Technical 3 Blinking Red Lights Of Death..Is it the END?, Can it be fixed or is it the end of it..

stringfellow
post Jul 24 2006, 09:51 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Error code ER68 victim here, i have the honor of being the first Malaysian owner with 3 blinking red lights when i received my US 360. (hint: US 360, hence im screwed in terms of having to return defective unit back to the States). Narrowed it down to the HDD being faulty , and ripped that thing apart to see whats wrong. Ended buying a new HDD from US as well. No problems till now.
stringfellow
post Jul 25 2006, 10:07 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

It is unacceptable. The naysayers at first said that this is normal for early adopters, but since Ajak is one of the ones who bought their 360 later, so it must be something to do with the console design and manufacturing itself. You'd expect MS QC had picked up the hint and starts fixing things, but it does not seem so.
stringfellow
post Jul 25 2006, 01:19 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Those red lights are merely error indicators, they are all covered by warranty. The question is, where to warrant our warranty? Singapore? Normal folks dont have the access or luxury of travelling down south every single time their 360 is acting up.
stringfellow
post Aug 4 2006, 04:00 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Be Jack Sparrow and be denied "entry" to every "port" you enter, and no maintainance for your "ship" when it berths into a port.

Microsoft see that people more interested in becoming the "crew of the Black Pearl", they pull out of all support, including the possible coverage of warranty. So please, hang in there while this comes to fruition. I see all of us Xbox 360 users above the trivialities and the shallow-mindedness of the guys in the Playstation section, where Pirates are king. We need to think of the repercussion of our actions in the future, not the immediate short term "rewards".
stringfellow
post Aug 13 2006, 12:27 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Jijo bro, to open the back part of the 360, you need an XCM tool, i've got two of em, for my 2 360 case replacement order, comes as apackaged kit. If you need one, gimme a holler, and i'll pass them to you.

I salute you bro Jijo, aku berani sampai bukak case jer, nak operate more than that, im chicken $hit! laugh.gif
stringfellow
post Aug 17 2006, 11:58 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

I've had multiple times of these 3 red lights , consider normal already. Even when iafter i fitted the new cases, it turned red multple times. Most of the time, its the power cable. It's not inserted properly, or i plugged it in without the Intercooler and it runs fine. After a few minutes, with the Intercooler, it run fine as well. I suspect that the 360 needs a stable current in which the Intercooler is robbing the 360 of some of its current.

Ajak, if you want the XCM tool, i'll be at Imbi today. Just need to finish encoding the Silent Hill movie into my video server, and i'll be off to TNL.
stringfellow
post Aug 23 2006, 01:17 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Be mindful that the 3 red lights problems does notnecesarily mean it is isolated to the processor/GPU chip only. There is a video tutorial at Xbox-Scene exemplifying a case where the culprit is not only the baked-off thermal paste at these 2 main chips, but also because the video RAM chips are overheating due to being in confined and cramped space in the vicinity of the heatsink. In another case, the solders around the IC circuits have been done poorly, resulting in broken contacts around the circuitry.

Hence why in the video tutorial, it is recommended to heat the area around the video RAM chips and surrrounding by the heat gun, to slowly melt the solders , improving contacts back again.

I hang out in other forum/boards as well, and their defects are more severe than simple baked-off thermal paste. And every single one of those brave souls there also agree that thermal paste is absolutely necessary, not only to provide thermal contact but because of the limited clearance between components within the immediate area. IIANM, direct contact between the heatsink and the processor, might results in a few video RAM chips being stifled of air cooling because the heatsink is in the way.

Just sharing what the others are experiencing in other forums.
stringfellow
post Aug 24 2006, 08:18 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Ajak bro, hope you got better luck with the tools. Snakes on the Plane in 1 hr. tongue.gif
stringfellow
post Aug 24 2006, 11:29 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

No prob Ajak bro, tadi test market tgk movie best ke tak. Snakes On A Plane fcukings rawks! It's like Speed on steroid, in a muthafakin' (to quote Samuel L Jackson's character, Agent Flynn) plane! Very hard edged movie!

