Technical 3 Blinking Red Lights Of Death..Is it the END?, Can it be fixed or is it the end of it..

jaylike7
post Jan 3 2007, 04:40 PM

Gears Of War addicts!
2,164 posts

QUOTE(alkt @ Jan 3 2007, 04:34 PM)
aiseh, got back my box from bro metalgrindsolid. 1st day tested ok. 2nd day test again kena 3ROD again. i think no hope la my 1st box doh.gif
same here, received my 360 from bro metal.1st day working fine then 2nd day kena 3rod again.... sienz doh.gif
jaylike7
post Jan 5 2007, 12:01 AM

Gears Of War addicts!
2,164 posts

@syujisy,

try check with Jason? or get the serial code from Jason and check with MS directly? i think once your case sent to them they should have another code for recording purpose? try to get jason's supplier to get the code for you then you follow up yourself, this is what you can do at the moment..or else wait for Gamer's hideout to update you..i think thats the only choice at the moment...

another choice is get another 360 if possible...or else can't do anything but wait.... doh.gif
jaylike7
post Jan 25 2007, 08:53 AM

Gears Of War addicts!
2,164 posts

3rod,

to be frank, once you got 3ROD, forever 3ROD.

i had mine last year december, first batch 360. till oct it died on me, so i sent it to Bro Metalgrindsolid. manage to fixed but guess what, only workable for 1 day, turn on next day died on me again. but metalgrindsolid provides 2 years after service warranty to me though, will send back my console to him once i have time.

not only happened to mine console, i think most of the ppl whom repaired their console from 3rod faced the same fate.

so i guess for those who own modded console, i guess the shop retailer will giv you all sort of crap and ask you fork out another 700 and they will get a new console to you? so they can send back spoiled console to the supplier and claim for a new console? i don't know, it just my guess.
jaylike7
post Jan 26 2007, 11:25 AM

Gears Of War addicts!
2,164 posts

WTF?

i can't wait to go home now and try this out for my 360 also..

jaylike7
post Jan 26 2007, 06:21 PM

Gears Of War addicts!
2,164 posts

OMFG!!!!

it works!!!!

the towel trick work like a charm..oh my faking GOD

testing LP right now coz my GOW is in my another console..i will post pic later...CIAOZ goina test my console again

wrapped him up!!
3ROD...no joke!??
WOW!!
LP screen shot
still kicking

This post has been edited by jaylike7: Jan 26 2007, 07:09 PM
jaylike7
post Jan 26 2007, 08:18 PM

Gears Of War addicts!
2,164 posts

tried GOW just now..my console still on

but i facing this...graphic glitches..and i think need to re-apply artic silver or something..not sure though...but don't think can run for long...

can anyone teach me how to reset the system? i mean clear all the updates and re-apply again...

This post has been edited by jaylike7: Jan 26 2007, 08:22 PM
jaylike7
post Jan 26 2007, 09:19 PM

Gears Of War addicts!
2,164 posts

updates:

i lowered down the resolution and all the glitches are gone...no hang or watsoever...

now using 1280x768 instead of 1280x1024+wide screen....

i think my console now can stress anymore...but heck..i don't mind if im able to use it again...my lovely jap console....kimochi!!!! blush.gif
jaylike7
post Jan 26 2007, 09:34 PM

Gears Of War addicts!
2,164 posts

QUOTE(DjiNn @ Jan 26 2007, 09:25 PM)
use it as a spare part.. or a .. hm.. "cheating achievement scores devices" tongue.gif
hehe i know what you mean by the 2nd statement.....its in my mind now!!! tongue.gif
jaylike7
post Jan 27 2007, 04:25 AM

Gears Of War addicts!
2,164 posts

ok,

another updates...

tried GOW for 2 hours..no glitches and lag or hang...looks good to me so far (touch wood)
jaylike7
post Jan 31 2007, 12:02 PM

Gears Of War addicts!
2,164 posts

@ terra,

Give me 5, no no give me 10!

not going to send it for warranty? right now for me, warranty also an issue....
jaylike7
post Feb 2 2007, 04:08 PM

Gears Of War addicts!
2,164 posts

erm...

sorry to say that currently there is no official way to fix the 3ROD unless it is cause by other device (HDD,PowerBrick and etc)....

i came through a chinese site stating 1 of the repair shop able to re-alive 360 from 3rod by resoldering the join btw GPU/CPU to motherboard.

and also there is another site stating they are able to remove the spoil lead from the GPU and replace and solder back to mobo..

@yhsiau,

if your set is Asian SG and unmodded set, why don't you claim warranty yourself? i had a frend in SG help me to report my problem and im going to replace my set next week, yes you need to send your console b to SG...but it safe alot of hassle n time... just my 2 cents though

i think Silencer also did the same..he fly down to SG and get a replacement instantly...no hassle at all..

