exam again.. But i wud say i didnt regret studying form6.. Not sire whether matrix syllabus is easier than form6 but it's easier in a way that it is easier to score.. Well if u choose form6, dun be scared, juz work hard n u ll be proud wit ir results.. Haha.. May i ask wat did u get for SPM? smile.gif
Y_vonne
post May 1 2014, 10:44 PM

240 posts

Oh sorry didnt see ur comments... Well if ur results are meh.. Haha.. Then well, not sure whether u get those results is bcuz u cant cope or is it bcuz u didnt work hard.. Hmm. It depends actually. Wat u wanna study in the future. Well if u feel even spm is damN hard and hard to cope mayb i shud try arts stream.. Unless u really really work hard in stpm.. smile.gif Trying my best not to be discouraging here.. Lol.. Well, i cant tell u wats best tho.. Anyways, good luck and hope u make ur decision! biggrin.gif
TSShizukayyn24
post May 1 2014, 11:54 PM

25 posts

Its because a lot of people are saying its hard,I'm kinda scared to take it lol..thanks for the advice senior:D
BTW did you take bio?do they teach it from the basics?cuz I'm considering to take bio which I didn't take for spm
cysam90
post May 1 2014, 11:57 PM

51 posts

It is brutal. Solid basics is a must, and that doesn't guarantee that you'll cope well too. Perseverance and nerve of steel is a must. Good luck and all the best for ur stpm
TSShizukayyn24
post May 1 2014, 11:57 PM

25 posts

QUOTE(Y_vonne @ May 1 2014, 10:34 PM)
Erm.. No discouraging comments then how are you gonna get the true picture ._. ...
Anyways, i am former stpm science stream student. Graduated last year. Well, ermm.. Stpm is definitely harder than matrix lah, haha. But lemme share wit u my experience... Well my 1 and a half yrs in form 6 is definitely fun.. Would say is my best 1 and a half yr of my school life haha. But let me just tell you tat, during the first sem is harder cuz u havent adapt to the sustem, but dun worry if u feel stress in sem 1, cuz normally we'll catch up in sem2 then it'll be better frm then onwards...well it's pack tats tru, assignments then exam again.. But i wud say i didnt regret studying form6.. Not sire whether matrix syllabus is easier than form6 but it's easier in a way that it is easier to score.. Well if u choose form6, dun be scared, juz work hard n u ll be proud wit ir results.. Haha.. May i ask wat did u get for SPM? smile.gif
Its because a lot of people are saying its hard,I'm kinda scared to take it lol..thanks for the advice senior:D
BTW did you take bio?do they teach it from the basics?cuz I'm considering to take bio which I didn't take for spm..any advice?
kingkingyyk
post May 1 2014, 11:59 PM

15,694 posts

QUOTE(Shizukayyn24 @ May 1 2014, 11:54 PM)
BTW did you take bio?do they teach it from the basics?cuz I'm considering to take bio which I didn't take for spm
STPM Biology is a killer. If you don't have superior memorising skill, then don't think of taking it. You need at least a CGPA of 3.92 to get a decent course.

Oh yeah, STPM is fun. You will be a daiko in your school. brows.gif You will be bounded loosely with the school's rule, unlike what you have been facing. Please be responsible to yourself. It would be a hardship for you. But if you passed it with decent result, you will get a chance to enroll in cheap IPTAs. (~2K per semester) icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by kingkingyyk: May 2 2014, 12:00 AM
Y_vonne
post May 2 2014, 12:03 AM

240 posts

QUOTE(Shizukayyn24 @ May 1 2014, 11:57 PM)
BTW did you take bio?do they teach it from the basics?cuz I'm considering to take bio which I didn't take for spm..any advice?
Huh.. I tot bio is compulsory subject for science stream spm? No, they dun teach frm basics.. Haha. Erm. But i can tell u tat stpm bio or just about any subjects is much harder than ur spm.. Lol. Spm is kacang putih... Especially addmath. Haha.
Y_vonne
post May 2 2014, 12:06 AM

240 posts

QUOTE(kingkingyyk @ May 1 2014, 11:59 PM)
STPM Biology is a killer. If you don't have superior memorising skill, then don't think of taking it. You need at least a CGPA of 3.92 to get a decent course.

