LYN Christian Fellowship V7 (Group), Bible Hope never disappoints!

iwubpreve
post Aug 7 2014, 12:40 PM

1,829 posts

“As the Father has loved me, so have I loved you. Now remain in my love. If you keep my commands, you will remain in my love, just as I have kept my Father’s commands and remain in his love. I have told you this so that my joy may be in you and that your joy may be complete. (‭John‬ ‭15‬:‭9-11‬ NIV)

love + obey = joy.
we want joy but a lot of time the joy didn't come into our mind when we think of obey. Jesus said that we need to keep the command (obey) so that joy will be in us. we have a community and Christian around us will speak the truth (it could be hurting us and create conflict). their truth is something we NEED to hear unlike those worldly friend that speak only the truth that we WANT or PLEASED to hear. yes, the truth is painful and unpleasant but they speak the truth in love. by acknowledge and obey the truth spoken by disciples that truly love us, the joy will with us.

Perfume and incense bring joy to the heart, and the pleasantness of a friend springs from their heartfelt advice. (‭Proverbs‬ ‭27‬:‭9‬ NIV)

This post has been edited by iwubpreve: Aug 7 2014, 12:45 PM
iwubpreve
post Aug 19 2014, 09:01 AM

1,829 posts

QUOTE(Sophiera @ Aug 18 2014, 09:45 PM)
I have a feeling that many Christians (including myself) worry that we've not done enough to be qualified before the end.

Ah, but I must remember what Uw and pehkay have taught before this. It's all God's work not our effort.
Luke 18:18-30 NIV

A certain ruler asked him, “Good teacher, what must I do to inherit eternal life?” “Why do you call me good?” Jesus answered. “No one is good—except God alone. You know the commandments: ‘You shall not commit adultery, you shall not murder, you shall not steal, you shall not give false testimony, honor your father and mother.’ ” “All these I have kept since I was a boy,” he said. When Jesus heard this, he said to him, “You still lack one thing. Sell everything you have and give to the poor, and you will have treasure in heaven. Then come, follow me.” When he heard this, he became very sad, because he was very wealthy. Jesus looked at him and said, “How hard it is for the rich to enter the kingdom of God! Indeed, it is easier for a camel to go through the eye of a needle than for someone who is rich to enter the kingdom of God.” Those who heard this asked, “Who then can be saved?” Jesus replied, “What is impossible with man is possible with God.” Peter said to him, “We have left all we had to follow you!” “Truly I tell you,” Jesus said to them, “no one who has left home or wife or brothers or sisters or parents or children for the sake of the kingdom of God will fail to receive many times as much in this age, and in the age to come eternal life.”

I thought of this scripture. the young ruler thought he done enough when Jesus point out clearly the obstacle he have. of course here not asking u give everything to God but the readiness u have for God. I believe many of us have our own obstacle to draw closer to god. it could be intense working hour, heavy responsibility in career, timidity in share ur faith and etc that give us an opportunity to refuse ourselves from pleasing god eg. attend church, share our faith to people, and etc.
iwubpreve
post Aug 19 2014, 10:33 AM

1,829 posts

QUOTE(unknown warrior @ Aug 19 2014, 09:40 AM)
There is an effort on our part.

1. Believe
2. To Rest in God.
That is the one battle the devil will go all out to persuade you to either give up or disbelieve or be agitated all the time.

Check your life and you'll see either one of the 3 is true or happening.

Our fight in life is never against people but against Spiritual forces of darkness waging war in our mind, not our circumstances.

Ephesians 6:12 - For our struggle is not against flesh and blood, but against the rulers, against the authorities, against the powers of this dark world and against the spiritual forces of evil in the heavenly realms.

2 Corinthians 10:3-5:
…For though we walk in the flesh, we do not war according to the flesh, for the weapons of our warfare are not of the flesh, but divinely powerful for the destruction of fortresses. We are destroying speculations and every lofty thing raised up against the knowledge of God, and we are taking every thought captive to the obedience of Christ,
The Devil will wage war to confuse you about your Salvation, making you think you need to do something, Fulfill the Commandments via obey God example, etc.
The Devil will wage war to confuse you making you think you've not up to standard, ie: you've sinned too many times after being saved.
This is the daily battle for the believers.

