The new Nissan Sylphy 2014, Coming soon

setheo
post May 4 2014, 04:59 PM

77 posts

hi guys,

i just testdrive sylphy this morning. It's my first time driving CVT transmission car.
Just wondering is it normal that the engine bit jerky on low speed. Like when i pedal more, engine rev a lot but doesn't really pick up. Salesman told me it's CVT characteristics.
After pickup the speed then seems ok and smooth driving.

Is this normal for CVT?
setheo
post May 4 2014, 08:05 PM

77 posts

QUOTE(jutamind @ May 4 2014, 06:11 PM)
went to showroom, but so far only see low spec Sylphy. anyone see high spec Sylphy in showroom so far?
Ya. went twice, two different showroom. One before launching and one this morning. Only low spec available.
Asked the salesman, said not sure exact date when coming in but said this month. Said low spec got stock, can take this month but for high end spec, need to wait 2 months.

setheo
post May 4 2014, 08:22 PM

77 posts

QUOTE(SportyHandling @ May 4 2014, 07:04 PM)
It is true that it's due to the smoothness of the Nissan's CVT. The CVT transmission is certainly very smooth that you don't feel anything at all, I mean the gears upshifting(or downshifting) when you step on the pedal. Even in hard acceleration ie. stepping hard on the pedal, you hear the sound of the engine revving loud but you don't feel the car moving forward too much due to the absence of the jolts in the transmission. The CVT is really a smooth operator.

It would be useful if you look at the speedometer when the car is accelerating. You would notice the needle on the speedometer is climbing up rapidly even though you don't feel the car accelerating.

How is the soundproofing of this new Sylphy? The Sylphy is well-known to be a quiet car with excellent soundproofing from road, suspension, engine and wind noise.
Ya. Didn't feel the jolt when accelerate. Feel a bit weird actually.
But my concern is when I first drive the car, it rev very high, like need power to move that car. After that, it's smooth all the way.
It is very quiet and comfy car, for sure. The car can absorb shocks from uneven road very well too.

I also tested Civic 2.0 this week and I personally feel Sylphy has better soundproofing. The interior in Civic is more plastic than Sylphy.

My personal opinion.

Pros:
1. good NVH
2. Safety feature - 6 airbags.
3. Spacious

Cons:
1. The position of handbrake is more towards passenger side. I believe this design is for left-hand drive.
2. Low spec fabric seat, emm.. just don't quite like it. Ask if there's option to upgrade to leather seat, salesman said no.
3. The aircond dial controller. OMG, it's back to the future to 80s!!

Anyway, i already place my booking for high-end spec. cool2.gif

setheo
post May 4 2014, 09:10 PM

77 posts

QUOTE(jutamind @ May 4 2014, 09:04 PM)
Any  special deal for high spec? What's the interest rate now ?
Only gave me solar safety film only. sad.gif
Said abt 2.6%-2.7%.

My relative just booked Honda City 3 days ago, interest rate is 2.6%.

setheo
post May 4 2014, 09:47 PM

77 posts

QUOTE(chiew @ May 4 2014, 09:26 PM)
solar film price by Nissan as attached. They offer Solargard Armourcoat for first 1000 customers.
Ya, saw this too.

Didn't really push for any other things. Wondering if anyone else manage to get a better deal.
If am one of the first 1000, guess Sylphy sales pretty slow eh.

My salesman also bit blur. First told me high spec comes with sunroof. I told him better confirm the fact and went to office and came back apologize because mixed up with Teana.
hmm.gif

setheo
post May 4 2014, 09:55 PM

77 posts

QUOTE(jutamind @ May 4 2014, 09:52 PM)
i would rather like TC to give me 1-2k discount so that i choose my own tint.

also, dont know why TC can launch a car but has no high spec car for viewing and test drive. kind of screw up there.
Exactly.
However, I believe there is high spec cars available in select few showroom because paultan.org review was done with high-end spec.