Oh yeah, STPM is fun. You will be a daiko in your school.  brows.gif You will be bounded loosely with the school's rule, unlike what you have been facing. Please be responsible to yourself. It would be a hardship for you. But if you passed it with decent result, you will get a chance to enroll in cheap IPTAs. (~2K per semester) icon_rolleyes.gif
Totally agree tat u ll b the daiko in form 6 haha ! Cuz those school rules dun apply to form6, the teachers juz close one eye.. Haha. So much fun. Bringing handphone to school and nobody cares. Ok, wjr am i going here, wat? 3.92? Not so high lah, unless professional course lah like pharm and medic. Others like eg nursing accounting... Its ok..
Jobentsu
post May 2 2014, 12:14 AM

Okay..if u wan my experience, I give u mine..
I loved physics back then in my Form 4&5..got good grades
Secured a Science Stream spot in Form 6 school after I failed to obtain any scholarship..
Have been playing and enjoying with my bunch of new friends since lower six (back then we are not yet in semester study)..and started picking up only when the exam was in the corner..haha
not really securing a great result.. so i ended up in business stream now and dislike physics studies as they are not as easy as what u learned for SPM
moral of the story : u need to have constant effort if you want to take up this hook..

btw: if you think science stream student would be able to secure a place in gov uni easier than art stream student, then u might be WRONG!!

Jobentsu
post May 2 2014, 12:18 AM

QUOTE(Y_vonne @ May 1 2014, 10:34 PM)
Yeah..though i was not doing great in Form 6 in terms of academic, I did say my 1 and half year life in Form 6 was the best too..it was a bless and blast!! haha rclxms.gif
I guess typically it was almost the same for majorities..haha nod.gif
kingkingyyk
post May 2 2014, 12:32 AM

15,694 posts

QUOTE(Y_vonne @ May 2 2014, 12:06 AM)
Totally agree tat u ll b the daiko in form 6 haha ! Cuz those school rules dun apply to form6, the teachers juz close one eye.. Haha. So much fun. Bringing handphone to school and nobody cares. Ok, wjr am i going here, wat? 3.92? Not so high lah, unless professional course lah like pharm and medic. Others like eg nursing accounting... Its ok..
Higher CGPA = More choices to choose with = Better university.

QUOTE(Jobentsu @ May 2 2014, 12:14 AM)
btw: if you think science stream student would be able to secure a place in gov uni easier than art stream student, then u might be WRONG!!
Physics student is easy. There are a lot of engineering courses that you might not ever heard of for you to choose with, provided your result is not bad (at least 2.5). Worse case you could even grab art courses.

This post has been edited by kingkingyyk: May 2 2014, 12:34 AM
michlsy
post May 3 2014, 11:58 AM

43 posts

Going to form 6 is definitely tough but at the same time really really fun, as mentioned by other seniors here.
I finished form 6 last year, I'm in the Bio class fyi. Now I am trying to secure a place in the course I want, in a good university.

My experience in form 6 is that it is really 1.5 years that I have grown and found my stride. I've found great friends, I had fun, I learnt to manage my time well, I studied like a crazed maniac at times, but I didn't forget to celebrate hard when exams were over. I had to be disciplined in order to do well, I had to make sacrifices. But the results were so totally worth it. It's different when you go back to school in a uniform when you are 18 or 19 years old. You had to grow up and be more mature. Take up more responsibilities.

STPM being STPM with its notorious reputation, I can say that it is harder than matrix. Just look at the statistics. They say it is so tough, so hard. I knew it when I stepped into form 6, but it didn't stop anyone of us to trying our best to beat it. Take it as a challenge and rise to it. Make goals and strive to achieve it.

To succeed in the science stream what you need is not superior memorizing skill, but interest in the subject. Ask yourself if you really like it. Ask yourself if you are willing to go the extra mile for it.
yellowpika
post May 3 2014, 06:41 PM

夢を追いかけている
1,631 posts

QUOTE(Shizukayyn24 @ May 1 2014, 11:57 PM)
Just appeal persistently if they don't allow you to do so.

