4 Critical Signs of a Bubble Market V5, Are the signs already there in Malaysia?

SUSAllnGap
post Apr 11 2014, 03:53 PM

[ Modding with Passion(tm) ]
4,561 posts

QUOTE(cfa28 @ Apr 11 2014, 03:38 PM)
To me, a Property Bubble will not happen if KLCC Properties drop to RM500 psf or below

A Property Bubble will happen if:

Kota Damansara DSL drop to RM400K
Bandar Puteri Puchong drop to RM300K
Mutiara Damandara drop to say RM500K
Kajamg drop to RM300K

then you know the Bubble has finally burst

Those who bought many properties on leverage for investment / flipping will suffer.

Banks will record huge rights off due to FRS139 Req to mark to market

Mass Auctions will take place and those with Cash Reserves will sweep the Properties and the UUU cycle will start again.
That's just my view...
this is how US hide their shiats.
1. all the bad house loan they throw to one mortgage banks
2. declare that rotten egg basket bank bankrupt
3. all their house value they do not revise (PSF)

so that is how their banks look very healthy from the outside.

even if the price does not pop, another scenario is stagnation.

1. our government can ask EPF to buy up crony developers that have liquidity problems
2. or even pump money into problematic banks if the NPL are too high thus causing liquidity problems.
3. house prices would remain high on evaluation, but a lot of people could not obtain loan to buy it
4. bad business, high unemployment rate, high unrest and rise in crime
5. flippers get declared bankrupt only, as bankruptcy law is livable in Malaysia.
6. ROI for rentals will be so low due to less people capable to pay high rent (Kelana jaya here are selling condo 1.8k rent / 600k , 3% return only)

This post has been edited by AllnGap: Apr 11 2014, 03:53 PM
SUSAllnGap
post Apr 11 2014, 04:14 PM

4,561 posts

QUOTE(timesrun @ Apr 11 2014, 04:07 PM)
Another things i want to comment here. You think people rent 1.8k people will rent? If people got this money why they do not want to buy themselve? Are they stupid or what? doh.gif
my bro got a unit at Damansara Perdana, studio 500sqft rented for RM 1.3k.

there are a lot of people into lifestyle unit, but what i emphasize is that the rental ROI is too low to sustain the housing price as the price is too high d.

i put it like this.

when price is cheap, you have these group of buyers
1. flippers
2. investor (longer term)
3. rental investor
4. True home buyer

when the prices are too high
1. flippers cant make money
2. investor (longer term), they can buy land and keep as land might double, condo prices cant double
3. rental investor (for 3% of return, might as well put in FD)
4. True home buyer, they can pay high price, but will be choosy and picky.
and now the home buyer that really wanna stay there cant obtain loan due to stricter loans.

i put it in simple terms, when ROI is too low,
you have these options.
1. put back into FD (3.3%)
2. invest into farming or other stable businesses.

SUSAllnGap
post Apr 11 2014, 11:45 PM

4,561 posts

QUOTE(Showtime747 @ Apr 11 2014, 07:34 PM)
Very fair comment  thumbup.gif

I am category 3 buyers. Returns was like 6-7% previously. Now good property 4% also difficult to find. Investors has reduced their expected return. Now 4% is even before tax. After tax, it could be just low 3.x%. Same as FDs.

Why people still want to buy properties when they can put their money in FD goyang kaki, don't need to attend to tenant's problem ? I think that is because investor feel that money is losing its value fast. Put in property also same as FD, but the property will appreciate in value. FD won't appreciate in value, but instead lose out to inflation.

So the mindset of investors has changed. The high price of property now to them is in fact fair value
what if the banks revise the interest rate higher, so the FD revised to 4% ??

fair because that is the only option. if there is better ROI method would you think they will consider that ?

