Bursa Traders V5

TSBoon3
post Jun 4 2014, 08:38 PM

15,942 posts

QUOTE(spring onion @ Jun 4 2014, 04:57 PM)
CCMD
the reason why the drop in profit in 2009
cash expenses increases, revenue remains intact

the reason why the increase in profit in 2013
cash expenses remains, revenue increases whistling.gif

You did some homework! rclxms.gif

Did not check out the old stuff. tongue.gif

This is what I did.

As we saw, the quarter profits improved from Aug 2013.

Naturally that is where I start looking, ie using this link.

http://www.bursamalaysia.com/market/listed...cements/1390741

Under notes B1. Review of Performance

The Group recorded a revenue and profit before tax (PBT) of RM75.83 million and RM21.96 million respectively for current period ended 30 June 2013 as compared to RM70.41 million and RM17.91 million for the corresponding period last year. The Group's revenue has improved as compared to last year corresponding period mainly due to increase demand to Government Hospitals via tender business and export market. However, increase in PBT was at higher proportion than increase in revenue due to incorporation of changes in fair value of investment property amounting to RM3.7 million in 2nd quarter of 2013.

This meant an 'accounting profit' ie investment property revalued higher boosted profits by 3.7million.

If you minus this 3.7million out from the profits, 2013 profits improvement (or growth) isn't as impressive. wink.gif

And it is stated that revenue improved mainly due to Government Hospitals via tender.

Next you need to read the latest report here.

http://www.bursamalaysia.com/market/listed...cements/1626897

Hehe... so new homework for you. LOL! .... go read. tongue.gif

spring onion
post Jun 5 2014, 12:32 AM

1,087 posts

QUOTE(Boon3 @ Jun 4 2014, 08:38 PM)

The Group recorded a revenue and PBT of RM40.50 million and RM11.18 million respectively for current quarter ended 31 Mac 2014 as compared to RM45.73 million and RM9.16 million for the preceding financial quarter. The decrease in revenue mainly due to lower demand from private sector. However, despite the decrease in revenue, current quarter PBT is higher than preceding quarter's PBT due to stock write off of RM1.79mil in 4th quarter of 2013.

thanks alot and nice call boon thumbup.gif
TSBoon3
post Jun 5 2014, 08:28 AM

15,942 posts

QUOTE(spring onion @ Jun 5 2014, 12:32 AM)
The Group recorded a revenue and PBT of RM40.50 million and RM11.18 million respectively for current quarter ended 31 Mac 2014 as compared to RM45.73 million and RM9.16 million for the preceding financial quarter. The decrease in revenue mainly due to lower demand from private sector. However, despite the decrease in revenue, current quarter PBT is higher than preceding quarter's PBT due to stock write off of RM1.79mil in 4th quarter of 2013.

thanks alot and nice call boon thumbup.gif
LOL!

Next is we ask Uncle Google.

Here are some more recent articles on CCMBD.

www.theedgemalaysia.com/business-news/290469-ccm-duopharma-expects-better-results-in-fy14.html

http://www.thestar.com.my/Business/Busines...Korean-company/

That should give us a better understanding of the company. thumbup.gif

Ok, besides the products and company info and also its current future plan/outlook....
we got to understand the shareholder structure. smile.gif

CCM is the big fish in the pond and when we do further checking, the 30 biggest shareholder holds about 88% of the share, leaving only a free float of about 11%.
Very tightly held.... sweat.gif

a 75% after-tax dividend policy is great for dividend seekers! tongue.gif
20 mil (or 19 sen per share) cash. (not very strong)

ok.... if have to use PE....

we have a TTM profit of a 35 mil.
minus out that accounting profit of 3.7 mil, we have a TTM profit of only 31.3 mil (still a very decent growth) or an eps of 22.5 sen.
At 2.81, this equals to a PE of 12.4x.
Not expensive but not exactly cheap either.

andrekua2
post Jun 5 2014, 10:57 AM

13,469 posts

I really dont understand why WZSATU not being issued UMA.
spring onion
post Jun 5 2014, 11:52 AM

1,087 posts

QUOTE(Boon3 @ Jun 5 2014, 08:28 AM)
LOL!

Next is we ask Uncle Google.

