QUOTE(cks2k2 @ Apr 21 2014, 05:07 PM)
Thats true...at one point in time, if I'm not mistaken around 2003, the a/p and a/l was made optional, but its being put in place now. Not sure whats the reason.
About A/L and A/P, Why oh why?
Apr 21 2014, 05:13 PM
3,853 posts Joined: Aug 2005 |
Apr 21 2014, 05:14 PM
206 posts Joined: Sep 2010 From: Joined: Jan 2003 |
iinm, not putting 'bin' in ic, the boys/girls considered as foster child.. haha
Apr 21 2014, 05:15 PM
4,361 posts Joined: Oct 2010 From: KL |
when lotr use aragorn son of arathorn, gimli son of gloin, punya main supportive everyone..
but switch to a/l, a/p, feel outdated pula.. ptui hypocrites |
Apr 21 2014, 05:15 PM
44 posts Joined: Aug 2012 |
QUOTE(empire23 @ Apr 21 2014, 04:54 PM) Most of my friends have taken out the bin and binti out of their kids names these days. Correct me if I'm wrong, i thought children with no "bin/binti" now being implemented by gov so that they did'nt have to use "bin/binti Abdullah" as they are anak luar nikah. Can anyone explain this? I'd probably do the same if I had kids. |
Apr 21 2014, 05:20 PM
1,966 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: No longer hanging by a NUS |
is a/l and a/p a british colonial thing?
also bin/binti -> isn't that because most malays don't have a surname so bin/binti was needed to differentiate siti A from siti B i vaguely remember marina mahathir using surname and not bin/binti though |
Apr 21 2014, 05:20 PM
9,417 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Bladin Point, Northern Territory |
QUOTE(abemin @ Apr 21 2014, 05:15 PM) Correct me if I'm wrong, i thought children with no "bin/binti" now being implemented by gov so that they did'nt have to use "bin/binti Abdullah" as they are anak luar nikah. Can anyone explain this? Not sure. I figured you should be able to name your kid anything as long as it wasn't anything nasty, under the prohibited name list or insulting. |
Apr 21 2014, 05:29 PM
10 posts Joined: May 2007 |
Apr 21 2014, 05:35 PM
10 posts Joined: May 2007 |
anyway to ts, this oso u mau kecoh ka
why u no kecoh roman and greek ages before us or other names all around the globe; da, de, le, mc, o', dos, van, etc |
Apr 21 2014, 05:36 PM
32 posts Joined: May 2008 From: ☆☆☆☆☆☆☆☆☆☆☆ |
Apr 21 2014, 05:36 PM
85 posts Joined: Dec 2005 |
QUOTE(NismoConcept @ Apr 21 2014, 03:42 PM) Hi Msians.... may I know why Yindian in your country have to put A/L and A/P in between their name? up to you ler wan put or not...e.g Kali A/L Muthu Why can't they just put Kali Muthu? As for Meles, I think modern Meles will not put Najib Bin Razak and put Najib Razak instead right? They minus out the Bin. Correct me if ayam wrong. Tenkiu.... in advance as I confuse some times in this matter... if parents put for u long time ago...go JPN and change urself lar... |
Apr 21 2014, 05:38 PM
3,668 posts Joined: Jun 2006 From: Bikini Abyss |
QUOTE(jepakazoid_82 @ Apr 21 2014, 04:46 PM) Dulu, zaman Lord of the rings, Dwarfs, Human dengan Elf pon guna something similar jugak. Macam Gimli son of Gloin dan Aragon son of Arathon. Kalau ade meeting atau teleconference diorang akan address dwarf tu Gimli son of Gloin tapi dia tak panggil 'Gimli Gloin'. Silap panggil kene kapak nanti. |
Apr 21 2014, 05:46 PM
80 posts Joined: Jan 2006 |
QUOTE(falzehope @ Apr 21 2014, 05:05 PM) I am quite curious about his name. Osama's father is not Laden but Mohammed. Osama's full name is Osama bin Mohammed bin Awad bin Laden but Laden is also not his great grandfather. According to Wiki,QUOTE Osama bin Laden's full name, Osama bin Mohammed bin Awad bin Laden, means "Osama, son of Mohammed, son of Awad, son of Laden". "Mohammed" refers to bin Laden's father Mohammed bin Laden; "Awad" refers to his grandfather, Awad bin Aboud bin Laden, a Kindite Hadhrami tribesman; "Laden" refers not to bin Laden's great-grandfather, who was named Aboud, but to a more distant ancestor. Osama's