Btw, is Solar tint quality lousy?

setheo
post May 4 2014, 10:07 PM

77 posts

QUOTE(chiew @ May 4 2014, 09:53 PM)
i booked during pre-launch, and they offer additional 1k rebate too.
guess Sylphy quite slow, my Sales Rep said only sell two so far  hmm.gif
Tomorrow gonna call up my sales rep!
Mine to PM me which branch you went to?

Btw, which spec you booked? When expect to get your new car?

setheo
post May 5 2014, 10:49 PM

77 posts

QUOTE(SportyHandling @ May 5 2014, 07:29 PM)
Sylphy's soundproofing is certainly among the best in the RM125k category and below. If comparing between the Sylphy and Civic, although looks are subjective, I do think the current Civic looks ugly. The new Sylphy looks better at all angles. As for interior, the new Sylphy has shed the "uncle look" by eliminating the wood grain strips and panels, replacing them with silver and black trims, giving the ambiance a modern and sophisticated feel. Again a matter of preference the dashboard and overall interior of the Sylphy looks better than the Civic. I only have problems with the air-cond dials in the low-spec model of the Sylphy. The high-spec Sylphy is much more presentable on this aspect.

I thought the high-spec model comes with leather seats and not fabric?

Yes, the Sylphy is definitely a comfortable and spacious car with impressive rear legroom for this segment. The older model comes with very plush leather seats(the new Sylphy's leather seats lost to the old model in terms of comfort from what I read) and to me is the king when it comes to comfortable seats. It is almost like sitting on a soft Rozel leather sofa at home. No joke.

If you want a comfortable, quiet and spacious car, I don't think you can go wrong with the Nissan models Sylphy and upwards(Teana).
My review was based on low-spec model, which is only available at that moment.
Yes, high spec comes with leather and better interior.

Anyway, I think even the low-spec is worth to consider, if don't mind the interior fittings. After all, it's still a spacious, quiet with 6 airbags car.

This post has been edited by setheo: May 5 2014, 10:50 PM
setheo
post May 6 2014, 08:16 PM

77 posts

QUOTE(AmenoJaku @ May 6 2014, 05:30 PM)
No you didn't say it explicitly but it was implied. As though his team's 'opinion' = 'facts'.
And thus anyone who deviate from PT's findings is wrong. If that's the case, then there's no point discussing here.
Might as well directly accept what PT says, or pm the 5% whom you believe.
Let's agree to disagree, shall we..

Cheers.
setheo
post May 28 2014, 09:29 AM

77 posts

QUOTE(sassyguy @ May 27 2014, 05:44 PM)
Hi everyone.. I am a newbie here. I ordered my Sylphy high spec model early May 2014. Was informed car arriving end of June or early July 2014. Dont know if these dates are when we can collect the car or if these are tentative dates when the cars will come into our country. Then need to take into account customs clearance and also puspakom checks. Do anyone know if these checks are done at Puspokom JPJ (cars have to be there physically) or done at Nissan stockyard?

Personally I have not yet encountered any new Sylphy on the road. I am sure there are some by now. Have read a few feedbacks on test driving this car. I have not yet test driven it but I am very familiar with Nissan cars all this while. Any current new owners can share their experience of owning and driving the Sylphy in particular any problems that crop up or QC issues (hopefully there are none)
1. About the arrival date, yes, I ask few sales guys, and they said the same thing. End of June or early July.
2. Check from Puspakom? Would like to know as well.
3. 2-3 weeks back, sales not that impressive. But those getting baseline model should be getting their cars already. Haven't seen any on the road though. Quality wise, should be ok because this model was first launched way back in 2012. Any major issue should have been solved by now.

Cheers..

setheo
post Jun 20 2014, 11:12 AM

77 posts

QUOTE(JayChouYEE @ Jun 20 2014, 10:18 AM)
ask other branch,cause i dont think so fast sold 1000.
The tint applicable to both baseline and VL model.
Sales that bad, huh?

hmm.gif
setheo
post Jun 24 2014, 10:24 AM

77 posts

QUOTE(nxtpg @ Jun 24 2014, 09:10 AM)
If u havent booked.. dont buy. I am one dissatisfied purchaser. Within a week.. they introduce free nismo bodykit resulting in the just newly launched sylphy to drop in value. And they only offer a dc which is like giving to beggars for non bodykit. Being a loyal nissan user.. really fedup. I am selling off another ride... suppose to get another teana but now thinking not. No wonder we see many k5 n k3 on the road. I might get one too.
Chill bro.

