LYN Christian Fellowship V7 (Group), Bible Hope never disappoints!

eaglehelang
post Jun 1 2014, 12:25 AM

1,075 posts

QUOTE(ncys1 @ May 31 2014, 08:02 PM)
Wow, that's certainly a very lengthy reply. I was more or less focused on this aspect of the relationship between Christianity and the Chinese. I am aware that among Chinese people, there's this sentiment that "Christianity is for the foreigners and other races. Their God is foreign.", that sort of thing. I was wondering how should we best demonstrate and show that that shouldn't be the case.
Short answer: China. The Christians there are very passionate though they are persecuted.
Other, you can google or listen to testimonies by missionaries to China
eaglehelang
post Jun 12 2014, 10:42 PM

1,075 posts

QUOTE(Sophiera @ Jun 12 2014, 04:43 PM)
Yes it is. I always feel left out to be honest >_<
Left out in what sense? Nobody come talk to you? You join but feel you not ngam key with them?
Or generation gap?
Join the prayer meeting or Bible Study or Home Cell. If want more socialising, it does take more effort.

For me, less kacauing me better. Other than serving/ministry (ie work) matters, I quickly buzz off to avoid the pot pet pot pet, from Genesis to Revelation also they can cerita.
eaglehelang
post Jun 18 2014, 11:44 PM

1,075 posts

QUOTE(spacelion @ Jun 18 2014, 02:32 PM)
I agree, that was the point that I was trying to make.
Although I am amazed at Sophie's discourse that her old church had a dependent pastor who was unable to make ends meet. Notice that even the disciples had jobs while they were following Jesus around, they didn't just drop their vocations and follow Him around 24/7.
If the pastor is full time, it IS his job to look after the sheep, ie members. That itself, takes up a lot of time. It's not just preaching on Sundays, visitations, counselling, giving Bible studies, conducting prayer meetings. Visitation & counselling takes up the bulk of their time. If the church has 100 members or more,can imagine.

If your church is small, then can have lay pastor but the lay pastor cant do much cos he has a day job. Any emergency cant immediately go.
I was helping one of my assistant pastors, from morning to night the pastor is busy with ministry. She was overseeing 3 ministries, I only serve small part in one ministry already have so many things to do.

eaglehelang
post Oct 15 2014, 02:00 AM

1,075 posts

QUOTE(General Fahmy @ Oct 14 2014, 10:45 PM)
The best is to join a family oriented cg. The cg leader who is married and have kids tend to have more emphathy, understanding and kindness.

If a cg leader is kind, he would at least call up and check on the couple but no, this single guy went to talk bad things to other people at the church about this couple.
Didnt the pastor vet thru first before selecting CG leader? Must be of mature character,etc,etc. And then need to go thru CG leader training session first.
AND, if possible, CG with majority married people, the leader is married. Single adults have another CG.
There're even CG according to age group or gender - college students, single adults, senior adults, ladies fellowship, men's fellowship. So just choose one that can click with

But I dunno what denomination you're from. For pentecostal, we can have female CG leader(there are more sisters than brothers in churches anyway), even female pastor.

This post has been edited by eaglehelang: Oct 15 2014, 02:09 AM
eaglehelang
post Oct 15 2014, 02:07 AM

1,075 posts

QUOTE(TankerGadget Store @ Oct 15 2014, 12:45 AM)
yea i think its time for lowyat members to form a CG !!! YO !!! my church got no CG one == ... too small in size ... selangor area 1 cg family, other area one ...
How to gather, have online CG meeting, video conferencing? Esp if we are not from same states biggrin.gif
eaglehelang
post Oct 15 2014, 01:43 PM

1,075 posts

QUOTE(General Fahmy @ Oct 15 2014, 11:13 AM)
yeah sort of. The cg leader is more pleasant.

But as i said in my church, cgs are shrinking. If we count out his wife and his kids, our cg is only 5 people.

I think its fair to expect a cg to be like an extended family and friends. I once got lambasted in youth church, by a leader much older than me, because he told me off cg is not a social club. I said "what the?" Why not? I mean whats wrong with not having some edification and making friends? Why not the cg have some chemistry, is it a crime?

Its just like this sometimes during christmas or CNY, i feel really left out, I want to spend time with my brothers and sisters in christ but they too busy to celebrate.
Well, in a sense the leader is right, CG is not social club per se. A lot of ppl treat it like social club, i.e. cerita2, gossip2, more on gossiping session. A lot of ppl just go to CG to let off steam, cerita2, that's it.

To me, that's wasting time and energy, go there, listen to them gossip2, grumble abt their life problems. But since I dont have high expectation, then wouldn't disaapointed. I also will not share personal matters during CG.

