QUOTE(Boon3 @ Apr 6 2017, 11:27 AM)
No lar... buy shares because it is good value.. door gift is just FOC dessert. Nestle (M) Bhd
Nestle (M) Bhd
Apr 6 2017, 11:35 AM
12,534 posts Joined: Mar 2009 From: Penang, KL, China, Indonesia.... |
Apr 6 2017, 11:46 AM
4,174 posts Joined: Dec 2008 |
QUOTE(Boon3 @ Apr 6 2017, 11:27 AM) Door gifts if only no need to Q to collect..... but...butFood + Door gift.. i will give it a miss. Will be very crowded. NESTLE shareholders profile = SENIOR CITIZENS.. retirees.. sure will be super crowded. |
Apr 6 2017, 11:48 AM
4,174 posts Joined: Dec 2008 |
Apr 6 2017, 11:54 AM
QUOTE(elea88 @ Apr 6 2017, 11:48 AM) No sign of any tumble... if really tumble COLLECT LA.. why worry.. not the 1st time in history hv this type of issues... I have worked with nestle suppliers before, in terms of their food safety requirements is very strict.I can't give more details, but they have been monitoring raw materials which requirement exceed the European standards. But of course, there is always rumor here and there.. |
Apr 6 2017, 04:50 PM
376 posts Joined: Feb 2015 |
QUOTE(gark @ Apr 6 2017, 11:54 AM) I have worked with nestle suppliers before, in terms of their food safety requirements is very strict. What rumors.. Nestle is hitting RM80 soon. I can't give more details, but they have been monitoring raw materials which requirement exceed the European standards. But of course, there is always rumor here and there.. If the rumors exist then time to buy more. It's been 3 years since I bought any of their shares. |
Apr 6 2017, 05:03 PM
15,942 posts Joined: Jun 2008 |
QUOTE(Dividend Magic @ Apr 6 2017, 04:50 PM) What rumors.. Nestle is hitting RM80 soon. Boss. If the rumors exist then time to buy more. It's been 3 years since I bought any of their shares. Good ah? My say ah... Holding on to high dividend yielding stocks is NOT 100% fool proof... There's always one failure story somewhere.... |
Apr 6 2017, 05:13 PM
QUOTE(elea88 @ Apr 6 2017, 11:46 AM) Door gifts if only no need to Q to collect..... but...but Hahahahaha..... Food + Door gift.. i will give it a miss. Will be very crowded. NESTLE shareholders profile = SENIOR CITIZENS.. retirees.. sure will be super crowded. sometimes the way I read.... rather funny (to me at least la).... share market is really big money game.... and whenever I hear people talk like... I trade this and that share for kfc ..... it's like duh. Can use thousands to bet and all they want to win is a miserable kfc meal? Or talking big big here and there... about investing this and that share... and then... all that is important is the agm door gift? seriously? btw.... nestle tumble? See one thing... no one wants to talk about is..... this share is totally CORNERED!!!! yeah.... NOS is a simple figure that is important to know. Small scripts shares is easier to move than big scripts shares. Nestle has only 234 million shares. (go compare to those billion shares stocks) AND out of those 234 million shares, what is the free float? Understanding that and perhaps one can understand why NESTLE's per is much much higher. and ya.... not so easy to tumble hor. |
Apr 6 2017, 05:49 PM
QUOTE(Boon3 @ Apr 6 2017, 05:13 PM) nestle tumble? The free float is about 30%.. with Nestle SA owning 70% of it. And those 30% mostly held by institution, with less than 5% actually belonging to retailers. From the 5% retailers, mostly also hold long term.. so i think maybe 1-2% shares is actively traded.See one thing... no one wants to talk about is..... this share is totally CORNERED!!!! yeah.... NOS is a simple figure that is important to know. Small scripts shares is easier to move than big scripts shares. Nestle has only 234 million shares. (go compare to those billion shares stocks) AND out of those 234 million shares, what is the free float? Understanding that and perhaps one can understand why NESTLE's per is much much higher. and ya.... not so easy to tumble hor. Actually the thing holding up nestle shares is the dividend, which they have manage to increase almost every year since inception. You cant put too much money on those stability.. and it will cost you in term of PER. Nestle did make a PR blunder in India in 2015, where their market share tumble from 63% to 23% within one year. Nestle India, shares drop, sales drop, and they declare $500 million loss. Now in 2017? They regained their market share, customer confidence is up, stock is back to all time high. It need a company with big pockets and solid reputation to take that kind of hit, and survive. I have attached the article here, on how they were dismissive, then lost the PR fight, and finally won it back... very interesting lessons who those working in corporate world on dealing with crisis. Now being studied by MBA's worldwide. http://fortune.com/nestle-maggi-noodle-crisis/ This post has been edited by gark: Apr 6 2017, 06:05 PM |
Apr 6 2017, 06:20 PM
QUOTE(gark @ Apr 6 2017, 05:49 PM) The free float is about 30%.. with Nestle SA owning 70% of it. And those 30% mostly held by institution, with less than 5% actually belonging to retailers. From the 5% retailers, mostly also hold long term.. so i think maybe 1-2% shares is actively traded. I would say that 1-2% is about correct.Actually the thing holding up nestle shares is the dividend, which they have manage to increase almost every year since inception. You cant put too much money on those stability.. and it will cost you in term of PER. Nestle did make a PR blunder in India in 2015, where their market share tumble from 63% to 23% within one year. Nestle India, shares drop, sales drop, and they declare $500 million loss. Now in 2017? They regained their market share, customer confidence is up, stock is back to all time high. It need a company with big pockets and solid reputation to take that kind of hit. I have attached the article here, on how they were dismissive, then lost the PR fight, and finally won it back... very interesting lessons who those working in corporate world on dealing with crisis. Now being studied by MBA's worldwide. http://fortune.com/nestle-maggi-noodle-crisis/ Which is in my definition way totally CORNERED. ... and yes I would agree with what you are trying to say also. I feel sometimes that dividend players reckon that their method is 100% solid. Nothing against dividend investing - in fact, generally it's much better approach for beginners ... and it's definitely way better than reckless punting of stocks... But in cases, dividend investors should understand that in their world, shit too can happen. Take the case of Amway. Because it was an international brand and it was paying good yields, nothing could go wrong. They fail to account that profits could tumble and with dividends could be cut. When that happens, the stocks could fall. So therefore, I feel they should acknowledge such risk. Who knows.... if say... Nestle profits keep falling continuously say 2 years... and with it.... Nestle's dividends would also decrease.... if that happens.... wouldn't we say that there's a possibility that despite the stock being closely held, the stock could still tumble? correct ? btw... what's Nestle (M) biggest money ball? It's cereals? (my guess la) (if my fingers spit out some wrong facts... go ahead la.... hantem saje... |
Apr 6 2017, 06:21 PM
Found the source of rumor...