Ko simpan dulu XCM tool tuh, bleh guna masa bedah siasat ngan Goodspeed nanti.
stringfellow
post Sep 24 2006, 12:34 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(Kabadi84 @ Sep 19 2006, 10:54 PM)
no lar i dont want it just sit there do nothing ... mane stringfellow melancong kaa?? does andy tnl got good technician?? can i just send it there
Yup baru balik CDG, bro. Specifically Marnee la Vallee Chessy, or more well known as Disneyland Paris. Next trip end of this year, covering Disneyland LA/Anaheim, Disney California Adventure, Universal Studios Hollywood, San Diego Zoo and SeaWorld San Diego, all for USD199.00 including transportation to USH and the two Disney parks. Cant wait!
stringfellow
post Jan 11 2007, 03:51 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Pray to God that nothing happens to my US 360......until the 120Gb 360 with HDMI arrives. After that, got my ass covered.
stringfellow
post Jan 23 2007, 05:42 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Which is what bro metalgrindsolid had been doing all this while IIANM.
stringfellow
post Jan 25 2007, 12:37 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Not necessarily. I got the 3ROD, and the problem was diagnosed as Hardware failure. The hardware that had failed on mine was the HDD, took out the HDD, the 3ROD went away. Bought a new HDD from DVDBoxoffice, and NEVER had any 3ROD since then. Mine is the US Xbox 360 bought on Zero Hour US launch day.
stringfellow
post Feb 5 2007, 11:46 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Shouldnt that line of thought be the other way round, the PS3 being launched later hence it has the so-called better technology in it? wink.gif

In reality, PS3 didnt have any technological advantage even though it got launched a year later, since its hardware specs had been finalised when the 360 launchedm and that 1 year delay was because of the production and implementation of the Bluray drive into the machine.

About the 3ROD, it is a risk most of us willing to take. Some may be content with sitting idly while watching others have all the fun, but most of us here dont do that. So we took the risk. A calculated risk by purchasing the 360 from reputable vendors like Djinn and Gamer Solution allows some degree of peace of mind when things like this happens. If you want TOTALLY ZERO defect on consoles as complicated as the 360, you will be waiting for a very looong time until that happens. Any PC-component parts cramped into small enclosed space will , in the time of its life, go through complications like this. I went through mine, and emerged alive and kicking, and as the saying goes, "what doesnt kill me, makes me stronger".

So it's a personal preference really, and the longer you wait, the crowd here would have moved away from the games you wanted to play most to the next. Xbox Live is after all, about playing together. wink.gif
stringfellow
post Feb 5 2007, 11:59 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(terencey @ Feb 5 2007, 11:55 AM)
Nice 1 String.  rclxms.gif

You should post this in the buyer faq thread as many ppl are holding back to wait for the unknown 360v2.

This 3rod issue is really scary but at least I still have a peace of mind until my warranty runs out end of this year.
Im refraining from saying too much around here. A lot of my previous posts have been misconstrued as something else, riling up people unnecessarily. Im afraid if i said things slightly out of context there, i'll have people clamoring for a piece of my ass later when their 360 purchases go bonkers on them. I hope people get what i meant to say here. It is how willing you are about risking it, and what kind of calculated risks are you willing to take.
stringfellow
post Feb 5 2007, 02:05 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

One word: Piracy. That alone dissolve any enthusiasm any corporate entities dealing with any software related businesses from setting up roots hereor providing other than the most minimal support.

Microsoft has presence here regarding Windows, and their own hardware like keyboards and mice, but that's just it. They get protected, albeit relatively, for their Windows division, and pirating Microsoft keyboards and mices yields no feasible income to the pirates. Different story with the 360s, or any console related matter , that is.

Sure, VMY2007 cleansed SOME of the filth in LYP and Imbi lately, but do we have to depend on VMY alone to keep the streets clean from these garbage?Our track history in dealing with this, deters Microsoft from either providing support, or expediting the launch, if any, around here. Newton's Third Law states that for an action, there is an equal and opposite reaction. Action here is Sparrow-filth, reaction here is zero support. Malaysia boleh!