Here are some more recent articles on CCMBD.

www.theedgemalaysia.com/business-news/290469-ccm-duopharma-expects-better-results-in-fy14.html

http://www.thestar.com.my/Business/Busines...Korean-company/

That should give us a better understanding of the company.  thumbup.gif

Ok, besides the products and company info and also its current future plan/outlook....
we got to understand the shareholder structure.  smile.gif

CCM is the big fish in the pond and when we do further checking, the 30 biggest shareholder holds about 88% of the share, leaving only a free float of about 11%.
Very tightly held....  sweat.gif

a 75% after-tax dividend policy is great for dividend seekers!  tongue.gif
20 mil (or 19 sen per share) cash. (not very strong)

ok.... if have to use PE....

we have a TTM profit of a 35 mil.
minus out that accounting profit of 3.7 mil, we have a TTM profit of only 31.3 mil (still a very decent growth) or an eps of 22.5 sen.
At 2.81, this equals to a PE of 12.4x.
Not expensive but not exactly cheap either.
woah thumbup.gif thumbup.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif

very insightful info given.

reason why i consider this in my wishlist:
1) supported by gov hospital, recession and economic boom, there will always demand for medical supply

2) a PE of 10-15 for a pharmaceutical company with an annual growth of 10-20% is pretty much normal, but given the low risk of having these stock, i would rate them as "better than FD anytime laugh.gif " but no one really knows the future

TSBoon3
post Jun 5 2014, 12:08 PM

15,942 posts

QUOTE(spring onion @ Jun 5 2014, 11:52 AM)
reason why i consider this in my wishlist:
1) supported by gov hospital, recession and economic boom, there will always demand for medical supply

2) a PE of 10-15 for a pharmaceutical company with an annual growth of 10-20% is pretty much normal, but given the low risk of having these stock, i would rate them as "better than FD anytime laugh.gif " but no one really knows the future
Auyoh! you are welcome.

Most of the info, all available on the net one. Free. tongue.gif tongue.gif

If in terms of reliance on gov project, then a more serious comparison must be made with Pharmaniaga (PE much, much higher innm. tongue.gif).

It's a much bigger company in size than CCMBD and if not mistaken it too 'rely' on govt tenders etc.... sweat.gif

.... and there is stock coverage on Pharma.... whereas there is none on CCMBD. rolleyes.gif

And if you were to take a look at Pharma's last 6 quarter profits, despite being a 'strong' player, it too suffered some hiccups despite its 'strong' govt ties. ( my interpretation would be that there is still gonna be risks despite the govt tenders/jobs)

.... errr..... 'better than FD'..... haha ..... that's not a very safe statement to make. whistling.gif

I remember such statements made in lowyat forums a couple years back....
and sadly some of those stocks...... not so happening..... sweat.gif

Have you taken a look at AHealth numbers? whistling.gif
Tripod
post Jun 5 2014, 11:56 PM

59 posts

QUOTE(Boon3 @ Jun 5 2014, 08:28 AM)

Very tightly held....  sweat.gif
its good to see many here willing to share knowledge thumbup.gif

i'm also new to this stock market thing....just starting to get interested.

just wondering about your remark above...about the free float of 11% and tightly held.

so is this a good thing or a bad thing?

is it better to buy shares with larger free float or less free float?

spring onion
post Jun 6 2014, 01:15 AM

1,087 posts

QUOTE(Boon3 @ Jun 5 2014, 12:08 PM)
Auyoh! you are welcome.

Most of the info, all available on the net one. Free. tongue.gif tongue.gif

If in terms of reliance on gov project, then a more serious comparison must be made with Pharmaniaga (PE much, much higher innm. tongue.gif).

It's a much bigger company in size than CCMBD and if not mistaken it too 'rely' on govt tenders etc....  sweat.gif

.... and there is stock coverage on Pharma.... whereas there is none on CCMBD.  rolleyes.gif

And if you were to take a look at Pharma's last 6 quarter profits, despite being a 'strong' player, it too suffered some hiccups despite its 'strong' govt ties. ( my interpretation would be that there is still gonna be risks despite the govt tenders/jobs)

.... errr..... 'better than FD'..... haha ..... that's not a very safe statement to make.  whistling.gif

I remember such statements made in lowyat forums a couple years back....
and sadly some of those stocks...... not so happening.....  sweat.gif 
Have you taken a look at AHealth numbers?  whistling.gif
AHealth? high PE with saturation growth detected sweat.gif

pharmaniaga? need to understand the rapid surge during last year

FD? i have always thought FD is a good place to save my money, but yep it was wrong... however having asset in terms of currency is the most flexible during emergency times

need more studies, will be back soon... going holiday with friends before settling for another job again thumbup.gif
spring onion
post Jun 6 2014, 01:21 AM

