> World War I in Photos : 100 years ago

HangPC2
post Apr 28 2014, 07:17 PM

408 posts

14/01/1861 : Sultan terakhir Kesultanan Khalifah Uthmaniyah Turki, Mehmed VI dilahirkan di Dolmabahçe Palace, Constantinople.

Baginda Sultan Mehmed VI, memerintah dari tahun 1918 hingga lah 1922.

Perang Dunia Pertama memusnahkan empayar Kesultanan Uthmaniyah, di samping pengaruh gerakan nasionalis Turki itu sendiri. Nasionalis Turki pimpinan Mustafa Kemal Atatürk berfahaman sekular, menolak terang-terangan sistem khalifah dan kesultanan Islam.

Pada 17 November 1922, baginda Sultan Mehmed VI dibuang negeri ke Pulau Malta dengan dibawa menaiki kapal perang British, HMS Malaya.

Therapy88
post Apr 28 2014, 07:21 PM

77 posts

QUOTE(doppatroll @ Apr 28 2014, 10:55 AM)
remind of movie war horse.....where there is a scene both france and Germany stop shooting for few hours and come out from trench to help a horse....
should also read this
TRUCE
or this..
football truce
SOS BOLA
ryanlaw86
post Apr 28 2014, 07:22 PM

130 posts

wah ... so long so wonderful history

now ... one bullet = then 1 nuke on the way
urnicksux2
post Apr 28 2014, 07:24 PM

77 posts

no spoiler pls,i dont want to know the ending yet
TSrobertngo
post Apr 28 2014, 07:28 PM

4,027 posts

QUOTE(urnicksux2 @ Apr 28 2014, 07:24 PM)
no spoiler pls,i dont want to know the ending yet
snape kills dumbledore
HangPC2
post Apr 28 2014, 07:43 PM

408 posts

1st Lt. Yakup Robenson & 1st Lt. Abdurrahman Robenson Both officers were the sons of an English family Lady Sarah and Spencer Robenson who imigrated from India to Istanbul. They converted to Islam. lady Sarah got the name Fatma/Fatima and father Spencer Abdullah. They grew up their son as real Turkish Gentlemen. They were both students of Galatasaray and players of the football team. Abdurrahmen falled at Caucasus Front in 1915 and Yakup falled at Palastine front in 1916 while fighting againts British. Abdurrahmen Bey wrote to his team Captain Ali sami Bey from Erzurum (East Front) on Feb 13, 1915 " My Brother Ali Sami Bey We arrived to Erzurum in 35 days after our departure from Istanbul. We will be here for a few days. Then we will go to the front line. I have still the badge of our clup on my uniform. I shall bear the badge in all battles. If I die the badge will be on my chest and I will be buried with that badge. Long live Galatasaray. "

Yakup Robenson wrote to Ali Sami Bey from Cebel et Tur the Tur Mountain of Moses in Jerusalem "My Dear Ali Sami, I learned from ny brother Ahmet that Abdurrahman falled in action. What can I do it is the fate my dear. For the sake of fatherland some will die some will be Ghazi. It will so happen what the God orders. "

Thirth son of Robenson family was Ahmet Robenson. He served also in the army and returned as Ghazi. He is the founder of Turkish Boyscout Organization. He was made between July 17 1925 t0 1926 the 6th President of Galatasaray Sporting Club.Later he imigrated to USA.

singa89
post Apr 28 2014, 07:44 PM

long live play
1,204 posts

nice camera
HangPC2
post Apr 28 2014, 07:59 PM

408 posts

Uthmani Khilafah Air Force (Osmanli Hava Kuvvetleri)

1909-1918

The Ottoman Air Force was founded in June 1909, making it one of the first combat aviation organizations in the world. Its formation came about after the Ottoman Empire sent two Turkish pilots to the International Aviation Conference in Paris. It was the predecessor of today's Turkish Air Force.

kukakoko
post Apr 28 2014, 08:31 PM

33 posts

Camping
TSrobertngo
post Apr 28 2014, 09:30 PM

4,027 posts

QUOTE(MrUbikeledek @ Apr 28 2014, 06:50 PM)
kinda remind me of a quote by Baldrick from Blackadder "I heard the war started when Archie Duke shot an ostrich because he was hungry"
and baldrick soon join the commies
Flaming_lion
post Apr 28 2014, 09:31 PM

An Innocent Lion
649 posts

Screw the communists. The world would be a better world with fascists calling the shots. Look at Malaysia.
TSrobertngo
post Apr 29 2014, 11:11 AM

4,027 posts

QUOTE(Flaming_lion @ Apr 28 2014, 09:31 PM)
Screw the communists. The world would be a better world with fascists calling the shots. Look at Malaysia.
How will it be better?
Flaming_lion
post Apr 29 2014, 10:39 PM

An Innocent Lion
649 posts

QUOTE(robertngo @ Apr 29 2014, 11:11 AM)
How will it be better?
Communism is all about freeloading.