As for the insurance guy, he shouldnt divulge other members private matters. BUT, he ffk you at mamak stall also want to kira meh? In life and ministry, many2 more challenges we face, worse than what you describe ada byk.
Our focus should be on God, human, even the supposed matured christians, are flawed.

This post has been edited by eaglehelang: Oct 15 2014, 01:47 PM
eaglehelang
post Oct 15 2014, 05:36 PM

1,075 posts

QUOTE(de1929 @ Oct 15 2014, 02:13 PM)
after cerita2x, gossip, social clubbing, do you have prayer, bible discussion ? or simply go home ?
Of course prayer, the Word part got. But as you know, the pot pet pot pet part is much longer than prayer or Bible discussion. tongue.gif

For the extrovert who needs to socialize, yeah. For the introvert, not really.

This post has been edited by eaglehelang: Oct 15 2014, 05:36 PM
eaglehelang
post Oct 15 2014, 05:52 PM

1,075 posts

QUOTE(General Fahmy @ Oct 15 2014, 04:15 PM)
friend, if you are to pray for the cg member next to you, you have to know him better. Right?

We all know Jesus is a compassionate Lord. Recall the miracle of 5 fish and 2 loaves? Jesus and his apostles were in a desolate area but thousands of people came to see them. The apostles wanted to shoo them away because they had no food to feed them. But Jesus showed concern for them, he decided to take whatever food they had and miraculously fed thousands of people.

If you have no heart for the brother/sister next to you in cell group, how in the world you can have heart and love for Jesus?

Just as the so-called brother who tell me off that cg is not a social club, just shows our hardened his heart was. I see zero kindness and compassion in him. He thinks he has Jesus love, but when he can misunderstand my statement to think that i came to cg to social social, I see no Jesus love in him just his own eg. But my assertion is as God's children why can't we be nice to each other.
Bro, ideally yes. But in real life, some of us bring our hurts & 'old man' into our Christian life, CG, ministry.

Leader responsibility, yes, a lot. Care for the sheep, pray for them, counsel them, even when they look for leader middle of the night. If some CG members feel left out, leader is supposed to do something to make them feel welcome.
It's just some are not equipped enough to CG leader or were thrust into position(nobody liao they do lor). Or not the right personality to be CG leader, ie not a people person.

CG not social club statement usually refers to CG being gossiping center, which what I find it to be. Hence am guarded in what I share. Talk about general issues, the church, include court case on Allah issue, that one boleh. Personal matter better not, wait Tom, d***, Harry & their friends will know abt it. laugh.gif
Only very close friends share all.
eaglehelang
post Oct 15 2014, 07:29 PM

1,075 posts

QUOTE(sylar111 @ Oct 15 2014, 06:38 PM)
Nope.
The fact is that they never had the heart of a shepherd. You do not need to be trained in order to be that.
Hence I mentioned abt CG leader not having the right personality(people oriented). That is one of the criteria for selection.
There are people when we think of them - ohhh, bro/sis so & so, cannot, not suit to be CG leader, be administrative leader can lah.

This post has been edited by eaglehelang: Oct 15 2014, 07:36 PM
eaglehelang
post Oct 15 2014, 07:34 PM

1,075 posts

QUOTE(de1929 @ Oct 15 2014, 07:02 PM)
the introvert must exercise their people skill anyway... step by step... as their part of sacrificing their flesh / working for salvation, according to GOD's grace given them... kennot excuse lahh...  smile.gif
Talk of course can, but got burnt liao with the gossipers. Serving & talk about ministry(ie like work), pray, that one no problem. As long as "do not give gathering together"

Depends on individual lah, some like going for fellowship, I find more draining, harder task than my work
I will really share only with few selected close friends. Others, nope.
eaglehelang
post Oct 17 2014, 08:32 PM

1,075 posts

QUOTE(General Fahmy @ Oct 17 2014, 06:57 PM)
Yes thats what I did. But hey its not worth my life to go all out.

Speak out as in I told the leaders that their accounting controls not strong. That one also they offended at me. Walao.

I just briskly say out because my cg kena multiplied when we only several people, now I go to cg with 4 people. I don't see the logic, so in a normal conversation, i said to one leader why multiply so fast? Then he got offended and walked out. Haiyo, very thinskin la the people these days.
Actually, in Cell Group church concept, when reach 15 to 20 ppl in church, need to multiply. But, but, but, the pastor needs to have wisdom in implementation. In my church, its terbalik. CG can have 20 members, with at least 10 regulars.
But didnt multiply cos : 1) noone willing to step up to be leader if multiply. No leader, cannot multiply lor.
2) The existing members too comfy with each other, dont want separate.
Smaller churches or churches in smaller towns have this problem. Harder to find mature christian who can lead cell

. Plus my senior pastor criteria/standard is qiite high - all leaaders must attend prayer meeting, must attend monthly leader's meeting, be early for service.