1,087 posts

QUOTE(Tripod @ Jun 5 2014, 11:56 PM)
its good to see many here willing to share knowledge  thumbup.gif

just wondering about your remark above...about the free float of 11% and tightly held.

some say good and some say bad.... but boon always like larger free float iinm.

good company with less free float is a good counter to invest too, given that their dividend payout is there
TSBoon3
post Jun 6 2014, 07:57 AM

15,942 posts

QUOTE(spring onion @ Jun 6 2014, 01:15 AM)
AHealth? high PE with saturation growth detected  sweat.gif

pharmaniaga? need to understand the rapid surge during last year

FD? i have always thought FD is a good place to save my money, but yep it was wrong... however having asset in terms of currency is the most flexible during emergency times

need more studies, will be back soon... going holiday with friends before settling for another job again thumbup.gif
Waaaa..... another holiday. tongue.gif

... and congrats ..... new job! thumbup.gif thumbup.gif

pharma was a 'special' case.
It had been suspended for a long time, due to shareholder spread issue (or something like that. tongue.gif)....
based on the earnings... the suspended price at that time was rather cheap... low PE... below 10 inm... whistling.gif
after exiting its real coma status.... it just erupted.... lol... went limit up couple of times inm too.
rest is history.

Anyway... point is... in a small sector (actually in any sector) ... you always need comparisons.

Simple reason is that you want to be in the best stock in that sector.
In your stock basket, you do not want to put everything (or over invest) into one sector...
you just want to choose the best...

And as you know, PE means price over earnings.
Price equals the traded stock price.
If the PE is high, it means the demand for the stock is high despite its earnings....
which crudely can means the stock is LAKU.
So high PE means LAKU.
Low PE means TADA LAKU or whack the fly. laugh.gif

Now take governmental contracted pharmaceutical companies like Pharma and CCMD.

Why is Pharma trading at PE multiples over 20... whereas CCMD is in the low teens?
why is Pharma more laku? rolleyes.gif

wil-i-am
post Jun 6 2014, 07:59 AM

10,001 posts

QUOTE(andrekua2 @ Jun 5 2014, 10:57 AM)
I really dont understand why WZSATU not being issued UMA.
Y when price increased is in orderly manner after listing of RI and special shares
TSBoon3
post Jun 6 2014, 08:34 AM

15,942 posts

QUOTE(Tripod @ Jun 5 2014, 11:56 PM)
its good to see many here willing to share knowledge  thumbup.gif

The checking of the free float is a simple exercise of awareness for the investor/trader.

There is always good and bad.
I don't think there is a one shoe fit all.

Now for a tightly held share.
One well known risk is the company could be taken private.
Yup, the big shareholder telan the rest of the shares.
They do this by making a general offer to buy the rest of the shares.

Now the obvious question is why would the big shareholder do this?
Isn't being a listed company very glamorous?
Isn't there many 'benefits' for a company to be listed? whistling.gif

If that's the case, why do the big shareholder want to chiak all the shares?

The simple reason always is to make BIG money. laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif

Jokes aside... this is very real.
Small shareholders always get cheated every single time when it happens.
Big eat small. sad.gif
Big bully small.

These cases usually happen in stocks where the float is small.
Smaller float means less shares not belonging to the big shareholders.

Take this recent example which I have read, Delloyd.

Read this: http://klse.i3investor.com/blogs/kianweiaritcles/52834.jsp

Quote: Delloyd's jewel is a large oil palm estate Sungai Rambai Estate which is about 20km from KL. It has an area of 1,448ha. The proposed WCE will run right through the middle of this estate. The market value of this estate is about RM1.55bil at RM10psf. This represents RM15.5/share.

Hidden value is worth 15.5 per share.
This jewel (or land) exists because the land has not been properly valued. doh.gif
ie the cost of the land in the account books is very cheap.

Let me paste these here from that posting...

Delloyd had on 16 May 2014 received a privatisation offer from its major owner. The privatization plan at MYR4.80 is via a selective capital reduction and repayment exercise. Major shareholder Chung & Tee Ventures Sdn Bhd, and parties acting in concert with them, own a total of 61.41 million shares or 63.58% stake in Delloyd.

