Playback can vcd player play mpeg

TSintelpentium4
post Jul 31 2006, 11:19 PM, updated 20y ago

312 posts

i have downloaded some ktv in .DAT and mpeg, can vcd player play mpeg?
AiRBooM
post Aug 1 2006, 12:14 AM

超低能,勁搞笑
1,562 posts

QUOTE(intelpentium4 @ Aug 1 2006, 01:19 AM)
i have downloaded some ktv in .DAT and mpeg, can vcd player play mpeg?
No... VCD player only can recognize VCD format which is .DAT and must burn it in fully VCD format..
TSintelpentium4
post Aug 1 2006, 12:31 AM

312 posts

oh. thanks.
so is there any free software to convert the mpeg to .DAT?
i tried a few software but they limit the length, for example 2 minutes

This post has been edited by intelpentium4: Aug 1 2006, 12:41 AM
AiRBooM
post Aug 1 2006, 12:39 AM

超低能,勁搞笑
1,562 posts

QUOTE(intelpentium4 @ Aug 1 2006, 02:31 AM)
oh. thanks.
i found 1... but i never use b4... so no comment for this software...

http://fxmpegwriter.com/
blackamikaze
post Aug 1 2006, 12:41 AM

Trooper Rank: BIG HEAD SERGEANT
2,671 posts

QUOTE(intelpentium4 @ Aug 1 2006, 12:31 AM)
oh. thanks.
Nero got built in encoder..
or u can use SUPER Converter too.. or TMPGEnc for advance user..
all free
TSintelpentium4
post Aug 1 2006, 12:44 AM

312 posts

QUOTE(AiRBooM @ Aug 1 2006, 12:39 AM)
i found 1... but i never use b4... so no comment for this software...

http://fxmpegwriter.com/
QUOTE(blackamikaze @ Aug 1 2006, 12:41 AM)
or u can use SUPER Converter too.. or TMPGEnc for advance user..
all free
thanks. hope they dun hav the length limitation.
TSintelpentium4
post Aug 1 2006, 01:04 AM

312 posts

QUOTE(blackamikaze @ Aug 1 2006, 12:41 AM)

i have nero 7. u mean when i choose to burn video and drag the mpeg into the list, nero will automatically burn it into vcd format?

keyz
post Aug 1 2006, 08:19 AM

1,271 posts

QUOTE(intelpentium4 @ Aug 1 2006, 01:04 AM)
i have nero 7. u mean when i choose to burn video and drag the mpeg into the list, nero will automatically burn it into vcd format?
Yup...But if your MPEG is not comply with VCD 2.0 standard, a pop up will come and give you 3 choices :

CODE
Turn Off Standard Compliance and Continue

Re-Encode the Video File

Cancel

TSintelpentium4
post Aug 1 2006, 11:24 AM

312 posts

QUOTE(keyz @ Aug 1 2006, 08:19 AM)
Yup...But if your MPEG is not comply with VCD 2.0 standard, a pop up will come and give you 3 choices :

CODE
Turn Off Standard Compliance and Continue

Re-Encode the Video File

Cancel

oic. tat's convenient. but can anyone kind to explain wat those choices do?

keyz
post Aug 1 2006, 11:57 AM

1,271 posts

QUOTE(intelpentium4 @ Aug 1 2006, 11:24 AM)
oic. tat's convenient. but can anyone kind to explain wat those choices do?
1. Ignore it: Turn off standard compliance and continue

Not advisable, but then again most DVD players seem to be able to handle VCD's that are not 100% VideoCD compliant.

2. Re-encode the video file

Also not advisable. The buildin transcoder can convert the file (not the orginal one) to the proper VideoCD specifications. Yes even a DivX will be transcoded to MPEG-1. Warning: The QUALITY of this transcoded file might be rather poor!

3. Do not add this file: Cancel

Source
ss_izal
post Aug 5 2006, 01:07 AM

591 posts

QUOTE(AiRBooM @ Aug 1 2006, 12:14 AM)
No... VCD player only can recognize VCD format which is .DAT and must burn it in fully VCD format..
i always tought that vcd format is mpeg or mpg,because when i convert video to vcd format it become mpeg or mpg. is that mean i must convert it back the mpeg or mpg to .dat? can someone enlighten me on this
AiRBooM
post Aug 5 2006, 08:30 PM

超低能,勁搞笑
1,562 posts

QUOTE(ss_izal @ Aug 5 2006, 03:07 AM)
i always tought that vcd format is mpeg or mpg,because when i convert video to vcd format it become mpeg or mpg. is that mean i must convert it back the mpeg or mpg to .dat? can someone enlighten me on this
yes.. VCD = MPEG 1 .. but if u burn mpg/mpeg file into a CD-R .. VCD player will not play it and recognize it... use nero to burn as VCD format then only can play.. inside the CD-R the file will have .DAT file in mpeg folder .

ps: you don't need to convert mpg/mpeg to .DAT , nero will help u create .DAT itself .

0.0137sec    0.10    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 10:09 PM