son, Omar bin Laden also use Laden instead of Osama. So, that means that their family is using bin Laden as some sort of pseudo surname. Yet, the wiki also states QUOTE The Arabic linguistic convention would be to refer to him as "Osama" or "Osama bin Laden", not "bin Laden" alone, as "bin Laden" is a patronymic, not a surname in the Western manner. According to bin Laden's son Omar bin Laden, the family's hereditary surname is "al-Qahtani" (Arabic: القحطاني, āl-Qaḥṭānī), but bin Laden's father Mohammed bin Laden never officially registered the name. So, what's up with this? Any reason behind this style of naming? And how does surname come into play in Arabic name since they didn't even register it? Any Malaysian Muslim that follow this style of naming? |
Apr 21 2014, 05:53 PM
1,262 posts Joined: Oct 2009 |
Apr 21 2014, 05:53 PM
4,234 posts Joined: Nov 2004 |
silly OP, of all the things you could ask/complain you ask about irrelevant crap...
Why not ask about surnames? Why use the father's name instead of family name/surname? |
Apr 21 2014, 05:56 PM
1,248 posts Joined: Feb 2013 From: opis |
basically its the lack of surnames in msian indians and malays
Apr 21 2014, 05:57 PM
1,262 posts Joined: Oct 2009 |
QUOTE(abemin @ Apr 21 2014, 05:15 PM) Correct me if I'm wrong, i thought children with no "bin/binti" now being implemented by gov so that they did'nt have to use "bin/binti Abdullah" as they are anak luar nikah. Can anyone explain this? yeah, its true.. anak luar nikah must not have 'bin/binti' if that man piap2 and lari.. but if someone marry that anak's mom, then, that anak will get 'bin/binti' cmiiw This post has been edited by harizdesu: Apr 21 2014, 05:57 PM |
Apr 21 2014, 05:57 PM
70 posts Joined: Feb 2014 |
Because some people have very long name, so it's hard to tell where it ends and their parent name. Although, personally I find short names without the a/l, a/p, bin, binti etcetc much more elegant.
Apr 21 2014, 06:10 PM
413 posts Joined: Nov 2008 From: Cyberjaya, Selangor |
Family name: stark, sigil: direwolf, motto: winter is coming
Apr 21 2014, 06:29 PM
25 posts Joined: Nov 2011 |
QUOTE(8sg9ft @ Apr 21 2014, 04:58 PM) Why some Indians have a/l and a/p while some Indians have their dad's name (I think) as an initial before their name e.g. N. Surendran or something like that and others have names like erm.... got family name at the back... e.g. xxxx Kumar or xxxx Raj something like that Previously met one yindian guy in labor room, his waifu deliver that time and my waifu next room, few days later meet him againMohon pencerahan in JPN and he told me he got some issue removing A/L for his son's name and need to get someone political influence ppl to help to do so, i ask him why? and i got shocked when he answered me they remove A/L or A/P because their son or doter will dun have difficulties going oversea to further study in future. Please correct me if i am wrong. |
Apr 21 2014, 06:48 PM
659 posts Joined: Apr 2007 From: Russia with Love |
QUOTE(Opakut Fan @ Apr 21 2014, 06:29 PM) Previously met one yindian guy in labor room, his waifu deliver that time and my waifu next room, few days later meet him again This. My friend actually having trouble entering USA due to his A/L. He told me they read it as AL.. as in AL Jabbar. He kena tahan for few hours for checking before been allow enter. For my case mine is S/O on my birth certificate and sister is D/O instead of A/L & A/P in JPN and he told me he got some issue removing A/L for his son's name and need to get someone political influence ppl to help to do so, i ask him why? and i got shocked when he answered me they remove A/L or A/P because their son or doter will dun have difficulties going oversea to further study in future. Please correct me if i am wrong. |
| Bump Topic Add ReplyOptions New Topic |
| Change to: | 0.0163sec
5 queries
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 08:16 AM |