SUSAllnGap
post Apr 11 2014, 11:52 PM

4,561 posts

QUOTE(kevyeoh @ Apr 11 2014, 11:04 PM)
even if earn same as FD, property capital can appreciate...
your money if you put 100k is forever 100k and only earn interest...
not really, although we have yet to see that happen to Malaysia yet.

it might also be stagnation, like what happened in Japan.
house price remain high, rental is low ROI in comparison,
so people would rather rent than own. if the ROI is 3% i would rather rent because it is cheaper to rent.
i can stay at different places than to stay forever in 1 spot.

what stagnation is that banks would give a high evaluation, but the property remains unsold for long terms.
sellers sell too high, buyers refuse to buy.

and after Japan suffered depression, psychologically their people felt that it was all a con job to buy houses at high price, because when the economy went sour, they lost their job, couldnt pay for the house, eventually lost everything and ended up sleeping at the roadside.

luckily malaysia is blessed with petroleum. kinda fixed income.
SUSAllnGap
post Apr 13 2014, 09:29 PM

4,561 posts

QUOTE(HuiChyr @ Apr 13 2014, 09:08 PM)
Good graph there my fren.  thumbup.gif
To me as long as QE exist, the effective lending rate will be lower than BLR or LIBOR.
Bcoz QE is just printing of money, without any backing of real asset or value. It's diluting the value of the currency.
Whether it's QE @ 80bill a month or taper to 30billion a month is still supply of money to the economy.
Interest rate will back to its normal nature (effective > BLR or LIBOR) when QE is stop completely.
from current deficit, especially US, UK, Europe and Japan, unlikely they will increase the interest rate because their deficit is extremely high.

however tapering from multiple central banks does reduce the liquidity velocity flowing into secondary markets like ours.

Right now, the biggest "money generator" in the whole world is China.
anyhow, from what i gathered on China side,

1. their premiere is lowering their growth target to focus on more sustainable growth. (7.5% is considered as too slow)
2. factory orders have dropped a lot compared to 2012 (export figures to be exact)
3. NPL (non performing loans) for banks have increased tremendously
4. a lot of raw material got stuck at ports with prices at 4 years low for some metals include steel n copper. (massive overhanging of stocks)
5. banks are tightening all loans especially on commercial loans
6. rising interest rates, especially on commercial loans

SUSAllnGap
post Apr 13 2014, 09:32 PM

4,561 posts

QUOTE(HuiChyr @ Apr 13 2014, 09:08 PM)
Good graph there my fren.  thumbup.gif
To me as long as QE exist, the effective lending rate will be lower than BLR or LIBOR.
Bcoz QE is just printing of money, without any backing of real asset or value. It's diluting the value of the currency.
Whether it's QE @ 80bill a month or taper to 30billion a month is still supply of money to the economy.
Interest rate will back to its normal nature (effective > BLR or LIBOR) when QE is stop completely.
from current deficit, especially US, UK, Europe and Japan, unlikely they will increase the interest rate because their deficit is extremely high.

however tapering from multiple central banks does reduce the liquidity velocity flowing into secondary markets like ours.

Right now, the biggest "money generator" in the whole world is China.
anyhow, from what i gathered on China side,

1. their premiere is lowering their growth target to focus on more sustainable growth. (7.5% is considered as too slow)
2. factory orders have dropped a lot compared to 2012 (export figures to be exact)
3. NPL (non performing loans) for banks have increased tremendously
4. a lot of raw material got stuck at ports with prices at 4 years low for some metals include steel n copper. (massive overhanging of stocks)
5. banks are tightening all loans especially on commercial loans
6. rising interest rates, especially on commercial loans

SUSAllnGap
post Apr 13 2014, 10:29 PM

4,561 posts

QUOTE(Showtime747 @ Apr 13 2014, 09:55 PM)
When you spend your $1 in other countries, you spend or you invest ? If you spend, like buying a china made product, the money is in china's pocket. You can't bring it back because you have exchange it with china's goods

