Ford Kuga Problems and Accessories, Experience Sharing

TSeastmeetswest
post Apr 14 2014, 02:13 PM, updated 12y ago

95 posts

Hi guys. I have decided to get Ford Kuga. So please share your experience and common problems, and what do you think of the fuel consumption??

Since there is no GPS, reverse camera and automated driver seat, can anyone advice if I could these accessories?

Also, please advice what kind of tinting I should get to block sun, there are just so many types, please share you experience please!

Please advice.

TSeastmeetswest
post Apr 14 2014, 02:22 PM

95 posts

QUOTE(6216 @ Apr 14 2014, 02:16 PM)
I only use a stand alone GPS or my phone. How often do you adjust your seats and if you need a reverse cam to drive, you're not there yet.
Hi, its a simply answer of you know or no, how do you know if there multiple family members uses the car at different times of a day, so dont simply comment, but rather inform me if you know something. Reverse camera could aid my mum who is about 60 years old, do you live alone in this world??

Getting there, getting where? Just because someone uses reverse camera to assure, note this, "assure" that I dont hit the kids next door is wrong??

Dont reply with average brains and waste everyone's time. Its a forum and suppose to be a platform for knowledge sharing, get a live!

TSeastmeetswest
post Apr 14 2014, 05:34 PM

95 posts

QUOTE(kadajawi @ Apr 14 2014, 05:23 PM)
I assume that these features are offered overseas, so theoretically it should be possible to import the parts and have them installed. Not sure how the on board computer will deal with it though. Best thing would be to check at a dedicated Ford forum overseas. Don't expect it to be cheap though. GPS is never a cheap option, and the driver seat may include an airbag. Plus shipping...

Also keep in mind that there may not be maps for the GPS. I still think the best maps for Malaysia are Garmin + Malfreemaps. Most up to date.
Any feedback on the car performance? Any common problems?
TSeastmeetswest
post Apr 15 2014, 11:58 AM

95 posts

QUOTE(jwrx @ Apr 15 2014, 11:37 AM)
Ppl buy Kuga instead of CRV/CX5 for a few main reasons.

- Power, the 1.6turbo is way more responsive then both crv/cx5 (testdrive to understand)
- Safety, the kuga comes standard with SEVEN airbags, best in SUV class of that price, as well as all the normal traction control etc etc
- build quality (Very subjective i understand diffrent ppl have diffrent tastes, but i go inside a CRV, i feel its damn plasticy and cheap, even a CRZ thats 30k cheaper has nicer interior)
- 5 years warranty and 3 years full service package.(my last 2 cars have been fords, nice not to have to pay a single sen in servicing for first few years, even things like brake pads, wipers is included(not included in many other manufacturers service package0
now on to your Qs.

GPS - most manufacturers onboard GPS suck. even 400k BMWs. None of them are on par with WAZE or even Google Maps
Reverse camera - yes...its the 1 thing kuga lacks compared to his rival (and no you cant get official ford cam by retrofit)
Auto driver seat - there is high spec Kuga that comes with full leather and auto driver seat...but Very rare, and very limited stock...check with the dealer

My kuga now 10k km, over 1 year old, still love it, still very glad i didnt get crv/cx5. Its the first Ford SUV thats selling well in Msia...so i guess ppls taste are changing
Wow, its so good to hear at least one positive response. I booked the car and just locked my loan today at 2.4%. Lets hope mine wont be lemon. How it the fuel consumption and any common problems? The SA told me that KUGA gearbox is the normal full auto, and hence wont have problem compared to DCT in Focus.

Lets hope so!
TSeastmeetswest
post Apr 15 2014, 02:15 PM

95 posts

QUOTE(jwrx @ Apr 15 2014, 01:39 PM)
nice and comfy. Kuga rear seats can recline for more comfort.

More spacious then CX5, but lose to CRV
Yes, can recline. The FC is quite bad huh. LOL!

How about the electronics, any issues yet?
TSeastmeetswest
post Apr 15 2014, 05:24 PM

95 posts

QUOTE(theanswer @ Apr 15 2014, 05:16 PM)
how bad is bad? i thot ecoboost is a good engine.  tongue.gif
I think anything compared to CX5 will be bad... sad.gif
TSeastmeetswest
post Apr 16 2014, 09:09 AM

95 posts

QUOTE(electron @ Apr 15 2014, 09:33 PM)
another thing to note when comparing the FC with the CX5 is that a majority of CX5 on our roads are FWD while Kuga comes in only 4WD, at least for now
Yes that I agree.
TSeastmeetswest
post Apr 16 2014, 11:46 AM

95 posts

QUOTE(electron @ Apr 16 2014, 10:54 AM)
and the real world FC figures you get from the forum here would usually be the 2.0 FWD version (2.5 is still new) and for sure Kuga is being handicapped in the comparison
Whatever it is, Kuga's killer look and boot opening technology attracted me to the core!!
TSeastmeetswest
post Apr 25 2014, 03:34 PM

95 posts

Got my Kuga out. Fabulous drive as of now. Just a few questions:

Dear Kuga users:

1. How much will the tire cost?
2. The air cond, why the inner circulation turns off everytime I start the car, cannot make it permanent?
3. The disc break, when I release the break, there is noise
4. Will the fuel consumption reduce over time when the engine wears out a bit?

Thanks!

Please advice
TSeastmeetswest
post May 26 2014, 05:16 PM

95 posts

QUOTE(Maxspeed123 @ May 23 2014, 09:59 PM)
Im in a dilemma of whether to choose CX-5 or Kuga! Both cars have their own pros and cons.. Lolll but kuga really gt high FC ah? If like tat then susah lor zzz
Well, I drove the CX5 and Kuga, and proudly Kuga is a fantastic drive. But, the initial acceleration of Kuga is still feeling underpowered for me and I felt even bad with CX5. But after the initial pickup, the car flies... Petrol is getting better for me now, it was starting at average 13l/100, then 10l/100, now slightly less than 9l/100 after 3000+ km. Please dont believe any advertisement on consumption by any car, its all bullshit.

The biggest disadvantage of Kuga is the shortage on storing space for cards and coins, which is a major pain!! In terms of aftersales service, FORD and MAZDA have same complaints, slow spare parts and bla bla bla. But, KUGA comes with 5 years warranty/200000 km, where else CX5 only 3 years warranty, so its a bit of a risk, as the parts for MAZDA and FORD are not cheap.

But, KUGA does not come with reverse camera or GPS.

KUGA comes with torque vectoring that controls AWD, which is fascinating for me!! And the tailgate automation, is fabulous, at least for me.

Another thing to remember, the fuel efficiency of CX5 is claimed for FWD, and KUGA is AWD, so not apple to apple comparison.

All things apart, KUGA is solid, you can know its solid simply by waving the doors and I think its more spacious compared to CX5.

Anyway, end of the day its completely up to your taste! Good luck!!

0.0270sec    0.66    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 02:23 PM