Working in Singapore V16, Badminton 04th Oct @ Sportshub
theedi
Nov 3 2014, 10:55 PM
Hi all, I'm planning to immigrate to Singapore with my wife and from what I read so far the process should be like 1. Find a job and get a work permit. 2. Apply dependent's visa for my wife. 3. Apply for PR.
Is that correct? Anything I miss?
By the way, I have more than 10 years of working experience in software development and wondering if IT job market is good there?
theedi
Nov 3 2014, 11:37 PM
QUOTE(knwong @ Nov 3 2014, 11:12 PM) Any reason why choose Singapore? I work for 3 years in SG but never think of emigrate We thought about immigrating to other countries too but finally decided Singapore as it's nearest and easiest for us to go back to visit our parents in Malaysia. And we feel that Singapore is a very safe and systematic country.
theedi
Nov 4 2014, 01:24 PM
QUOTE(Feizai2013 @ Nov 4 2014, 12:43 AM) I dont think sg is a good place to retired. You have to keep on working .... Right now we are not really thinking about retiring yet as we are only in our 30s. I actually like the idea of keep on working as long as we can. Many man die shortly after they stop working.
theedi
Nov 4 2014, 01:36 PM
QUOTE(deodorant @ Nov 4 2014, 08:07 AM) For PR ... quite a lot of us here have PR liao. Do step 1 & 2 first, step 3 need to wait couple of years. IT market still good here, the problem is getting a job that pays well because of all the other foreigners undercutting all the available vacancies. SG is a playground for the rich. If you rich and can live in condo or sentosa cove then SG will also be a kick ass place for you to retire. The rest of us plebs need to pay off HDB rent it out and take the money gtfo back to some kampung in Malaysia to survive  Ok got it. Will get a job first and I believe pay will increase later after I gain some working experience in Singapore. I wonder what kind of salary range will allow us to rent a 500-700 sqf apartment/condo in Singapore?
theedi
Nov 4 2014, 01:48 PM
QUOTE(Fiona Chin @ Nov 4 2014, 08:22 AM) Yes, that is the normal path under technical scheme. Got other investor's scheme and entrepreneur's scheme if you belong to those group, can get PR faster under those 2 schemes. Working in SG can go back MY weekly, see see parents, leech their food and accommodation, spend RM  act like queen, until people bring a gun and rob you. Actually growing old in SG is better than MY, in terms of security, healthcare and ah pek wheel chair friendly facilities. All those come with a price though. Earn you dough in this 30-40 years then pay it all back to the society when you grow old  . Yes, that's what we are thinking too. Can easily go back to visit parents when we wants. And that part about gun and robbing is the main reason we plan to immigrate. The crime rate here has deteriorate steadily every year...
theedi
Nov 4 2014, 01:57 PM
QUOTE(deodorant @ Nov 4 2014, 01:44 PM) http://www.propertyguru.com.sg/Click "For Rent" Search Profit  In residential outskirts, ~800sqft two bedroom hdb $2k-ish a mth. Ok I think a studio unit with one room is enough for us now. Looks like price from $1500-2500.
theedi
Nov 4 2014, 04:26 PM
QUOTE(crazy25kid @ Nov 4 2014, 02:11 PM) dun put ur hopes high on sub 2k it is not easy to find as they are snapped up fast a lot of ads on the site, have failed filtering whereby u need to read the desc on what is being offered Yeah has to view the unit first anyway.
theedi
Nov 4 2014, 08:51 PM
QUOTE(Fiona Chin @ Nov 4 2014, 05:26 PM) Same same me and hubby stay SG also because of nearer to family. If want money overseas are much better. SG safety also degraded if you want to be picky, compare to 10 years ago. Try come here and experience the local's pro and cons before decide to "immigrate" or not. Not gold every where in SG. You're right, will work in Singapore for a while first and see how it goes.