If you invest, then you can bring it back. I think since QE tapering last year, only RM4b (If I'm not wrong) worth of money flow out of KLSE
official figure was USD 1Trillion flowed out of Asian market

http://www.bloomberg.com/news/2013-08-19/c...ck-to-u-s-.html
SUSAllnGap
post Apr 14 2014, 10:02 PM

4,561 posts

QUOTE(bcpbeancounter @ Apr 14 2014, 04:58 PM)
i think for local market, the price is always at all time high. No? Seldom heard of people burnt their hand due to investment in property. Don't give me those lelong ad ok....everyday also can see regardless of market good or bad.
please go ask those older generation, lets say those 50s and 60s have they seen housing price doubled in 3years period.
SUSAllnGap
post Apr 16 2014, 07:40 AM

4,561 posts

QUOTE(Showtime747 @ Apr 16 2014, 06:24 AM)
Friend, let's be objective. Not be a DDD just for the sake of DDD, ok ?  icon_rolleyes.gif

Think objectively and openly

Last time buy house got 2 hurdle :

1. 15% deposit
2. Monthly installment

For youngster, #1 needs >5 years to accumulate. For #2 needs to work at least 5 years only qualify.
Now, situation has changed :

1. DIBS and Zero Entry - developer give. So youngster now qualify to buy properties
2. Monthly installment - now the joint together to buy - income double to qualify for bank loans
Now, how is that similar to sub-prime ?
a lot of people do not see that prime and sub prime are all related.

i put it in a context of a condominium case.

lets say 30% is considered as sub prime, 70% is prime.

if the 30% cant maintain the loan and they throw out the units at lower price to escape from it, dont you think the rest of the 70% prime holders will be affected ??

banks in US nearly collapse due to the fact of low reserve deposits (10%) and due to liquidity issues.
on the assets side it looks very nice, but the banks had bad cashflow and thus went bankrupt.

the difference between prime and sub prime is how much breathable space for a crisis and our household debt percentage is way too high for any errors.
personal loans and credit cards are all maxed out, middle class people cant save money and burdened with car and housing loans.

savings can last for how many months if lose job ?
that is how prime buyers turn into sub prime.

keyword is overleverage and too much debt
SUSAllnGap
post Apr 16 2014, 08:16 AM

4,561 posts

QUOTE(Showtime747 @ Apr 16 2014, 08:10 AM)
We have been going over and over again on bank's giving out property loan indiscriminately or not. DDD thought any T,D an H can manipulate the documents and con the bank easily. Bank are so stupid they can easily fooled by 30% of these people. Banks are greedy people who only want to give out loan and they don't check the validity of 30% of customers' documents.

Whereas I think the integrity for malaysian banks are still in tact. Zeti is A+ banker. BNM is strict and clean organisation which is very fearful by the banks. My experience with many banks are that they do their jobs by the books. It is extremely hard to fool the banks

Take away the "30% subprime loan" which is a big assumption, your model of a perfect storm will fall apart
i say bye bye to this thread liao......good luck buying more and more, nobody is stopping you to become property tycoon......
SUSAllnGap
post Apr 17 2014, 06:03 AM

4,561 posts

http://www.zerohedge.com/news/2014-04-16/r...verything-china

Li Ka Shing is dumping every shiat in China. Especially properties, worth billions before anyone else.....

come who wants to buy cheap properties can go get from him. tongue.gif
SUSAllnGap
post Apr 17 2014, 06:46 AM

4,561 posts

QUOTE(Showtime747 @ Apr 17 2014, 06:43 AM)
thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif
go buy from him, he's selling below asking price and below market price.
and he's dumping by the whole integrated project, valued in billions since last year !

come one, go sapu from him....buy cheap cheap.....still can go up a lot
SUSAllnGap
post Apr 17 2014, 11:38 AM