I was in the same situation as you too, never took Biology in SPM but took Biology in Form 6.
All I did was to ask my dad to appeal for me. The teacher in charge of Form 6 was convinced in the end and allowed me to take Biology. tongue.gif

Nevertheless, I still got an A- for STPM term 1 Biology.

As long as you have the interest and memorising skill, you should do fine in it. wink.gif
Askzra
post May 3 2014, 07:01 PM

268 posts

QUOTE(Shizukayyn24 @ May 1 2014, 10:25 PM)
Anyone here a form 6 science stream student?Can you please share your experience to me icon_question.gif .They say science stream is even harder than matrix is that true???how hard is it?i got selected in form 6 science stream,and i absolutely have no idea about it..:s I really like science  though especially chemistry so i'm considering of taking it and also because my result is meh..got credits for both chemistry and physics in spm..so should i take it or change to other stream??cry.gif
i graduated from stpm in 2011, in science stream. yes, science stream in stpm is a LOT harder than science stream in matric. Congratulation because u got an offer to enter form 6 science stream, but if u decided to enter, be sure to discipline yourself in studies. I'm talking from my experience during my form 6 times.

If u decided to go for stpm science stream, u ought to have quite skills in add math, physics OR bio, and chem. your modern math during form 5 is assumed as total basics and will not be revised too much in form 6. In fact add math is also basic knowledge because in science stream, u will be taking Math T or Technical Math.

stpm is an open paper exam, and u can take max 5 (as far as i know) subjects. I recommend u to take non-science related subjects such as History, Economics, Business Studies or Arts. These subjects at least will help widen your degree course choices in UPU later.

If your ambition is related to science, then enter stpm science stream, u gain a lot more knowledge.

do well, and u might be taking degree in overseas biggrin.gif

moonnightsilver
post May 3 2014, 09:11 PM

40 posts

Is STPM harder than matric?
Yeap. 100% true. I borrowed matric Chemistry textbook from my friend since I thought it could be used as reference for STPM. The good things about it was, there are some examples that are easier to understand than STPM reference book (I mostly used Oxford). BUT, some of the topics covered in STPM are not covered in matriculation. For example: STPM has Periodic Table and Group 1, 14, 17, 18 and Transition Elements. Matriculation only has Periodic Table. STPM has Solubility and Phase Equilibrium. Matriculation doesn't have. I only have the Semester 1 matriculation Chemistry textbook and Reading Materials for Semester 2. So, I think I'm correct about the topics cover by both STPM and matculation.

Stay or change to other stream?
I would say stay. Science stream has more choices compare to art stream when choosing courses for degree.
cdspins
post May 3 2014, 09:16 PM

2,714 posts

QUOTE(Shizukayyn24 @ May 1 2014, 10:25 PM)
Anyone here a form 6 science stream student?Can you please share your experience to me icon_question.gif .They say science stream is even harder than matrix is that true???how hard is it?i got selected in form 6 science stream,and i absolutely have no idea about it..:s I really like science  though especially chemistry so i'm considering of taking it and also because my result is meh..got credits for both chemistry and physics in spm..so should i take it or change to other stream??cry.gif
If you are good in science expecially chemistry and physics and can score easily and having no problem in catching up... the yes...
TSShizukayyn24
post May 3 2014, 10:42 PM

25 posts

QUOTE(yellowpika @ May 3 2014, 06:41 PM)
Just appeal persistently if they don't allow you to do so.

I was in the same situation as you too, never took Biology in SPM but took Biology in Form 6.
All I did was to ask my dad to appeal for me. The teacher in charge of Form 6 was convinced in the end and allowed me to take Biology. tongue.gif

Nevertheless, I still got an A- for STPM term 1 Biology.

