used e90 325i vs used golf gti mk6, which is your choice?

TSVP999
post Apr 17 2014, 11:47 AM, updated 12y ago

Hi, confused choosing which is better between e90 325i and golf gti mk6. single late 20's. which would you choose?
alwinnng
post Apr 17 2014, 11:48 AM

4,296 posts

Gti mk6

Jackofree
post Apr 17 2014, 11:52 AM

165 posts

QUOTE(VP999 @ Apr 17 2014, 11:47 AM)
Hi, confused choosing which is better between e90 325i and golf gti mk6. single late 20's. which would you choose?
Golf
AhNiCk
post Apr 17 2014, 11:53 AM

84 posts

go for Gti MK6
skloda

Keep Calm , You Only Live Once
1,895 posts

Golf gti
dtna7

456 posts

the GTi would leave the 325i behind.

But getting out of the 325i might give you more recognition (depends how high ur ego).
Maintenance wise they couldn't be more different, with that straight six in the 325i.

All depends on your taste really.

This post has been edited by dtna7: Apr 17 2014, 11:54 AM
annas473
post Apr 17 2014, 12:20 PM

813 posts

e90
jchue73
post Apr 17 2014, 12:28 PM

2,496 posts

For driving pleasure, a rear wheel driven car anytime.
theanswer
post Apr 17 2014, 12:41 PM

1,024 posts

e90..325 will give u straight 6 engine. last straight 6 from bmw.
rcracer
post Apr 17 2014, 01:38 PM

?????
3,772 posts

Gti
Yapmy
post Apr 17 2014, 02:29 PM

Don't count your lucky stars.
1,334 posts

Personally, the GTI
huaren1978
post Apr 17 2014, 02:31 PM

One is a premium brand, the other one is not. Take your pick.
lelynx
post Apr 17 2014, 03:25 PM

838 posts

mk6? are you sure the *used* car is in good condition on its DSG?
just Google and you will know what I meant by this
without the warranty by VW, you will basically buying an used car which you might not able to drive for weeks/months

This post has been edited by lelynx: Apr 17 2014, 03:27 PM
Mikeshashimi
post Apr 17 2014, 03:27 PM

10 Years on LYN
4,053 posts

Depends on what your purpose is for either car.

I would go with the e90 because stepping out of a BMW is always better than stepping out of a VW
Mavik
post Apr 17 2014, 03:41 PM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

Personally as an E90 owner now, please go for the Golf GTI.

1) The interior in the Golf is so much nicer compared to the E90
2) You definitely get more power from the Golf GTI (from personal dyno experience, E90 325i gets around 170whp and the Golf GTI Mk6 gets around 207whp)
3) Since you are single, the Golf GTI Mk6 is a lot more fun to drive, lighter and have plenty of mods available
4) The DSG gearbox on this car is fantastic, it is the 6-speed wet clutch DSG which can withstand a lot more torque and is proven for the past 6 years already (This gearbox was in the Golf GTI Mk5). People who complain about the DSG problem saying just check Google are either people who have never owned the DSG6 and just listen to rumours. If you are keen, I can introduce you to the Volkswagen Club Malaysia folks and I can show you at least 50 owners of the Mk6 GTI who have no issues with the 6-speed DSG clutch. (On hindsight you will probably face the same 50 owners who complain with their 7-Speed DSG clutch, me included)
5) Road tax for the Golf GTI is cheaper! 2.0L engine versus the 2.5L engine
6) Maintenance for the Golf is cheaper compared to the E90 325i who is known to have the aircon condensor issue and ABS sensor and pump issues
7) Don't listen to all those driving pleasure driving rear wheel drive cars. Unless you plan to turn off your traction control and spin your car around doing donuts and burning your tyres, the Golf GTI is a good handling car. I swapped from a Golf to a E90 and regretted since. The only difference I feel between FWD and RWD is that my racing lines change.
8) The Golf GTI is faster than the E90 325i on the track. A stock Golf GTI can do around 2.49-2.50 at Sepang while the E90 325i can do around 3m. That is a whole 10 secs slower.
9) Tyres for the Golf GTI is cheaper, because you are running on stock 17" rims (if you upgrade to 18" it is still cheaper). For the E90 325i, if this is the M-Sport version, that means you will be running on a staggered setup meaning wider tyres at the rear. 235/40/18 and 255/35/18.
10) The roar of the inline 6 engine is overrated. The exhaust is muted and unless you plan to do highway runs just to hear it sing, you would probably be overtaken by countless Mk6 GTI while you are doing that.