I'm sure u know the reason multiply - so the CG can grow, have more members. And the leader can give more personal attention. For ur church punya case, looks like they just see the membership and terus multiply.

As for ppl being thin skin, stimes ppl have expectation among church members. I myself also got kena complain - why frown and muka masam when serving during altar call. Actually its my leg and back pain, every time on duty must stand 1 to 2 hours.
So what I do? Dont bother lah. And tell my pastor whoever complain are most welcome to take over my duty, hahaha.
Talking in church at times we need be more diplomatic than outside cos non christian talk rough is expected. So, when we talk a bit rough with non christian, they dont mind, they talk more rough than us.
In church talk rough a bit, 'aiya, why this bro/sis talk like that one? Christian shouldnt talk like that' some are judgemental of others, they have their own issues.

Like the other poster said, we cant control what other ppl respond. We can only control our response.
The rest leave to God.

eaglehelang
post Oct 18 2014, 11:55 PM

1,075 posts

QUOTE(General Fahmy @ Oct 18 2014, 10:54 PM)

Then came one crisis, the host decided to fatt hao at one of the cg members. The cg member, he felt harassed that the host lady kept on inviting him out for dinner. So he brought this up to the leader. The leader complain to his assistant leader. Then the leader tell the cg member to shut up and tell him he is just imaginating. But behind the scene, he get the assistant leader and her friends to bully the host. This made the host pissed off and decided to pull out being the host. As a result, the whole cg lost their home and had to go to mamak as another alternative place to hold cg.

Then some supporters of the cgmember also left the cg. But the cg still determine to multiply because its church policy. Do you think the assistant cg leader is capable of handling a new cg after her infraction?
Hahaha, quite cute the story laugh.gif .

Errr, personally I think even the CG leader not quite ready to be leader. But my standard high lah
As in all the duties of CG leader
- share the word, as in having Bible study/discussion session.
- Praise & Worship - Song lead - this one can rotate between the members
- Icebreaker - games - can rotate with members
- Prayer- pray for one another or church or Msia, whatever topic
- Counselling members
- Visitation - visit members who absent quite some time from church or CG.

Cell group church concept, CG session have 4 parts - Icebreaker, Praise & worship, sharing the Word, Prayer. Something like that, I went thru the course before.

And usually(the churches I have been to) it's the senior pastor or pastor in charge of cell group or deacon in charge of cell group who selects the leader and assistant. With recommendation from the cell leader.

I say my standard high cos the CG I've been to is lead by one of the deacons of my church, know the word very well that type. Members also many long time Christians, can discuss A to Z, refer scripture verse.

But if dunno scripture A to Z never mind, got materials provided, the pastor supposed to provide one leh. If takda pastor, at least deacon, deacon supposed is matured Christian. So many materials out there, can take from Bible study one, follow topical kah, follow book by book kah.

Harder is follow each week sermon,as in discuss what the pastor preach during Sunday service the week before, this one if the leader not really well versed in the Word will get stuck.

This post has been edited by eaglehelang: Oct 18 2014, 11:56 PM
eaglehelang
post Oct 19 2014, 04:35 PM

1,075 posts

QUOTE(ngaisteve1 @ Oct 19 2014, 04:26 PM)
CG leader full time church staff? Otherwise, need 'superman' CG leader to do everything. I think effective leader should focus on the main thing and to delegate and not do everything. Teamwork ma.
Of course not leader do everything, Main thing is sharing the word. This can share with assistant if assistant matured enough. Same with visitation. Other duties can rotate with cell members
eaglehelang
post Oct 20 2014, 08:16 PM

1,075 posts

QUOTE(unknown warrior @ Oct 20 2014, 07:45 PM)
lol, that's one.

I don't know I just find this funny

Galatians 5:12 - As for those agitators, I wish they would go the whole way and emasculate themselves!
Haha, I guessed the same one as yours biggrin.gif
eaglehelang
post Oct 25 2014, 12:41 AM

1,075 posts

QUOTE(ngaisteve1 @ Oct 23 2014, 10:20 AM)
Passion of Christ is a great production imo. They even use the ancient language like aramic.  thumbup.gif
The actor who potrayed Jesus was really dedicated. thumbup.gif
Movies that came out after Passion of Christ, cant compare, in terms of accuracy.

0.1689sec    0.78    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 11:33 AM