As long as you have the interest and memorising skill, you should do fine in it. wink.gif
wow really??thats awesome..but how did you catch up with bio studies,cuz i heard that they won't teach you from the basics? unsure.gif
yellowpika
post May 4 2014, 01:39 PM

夢を追いかけている
1,631 posts

QUOTE(Shizukayyn24 @ May 3 2014, 10:42 PM)
wow really??thats awesome..but how did you catch up with bio studies,cuz i heard that they won't teach you from the basics? unsure.gif
Just make sure that you can memorise the facts.. Biology is a memorising subject after all. The STPM reference books would give you some basic explanation which should be sufficient for you to understand the new concepts(even if you do not have the basics).
And I'm pretty sure they most likely wouldn't ask you SPM level questions, so don't worry too much about that. nod.gif

I just memorised the answers for the essay section, then tried to regurgitate it out during the exam. brows.gif

There's another guy in my class like me, but he only barely passed his first term biology.. I wonder was it because he was weak in his studies or what. hmm.gif

Good luck and all the best to you! thumbup.gif
TSShizukayyn24
post May 11 2014, 03:19 PM

25 posts

QUOTE(yellowpika @ May 4 2014, 01:39 PM)
Just make sure that you can memorise the facts.. Biology is a memorising subject after all. The STPM reference books would give you some basic explanation which should be sufficient for you to understand the new concepts(even if you do not have the basics).
And I'm pretty sure they most likely wouldn't ask you SPM level questions, so don't worry too much about that. nod.gif

I just memorised the answers for the essay section, then tried to regurgitate it out during the exam. brows.gif

There's another guy in my class like me, but he only barely passed his first term biology.. I wonder was it because he was weak in his studies or what. hmm.gif

Good luck and all the best to you! thumbup.gif
Even a mediocre student can catch up as long she works hard?I'm gonna go for it..wish me luck senpai :v

yayatataqq
post May 11 2014, 05:23 PM

15 posts

QUOTE(Jobentsu @ May 2 2014, 12:18 AM)
Yeah..though i was not doing great in Form 6 in terms of academic, I did say my 1 and half year life in Form 6 was the best too..it was a bless and blast!! haha  rclxms.gif
I guess typically it was almost the same for majorities..haha  nod.gif
Woah, all STPM seniors here are saying that they have the best times of their life in form 6 years. Sounds interesting. By the way, any seniors here manage to go overseas after form 6 under a scholarship? rclxm9.gif
xp080613
post May 11 2014, 08:42 PM

120 posts

QUOTE(yayatataqq @ May 11 2014, 05:23 PM)
Woah, all STPM seniors here are saying that they have the best times of their life in form 6 years. Sounds interesting. By the way, any seniors here manage to go overseas after form 6 under a scholarship?  rclxm9.gif
I have received a few offer letters from foreign reputable unis, now waiting for scholarships interview. There aren't much scholarships available for overseas especially medicine, pharmacy those critical courses, maybe jpa is the only choice. Still waiting for their latest news smile.gif
neuro4869
post May 11 2014, 08:55 PM

1,077 posts

QUOTE(xp080613 @ May 11 2014, 08:42 PM)
I have received a few offer letters from foreign reputable unis, now waiting for scholarships interview. There aren't much scholarships available for overseas especially medicine, pharmacy those critical courses, maybe jpa is the only choice. Still waiting for their latest news  smile.gif
Around what month JPA usually gives scholarship? Are you gonna wait for PILN scholarship from JPA or you going to enroll into IPTAs first? Foreign uni admission is usually around September right
xp080613
post May 11 2014, 09:10 PM

120 posts

QUOTE(neuro4869 @ May 11 2014, 08:55 PM)
Around what month JPA usually gives scholarship? Are you gonna wait for PILN scholarship from JPA or you going to enroll into IPTAs first? Foreign uni admission is usually around September right
I hope they will release the news this month or by the latest next month, since it take some time to apply to student visa all those stuff. Yup you are correct it is september. If by september they havent release any news yet sure I will go to ipta.
neuro4869
post May 11 2014, 09:13 PM

1,077 posts

QUOTE(xp080613 @ May 11 2014, 09:10 PM)
I hope they will release the news this month or by the latest next month, since it take some time to apply to student visa all those stuff. Yup you are correct it is september. If by september they havent release any news yet sure I will go to ipta.
But IPTA intake is around Jun right? Means that you have to let go of IPTA if you want to pursue oversea study right?
xp080613
post May 11 2014, 09:16 PM