Flaming_lion
post Apr 29 2014, 10:49 PM

An Innocent Lion
649 posts

QUOTE(jamil sumbang. @ Apr 29 2014, 10:44 PM)
if u think about it, communism and islam are both same. great ideology but failed big time.
Actually ah, no lorrrrr... Communism and Islam are nothing alike. In fact ah..... Not just Islam, but all religious theocrats are neo-fascists in their own capacities.
TSrobertngo
post May 2 2014, 08:13 PM

4,027 posts

TSrobertngo
post May 5 2014, 11:48 AM

4,027 posts

World War I in Photos: The Western Front, Part I

http://www.theatlantic.com/static/infocus/wwi/westernfront1/

When we think of World War I, images of the bloody, muddy Western Front are generally what come to mind. Scenes of frightened young men standing in knee-deep mud, awaiting the call to go "over the top", facing machine guns, barbed wire, mortars, bayonets, hand-to-hand battles, and more. We also think of the frustrations of all involved: the seemingly simple goal, the incomprehensible difficulty of just moving forward, and the staggering numbers of men killed. The stalemate on the Western Front lasted for four years, forcing the advancement of new technologies, bleeding the resources of the belligerent nations, and destroying the surrounding countryside. Today's entry is part 2 of a 10-part series on World War I, which will be posted every Sunday until June 29. This installment focuses on the early years on the front, part II will focus more on the final year of trench warfare.

Looking out across a battlefield from an Anzac pill box near the Belgian city of Ypres in West Flanders in 1917. When German forces met stiff resistance in northern France in 1914, a "race to the sea" developed as France and Germany tried to outflank each other, establishing battle lines that stretched from Switzerland to the North Sea. Allies and Central Powers literally dug in, excavating thousands of miles of defensive trenches, and trying desperately to break through the other side for years, at unspeakably huge cost in blood and treasure. (James Francis Hurley/State Library of New South Wales)

French soldiers on horseback in street, with an airship "DUPUY DE LOME" flying in air behind them, between ca. 1914. (Library of Congress) #

Six German soldiers pose in a in trench with machine gun, a mere 40 meters from the British line, according to the caption provided. The machine gun appears to be a Maschinengewehr 08, or MG 08, capable of firing 450-500 rounds a minute. The large cylinder is a jacket around the barrel, filled with water to cool the metal during rapid fire. The soldier at right, with gas mask canister slung over his shoulder, is peering into a periscope to get a view of enemy activity. The soldier at rear, with steel helmet, holds a "potato masher" model 24 grenade. (Library of Congress) #

German captive balloon at Equancourt, France, on September 22, 1916. Observation balloons were used by both sides to gain an advantage of height across relatively flat terrain. Observers were lifted in a small gondola suspended below the hydrogen-filled balloons. Hundreds were shot down during the course of the war. (CC BY SA Benjamin Hirschfeld) #

Soldiers struggle to pull a huge piece of artillery through mud. The gun has been placed on a track created for a light railway. The soldiers are pushing a device, attached to the gun, that possibly slots into the tracks. Some of the men are in a ditch that runs alongside the track, the rest are on the track itself. A makeshift caterpillar tread has been fitted to the wheels of the gun, in an attempt to aid its movement through the mud. (National Library of Scotland) #

Members of New Zealand's Maori Pioneer Battalion perform a haka for New Zealand's Prime Minister William Massey and Deputy Prime Minister Sir Joseph Ward in Bois-de Warnimont, France, during World War I, on June 30, 1918. (Henry Armytage Sanders/National Library of New Zealand) #

Dead horses are buried in a trench after the Battle of Haelen which was fought by the German and Belgian armies on August 12, 1914 near Haelen, Belgium. Horses were everywhere in World War I, used by armies, and caught up in farm fields turned into battlefields, millions of them were killed. (Library of Congress) #

German soldiers make observations from atop, beneath, and behind large haystacks in southwest Belgium, ca. 1915. (Library of Congress) #

British soldiers standing in mud on the French front lines, ca. 1917. (National Library of Scotland) #

In France, a British machine-gun team. The gun, which appears to be a Vickers, is mounted on the front of a motorcycle side car. (National Library of Scotland) #
TSrobertngo
post May 5 2014, 11:55 AM

4,027 posts

Mountains of shell cases on the roadside near the front lines, the contents of which had been fired into the German lines. (Tom Aitken/National Library of Scotland) #

Soldiers in trenches during write letters home. Life in the trenches was summed up by the phrase which later became well-known: "Months of boredom punctuated by moments of extreme terror." (Netherlands Nationaal Archief) #

At Cambrai, German soldiers load a captured British Mark I tank onto a railroad, in November of 1917. Tanks were first used in battle during World War I, in September of 1916, when 49 British Mark I tanks were sent in during the Battle of Flers-Courcelette. (Deutsches Bundesarchiv) #

At a height of 150 meters above the fighting line, a French photographer was able to capture a photograph of French troops on the Somme Front, launching an attack on the Germans, ca. 1916. The smoke may have been deployed intentionally, as a screening device to mask the advance. (NARA/U.S. War Dept.) #

An explosion near trenches dug into the grounds of Fort de la Pompelle, near Reims, France. (San Diego Air and Space Museum) #

French soldiers make a gas and flame attack on German trenches in Flanders, Belgium, on January 1, 1917. Both sides used different gases as weapons during the war, both asphyxiants and irritants, often to devastating effect. (National Archives) #

Gassed patients are treated at the 326th Field Hospital near Royaumeix, France, on August 8, 1918. The hospital was not large enough to accommodate the large number of patients. (CC BY Otis Historical Archives) #

A gigantic shell crater, 75 yards in circumference, Ypres, Belgium, October 1917. (Australian official photographs/State Library of New South Wales) #

Bringing Canadian wounded to the Field Dressing Station, Vimy Ridge in April of 1917. German prisoners assist in pushing the rail car. (CC BY 2.0 Wellcome Library, London) #

Men wounded in the Ypres battle of September 20th, 1917. Walking along the Menin road, to be taken to the clearing station. German prisoners are seen assisting at stretcher bearing. (Captain G. Wilkins/State Library of Victoria) #
TSrobertngo
post May 5 2014, 11:15 PM

4,027 posts

5 Pages « < 3 4 5

0.0153sec    0.63    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 03:29 PM