Will aim to make it in the top 3 for this v16 thread.
Working in Singapore V16, Badminton 04th Oct @ Sportshub
Apr 17 2014, 11:57 PM
1,172 posts Joined: Apr 2013 From: Singapore / Sabah |
Will aim to make it in the top 3 for this v16 thread.
Apr 22 2014, 12:07 PM
QUOTE(crazy25kid @ Apr 22 2014, 09:03 AM) eh...they did not accept your extract without chop in ubi? I once thought these double triple standards only happens in Malaysia. Was so wrong. my friend and i had our extract without chops too...just a statement like computer generated, no signature required. we both tried woodlands on different days...got rejected and the officer insisted on us going to jb to re-do the extract however, we tried ubi as another colic went there but he could not remember his extract having any chop or not my wife converted hers after CNY...also without the chop or anything. weird case... |
Apr 23 2014, 02:12 PM
QUOTE(crazy25kid @ Apr 22 2014, 12:47 PM) maybe they read ur comments Better la, follow the book best. That's why they are called regulatory bodies, mean they should only perform what the brain wants, not do things anyhow. Those anyhow one should be chop off. Must contribute to the system ok, if found someone not doing their job must complain. Ran from MY to SG liao, one more step backward fall into sea already. Majulah~ now all of them require the chop and signature for license conversion now. |
Apr 24 2014, 03:11 PM
Apr 25 2014, 12:55 PM
Apr 25 2014, 02:20 PM
Apr 26 2014, 12:09 PM
QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Apr 25 2014, 09:42 PM) must declare... if not, scan n illegal might get fine Think foreign fruits infected with SARS. Local fruits suddenly all die. Burn half of the trees. Orchards owners no rice feed kids. Middle class and elite class not affected. Lower class tree pipu eat leaves for months.infect local orchards? what do u mean... no sellfish, its about fruits.. |
Apr 27 2014, 05:32 PM
Apr 27 2014, 10:27 PM
QUOTE(night1218 @ Apr 27 2014, 07:37 PM) HSBC Malaysia I assume? If agent or HR for SG asking you whether you have rights to work here then you leave the name here haha to blacklist them. No recommendation. Da thread boss here maybe have some for you. PM him - Deodorant. He on expat package transferring from MY. I just a junior officer treated with local pay. |
Apr 28 2014, 04:20 PM
Just finish my briefing with 3 new colleagues. 2 foreigners 1 local. No prioritise of local hiring whatsoever feedback from the HR. EP applications were smooth I was told. Don't worry about those rules, worry on how to level up your own competencies better. Banking sector btw.
This post has been edited by Fiona Chin: Apr 28 2014, 04:21 PM |
Apr 28 2014, 09:42 PM
QUOTE(JohnJon82 @ Apr 28 2014, 04:31 PM) Shhhhhh diam don't say too much. A lot of haters here.QUOTE(Tigerr @ Apr 28 2014, 06:29 PM) Many possibilities... 1. Make false report as being a junior staff lor 2. Corruption lor 3. Borrow fron ah long to buy lor 4. Fama buy lor 5. Etc etc QUOTE(St. Petersburg @ Apr 28 2014, 08:52 PM) Yes correct. 6. Get a rich gold turtle engineer husband. |
May 1 2014, 01:18 AM
May 5 2014, 08:35 PM
May 8 2014, 09:43 AM
QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ May 8 2014, 08:36 AM) This post has been edited by Fiona Chin: May 8 2014, 09:44 AM |
May 9 2014, 10:34 AM
QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ May 8 2014, 09:49 PM) No more competitive no more contributing to the economy day day kpkb at facebook and forums will be asked to get out balik malaisial.QUOTE(LightningFist @ May 9 2014, 04:47 AM) Take a backpacking trip to the less develop country, survive only with the stuff on that bag, see how fortunate you are, mix with locals see how happy they are with the bare minimum. It will make you a different person and save you tonnes of money later. |
May 9 2014, 12:27 PM
May 9 2014, 03:27 PM
QUOTE(kl87 @ May 9 2014, 08:11 AM) actually y so rush to get a job Time off since noon, had lunch and sitting here at Changi with other half watching people moving around. Phone never rang since leaving office, no email notifications. SG working life so stress!QUOTE(Mareg @ May 9 2014, 02:03 PM) HR told me I can open a bank account either with DBS or OCBC. Would like to ask what is the difference between these two. I am getting a work permit only, heard that a lot of restrictions with that as well. OCBC better. Less queue. |
May 10 2014, 11:12 PM
QUOTE(LightningFist @ May 10 2014, 12:27 PM) business/mgmt/consulting/finance/risk mix Your field is very broad, and the 3 countries in those field very few jobs? Oh no all go into recession?i can assure you jobs are not a lot. across 3 countries. i know this because 1) I talk to people within the industry, including HoDs, directors and VPs, who make the hiring requests and decisions. Not only that, these guys are high up and the industry is relatively small, so they know everyone everywhere, and can tell me if others are hiring or not - if i bring up names of companies i am interviewing with, they automatically know the specific person i'm meeting 2) I talk to HR, which gets handed all hiring requests in those companies where HR maintains a good relationship with the higher level/decision makers. In many cases however, this is not so effective because in this industry the higher