Downside with the Golf
1) Lack of boot space if you intend to play golf as it struggles to fit in a single golf bag
2) Prestige between a luxury brand and VW (personally I think it is over rated) and at your age, who cares about that. The Golf GTI is a lot more of a fun car.

This post has been edited by Mavik: Apr 17 2014, 03:42 PM
dtna7
post Apr 17 2014, 04:22 PM

456 posts

QUOTE(Mavik @ Apr 17 2014, 03:41 PM)

2) You definitely get more power from the Golf GTI (from personal dyno experience, E90 325i gets around 170whp and the Golf GTI Mk6 gets around 207whp)
3) Since you are single, the Golf GTI Mk6 is a lot more fun to drive, lighter and have plenty of mods available
4) The DSG gearbox on this car is fantastic, it is the 6-speed wet clutch DSG which can withstand a lot more torque and is proven for the past 6 years already (This gearbox was in the Golf GTI Mk5). People who complain about the DSG problem saying just check Google are either people who have never owned the DSG6 and just listen to rumours. If you are keen, I can introduce you to the Volkswagen Club Malaysia folks and I can show you at least 50 owners of the Mk6 GTI who have no issues with the 6-speed DSG clutch. (On hindsight you will probably face the same 50 owners who complain with their 7-Speed DSG clutch, me included)
6) Maintenance for the Golf is cheaper compared to the E90 325i who is known to have the aircon condensor issue and ABS sensor and pump issues
7) Don't listen to all those driving pleasure driving rear wheel drive cars. Unless you plan to turn off your traction control and spin your car around doing donuts and burning your tyres, the Golf GTI is a good handling car. I swapped from a Golf to a E90 and regretted since. The only difference I feel between FWD and RWD is that my racing lines change.
8) The Golf GTI is faster than the E90 325i on the track. A stock Golf GTI can do around 2.49-2.50 at Sepang while the E90 325i can do around 3m. That is a whole 10 secs slower.
9) Tyres for the Golf GTI is cheaper, because you are running on stock 17" rims (if you upgrade to 18" it is still cheaper). For the E90 325i, if this is the M-Sport version, that means you will be running on a staggered setup meaning wider tyres at the rear. 235/40/18 and 255/35/18.
10) The roar of the inline 6 engine is overrated. The exhaust is muted and unless you plan to do highway runs just to hear it sing, you would probably be overtaken by countless Mk6 GTI while you are doing that.

Downside with the Golf
1) Lack of boot space if you intend to play golf as it struggles to fit in a single golf bag
2) Prestige between a luxury brand and VW (personally I think it is over rated) and at your age, who cares about that. The Golf GTI is a lot more of a fun car.
Nothing beats an honest feedback from an owner (or ex) who knows about his car. blush.gif
Like i said, the only thing that the BMW badge has an edge is to feed your ego. And feeding ego is never a cheap thing.
I will never risk my money and time on the DQ200 7 speed DSG. The legendary DSG 6 speed DQ250 though, is a totally different story.
lelynx
post Apr 17 2014, 05:04 PM

838 posts

hmm... one off case???

http://vwclubmalaysia.net/forum/showthread...Gearbox-problem

http://forum.autoworld.com.my/index.php?showtopic=99068

https://www.facebook.com/pages/Vw-Dsg-7-Def...306447496142735

This post has been edited by lelynx: Apr 17 2014, 05:24 PM
amdxp
post Apr 17 2014, 05:35 PM

239 posts

Downside with the Golf
I do support Mavik's view as well.

Smooth criminal, yes a BMW 6 cyc it is. But exhaust note is quite muted.

Golf will give you hassle free ownership experience longer than that of a E90. Cheaper to maintain, and stronger in resale value too.
Jackofree
post Apr 17 2014, 05:52 PM

165 posts

If u are looking for something fun to drive but with a boot. Can check out the passat cc 2011. If I'm not wrong, it's the same engine and gearbox as the GTI. My mom owns one, I drive it weekly. Lovely car yet stylish
AmenoJaku
post Apr 17 2014, 06:21 PM

39 posts

Golf GTI:
Better Performance & cheaper/easier to maintain (as explained delightfully by @Mavik)
Suits your age - my opinion is that anyone age<35 looks ok in a Golf
Subdued appearance, doesn't display wealth (which is good, in my book)

E90 325i:
Despite having poorer performance, there will be LOWER tendency for other cars to block you when you're speeding on the right-lane
Image-wise, suit a broader age-group (up to 40), meaning you can keep in longer (though you probably won't)
Security guards have HIGHER tendency to let you pass gates/barriers without too much question (unless you mod like ah beng)
Bimmers (especially 3s and 5s) are too oftenly associated with MLM sweat.gif

I would choose neither. But instead, a Skoda Octavia VRS or a Passat CC.