Every believers have different spiritual battle.

Like mine, the devil is fighting hard to stop me from serving in Church. He knows, can't persuade me that I'm not saved, so uses other weapons of warfare.  I know. smile.gif
tl;dr tongue.gif
just joking. i think the salvation is really easy. just declare Jesus is our Lord and we are saved. but of course it has to come v action. (eg. u agree that fast food is not healthy. by doing the action [abstinence from eating fast food], u will not unhealthy.)

by declare Jesus is Lord also have to be coupler together v action which is do something u agreed v Him by being set free. free from worldly standard so u no longer afraid of being judge by other by doing those godly deeds.

it's just my thought.
iwubpreve
post Aug 22 2014, 09:57 AM

1,829 posts

QUOTE(sonido @ Aug 22 2014, 08:29 AM)
My heart just scream... you are very wrong... salvation ISN'T EASY! Do not teach things you do not know.

Please do not insult God by saying salvation is like a candy you can obtain so easily... none of us is worthy enough for salvation, no one can demand for it. Only God will draw whoever the right one to Jesus. Not you to choose when and where you want to be saved... drill that into your brain!
I disagree. don't talk like it's so difficult to obtain salvation. it's easy when u were set free. anyway I don't wanna argue further.

cheers biggrin.gif
iwubpreve
post Aug 22 2014, 11:28 AM

1,829 posts

QUOTE(sonido @ Aug 22 2014, 10:56 AM)
Right. I also hope you will not be offended. I hate to see people given false hope and false teaching particlrly by those who profess as christians.

read this a small token for your education..

Enter through the narrow gate. For wide is the gate and broad is the road that leads to destruction, and many enter through it. But small is the gate and narrow the road that leads to life, and only a few find it. (Matthew 7:13-14, NIV)
agree that we shouldn't use shortcut in the context. but doesn't mean it's difficult.

Luke 18:9-14 NIV

To some who were confident of their own righteousness and looked down on everyone else, Jesus told this parable: “Two men went up to the temple to pray, one a Pharisee and the other a tax collector. The Pharisee stood by himself and prayed: ‘God, I thank you that I am not like other people—robbers, evildoers, adulterers—or even like this tax collector. I fast twice a week and give a tenth of all I get.’ “But the tax collector stood at a distance. He would not even look up to heaven, but beat his breast and said, ‘God, have mercy on me, a sinner.’ “I tell you that this man, rather than the other, went home justified before God. For all those who exalt themselves will be humbled, and those who humble themselves will be exalted.”

inb4 don't misleading by quote wrong scripture.
iwubpreve
post Aug 22 2014, 05:20 PM

1,829 posts

QUOTE(sonido @ Aug 22 2014, 12:08 PM)
You just quote the right one. Tell me how easy is it to really really beat your breast in repentance and admit to God you deserve no mercy no grace no love from Him apart from your dirty little soul tht you can offer to Him.. ??? man that is not easy I tell you... i know it bcuz i exp it myself.. on the verge of suicide........
sorry for all the hardship u went through. glad u already moving on.

anyway the way u talk is like the Pharisee pinpoint the tax collector's wrongdoing. it's graceless. want to get salvation? do this and that, get a "bachelor of degree in Christ" then we talk. when what God want is just u to say sorry to him and his door will always open for u. what so hard? what u do is just scare off pipu to know the gospel which is all about love. God is love.
iwubpreve
post Aug 26 2014, 10:32 PM

1,829 posts

QUOTE(ngaisteve1 @ Aug 26 2014, 12:17 PM)
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gmA_lyYJLu0

Is it true those Nephilim that huge size?
when the comment is disable, usually it's fake biggrin.gif
iwubpreve
post Aug 29 2014, 04:20 PM

1,829 posts

QUOTE(josephlau7966 @ Aug 28 2014, 08:46 PM)
hi all....reporting in....i am christian also....smile.gif
Matthew 25:11-12 NIV

“Later the others also came. ‘Lord, Lord,’ they said, ‘open the door for us!’ “But he replied, ‘Truly I tell you, I don’t know you.’