120 posts

QUOTE(neuro4869 @ May 11 2014, 09:13 PM)
But IPTA intake is around Jun right? Means that you have to let go of IPTA if you want to pursue oversea study right?
Ohh since 2012 if not mistaken, ipta intake commences in September.
yayatataqq
post May 11 2014, 09:17 PM

15 posts

QUOTE(neuro4869 @ May 11 2014, 09:13 PM)
I think can quit the course if he/she wants too. I mean it's always up to your decision to leave if there's a better offer. No harm.
neuro4869
post May 11 2014, 09:18 PM

1,077 posts

QUOTE(xp080613 @ May 11 2014, 09:16 PM)
Ohh since 2012 if not mistaken, ipta intake commences in September.
Oh so you have some free time after finishing STPM, and retaking term 3 exam won't affect scholarship deadline because it will be a long time before scholarship application is even opened. I think I have mistaken the Jun intake which is for diploma/asasi course.
xp080613
post May 11 2014, 09:20 PM

120 posts

QUOTE(neuro4869 @ May 11 2014, 09:18 PM)
Oh so you have some free time after finishing STPM, and retaking term 3 exam won't affect scholarship deadline because it will be a long time before scholarship application is even opened. I think I have mistaken the Jun intake which is for diploma/asasi course.
Not really correct, there are many scholarships open straight after the overall results release ( not for term 3 retake ) and ends after two weeks. So you have to apply using your result before sem 3 retake result.
yayatataqq
post May 11 2014, 09:21 PM

15 posts

QUOTE(xp080613 @ May 11 2014, 08:42 PM)
I have received a few offer letters from foreign reputable unis, now waiting for scholarships interview. There aren't much scholarships available for overseas especially medicine, pharmacy those critical courses, maybe jpa is the only choice. Still waiting for their latest news  smile.gif
Wow, btw how's your STPM result? What are the foreign reputable unis? I'm guessing NUS is one of them. tongue.gif
neuro4869
post May 11 2014, 09:27 PM

1,077 posts

QUOTE(xp080613 @ May 11 2014, 09:20 PM)
Not really correct, there are many scholarships open straight after the overall results release ( not for term 3 retake ) and ends after two weeks. So you have to apply using your result before sem 3 retake result.
If we retake for STPM term 3, we only get the overall result late than those who doesn't retake? I thought we only can retake when we get overall result? Or is it after term 3 result is out we only can choose to retake.

This sounds confusing just look below eh

Term 1 result > Term 2 result > Term 3 result > Overall result > Choose to retake term 3 > Receive new overall result

or

Term 1 result > Term 2 result > Term 3 result > Choose to retake term 3 > Receive overall result
xp080613
post May 11 2014, 09:28 PM

120 posts

QUOTE(yayatataqq @ May 11 2014, 09:21 PM)
Wow, btw how's your STPM result? What are the foreign reputable unis? I'm guessing NUS is one of them. tongue.gif
four flat tongue.gif NUS and NTU in sg and some other unis in UK. biggrin.gif
galaxy_1106
post May 11 2014, 10:00 PM

19 posts

Are STPM science subjects related to SPM science? My basic isn't really good, I always managed to get 40-70 marks during school exams but got A for Chem and A- for Physics and Bio during SPM (luckily?). Will I be able to cope with STPM Chem and Bio?

*Not to mention I'm not really good in Maths too, so I'll also have to struggle for Maths :/
yayatataqq
post May 11 2014, 10:10 PM

15 posts

QUOTE(xp080613 @ May 11 2014, 09:28 PM)
four flat  tongue.gif  NUS and NTU in sg and some other unis in UK.  biggrin.gif
Walao four flat. I am actually offered to study in Kolej Matrikulasi Labuan. But I don't really wish to limit my options as studying matrix will mean slim chance of studying overseas. Considering to register form six now, but I'm worried I won't be capable of scoring high CGPA. Not to forget KK marks too. hmm.gif How hard is it? How many hours did u spend daily on revision and everything?

kingkingyyk
post May 11 2014, 10:11 PM

15,694 posts

QUOTE(galaxy_1106 @ May 11 2014, 10:00 PM)
Are STPM science subjects related to SPM science? My basic isn't really good, I always managed to get 40-70 marks during school exams but got A for Chem and A- for Physics and Bio during SPM (luckily?).  Will I be able to cope with STPM Chem and Bio?