LaminatedButterfly
post Apr 17 2014, 09:18 PM

489 posts

QUOTE(lelynx @ Apr 17 2014, 05:04 PM)
Friend, two of the links you posted are related to the DSG 7 DQ200 gearbox issues.. The DSG6 wet clutch is well known to be more robust with less issues.. Perhaps you wanna read what Mavik wrote for clarification.
wiraone
post Apr 17 2014, 09:47 PM

Who cares about all the stars?
3,892 posts

QUOTE(lelynx @ Apr 17 2014, 05:04 PM)
The problematic one are the dry clutch DSG and not the wet ones. TSi has dry clutch, the same with DSG7. I almost got myself a Passat before, so I do read up a bit instead of just pasting links.

Opps, someone above me already correcting the misconception.

This post has been edited by wiraone: Apr 17 2014, 09:49 PM
boonhan
post Apr 17 2014, 11:04 PM

Reader
1,934 posts

bmw classy premium!
bizz3189
post Apr 18 2014, 10:53 AM

32 posts

prestigious > E90
performance > GTI

so TS its up to u to choose..
kae7
post Apr 18 2014, 11:35 AM

10k VIP Club
10,950 posts

QUOTE(jchue73 @ Apr 17 2014, 12:28 PM)
agreed. biggrin.gif
jchue73
post Apr 18 2014, 12:10 PM

2,496 posts

I respect your views but I think that's typical Ah Beng thinking that the only function of a RWD car is to drift. wink.gif

It's not all about straight line speed. It's the drive that's important. I find it hard that a 50:50 weighted RWD car is so under appreciated. sad.gif
AmenoJaku
post Apr 18 2014, 12:14 PM

39 posts

@Mavik have described his experience and opinion on RWD "driving pleasure"
Perhaps you guys might wanna share yours? rolleyes.gif

QUOTE(jchue73 @ Apr 17 2014, 12:28 PM)
QUOTE(kae7 @ Apr 18 2014, 11:35 AM)
agreed.  biggrin.gif
travis_ckf
post Apr 18 2014, 01:06 PM

ambitious but rubbish......
6,413 posts

I think the argument on either RWD or FWD is better than one another is subjective and a long talk over coffee subject. wink.gif
fr0sti3
post Apr 18 2014, 07:04 PM

F0NZz1e
1,095 posts

it seems like TS is a troll
Mavik
post Apr 18 2014, 08:58 PM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(jchue73 @ Apr 18 2014, 12:10 PM)
I respect your views but I think that's typical Ah Beng thinking that the only function of a RWD car is to drift.  wink.gif

It's not all about straight line speed. It's the drive that's important. I find it hard that a 50:50 weighted RWD car is so under appreciated.  sad.gif
No worries mate, everyone is entitled to their own opinions and thoughts. To me I just would like to share more because I have driven in both situations, normal day driving, B road driving as well as driving on the track.

1) The drive - When you drive with a RWD car, on normal roads or B roads or trunk roads. Highly likely you will have your traction control on (DSC/DTC/ESC, etc..). In these situations, the only difference you will feel is that you will tend to have less understeer when going into corners. Please note that although you may have a RWD, if you go into a corner too hot, no matter what, you will understeer. I can bring you for a ride to show that to you. Otherwise in all honesty, the drive is the same. Yes you can cut corners faster but to me all that says is a different line that you take through the various B roads. I have driven my E90 320d through Ulu Yam as well as the Golf GTI through Ulu Yam, personally I prefer the Golf because it has a bit more power delivery and the car is lighter.

2) 50:50 weighted balance - Honestly, ask any laymen on the street if they can tell the difference if the car is 50:50 weight distributed and 55:45 weight distributed. Even when I bring my so called 50:50 weight distributed car on the track, there are a lot of other factors to consider and only in those situations will you appreciate the balance of the car. And by those situations I mean the ability to balance the car through difficult corners by tapping the brakes and shifting the weight through acceleration.