At a price 4.80, Delloyd market capital is 480 million. (100 mil shares x 4.80)
or in simpler English, at 4.80, the whole of Delloyd is only worth 480 million.
ie if ever you can buy up all the shares, you only pay 480 million!
And since, the big fish already owns 61%, the big fish only needs to pay some 187 million to completely own that palm oil estate which has a market value of 1.55 billion.
Steal of the century????

This is one of the big risks in stocks which has a small free float.
Big fish eats small fish.

The advantage is, smaller float shares is more stable.
Big fish is in control of the share price.
But this itself has its good and bad.
The more sly big fish..... they can easily move the share price. tongue.gif
But then... there are some lazy big fish. laugh.gif
They tend to just manage the company and not the share....
and when that happens...
the share tends to be in coma.................. sweat.gif

Everything will have its pros and cons.
Most important, the stock player should be aware.
They need to know what they are getting into when they trade a share.....

Trading blindly and buying just cos someone else said so.... is extremely dangerous for your money.
foofoosasa
post Jun 6 2014, 03:26 PM

3,482 posts

Wah gem of the day rclxms.gif notworthy.gif
CP88
post Jun 6 2014, 10:08 PM

2,677 posts

QUOTE(foofoosasa @ Jun 6 2014, 03:26 PM)

Wah gem of the day  rclxms.gif  notworthy.gif
Couldn't agree more. thumbup.gif

Wonders where has been Gark lately. hmm.gif
johnkia
post Jun 7 2014, 01:38 AM

264 posts

what u guys think of sumatec?
wil-i-am
post Jun 7 2014, 07:52 AM

10,001 posts

QUOTE(johnkia @ Jun 7 2014, 01:38 AM)
what u guys think of sumatec?
Buy n keep until Dec 14
johnkia
post Jun 7 2014, 02:57 PM

264 posts

QUOTE(wil-i-am @ Jun 7 2014, 07:52 AM)
Buy n keep until Dec 14
thumbup.gif
Tripod
post Jun 7 2014, 04:51 PM

59 posts

thank you to the sifus here for a detailed reply thumbup.gif

you guys give good examples that a layman like me also can understand rclxms.gif

but seriously, now i get a better picture of a large and small free float.

but being taken private is not always a bad thing right?

for example, jt inter after annoucement, the price of the shares shot up to RM8 something now where previously it was mostly below RM6.5.

or is there another story behind this counter? hmm.gif
TSBoon3
post Jun 7 2014, 08:58 PM

15,942 posts

QUOTE(Tripod @ Jun 7 2014, 04:51 PM)
thank you to the sifus here for a detailed reply  thumbup.gif

you guys give good examples that a layman like me also can understand  rclxms.gif 

for example, jt inter after annoucement, the price of the shares shot up to RM8 something now where previously it was mostly below RM6.5.

or is there another story behind this counter?  hmm.gif
When it comes to offers, it's all about valuations.
The traded share price is not a fair indicator what a company is worth.

Using same Delloyd example, and if one uses traded share price as the indicator, one would assume that the offer is best cos Delloyd never traded so high before.

Takeover speculators would love the deal.
Quick, easy profit.
Nice.

However, those who knows about value, would feel they have been cheated big time.
TSBoon3
post Jun 8 2014, 10:28 AM

15,942 posts

QUOTE(Tripod @ Jun 7 2014, 04:51 PM)
thank you to the sifus here for a detailed reply  thumbup.gif

you guys give good examples that a layman like me also can understand  rclxms.gif 

or is there another story behind this counter?  hmm.gif
hehehe.... I give you a much more simpler layman perspective.

You own a house.
You purchase it say 500,000.00
I come up to you and offer you 700,00.
A cool 40% gain from your purchase price.
Would you take it?

Or would you do your own value research, in which you come to realise that a new LRT station would be build nearby and there's a new proposed high end property project to built next year, hence raising your home property to be worth at least 1.6million?

Yes, would you sell by value or would you sell just cos someone offered you a profitable price?

Which is why ....

when it comes to offers, it's all about valuations.
The traded share price is not a fair indicator what a company is worth.

And when you come to think all these over...
you would probably find it a bit all too strange...

People tends to buy and sell shares without much of a second thought....
but when it comes to say.. properties, cars, businesses... they want to do so much more homework...
and they demand 2nd opinion...
3rd opinion... etc etc etc....

152 Pages « < 49 50 51 52 53 > » Top

0.0383sec    0.41    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 04:28 AM