*Not to mention I'm not really good in Maths too, so I'll also have to struggle for Maths :/
Yes.
The story is completely different in STPM. You will get to know detailed information in your syllabus, unlike the vague rule in SPM. In SPM : A is like this. In STPM : A is like this, because of blah blah. The situation is worse in bio. Because the bio in SPM was simplified until "wrong".
Diligence and study consistently will help you to go through it. icon_rolleyes.gif
neuro4869
post May 11 2014, 10:29 PM

1,077 posts

QUOTE(yayatataqq @ May 11 2014, 10:10 PM)
Walao four flat. I am actually offered to study in Kolej Matrikulasi Labuan. But I don't really wish to limit my options as studying matrix will mean slim chance of studying overseas. Considering to register form six now, but I'm worried I won't be capable of scoring high CGPA. Not to forget KK marks too. hmm.gif How hard is it? How many hours did u spend daily on revision and everything?
If reject matrikulasi and join form 6 need to fill that form from JPN, and not sure when can enroll. Afraid that will miss out a little bit regarding study compared to those that already in form 6.
xp080613
post May 11 2014, 11:08 PM

120 posts

QUOTE(yayatataqq @ May 11 2014, 10:10 PM)
Frankly speaking, if you are not really those kind of hardworking student in form six, it would be a wrong decision for you to come to form six. You could just accept your local matriculation offer and it would be easier path for you to further you study in local university. However, if you really have strong desire to study overseas, then you have to make sure you really work hard and smart in stpm.
Here is the advice to those form six, I have posted in form 6 2013/14 , now just copy paste here.

well i am the first badge of stpm modular system student, there are some advices to you guys. First, if you really do not perform well or only get an A- in your sem one exam, please resit again as after around a year you will adapt to the stpm system completely and some you learnt in sem two and three do help you a lot in sem one. Last time i felt that i may not have enough time to study for sem one resit if taking too many subjects but i was wrong! When i studied back the sem one syllabus for retake subjects, i realized i really understand better than last time and it is easier and faster to learn because i still can remember some of them. Secondly, for my experience,the questions for sem one retake will be very easy as there are lower sixes who is taking same exam papers with us, in the contrast, sem two retake is damn difficult for almost all the subjects! Most of my acquaintances including me got unsatisfied results for sem two retake but extremely improved results for sem one ( as long as you dont make any silly big mistake ). So make sure you really perform well in sem two and three exam! Next i may want to talk about the study method, it is just suggestion, you can just follow your own method. For me, i will try to finish up the whole syllabus as fast as possible, eg for sem two chemistry, i finished all the syllabus in the end of march then only take around one month time to slowly start revising the previous chapters again and again and again... During the process of finishing the syllabus you sure will forget what you have studied few days ago, nvm just continue to the next chapter (AS LONG AS YOU DID UNDERSTAND WHEN YOU STUDY AND WHEN YOU REVISE AGAIN IT WILL TAKE VERY SHORT TIME TO MEMORISE AND RECOLLECT WHAT YOU HAVE STUDIED BEFORE) and do more past years exercises it really helps :-) if possible try to get good notes from any teachers or schools because i realized almost all the local books ( longman, oxford fajar etc) consists of a lot of mistakes or wrong info, just use it to do some of the exercise for understanding part enough because there are many tricky, complicated and tedious questions which will make you more confused. And if you want to practice more, just focus on past year papers or maybe other state trial questions, all those local books exercises will simply make you more stupid and less confident and their questions will never been come out in stpm exam! if there is any doubts can just pm me, i am willing to help you guys what i can do. Good luck :-D
yellowpika
post May 12 2014, 04:15 PM

夢を追いかけている
1,631 posts

QUOTE(Shizukayyn24 @ May 11 2014, 03:19 PM)
Even a mediocre student can catch up as long she works hard?I'm gonna go for it..wish me luck senpai :v
It's a he by the way. tongue.gif And he only barely passed(I think he obtained C for his SPM science subjects too hmm.gif ).

