Nokia Lumia 930 Official Thread V1, 5 inch Windows Phone 8.1 RM1999

-ahtiang-
post Jul 13 2014, 08:29 AM

435 posts

coming from L920 I played with the demo unit at the Nokia Store and found that the Tile Size a tad small compared to L920 due to the Full HD display now and there is also no choice to use 2 row of Tile on L930... for those who upgraded from existing Lumias, do you find comfortable on L930 Tile Size?
-ahtiang-
post Jul 16 2014, 06:42 AM

435 posts

Agree with you on the Live Tile size as I just switched over from L920 to L930 yesterday as in L920 although they support the 3rd column in WP8.1 Dev Prev. I never activate it as the Live Tile size is a bit too small. Over to L930 it's by default 3 column and makes the Live Tile size a bit small but compensated by the high res full HD screen makes the fonts readable, so still better than the 3rd column on L920 in my humble opinion.

I just managed to get the phone setup and configured with all the apps installed and home screen customized, yet to fully use it. Today should be the day. Apps load time are superbly faster than L920 in every way and the bottom part of the phone near the "Search" button does feel warm then gradually to hot after some usage (similar to L920 which is at the rear camera area where the heat start to build up).

Screen wise, absolutely brilliant in terms of resolution and color compared to L920 thus a plus point as well as on the overall build quality is very good. I know many struggle to find the reason to upgrade from L920 to L930 stating that the specification on L930 is a so called 2013 spec model but WP8.1 is never hard on phone resources, so I think is a great upgrade. Btw, I read also everyone hammering L930 doesn't have Glance but they managed to put in the "Double Tap to Wake" on it, so more or less similar but a bit more battery usage compared to Glance.

Now becoz L930 is using OLED and doesn't have the PureMotion HD+ technology as L920 have, you will notice that the font's and the color of the fonts including the refresh rate on the L930 struggles to keep up with your quick swipe up and down the screen. This can be easily notice when you are in the "Settings" section or the listing of Apps.

More to share as I use it... biggrin.gif

P/S: I will review this L930 based on my usage and compare it to the L920 which I have used for nearly 2 years

This post has been edited by -ahtiang-: Jul 16 2014, 07:13 AM
-ahtiang-
post Jul 16 2014, 06:27 PM

435 posts

No problem with my phone. I managed to use IE to logon to Facebook without any issue.
I tried both on Cellular and WiFi.

This post has been edited by -ahtiang-: Jul 16 2014, 06:40 PM
-ahtiang-
post Jul 16 2014, 06:34 PM

435 posts

QUOTE(300thecat @ Jul 16 2014, 10:11 AM)
Yeah, I went to a Nokia store a month back to play with the newer models and I noticed that the 925 (I think) had the same problem while the 525 (I think) didn't. Kinda annoying limitation if you ask me.

Does the Moto G you have have the same limitations too?
Since you ask on Moto G and indeed I have one... The Moto G also stutters when you swipe up and down via fast motion but the font color doesn't change as I noticed on L930..
-ahtiang-
post Jul 17 2014, 06:00 PM

435 posts

On normal computer desktop can logon without issue?
-ahtiang-
post Jul 18 2014, 07:49 AM

435 posts

QUOTE(mrl @ Jul 18 2014, 06:46 AM)
Other platforms (pc, android) and winphone8.1 facebook apps has no problem loggin in. Only browser in WP8.1 has this problem...
Hmm... then that is one very strange problem indeed you have there... rclxub.gif
-ahtiang-
post Jul 18 2014, 07:52 AM

435 posts

QUOTE(soap1992 @ Jul 17 2014, 10:54 PM)
The WiFi Sense setting for my lumia 930 mysteriously gone? Anyone has this problem? Any way to fix it?
Are you saying that when you go into WiFi settings you no longer see the "WiFi Sense" button? I don't have this problem on my L930 so far