In the scenario of the Golf GTI vs E90 325i, you are comparing a 1400kg car vs a 1600kg car. That is 200kg more and the E90 325i has less power. The E90 M-Sport suspension is very crashy and doesn't feel comfortable at all (I have a lot of rear seated passengers who complained to me during long distance driving). The Golf GTI however comes with DCC adjustable suspension which is useful if you want to cruise nicely and relaxingly or want a stiffer ride.

Just my 2 cents here.
6UE5T
post Apr 19 2014, 12:55 AM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(AmenoJaku @ Apr 18 2014, 12:14 PM)
@Mavik have described his experience and opinion on RWD "driving pleasure"
Perhaps you guys might wanna share yours? rolleyes.gif
Well, I'm driving a RWD car now without any traction control or VSC features at all, and I'm happy with my decision. The reason I choose to buy RWD car because I'm just totally bored already with FWD cars where it always understeers on the throttle, that's all. With the RWD car, now it handles more neutral. Of course not necessarily faster and surely not safer, but I just like the driving feel better and won't go back to FWD, at least for now. If I were to change again, I'd only go for AWD.
SUSMamapapamsia
post Apr 19 2014, 11:07 AM

304 posts

Golf gti mk6 anytime TS. One of the best cars I have ever driven. The BMW 325i is absolutely crap. Pay so much for roadtax yet slower than a GTI. Besides, interior is old and maintainence is higher than a golf.

The mk6 GTI is a legendary car and rightly so
SUSY.J.S
post Apr 19 2014, 12:09 PM

MLM
1,353 posts

Gti mk6, is this even a question?
soonlee33
post Apr 19 2014, 03:02 PM

2,677 posts

hi ts i also have the same dilemma as you
e92 vs mk6 gti 2010
in terms of parts and servicing which is more economical?
Mavik
post Apr 19 2014, 05:58 PM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(6UE5T @ Apr 19 2014, 12:55 AM)
Well, I'm driving a RWD car now without any traction control or VSC features at all, and I'm happy with my decision. The reason I choose to buy RWD car because I'm just totally bored already with FWD cars where it always understeers on the throttle, that's all. With the RWD car, now it handles more neutral. Of course not necessarily faster and surely not safer, but I just like the driving feel better and won't go back to FWD, at least for now. If I were to change again, I'd only go for AWD.
Actually that is my thoughts as well! Looking around for a 4WD or AWD car to play around as well.
travis_ckf
post Apr 19 2014, 07:08 PM

6,413 posts

How about golf gti mk5? Its more or less the same althought the mk6 uses a different engine.
phas3r
post Apr 19 2014, 07:33 PM

1,206 posts

Yes gti anytime. Mavik has basically explained what all we need to know. Hope u had fun at the recent vw track day biggrin.gif

On the dsg reliability, this is dsg 6 speed my friend, not the dsg7 on the tsi. The dsg6 is much more reliable, but i wont say its 100% problem free tho

And yes the e90 is a car from 2005, the equivalent gti at the time is the mk5, and even to the mk5gti the e90 325 will trail behind...

And oh, who doesnt love the dsg quick shifting and pop sound from the exhaust during shifting, i can barely hear the 325i even at redline..

But to be fair its not quite an apple to apple comparison
AmenoJaku
post Apr 19 2014, 11:22 PM

39 posts

QUOTE(6UE5T @ Apr 19 2014, 12:55 AM)
QUOTE(Mavik @ Apr 19 2014, 05:58 PM)
Actually that is my thoughts as well! Looking around for a 4WD or AWD car to play around as well.
Hey me three!!
Haha just being a busybody.
My first car was a KE70 with transplated 1.5L engine. Manual and very crude RWD without any three letter words system assist. Being very young at the time, often underestimate risks. It was very easy to reach its limits of oversteer. At the crosspoint between being in control and losing control was quite heart stopping indeed. Yet maybe too dangerous for me now. A good AWD seems like a good compromise and worthwhile experience to pursue.
So yeah, an AWD
6UE5T
post Apr 19 2014, 11:51 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(Mavik @ Apr 19 2014, 05:58 PM)
QUOTE(AmenoJaku @ Apr 19 2014, 11:22 PM)
Hey me three!!
Haha just being a busybody.
My first car was a KE70 with transplated 1.5L engine. Manual and very crude RWD without any three letter words system assist. Being very young at the time, often underestimate risks. It was very easy to reach its limits of oversteer. At the crosspoint between being in control and losing control was quite heart stopping indeed. Yet maybe too dangerous for me now. A good AWD seems like a good compromise and worthwhile experience to pursue.
So yeah, an AWD
For me, my next target is Lancer Evo V-IX.
wayfeel
post Apr 20 2014, 02:49 AM