4,561 posts

QUOTE(Showtime747 @ Apr 17 2014, 07:55 AM)
I actually didn't read the link. Just wanted to give encouragement to you so you don't go away  tongue.gif
i couldnt be bothered la..........
richest man in Asia must be wrong to liquidate assets laugh.gif
SUSAllnGap
post Apr 17 2014, 06:15 PM

4,561 posts

QUOTE(Showtime747 @ Apr 17 2014, 01:41 PM)
Good to see you still hanging around. You are 1 of the better DDD who have something substantive to back up your points  thumbup.gif

I read your link. And on top of this news, do you know that LKS's company did not manage to bid and win any new land in HK ? His HK property development companies will be low profile for the next few years

Yes, 1 of the interpretation is LKS view property market in China negatively. But for a company so substantial involved in China, if he wants to leave china, he has to sell his whole company instead of individual property. Cheung Kong alone has developed and still owned not less than 30 properties in 14 Chinese cities. If he wants to leave china, selling properties 1 by 1 is not a viable option at all

The other possibilities for his sale of properties in the recent 1-2 years is his intention to divide his estate between his 2 sons. He has announced he will let his elder son to own and manage the existing businesses. Whereas his younger son will get to buy any new business he is interested in. In other words, any business his younger son is interested to acquire, LKS will provide him with the cash. So, we saw a few big transactions to cash out his assets in the past 1-2 years. And your link could be just another of such transaction so he can be a good daddy to his younger son

If such news can be construed as lack of confidence in china property market, what about other big tycoon developers in HK and China ? They even have more substantial holdings in china property than LKS alone. Is everybody else stupid and fail to see what LKS saw ?

Only if many other property tycoons decide to do what LKS is doing, then yes, the end for china property is near.
omaigawd....why the grouping of UUU and DDD.

before 2004 when i was in college i was already UUU. Some average prices psf price has tripled d. you want it to quadruple ka ?? sky is the limit ? or there is no limit ?

in any instance of a rich person, they are UUU when the timing is right, and DDD when the timing is going to end.
LKS has entered the market so god damn early even 2000, and made tons of money already.

billionaires dont just "make love" to properties alone la, when the timing is right, they cash out and buy other cheap sectors la, like

1. currencies
2. bonds
3. properties
4. stock markets

buy cheap sell high. that is how they make money.

when the market is saturated and overcook, they will exit the market and wait for waterfish to pick up their shiats.

SUSAllnGap
post Apr 17 2014, 10:46 PM

4,561 posts

QUOTE(bcpbeancounter @ Apr 17 2014, 10:14 PM)
These theory very deep...cannot understand.
they can continue all this building without buyers is due to cheap financing.

without low interest money and easy to approve loans, one must think carefully about how to repay the loans.

China recently increased their corporate debt interest (double compared to last time), so a lot of them are scrambling to sell for cash.
SUSAllnGap
post Apr 17 2014, 11:22 PM

4,561 posts

QUOTE(bcpbeancounter @ Apr 17 2014, 11:04 PM)
Bro...your first para macam contradict with last para le...soli ya...i not familiar with china...never like china. Haha...
Btw...the story i read on why they sell is because of gov now actively catch the corrupt officer? No?
good times is when interest rate is low, and loans are easy to get.

now good times is over, corporate interest rate doubled and bank scrutiny is high to make sure the company officers doesnt run away with their money.

Their government is trying to clamp down on shadow banking system.
developers - politicians - bank officers - company big shots - AhLong
All the above are linked together to goreng house prices.