apparently, those who shout the "Lord, Lord" mean they are aware of Law of God. in other word, they were Christian, but God said that He don't know him. being a Christian doesn't mean u are saved.

inb4 captain obvious.

just crack a little humor here biggrin.gif anyway I'm quite a pessimistic person so will thought of this la. Christian journey could be very fulfilling if u allow God to utilize u smile.gif

This post has been edited by iwubpreve: Aug 29 2014, 04:20 PM
iwubpreve
post Aug 29 2014, 04:23 PM

1,829 posts

QUOTE(Sophiera @ Aug 29 2014, 03:33 PM)
Ya the 31st August one.

(I don't know if I can wake up in time for that too)
when tomorrow u got an 5am flight to catch up for Tokyo trip, u will put best effort to wake up in order to catch the flight. but worship God hmm.gif

This post has been edited by iwubpreve: Aug 29 2014, 04:24 PM
iwubpreve
post Aug 29 2014, 04:33 PM

1,829 posts

QUOTE(Sophiera @ Aug 29 2014, 04:25 PM)
5 am flight? I won't sleep at all.  Lately I've been sleeping at 6 am. >_>
just a comparison side by side la biggrin.gif
iwubpreve
post Aug 29 2014, 04:40 PM

1,829 posts

QUOTE(Sophiera @ Aug 29 2014, 04:24 PM)
They are not Christians.

There are many nominal Christians a.k.a born into a Christian family/nation. But they don't practice the faith.
There are people who studied the Bible academically.
There are occultists that add Jesus into their list of 'gods'.
There are also many people who heard of Jesus but didn't put faith in Him. Last minute mau butter up.

And a few other more, tolong mintak pehkay and UW explain.
anyway anyone can declare themselves as Christian. not going to judge whether they are nominal or not, just wanna mention that u can declare urself as Christian but doesn't mean u are saved la.

even those put faith in Jesus doesn't mean they practice it too.

John 12:42-43 NIV

Yet at the same time many even among the leaders believed in him. But because of the Pharisees they would not openly acknowledge their faith for fear they would be put out of the synagogue; for they loved human praise more than praise from God.

here talking abt Pharisees. they are in top position. some believe in Jesus. believing in Jesus enough? devil believe in Jesus better than us but he still did his own way. these Pharisees believe but they fear. what they fear of? they afraid of expelled from synagogue (they love God's word that's why they also afraid being expelled from synagogue where they can read/listen to the Word) deep down they know Jesus is savior but they cannot follow because they fear of human.

This post has been edited by iwubpreve: Aug 29 2014, 04:40 PM
iwubpreve
post Aug 29 2014, 04:46 PM

1,829 posts

QUOTE(josephlau7966 @ Aug 29 2014, 04:41 PM)
I am not the kind of Christian who shouts "Lord' always....just a normal Christian struggling with sin...and somehow on and off feel tired to battle with sin.... icon_question.gif
that's alright. important is u acknowledge it's sin, confess and repent. David done the same yet he repented and move on and never repeat that again. that's also why he is a man after God's own heart.

This post has been edited by iwubpreve: Aug 29 2014, 04:47 PM
iwubpreve
post Aug 29 2014, 05:10 PM

1,829 posts

QUOTE(josephlau7966 @ Aug 29 2014, 05:03 PM)
And just made up my mind not to start dating with a non-christian girl....is painful because we like each other....now paying the price.... sad.gif
watch this, God love u too. hope u can relate

This post has been edited by iwubpreve: Aug 29 2014, 05:10 PM
iwubpreve
post Sep 4 2014, 09:16 AM

1,829 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Sep 4 2014, 08:45 AM)
I cant comprehend children of the Lord having to pay to worship or is this a concert labelled 'Christian'?
I think those fee is just for reimburse the rental and expenses arise due to those events. not for profitable purpose?
iwubpreve
post Sep 4 2014, 12:39 PM

1,829 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Sep 4 2014, 11:19 AM)
'Christian' or gospel music is VERY profitable.