levels will participate in the interview process in the first or second round itself, only sometimes using the HR to filter and narrow down candidates... second/final or third round would be CEO/CFO or Partner already 3) I search extensively. A minor but still significant proportion of these positions are advertised on companies' websites directly or via external ads. It's an indication of market demand. Try harder means putting aside/managing my studies, spending hours travelling into big cities every other week, arranging meetings with important people, and sending in applications or enquiries by the thousands. You don't often get to the "expectations" stage and I have not once been told to lower my expectations (except to maybe look for an operations or less relevant type of job) because salary/benefits is a given (I can't or don't need to ask for a lot and they have the resources to not need to compromise) It's clear to me that contacts and networks are increasingly important. A local can get through those grad programs, and even still it's a few hundred or thousand applications cut down to a handful, or 1, position available. What more an international student. It's down to luck, and then networks. My grades are already great (not #1 in the class, but well above top 10% or 15%) but if you are a local then an average/just above average grade might be good enough if you're lucky. Resume wise already pretty good, not exceptional but well above average. |
May 11 2014, 10:39 PM
QUOTE(LightningFist @ May 11 2014, 03:13 PM) my field is not broad at all, if you believe the general perception Broad and deep is opposite of each other, your degree 4 years only right? Can't really go deep for everything in a broad field. You mentioned this "business/mgmt/consulting/finance/risk mix". I spent 4 years in college I only get a general understanding on how to be an admin. You can do business, management, finance, risk and go deep... Mmm no offence but if you tell your interviewer this, they will think you like the frog, know a little thought know the whole world already. Jack of all trades, master of none.I know that what I've studied is very broad, deep, and has wide applications. But the type of job I am looking for is not broad until you have reached a very senior level with a lot of experience - and even at that stage it depends on how your career evolved as you might have been very specialised or the opposite my field is not just "Business". and I'm not sure I can call any field my field until I can find and hold down a job. One example. if you study investments, you can be more than a research analyst, a fund manager, a salesperson, or a banker. those are fairly good jobs, but you can always be a teacher, a businessman, an accountant, an entrepreneur. But if you're finishing school and looking for a corporate type of job as a starting point (maybe now you don't have good business ideas or networks, insufficient capital, or the market or environment is not ready) then there simply isn't enough work in the market for an investments graduate who would rather utilise what little training and skills he has developed than compromise and take an unrelated job. none of the countries I have explored extensively are in recession. you don't need to be in recession for the job market to be tough. the United States is out of recession, yet the job market is tough as ever. believe me, I have been trying in Msia too. one would be far too shortsighted to limit themselves to 1 or 2 places in this environment. Anyway, good luck in job searching. |
May 12 2014, 12:53 AM
QUOTE(LightningFist @ May 11 2014, 11:06 PM) 3 years... obviously it is not deep in every single subject, topic, and area. it is broad in the sense that it is multi-disciplinary, going into the fundamentals of many related but separate subjects. then it is very deep in the 2 or 3 areas you major/specialise in. Mmm the fact you having trouble getting a job after saying how good you are or how good the network you have mean there is something you are not seeing, instead of blaming the market, just saying. Anyway, good luck~ the difference... there are a lot of 3 year or 4 year degrees. sounds like too short a period for you to go deep? consider the schedules of medical students. even in a 5 year medical degree (vs a 5 year Law + Arts degree) their hours are much more than other students per week, they have far less holidays (so even more hours), and the objects of their study are far more intense than Marketing or Management. not all subjects were created equal. studying a week of hematology is surely harder than a month of management for the average person. just like first year mathematics is harder than third year finance. along those lines... what I study exists within business but is not business admin or management. it combines different subjects and fields into one. its standards require you to go deep in many of these sub-components. my interviewer is either intimately familiar with this because he/she studied the same way back when, or at least understands it because he/she works alongside people with that kind of background and is responsible for recruiting at a very competitive level. |
| Change to: | 0.0568sec
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 12:00 AM |