Member of Elite Negotiators xD
2,114 posts

QUOTE(phas3r @ Apr 19 2014, 07:33 PM)
On the dsg reliability, this is dsg 6 speed my friend, not the dsg7 on the tsi. The dsg6 is much more reliable, but i wont say its 100% problem free tho

this mudah ad is a tsi so 7spd right. which version is the 6spd dsg ah? how to know. or as long as the spec says 6spd dsg, then it's the more reliable wet clutch d is it. thanks.

edit: http://www.mudah.my/Volkswagen+Golf+MK6+TS...2811.htm?last=1

This post has been edited by wayfeel: Apr 20 2014, 02:49 AM
Shawnzz
post Apr 20 2014, 03:06 AM

1,911 posts

e90. you can always transplant a 335i engine or m3 engine in the future biggrin.gif . not to mention, more room to mod.. if you have the cash
rcracer
post Apr 20 2014, 07:41 AM

?????
3,772 posts

QUOTE(wayfeel @ Apr 20 2014, 02:49 AM)
this mudah ad is a tsi so 7spd right. which version is the 6spd dsg ah? how to know. or as long as the spec says 6spd dsg, then it's the more reliable wet clutch d is it. thanks.

edit:  http://www.mudah.my/Volkswagen+Golf+MK6+TS...2811.htm?last=1
If not mistaken all mk6 are using the problematic gearbox, only make not using is the gti model,
Mavik
post Apr 20 2014, 09:19 PM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(6UE5T @ Apr 19 2014, 11:51 PM)
For me, my next target is Lancer Evo V-IX.
Awesome stuff, I went to see a couple of Subaru Impreza WRX STI over the weekend. A version 8 on Saturday and a Version 9 Spec C earlier today. Funnily I know the Spec C is Subaru's track spec version of the Impreza which is lightened but the previous owner decided to add more weights to it by including huge woofers and sound proofing all around. All the weight saving was gone haha.
nVidiaFX
post Apr 20 2014, 10:20 PM

you can't handle the truth.
4,880 posts

Man. Everything that could be said Mavik already did. When i bought the car in 2012. I could had afford for a A4 1.8 or a mk6 gti. Mk6 gti it is and still brings a big grin to my face all day LONG!
travis_ckf
post Apr 20 2014, 10:50 PM

6,413 posts

Guys how about the Gold GTI mk5?
wayfeel
post Apr 21 2014, 12:00 AM

Member of Elite Negotiators xD
2,114 posts

QUOTE(rcracer @ Apr 20 2014, 07:41 AM)
If not mistaken all mk6 are using the problematic gearbox, only make not using is the gti model,
thanks...
phas3r
post Apr 21 2014, 01:21 AM

1,206 posts

QUOTE(wayfeel @ Apr 20 2014, 02:49 AM)

edit:  http://www.mudah.my/Volkswagen+Golf+MK6+TS...2811.htm?last=1
thats the tsi 1.4L using 7 speed for sure

any 2.0T models will use the dsg6 if dsg equipped.
phas3r
post Apr 21 2014, 01:34 AM

1,206 posts

QUOTE(travis_ckf @ Apr 19 2014, 07:08 PM)
How about golf gti mk5? Its more or less the same althought the mk6 uses a different engine.
QUOTE(travis_ckf @ Apr 20 2014, 10:50 PM)
Guys how about the Gold GTI mk5?
driving one for 5 years/120k KM and counting.

mk6 gti is similar to GTI mk5 in many things, in fact the mk6 gti is like the facelift version of mk5
the mk5 gti uses a 2.0TFSI engine instead of the 2.0TSI of the mk6 gti, the mk6 one is a bit more powerful stock for stock (mk6 205whp vs mk5 185?whp) and at stage 1-2 tunes

their chassis are similar, dsg similar, interior the mk6 is more modern but many things are actually quite similar from the mk5. many things are interchangeable between them in terms of mods (roll bars, intercoolers, unibraces, brakes, rims etc). except for engine related ones (intake, fuel pump, turbo?, etc) but Mk6 Golf R and mk5 gti uses the same engine (with the R having stronger internals etc)

but one thing the mk5 really miss from the 6 is DCC where you can choose between comfort, normal and sport.