I do feel the same that they shouldn't introduce free bodykit this fast. After all, the VL model only available like 1 week ago. Perhaps, the giveaway is to boost their sales.

However, i don't think it affect the value of your new ride.

As long you enjoy your ride, bro..
setheo
post Jun 24 2014, 04:24 PM

77 posts

QUOTE(sassyguy @ Jun 24 2014, 12:39 PM)
TC is wrong to introduce this new package so early right after the launch. I am not a fan of any bodykit (prefer car in original form) but cannot help but feel offended with TC marketing strategy.. I booked my car during launch but only got my ride last week. Barely one week and TC come up with this offer...image how all the early purchasers like myself will feel??? Least they could do is wait till year end or early next year to come up with a new offer. Will meet my SA regarding this matter and see what they have to say..
I too booked my car during launch but haven't got my car yet. Caught up with my work and didn't really push for it. However, my SA told me he will apply for the bodykit for my car and most likely will get it since they have not delivered my car yet.

Am not a fan of bodykit too but just take it since been offered for FOC.

Perhaps, you guys can talk to SA and see if they can do something about it. After all, VL only started deliver like last week.

I agree TC marketing screwed up this time..
setheo
post Jun 24 2014, 04:32 PM

77 posts

QUOTE(JayChouYEE @ Jun 24 2014, 01:08 PM)
you mean impul of nismo?
You bought VL spec?
It's nismo.

Not sure how it looks like though..

Something like this?
Taken from Paultan.org

setheo
post Jun 24 2014, 06:14 PM

77 posts

QUOTE(chiew @ Jun 24 2014, 05:29 PM)
It is the Impul bodykit. I have received this brochure from SA:

Sylphy Impul Bodykit
Aiks.. was told by SA is nismo.

Anyway, couldn't find much info from web.

Thanks for the photo. Looks good..

This post has been edited by setheo: Jun 24 2014, 06:15 PM
setheo
post Jun 25 2014, 10:05 PM

77 posts

QUOTE(taphie78 @ Jun 25 2014, 03:33 PM)
Yup u are absolutely right, it's actually TC malaysia own locally sourced, even it's not that big but it's quite capable, at least dun have to squint my eyes for reverse camera when in used.
How much it cost to install one?
Any photos to share?

Thanks!
setheo
post Jun 27 2014, 09:32 AM

77 posts

QUOTE(ckl1998 @ Jun 26 2014, 11:29 PM)
How is the body kit looks like? Any picture for that? How good I wish if I can trade in this body kit and pay a bit for the upgrade to multimedia player.
Taken this morning..

Bodykit back

Bodykit front

Spoken to SA this morning. Said Nissan will not install bodykit for those who already taken their car. Anyone can verify that?

This post has been edited by setheo: Jun 27 2014, 09:46 AM
setheo
post Jun 27 2014, 05:59 PM

77 posts

QUOTE(nxtpg @ Jun 27 2014, 04:54 PM)
wow.. thanks for the pic

at least know how it actually look

lucky i rejected it. for my driving up n down ..parking... sure will pecah here n there

nismo different from impul?
That's my ride. smile.gif

Sorry for so much confusion. Perhaps my SA was bit newbie.

Nismo and impul are different but I know nuts about bodykit. Don't really fancy one.

Hope you guys have a fun ride. Oh wait.. is it possible to associate fun ride with Nissan car.. Hehe

This post has been edited by setheo: Jun 27 2014, 06:22 PM
setheo
post Jun 30 2014, 07:50 PM

77 posts

Honestly, I haven't seen any new Sylphy on the road.. emm
setheo
post Jul 2 2014, 06:53 AM

77 posts

QUOTE(ckl1998 @ Jul 2 2014, 03:26 AM)
The back seat is foldable like the US version? Or it is fixed?
Fixed

0.0235sec    0.45    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 09:46 AM