Good luck kouhai(junior in Japanese)! smile.gif

This post has been edited by yellowpika: May 12 2014, 04:23 PM
TSShizukayyn24
post May 12 2014, 08:03 PM

25 posts

QUOTE(yellowpika @ May 12 2014, 04:15 PM)
It's a he by the way. tongue.gif  And he only barely passed(I think he obtained C for his SPM science subjects too hmm.gif ).

Good luck kouhai(junior in Japanese)! smile.gif
I was talking about myself lol tongue.gif
yellowpika
post May 13 2014, 02:03 PM

夢を追いかけている
1,631 posts

QUOTE(Shizukayyn24 @ May 12 2014, 08:03 PM)
I was talking about myself lol tongue.gif
Oops, my apologies then blush.gif .
Jobentsu
post May 18 2014, 12:12 PM

QUOTE(yayatataqq @ May 11 2014, 05:23 PM)
Woah, all STPM seniors here are saying that they have the best times of their life in form 6 years. Sounds interesting. By the way, any seniors here manage to go overseas after form 6 under a scholarship?  rclxm9.gif
In my school case, there was only 1 out of all the students...haha
It depends highly on ur result... u need to score almost very near to 4.00/5.00..
but majority of us got into local uni thought..and u can further your study when u are in ur degree later by joining exchange program or go for twinning or even further ur master overseas...
Don't worry, there are always bundles of options available..
you just need to grab them on time and make the best decision.. ^^
passerby123
post May 18 2014, 04:58 PM

Yea .. STPM definitely harder to score compare to matric , even cocuriculum marks in matric is easier to score high too . My frens in matric said to be "not so active" in cocuriculum but they are required to join for a camp only . Their koko marks then be given the same with me 97/100 marks even i have participated and got Gold Award in National level competitions but they don't . Their MUET exam can easily scored high too . So , matric life is just so that easy compared to stpm .

I agree that STPM will have lots of fun and new frens but same goes to other education paths like a-level , foundation or else . STPM is a stressful and challenging path . The marking scheme in STPM is even very strict . Since ur result in spm is meh which is credits only , I encourage u to take foundation in sci in utar or others instead of taking form 6 as if u like sci subjects very much . This is becoz if u done not well in stpm especially bio , u cant go for critical coarses which needs cgpa 4.0 becoz of too competitive those subjects are . But if u just wan to go for normal courses like biotech , veterinarian , forestry and also u don't wan to waste money or borrow ptptn , den go for stpm will be a good choice . And also stpm exam is getting easier to score after the 1st batch of stpm new format . All of my frens and included me said that the papers of 2nd batch are easier to score . This is proved becoz the 1st batch 1st sem retake = 2nd batch 1st sem exam . Some noes abt tis thing no doubt . You need to noe that STPM is a very very big gap compared to spm . All is well !
neuro4869
post May 19 2014, 05:48 AM

1,077 posts

QUOTE(Jobentsu @ May 18 2014, 12:12 PM)
In my school case, there was only 1 out of all the students...haha
It depends highly on ur result... u need to score almost very near to 4.00/5.00..
but majority of us got into local uni thought..and u can further your study when u are in ur degree later by joining exchange program or go for twinning or even further ur master overseas...
Don't worry, there are always bundles of options available..
you just need to grab them on time and make the best decision.. ^^
What scholarship that student get? JPA? He went through interview first right?
TSShizukayyn24
post Jul 6 2014, 01:56 PM

25 posts

QUOTE(xp080613 @ May 11 2014, 09:28 PM)
four flat  tongue.gif  NUS and NTU in sg and some other unis in UK.  biggrin.gif
What subject did you take?im guessing physics?dont they have scholarship overseas studies for biology?

regan96
post Nov 15 2014, 12:22 PM

581 posts

i have friends in f6 science stream and they say its tough if u dont do anyting

0.0313sec    0.74    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 11:48 PM