This post has been edited by stringfellow: Feb 5 2007, 02:06 PM
stringfellow
post Feb 5 2007, 02:25 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Petitions dont really work. Remember that petition regarding the angry Nintendo fans about their local launch Wii and its distributor, Maxsoft? didnt budge anything. Micrososft is taking care of their own bottom line, and the bottom line here is, it is not profitable to set up shop or provide support for the 360, or in the present time. Maybe when the number of adopters grew bigger, they will take notice.

Let's just say MS wants to survey to see if it is feasible to set up local support for the 360. Im not really sure on this, but IIANM, as far as gaming-related sites, and community-size wise is concerned, Lowyat.net can be taken as the sample to see how the response in regarding 360 adoption rate. But you are Microsoft, how would you feel if you see the same excited talk among original supporters intermingled with talks on how safe flashing the DVD-ROM drive firmware is to play pirated discs, lying next to one another? Would that foster confidence, or disgust? Personally, if i were MS, i would go somewhere else and set up shop where my business practice is protected, and my bottom line is ensured. If i were MS, why would i cater for a measly few original supporters when the piracy talk about my hard work console is tolerated and discussed freely? Better i take my business somewhere else, right? Dont flame me too, im just trying to put myself in Microsoft's shoes.

This post has been edited by stringfellow: Feb 5 2007, 02:26 PM
stringfellow
post Feb 5 2007, 02:35 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Shouldnt warranties be declared void once the said item is displaced outside of the country in which the warranty is issued? Unless the warranty is worldwide of course.

The current procedure of claiming warranty using friends and relatives in SG, for those Asian 360s bought , is with the fact that Ms Singapore close one eye on it, even though they probably know the console had left the country where the warranty resides.

Also, which local distributor would take up the monumental task of being the official distributor here in Malaysia? Once that happens, they will be competing with grey importers , who may or may not adopt piracy to sell their grey imported items. This local distributor will then have to stick with MSRP price tags, which means strict profit margin, compared to whatever means grey importers are pricing their machines at, modded or not. Remember, everything electronics related in Malaysia is sold with tax incurred, so this local ditro would have to factor that in, resulting in higher price. They would be at a disadvantage compared to local importers who either found ways to not get taxed, or get taxed minimally. It's a lose-lose situation here, people. Not the mention the first hurdle, which is recognizing Malaysia as a viable launch country with our country proudly bearing its "no-holds-barred-i-pirate-whenever-whatever-i-want" sign over its forehead.

It has been a long time issue , and there had been millions of posts talking about this, but nobody gives a damn about it since they themselves are reaping the benefits from piracy.

Added on February 5, 2007, 2:37 pmIntegrity down the drain, and morale fiber, just like any fibrous organic matter, when digested will come out at the end of the rectum with some fecal matter attached. That's how i see Malaysians are.

This post has been edited by stringfellow: Feb 5 2007, 02:37 PM
stringfellow
post Feb 5 2007, 02:42 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Aiyaaaaa, with taxi drivers easy lah, he didnt want to use meter, open the door and step out, and pick another taxi lah. Once they know people dont favor them, they will take their business elsewhere. Or if you're a bit adventurous, do what i did. Go into the cab, pretend to agree with the cut-throat price, and call LPKP hotline number infront of him, reporting his misconduct. I got a free ride after that. wink.gif
stringfellow
post Feb 5 2007, 02:54 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Calm down folks, here...have a Kitkat! Ice Lemon Tea the Green Tea version is on me if/when we meet. tongue.gif

If this case, if we follow your line of thought, Kerc, then we should be boycotting buying 360 as well? Tabley camtu bang! Where then could i get my GoW love? cry.gif laugh.gif

All this mess can easily be avoided once we recognize the root of the problem. Integrity and morale fibre. Malaysians will never listen, they only want things cheap or free. Theyonly way i see people changing is by FORCING them to change, like how the government is trying to curb traffic jam by enforcing the toll-masuk-bandar thing. Malaysians are way beyond rational/reasonable talk, to me at least. You need to shove it down their throats and cut off their options, then they will listen. Once there are no other options but that one only option, they have no choice. Then only the country will be cleanse of the "Sparrow" image, and then only you will see support as how it should be, like our southern neighbour.

This post has been edited by stringfellow: Feb 5 2007, 02:55 PM

0.0340sec    0.20    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 05:47 PM