comparing mk5 gti and e90 325i, the 325i probably has better comfort, refinement, better highway cruiser and prestige and maybe boot space. but for performance, point and shoot in town driving, mod potential, fun to drive, handling (not sure if the M sport is better tho), fuel economy, the gti wins

This post has been edited by phas3r: Apr 21 2014, 01:38 AM
travis_ckf
post Apr 21 2014, 09:20 AM

6,413 posts

QUOTE(phas3r @ Apr 21 2014, 01:34 AM)
driving one for 5 years/120k KM and counting.

mk6 gti is similar to GTI mk5 in many things, in fact the mk6 gti is like the facelift version of mk5
the mk5 gti uses a 2.0TFSI engine instead of the 2.0TSI of the mk6 gti, the mk6 one is a bit more powerful stock for stock (mk6 205whp vs mk5 185?whp) and at stage 1-2 tunes

their chassis are similar, dsg similar, interior the mk6 is more modern but many things are actually quite similar from the mk5. many things are interchangeable between them in terms of mods (roll bars, intercoolers, unibraces, brakes, rims etc). except for engine related ones (intake, fuel pump, turbo?, etc) but Mk6 Golf R and mk5 gti uses the same engine (with the R having stronger internals etc)

but one thing the mk5 really miss from the 6 is DCC where you can choose between comfort, normal and sport.

comparing mk5 gti and e90 325i, the 325i probably has better comfort, refinement, better highway cruiser and prestige and maybe boot space. but for performance, point and shoot in town driving, mod potential, fun to drive, handling (not sure if the M sport is better tho), fuel economy, the gti wins
Thanks for ur feedback. Hopefully I can afford one when the time comes smile.gif
jolipoli81
post Apr 21 2014, 10:53 AM

Look at all my blinks
1,256 posts

Downside with the Golf
6UE5T
post Apr 22 2014, 10:11 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(Mavik @ Apr 20 2014, 09:19 PM)
Awesome stuff, I went to see a couple of Subaru Impreza WRX STI over the weekend. A version 8 on Saturday and a Version 9 Spec C earlier today. Funnily I know the Spec C is Subaru's track spec version of the Impreza which is lightened but the previous owner decided to add more weights to it by including huge woofers and sound proofing all around. All the weight saving was gone haha.
Maybe the guy likes audio and must have to accompany during traffic jams. So even if he buys normal Sti he would still do the same so will end up heavier still than using the type c.
SUSInF.anime
post Apr 23 2014, 12:56 AM

2,695 posts

Downside with the Golf
Very nice comment.
How bout the E46 M3
kahjye
post Apr 23 2014, 01:29 AM

4,494 posts

QUOTE(InF.anime @ Apr 23 2014, 12:56 AM)
Very nice comment.
How bout the E46 M3
interesting.

any sifu mind to share?
Opa Gangnam Style
post Apr 23 2014, 10:14 AM

39 posts

bmw e90
TSVP999
post Apr 23 2014, 10:29 AM

Thanks for the comments. Many Sifus here.

1. Just curious, if anyone knows what happen to the oil leak on the valve timing control actuator area on mk6 GTi?

2. Shared from bmw technician, e90 series is common having oil leak on pump (vacuum?)

This post has been edited by VP999: Apr 23 2014, 10:38 AM
Mavik
post Apr 23 2014, 10:33 AM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(InF.anime @ Apr 23 2014, 12:56 AM)
Very nice comment.
How bout the E46 M3
The M3 is a totally different story. I have seen a couple of the E46 M3 sold for around RM110k-RM115k cash on Mudah. If TS is ok with the dated look, go for the M3. Performance wise is at a whole different level. Last year's time to attack had a E46 M3 who did a 2.33 timing at Sepang.
dasauto
post Apr 25 2014, 10:03 AM

QUOTE(VP999 @ Apr 23 2014, 10:29 AM)
Thanks for the comments. Many Sifus here.

