Working in Singapore V16, Badminton 04th Oct @ Sportshub

tianlong_2020
post Sep 17 2014, 10:33 PM

33 posts

Guys. How is the traffic condition from Singapore to JB in the morning? And JB to Singapore in the afternoon?

My wife will be coming to stay with me in Singapore and she would like to travel to JB for work from 8am to 5pm. Wondering the traffic condition at these times.
tianlong_2020
post Sep 17 2014, 10:59 PM

33 posts

QUOTE(JohnJon82 @ Sep 17 2014, 10:52 PM)
I heard the new toll both way can reach 2k rm per month?
My wife will be taking bus to the border. Then take taxi to her workplace. Will it be a better choice?
tianlong_2020
post Sep 18 2014, 09:26 AM

33 posts

Haha. Me and my wife are working in KL. I have been offered by Singapore Big 4. Of course I want my wife to stay with me, and she can transfer to another hospital in JB.

Money wise, yes, we might need to spend little bit more money for such arrangement, but I think it is worthy to stay together.
tianlong_2020
post Sep 18 2014, 10:05 AM

33 posts

QUOTE(sheng291 @ Sep 18 2014, 09:52 AM)
The traffic is better in opposite direction..much better...but again, she gonna drive or take public transport? Drive via causeway link everyday gonna cost u a lot a lot..
she will be taking public transport. say if she would like to clear the border by 7:30, what time she need to arrive at woodland?
tianlong_2020
post Sep 18 2014, 10:07 AM

33 posts

QUOTE(crazy25kid @ Sep 18 2014, 09:42 AM)
usually for such cases, it will be stay jb, travel to sg instead of your scenario which would be a cheaper option.
but anyway, i think since travelling from sg-> jb in the morning and jb -> sg in the evening is considered opposite flow, the traffic should be better
best to try it out yourself.
understand that it woupd be cheaper to stay in jb. but as an auditor, the working hours is crazy. sometimes u leave office at 3am and back to office at 8:30am. It will be too tired for me to jam at the border..
tianlong_2020
post Sep 18 2014, 11:51 AM

33 posts

QUOTE(Fiona Chin @ Sep 18 2014, 11:04 AM)
Big 4 leh who dare touch you, represent the authority, what for work till 3am, just throw the things back to the accountants ask them redo, summarise into 1 page then come again. Should learn from the korea expat you know.
you are either auditor or mnc accountant who got tortured by them i guess. hahaha.
but still, i need to ready for the late night working culture. guess it would be better than msia. T.T
tianlong_2020
post Sep 19 2014, 10:25 AM

33 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Sep 18 2014, 12:48 PM)
Why wouldn't she find work in SG instead?
Her pay will be better if work in Singapore, but with more stress. She is quite satisfied to work in msia government hospital, with 25 days leave + unwritten benefits, clock in and out on time, months of paid maternity leave, and can get unpaid maternity leave up to 5 years. Mana boleh cari kerja ni? haha.
tianlong_2020
post Oct 2 2014, 10:03 AM

33 posts

Guys, I am trying to figure out if I need to pay VEP by entering Singapore after 5:30pm and back to JB at 7:00am.

I checked with LTA website and it just mentioned the VEP-free time: 5pm - 2am when entering Singapore. Not sure about leaving. Advise..?

0.0478sec    0.17    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 05:10 PM