I organise seminars where the local sponsors pay for the loose ends if there is a loss. IF this is worship, they should go for local sponsors and free will offering.
Afterall the venue is owned  by a church?  Why ask for upfront payment for tickets?  Sounds like a profitable concert.

If its not profit, any profits should be declared for accountability and donated to pre planned organisations.  That's my opinion.
for them as long as they are not greed and they also give tenth of their earning to god, it should be fine.

for us, should view that they serve god too. so deserve an earning better than us as their job are noble, saving the soul unlike we work for a living biggrin.gif
iwubpreve
post Sep 11 2014, 09:11 AM

1,829 posts

Two monks were making a pilgrimage to venerate the relics of a great Saint. During the course of their journey, they came to a river where they met a beautiful young woman -- an apparently worldly creature, dressed in expensive finery and with her hair done up in the latest fashion. She was afraid of the current and afraid of ruining her lovely clothing, so asked the brothers if they might carry her across the river.

The younger and more exacting of the brothers was offended at the very idea and turned away with an attitude of disgust. The older brother didn't hesitate, and quickly picked the woman up on his shoulders, carried her across the river, and set her down on the other side. She thanked him and went on her way, and the brother waded back through the waters.

The monks resumed their walk, the older one in perfect equanimity and enjoying the beautiful countryside, while the younger one grew more and more brooding and distracted, so much so that he could keep his silence no longer and suddenly burst out, "Brother, we are taught to avoid contact with women, and there you were, not just touching a woman, but carrying her on your shoulders!"

The older monk looked at the younger with a loving, pitiful smile and said, "Brother, I set her down on the other side of the river; you are still carrying her."

this parable from Buddhist is really relatable when come to this context. anyway actually a lot of people will think that, "yes the old monk break the rule but he already put down" which is wrong. the fact is this is not what the parable try to tell. monk had been trained to forget about love and lust. the young monk think they shouldn't touch the woman because he still practicing forget about love and lust. the old monk fully understand that hence to him carry woman is just like carry man. at the end when the old monk confronting young monk that "why he still carry the woman" mean that why he still bear v the thought of love and lust. when he ask that question to old monk which mean he still haven't let go that. young monk failed to perceive the meaning behind the creation of the law.

so is old monk break the law? no he isn't. the old monk know where the law came from. there is always a fundamental when a law created.
iwubpreve
post Sep 12 2014, 05:51 PM

1,829 posts

QUOTE(TheAccountant @ Sep 12 2014, 05:50 PM)
Love Buddhism so much go change religion lah. Buddhism good wat. Why be a Christian. Why continue being in a religion that is not sufficient for you?
don't be so narrow sighted
iwubpreve
post Sep 12 2014, 06:06 PM

1,829 posts

2 Timothy 2:23 NIV

Don’t have anything to do with foolish and stupid arguments, because you know they produce quarrels.

inb4 accusing someone ignorant
iwubpreve
post Sep 15 2014, 01:36 PM

1,829 posts

QUOTE(unknown warrior @ Sep 14 2014, 12:22 PM)
Reminder:

Urging all Christians in this forum to come for prayer this 16th Sept (Tues) (9.30am - 12.30pm).

It's a holiday, ya'll.
UW, this church is ur church?

St. Andrew's Presbyterian Church

http://standrewschurch.org.my/

saw they also post similar Malaysian day service something like that.
iwubpreve
post Sep 15 2014, 02:27 PM

1,829 posts

QUOTE(unknown warrior @ Sep 15 2014, 01:40 PM)
Well......... biggrin.gif

Calvary is also my home Church, was from Calvary back in the 90s.

But the Poster is distributed throughout Churches in Klang Valley.

Even Methodist Churches have a copy.

I'm going tomorrow. You coming? Parking is free. Come pray for the country.
ohh. just curious smile.gif

no, I'm not coming la biggrin.gif

anyway to be honest I actually also avoid attend other church activity. coz sometimes dunno what they really doing, eg. clash of conviction. u know different church different practice. especially when come to those practice which is so contrary to your believe, it create insecurity and awkward.

maybe I'm wrong. do enlighten me smile.gif

0.0718sec    0.59    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 10:55 AM