Downpayment in china amounts to about 20% to 30% of house price, (considering one house is RM 200k, DP = 60k, household income for factory workers is about RM 1k for family) so the people borrowed money from AhLong to put the down payment to buy house.

so the whole system is a very corrupted one, the rich is monopolizing by means of using corporate loans to goreng house and on the other hand the money is used as AhLong funds.
SUSAllnGap
post Apr 17 2014, 11:43 PM

4,561 posts

QUOTE(bcpbeancounter @ Apr 17 2014, 11:29 PM)
But now they come here to invest le...i thought you said interest high now....they don invest? The corruption story i read  is gov officer with many properties sell down so that they can run away to overseas with cash. Sekalinlks is one of these people...haha....Few days ago, an officer's house is like the type you see in old movie...四合院(old time china mansion)
the one that came here invest is state owned company la. (chinese gov owned one).

corruption is another story,
like what i told you a lot of them misuse their position in company to borrow a lot of loan.
Some mortgage their company assets to goreng house.

Why is that ??
Factory margin is too small, as they can easily flipped 20% in a few months time a few years ago.

Some bought metals (commodities), mortgage to the bank (leverage), so as metal price increase, they get more loans,
but now copper dropped below 5 year low d. oversupply at the port

It's like your banker calling you to ask you whether u wanna borrow more since there are more equity as house price increase.

those were the good times.

corporate loans interest rate has doubled. Companies assets kena scrutiny kawkaw before borrowing money from bank
now a lot of them throwing everything they got to stay afloat and to get cash
SUSAllnGap
post Apr 20 2014, 09:57 PM

4,561 posts

QUOTE(icemanfx @ Apr 20 2014, 03:29 PM)
"0%/24 month ezy home package" is not dissimilar to dibs, interest payment during construction is amortized and buyer/home owners will be paying a higher loan installment.
actually i pray that UUU faster, because the faster it goes up, the higher it will fly and the more it will fall.

if the price movement is stable like 3% up per year, hardly any chance of explosion.
if up 25% per year, then within 3 years already double.

example,

initial 300k
1st year 300k + 25% = 375k
2nd year 375k + 25% = 469k
3rd year 507k + 25% = 585k

after 3rd year already doubled laugh.gif

we have passed the 3rd year stage where the average psf had doubled while some places have quadrupled.
my area medium cost flat was once RM 75k, now got people asking for 280k rclxub.gif
just normal 700sqf flat without guard.

and UUU camp still expect it to double again ?? 75k to 280k then to 500k in another 3 years ?

how the bank gonna approve the loan ??
pay until 90years old ka whistling.gif

This post has been edited by AllnGap: Apr 20 2014, 10:02 PM
SUSAllnGap
post Apr 20 2014, 10:07 PM

4,561 posts

QUOTE(bearbearwong @ Apr 20 2014, 10:03 PM)
the trend is

500k (upon vp landed, 2 years)= 750k, now GST come 800K.. perfect example setia alam DSL.. and my prediction SEH 750k AT LEAST upon VP.. sure many yellow tags...

this means now is 50% 2 years.. yearly 25%
when u process ur documents until dulan, work stack until like mountain remember to PM me nod.gif nod.gif
SUSAllnGap
post Apr 20 2014, 10:13 PM

4,561 posts

QUOTE(bearbearwong @ Apr 20 2014, 10:03 PM)
the trend is

500k (upon vp landed, 2 years)= 750k, now GST come 800K.. perfect example setia alam DSL.. and my prediction SEH 750k AT LEAST upon VP.. sure many yellow tags...

this means now is 50% 2 years.. yearly 25%
initial = 500k
1st year, 500k + 25% = 625k
2nd year, 625k + 25% = 781k
3rd year, 781k + 25% = 976k
4th year, = 1.22mil
5th year, = 1.5mil
6th year = 1.875mil
7th year = 2.344mil
8th year = 2.93mil
9th year = 3.66mil
10 year = 4.5mil

if like that developer better dunt need to sell lo.....in 10 years their initial 500k house turned into 4.5mil d. laugh.gif

najib damn terrer, successfully increased out income 9 folds in 10years.

wow, our GDP from RM 500bill become RM 4.5Trillion laugh.gif we become super power nation d......

This post has been edited by AllnGap: Apr 20 2014, 10:16 PM

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0453sec    0.81    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 08:17 AM