WTA Working offshore, Anyone in this field ? Need advice

=--ChoonG->>
post Jul 30 2006, 11:41 PM

567 posts

btw Vincent, i am ChOOng... not ChOng tongue.gif tongue.gif

@durien
Yes. They usually have pingpong tables or some other activities. There might be gyms as well depending where you are.
TSManDontCry
post Jul 31 2006, 12:07 AM

201 posts

WoW sometime no internet i heard ......
Thats hard to live with man ........
What to do during free time ........ ??
And one more thing is the rooms given air condition
hahaha
really want to know the details man .......

This post has been edited by ManDontCry: Jul 31 2006, 12:33 AM
=--ChoonG->>
post Jul 31 2006, 09:58 PM

567 posts

QUOTE(ManDontCry @ Jul 31 2006, 12:07 AM)
WoW sometime no internet i heard ......
Thats hard to live with man ........
What to do during free time ........ ??
And one more thing is the rooms given air condition
hahaha
really want to know the details man .......
I dont think so. There will be internet, where it might not allow you to surf the net, but allows you to send emails. Only text emails without graphics. Free time? Bring a laptop with a lot of dvds of movies and games with you. Find others to chit chat or go to sleep. Up to you what you want to do. Some likes to read, so they read during free time. The rooms are air conditioned. The toilets/bathrooms most likely are shared. For gals, they might have individual bathroom and toilet but it depends on location also. Remember that you are jumping out of your daily comfort zone to work in this field. Either you adapt to the life, or you will quit in less than 1 week.
WildChai
post Aug 2 2006, 02:22 AM

Wut is this?
1,022 posts

Heya guys,
I'm in the Oil and gas too...an open hole field engineer. Not offshore. Find it a hassle. Currently based in the Libyan Desert. Away for like 6weeks at a time. good place to stay...internet....tv room....really really good food!!

TSManDontCry
post Aug 2 2006, 06:57 AM

201 posts

What is open hole ???
WildChai
post Aug 2 2006, 12:57 PM

Wut is this?
1,022 posts

Whereby a hole or well that is being drilled and casings hasn't been installed for hydrocarbon production yet. Meaning....hole that is still being drilled...without cementation.

This post has been edited by WildChai: Aug 2 2006, 12:57 PM
TSManDontCry
post Aug 2 2006, 01:43 PM

201 posts

but its not offshore ?
where is it then ?
syyang85
post Aug 5 2006, 01:17 AM

982 posts

onshore???
TSManDontCry
post Aug 6 2006, 01:18 AM

201 posts

Hey anyone have an idea on working oil and gas in Dubai ???
new~b0y
post Aug 7 2006, 01:08 AM

456 posts

Currently offshore in Caspian Sea. The best accomodation so far, with internet, a PC with plenty of games installed, Plasma TV with satellite channels and a huge library of DVDs.
durien
post Aug 7 2006, 01:33 AM

22 posts

Wow that sounds great.

Anyway, I'm beginning to wonder if my degree in electronics engineering is actually hampering my prospects of landing a job in an oil and gas company. Many of the advertisements in the papers or the net are looking for mechanical, petroleum, chemical engineers or geologists. However, I wont give up trying though.
new~b0y
post Aug 7 2006, 01:45 AM

456 posts

You might not get a job in oil and gas company, but you can try many surveying and ROV companies like Fugro, Acergy, Subsea7, Sonsub...
durien
post Aug 7 2006, 02:53 AM

22 posts

Thank you very much for the suggestions.
TSManDontCry
post Aug 7 2006, 09:06 AM

201 posts

Dubai has a great propest in oil and gas ...
and the pay is excelent drool.gif ......
Any one know about this >>>
chilskater
post Aug 7 2006, 11:50 AM

1,124 posts

any IT jobs?i am interested
vincentlws
post Aug 8 2006, 01:47 PM

168 posts

err..i guess you posted at the wrong thread bro.
btw..anyone posting at miri? man i am hell bored here
Ddaniell
post Aug 8 2006, 06:53 PM

154 posts

ello everyone....im still studying in UTM jb in civil engineering....
last time i had a practical training at MMC O&G ampang...it is a consultant company....so my job is designing a platform...using software(SACS)...
i have ask my bos about the oil n gas field...n he said...this field are very challenging....more experience u have..more higher ur salary....for me...the designing job is easy...but the office environment make me bored...if i work as consultant for 10-30 years....i think....i cant make it..too bored.maybe i should go to oil n gas field working as a fabricator...or maybe anyone can suggest me any work for me?
my lecturer said....there are many civil engineers out there...doing onshore structure....(school,TOILET)...it is common...let us do something new...something challenging and try to become an expertise in our field.... huhu....correct me if im wrong...
Ddaniell
post Aug 9 2006, 05:47 PM

154 posts

anyone want to share?
hAnn
post Aug 9 2006, 11:42 PM

329 posts

if ur wondering about joining this career n u dont hav the right requirements jus lower urself n apply a tougher job like caterer, galley hands, roustabouts, stewards, room boys... pays r not as good as engineers la but if ur progressive. fast learner, hardworking, active u can be promoted depends on many aspects n den thrs whr u get better pay

dun even think about it if u dun even make ur bed, clean toilet, sweep floor etc...

choosing company is very important if u wanna get a job like this n wish to go up in future, do research about the job offer, contracts, benefits first
WildChai
post Aug 15 2006, 03:13 AM

Wut is this?
1,022 posts

QUOTE(chilskater @ Aug 7 2006, 11:50 AM)
any IT jobs?i am interested
Well, i majored in com science. got a job as an engineer in O&G. kinda way off base, but it happens. they are willing to hire if you are willing to learn and work away.

QUOTE(ManDontCry @ Aug 7 2006, 09:06 AM)
Dubai has a great propest in oil and gas ...
and the pay is excelent  drool.gif  ......
Any one know about this >>>
Working in Dubai is great and all but that city including Abu Dhabi has a very very high cost of living. My brother is working in Abu Dhabi with an oil company. I am working in sahara desert. companies there are looking for peeps to work in the O&G.

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0199sec    0.72    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 11:21 AM