1. Just curious, if anyone knows what happen to the oil leak on the valve timing control actuator area on mk6 GTi?

2. Shared from bmw technician, e90 series is common having oil leak on pump (vacuum?)
What about it? If it happens get it fixed.......Not a recurring problem.
boonwuilow
post Apr 25 2014, 01:16 PM

Diesel rocks
3,836 posts

QUOTE(Shawnzz @ Apr 20 2014, 03:06 AM)
e90. you can always transplant a 335i engine or m3 engine in the future biggrin.gif . not to mention, more room to mod.. if you have the cash
+1 totally agreed !
If can swap in an LS1 or LSX V8 that would be awesome, those torque and power drool.gif
TSVP999
post May 2 2014, 10:15 AM

To those who are familiar, this is the oil leak area. Is it serious? Repairable? Is it costly to repair?

Notoriez
post May 2 2014, 10:22 AM

I am Notty and Notorious !!!
2,499 posts

rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
jwrx
post May 2 2014, 01:28 PM

515 posts

its alot easier to mod a GTI then a e90 325i. Alot more parts/mods/specialists in pj/kl as well focusing on the gti
jwrx
post May 2 2014, 01:34 PM

515 posts

QUOTE(jchue73 @ Apr 18 2014, 12:10 PM)
I respect your views but I think that's typical Ah Beng thinking that the only function of a RWD car is to drift.  wink.gif

It's not all about straight line speed. It's the drive that's important. I find it hard that a 50:50 weighted RWD car is so under appreciated.  sad.gif
i think alot of ppl just assume RWD>FWD, but a factor thats alot more important is weight, and power to weight ratio. just because a car is RWD doesnt magicly give it better handling then a FWD car thats 500kg lighter. A good example is a 325i vs a Swift Sport...i guarantee you, i will have more fun, and be faster at a gymkhana with the SS

as per what mavik said, im also a e9x owner, and i came from a Mk5 GTi. for the TS age, the GTI is a far better choice. Faster, cheaper to run, more fun, easier to mod

i have owned FWD/RWD/AWD over the last 15 years.... only a AWD can you really feel a diff in daily driving. Im pretty sure most RWD fanbois on this forum have never owned a RWD car...and probably would not be able to tell, if asked to do a blind testdrive

AmenoJaku
post May 2 2014, 05:33 PM

39 posts

QUOTE(jwrx @ May 2 2014, 01:34 PM)
i think alot of ppl just assume RWD>FWD, but a factor thats alot more important is weight, and power to weight ratio. just because a car is RWD doesnt magicly give it better handling then a FWD car thats 500kg lighter. A good example is a 325i vs a Swift Sport...i guarantee you, i will have more fun, and be faster at a gymkhana with the SS

as per what mavik said, im also a e9x owner, and i came from a Mk5 GTi. for the TS age, the GTI is a far better choice. Faster, cheaper to run, more fun, easier to mod

i have owned FWD/RWD/AWD over the last 15 years.... only a AWD can you really feel a diff in daily driving. Im pretty sure most RWD fanbois on this forum have never owned a RWD car...and probably would not be able to tell, if asked to do a blind testdrive
An article on a mag once mentioned that about 80% of bmw 1-series owners didn't know they bought a rwd. Not sure if it's true. But ironic nevertheless.

Shawnzz
post May 3 2014, 12:09 PM

1,911 posts

QUOTE(jwrx @ May 2 2014, 01:28 PM)
its alot easier to mod a GTI then a e90 325i. Alot more parts/mods/specialists in pj/kl as well focusing on the gti
im talking about in the future la, in about 10-15 years time laugh.gif when halfcuts for e90 are easily available. But then again, no 1 will buy these cars and keep for 10-15 years.
kinkyoreo
post Aug 28 2016, 01:37 PM

I am currently driving a mkv gti (i much prefer the lines of this gen) and previously had an e90. Trust me, all bimmer fans (bar none) will never admit their cars cost more to maintain in comparison and will always quote dsg issues (like every other tom, dick n harry). I bought mine 10 years ago and no problems with my gearbox to-date. All issues ive had are with the usual wear n tear parts. Having said that, name me one make or model who has had absolutely no issues in their history?

Like the others have said, feeding your ego is probably the only benefit you will get from choosing thr e90. Apart from the m5 series, i will never bother with Bavarian Money Wasters again. But thats just me...

Go for the golf gti...Attached Image

0.0468sec    0.35    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 06:40 AM