This post has been edited by -ahtiang-: Jul 18 2014, 07:53 AM
-ahtiang-
post Jul 19 2014, 07:32 AM

435 posts

QUOTE(soap1992 @ Jul 18 2014, 12:12 PM)
Yes.
Reset the phone perhaps? I know is painful doh.gif
-ahtiang-
post Jul 21 2014, 07:36 AM

435 posts

last choice, create a new FB smile.gif
-ahtiang-
post Jul 24 2014, 07:52 AM

435 posts

user posted image user posted image

absolutely beautiful piece of aluminum body with stunning details to perfection!

for higher resolution photos you can jump here https://flic.kr/ps/9Hd1v ... that is if you interested lar... hahaha...

This post has been edited by -ahtiang-: Jul 24 2014, 07:56 AM
-ahtiang-
post Jul 24 2014, 02:16 PM

435 posts

QUOTE(HfzIsml @ Jul 24 2014, 01:00 PM)
Awesome! Might also choose the orange version, hnnnghh
When I bought mine, I was struggling to choose between the Orange and the Green. Both color are very attractive indeed
-ahtiang-
post Jul 25 2014, 05:30 PM

435 posts

I think Malaysia don't have the package of the Charging Plate together with the L930...
-ahtiang-
post Jul 26 2014, 07:57 PM

435 posts

wah! so fast Nokia Store also selling below RRP liao?
-ahtiang-
post Jul 28 2014, 08:26 AM

435 posts

QUOTE(evilpuppy @ Jul 27 2014, 09:04 PM)
hahahaha, you single ?? sure, no need to hold hand with your girls. but i have 2 girls to hold hand everytime we go shopping.  sweat.gif  sweat.gif
hahaha... nice one! thumbup.gif
-ahtiang-
post Jul 30 2014, 07:31 AM

435 posts

IE 11 on the new WP 8.1 is actually very good compared to the previous version and it has come a long way indeed... I still remember the days when I was using my Samsung SGH-i780, the IE was horrendous
-ahtiang-
post Jul 31 2014, 06:00 AM

435 posts

I believe the one you visit is the Nokia dealer and not the Nokia Official Store (you know those big outlet at the malls). Nokia dealer can sell the phone at much lower price that RRP set by Nokia Malaysia but Nokia Official Store must sell them at RRP price.

Having said that I believe both types of outlet are having phones warrantied by Nokia Malaysia as long as it's from Zitron or Avaxx. Similarly I went to DirectD as well initially to scout for L930 but they only have White and Black so I walked away no choice. Their price is RM 1,799 and their units are from Avaxx.

-ahtiang-
post Aug 5 2014, 05:53 AM

435 posts

Guys and gals, the Windows Phone 8.1 Update 1 is now available if you're on Developer Preview program... I just updated mine and I like the Folder options... smile.gif
-ahtiang-
post Aug 6 2014, 09:29 PM

435 posts

Didn't encounter any issue with the screen flickering so far... I'm on Maxis Telco...
-ahtiang-
post Aug 15 2014, 07:27 AM

435 posts

confirm no
-ahtiang-
post Aug 24 2014, 08:09 AM

435 posts

QUOTE(yeohsheng @ Aug 21 2014, 02:51 PM)
does any1 have problem with his double tap to open screen?
i found out that i need to tap it very hard only it will take command.
and i found another way to double tap.
i have to press hard on the top right side of the screen. i can see clearly that the screen go into the casing. then only double tap the screen.
this way i can tap it softly. then it will recognize my double tap.

so my question is, whether your screen is flat with the aluminium side case or it float out about 1mm and it is pressable?
the screen is not entirely flat smooth to the side of the aluminum bezel.. there is a slight float approx. less then 1mm.. it's tight fit to the bezel and not moveable or press able...

but that should not be the issue with the double tap.. perhaps just sent in into Nokia Care and let them have a look...

This post has been edited by -ahtiang-: Aug 24 2014, 08:12 AM

0.0319sec    0.55    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 10:48 AM