QUOTE Source: The New Straits Times, April 5, 2017 KUALA LUMPUR: The Health Ministry has assured once again that Maggi noodles in the country are safe for consumption, after a statement that it had issued advice to Nestle Malaysia to withdraw its noodles products from the market resurfaced and went viral on social media. Its director Datuk Dr Noor Hisham Abdullah said the news was untrue and that the Ministry did not issue any such order to the company. “It was something that happened in India and not in our country,” he said via WhatsApp message. Case of bodo people viral something that happened in India in year 2015.... which Nestle has successfully defended, not only by themselves but by food safety labs across Europe, USA and Singapore. Now Malaysia go buat kiasu... This post has been edited by gark: Apr 6 2017, 06:23 PM |
Apr 6 2017, 06:23 PM
QUOTE(gark @ Apr 6 2017, 06:21 PM) Found the source of rumor... Case of bodo people viral something that happened in India in year 2015.... which Nestle has successfully defended. It's very common nowadays... People just forward videos in APA NAIK .... without even taking a second to consider if those videos/news are fake/old/bs .... |
Apr 6 2017, 06:25 PM
QUOTE(Boon3 @ Apr 6 2017, 06:20 PM) I would say that 1-2% is about correct. Nestle biggest income growth is beverage... you got see all the new nestle white kopi and milo drinks everywhere.. Which is in my definition way totally CORNERED. ... and yes I would agree with what you are trying to say also. I feel sometimes that dividend players reckon that their method is 100% solid. Nothing against dividend investing - in fact, generally it's much better approach for beginners ... and it's definitely way better than reckless punting of stocks... But in cases, dividend investors should understand that in their world, shit too can happen. Take the case of Amway. Because it was an international brand and it was paying good yields, nothing could go wrong. They fail to account that profits could tumble and with dividends could be cut. When that happens, the stocks could fall. So therefore, I feel they should acknowledge such risk. Who knows.... if say... Nestle profits keep falling continuously say 2 years... and with it.... Nestle's dividends would also decrease.... if that happens.... wouldn't we say that there's a possibility that despite the stock being closely held, the stock could still tumble? correct ? btw... what's Nestle (M) biggest money ball? It's cereals? (my guess la) (if my fingers spit out some wrong facts... go ahead la.... hantem saje... Well the share did a mini tumble from mid to late 2016.. where it fell from RM 88 to RM 74... that is not a small drop.. so I see that the shares is not that cornered.. This post has been edited by gark: Apr 6 2017, 06:26 PM |
Apr 6 2017, 06:44 PM
QUOTE(gark @ Apr 6 2017, 06:25 PM) Nestle biggest income growth is beverage... you got see all the new nestle white kopi and milo drinks everywhere.. when got 88 wo?Well the share did a mini tumble from mid to late 2016.. where it fell from RM 88 to RM 74... that is not a small drop.. so I see that the shares is not that cornered.. |
Apr 6 2017, 06:47 PM
QUOTE(Boon3 @ Apr 6 2017, 06:44 PM) Sorry my mistake... it's 82.. Drop to 74.. around 9.75 % mah.. Anyway dividend share is not 100% fool proof, but they have less volatility. If the business begins to sour, we must be ready to get out. I monitor this by looking at the net margin, lowering of net margins signal poor business moat as they have cut price to deliver volume. This post has been edited by gark: Apr 6 2017, 06:55 PM |
Apr 6 2017, 06:50 PM
Apr 6 2017, 06:54 PM
Apr 6 2017, 07:05 PM
QUOTE(gark @ Apr 6 2017, 06:54 PM) Oh.... you talk about such a long time frame.Generally, for me, on this issue, I observe how the shares are traded daily.. specifically the volume.... usually the long candle days are good indicators... look at 21 Mar 17 trading... Open price? Close price? Vol? So how much vol was needed to push the stock ... how many %? Then compare that vol to float. So easy to push up yes? Then see the next day trading..... |
Apr 6 2017, 07:12 PM
QUOTE(Boon3 @ Apr 6 2017, 07:05 PM) Oh.... you talk about such a long time frame. If daily up down no need see... so low volume.. want to push to 100 also can.. Generally, for me, on this issue, I observe how the shares are traded daily.. specifically the volume.... usually the long candle days are good indicators... look at 21 Mar 17 trading... Open price? Close price? Vol? So how much vol was needed to push the stock ... how many %? Then compare that vol to float. So easy to push up yes? Then see the next day trading..... We talking longer term ma.. |
Apr 6 2017, 07:22 PM
Apr 6 2017, 08:30 PM
376 posts Joined: Feb 2015 |
| Change to: | 0.0143sec