This post has been edited by jaylike7: Feb 2 2007, 04:27 PM
jaylike7
post Feb 2 2007, 04:26 PM

Gears Of War addicts!
2,164 posts

chill bro chill,

we know you are most reliable game retailer in town...

i will edit my post, so no need so "P|ssed off"....k? biggrin.gif

jaylike7
post Feb 2 2007, 06:48 PM

Gears Of War addicts!
2,164 posts

if your set is under warranty, it just take you a week or half...

xxboxx did send his xbox to MS Sg for warranty(not 3rod issue though) ,just took him 2 days and got back a sparkling new xbox.

mine, just reported this week and MS SG response next week my replacement set will avail.

jaylike7
post Feb 2 2007, 06:53 PM

Gears Of War addicts!
2,164 posts

QUOTE(judge-the @ Feb 2 2007, 06:50 PM)
glad you'll getting a new replacement set... make sure buy me some gel lubricants while you are in SG... ops... it's gel tabs lah!
wah, you also wan dom dom for your sticks?

haha..i will check out for you guys..maybe can make business some more brows.gif

but then...please pray hard for me as i have no proof of purchase if they ask for it grumble.gif
jaylike7
post Feb 2 2007, 07:19 PM

Gears Of War addicts!
2,164 posts

@Dark

my kawaii set RIP again after 2 days of service.

right now waiting the date to be confirmed then i will head down to SG on next week Sat coz im working too..so only able to go there on weekend.
jaylike7
post Feb 2 2007, 08:38 PM

Gears Of War addicts!
2,164 posts

QUOTE(hzwasy @ Feb 2 2007, 08:31 PM)
i think if you have registered your 360 then you wont need the receipt. I registered mine after it crashed and when they replaced it they said "please keep the receipt next time".
wow, thats pretty good news to me..guess i will have more confident walking to the service hub and ask for exchange then smile.gif

@yhsiau,

this is a give n take situation, if you not free then you need to wait.. i will still pass it to someone and help then wait for 1 to 2 months time if im not free...

so it is really up to you. plus, i don't think your console still can claim warranty since it is already repaired b4...rite? hmm.gif

jaylike7
post Feb 2 2007, 10:48 PM

Gears Of War addicts!
2,164 posts

thanks stardust n terra for the confirmation on that...

i think claiming warranty from our neighbour country is no hassle at all. all you need to do is ask somebody in SG help you to report your proble.

in my case, Merdeka called and help me out on this. (Merdeka, you r my Hero blush.gif )

all i need to do now is heading down to SG and get my replacement unit.

i don't see how hard is that for us to travel to SG (unless you don't have passport). bus fare cost around RM60 with return ticket, if you wan to be more comfort, double decker bus cost RM150 with return ticket ( luxury type).

so in the end cost you less than 200 per trip which at least save you months of waiting...

just my 2 cent though...

@samurai,

just go to xbox.com and login with your registered hotmail account.

then go to your xbox live profile. go to Profile Management.

you will see registration maintenance -> register console (not sure the exact name though)

please note that Merdeka told me that the MS SG fella request him to register the xbox b4 report to them, it will save alot of times n procedures.

This post has been edited by jaylike7: Feb 2 2007, 10:52 PM
jaylike7
post Feb 5 2007, 02:41 AM

Gears Of War addicts!
2,164 posts

oh my god,

is this some kind of "the ring" omen? sauying, did you read this thread recently?

i mean... why everyone's console keep dying nowdays? must be something wrong with our country...

recently...
In Malaysia
my console,

then wcliang's console...

now sauying's 1....so whos next?

In Hong Kong

Terranova's console....

i guess the rate gone high again if this thread is alive, mod please close this thread tongue.gif

ok, back to topic..

sauying, uplug everything,i mean EVERYTHING..includign your HDD...

try to boot the console without HDD. -> if this still fails suggest u try with other power brick.

is your powerbrick turn green light when turn on your console? or red? if red means your power brick problem (at least your console not dead yet, i suppose)

but if the powerbrick turn green, means 90% is your console problem already....you may ask where is another 10%? maybe is your vga cable? is the vga cable original? try to plug with your ori cable to normal tv? anyway, the chances of vga cable causing 3ROD is highly unlikely..but try everything,no harm (since you are very free now i suppose,again biggrin.gif )

if your console reallykantoi then faster call to the MS SG toll free number (ofcourse you need somebody help you on this) : 65 800 448 1330

before you call them up, you need to register your xbox thru xbox.com

go to this link n c how to register your xbox...

http://www.bob.com.sg/forum/showpost.php?p...189&postcount=9

jaylike7
post Feb 5 2007, 12:55 PM

Gears Of War addicts!
2,164 posts

@Sauying,

no offence but your warranty is 100% gone from M$. sad.gif

if your seller willing to warranty for you, then you can try..but i highly doubt that they can fix it for you....

before that, maybe you try the "towel" trick? since its proven, at least you can play 2 more days before your xbox die again.

p/s : just got an update from my Hero bro Merdeka, my replacement unit is ready to pick up rclxm9.gif , but i have to wait till this friday...can't wait man cant freaking wait!!!
jaylike7
post Feb 5 2007, 10:35 PM

Gears Of War addicts!
2,164 posts

do they know malaysian has 360s??? consider they never launch their console here before hence no official record for M$ to reference. Since everyone of us here are buying grey import console... doh.gif

back to the topic,

Munky, any updates bout your console??

0.0382sec    0.43    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 02:05 AM