Technical 3 Blinking Red Lights Of Death..Is it the END?, Can it be fixed or is it the end of it..

acougan
post Sep 9 2006, 01:17 PM

590 posts

any idea if the Sporeans gamers with Sg launch units facing similar ratio of breakdowns? mb its a bad batch from a botched production line? yup, i'll also pray for all those unlucky fellas here. i'm one of those who postpone my purchase after reading all those overheating problems.

hope they launch in M'sia soon. warranty FTW!
acougan
post Jan 3 2007, 04:38 PM

590 posts

QUOTE(alkt @ Jan 3 2007, 04:34 PM)
aiseh, got back my box from bro metalgrindsolid. 1st day tested ok. 2nd day test again kena 3ROD again. i think no hope la my 1st box doh.gif
may i know what was bro metalgrindsolid's assessment of the problem? did the heatgun treatment resurrected it?

IIRC, ur set was upgraded with cool&quiet fans & pampered with 24/7 air-conditioning, was it not?

regarding air-con, maybe the cure is worse than the problem? a few bob posters with 3RoD was worried the excessive humidity in raining season finally tapaued their sets.

This post has been edited by acougan: Jan 3 2007, 04:43 PM
acougan
post Jan 3 2007, 04:42 PM

590 posts

sorry.doubled.

This post has been edited by acougan: Jan 3 2007, 04:43 PM
acougan
post Jan 6 2007, 09:20 PM

590 posts

3RoD (mati katak) is there to remind us mortals that life is precious. enjoy & live every moment to the fullest!! tongue.gif tongue.gif

maybe 3RoD xenon owners will be compensanted with new shiny zephyrs coming soon icon_rolleyes.gif
acougan
post Jan 6 2007, 11:22 PM

590 posts

edited. oops.

This post has been edited by acougan: Jan 6 2007, 11:23 PM
acougan
post Jan 8 2007, 12:13 AM

590 posts

QUOTE(Syuji @ Jan 8 2007, 12:07 AM)
try google "Microsoft Singapore"

then the search result is
"The Singapore site of the biggest software company in the world"

they cant even get my console done.....sian
do u read bob forums??

i do read abt how SGP gamers deal with the warranty & RMA there. pretty smooth, as long as u follow the procedures (call 1st to get service number than go exchange at appointed time), only thing is they will replace with a 'tested' set.

the thing is sets exported here wont have proper warranty info linked to a SGP address, perhaps that's complicating the RMA procedure?
acougan
post Jan 8 2007, 12:22 AM

590 posts

QUOTE(Syuji @ Jan 8 2007, 12:17 AM)
yupe...guess so
should have ask my relatives there to help
didnt know that it will take that long...maybe not that long compare to others...but i really cant stand it anymore...i need games!!!!
hm, not sure if djinn supplier will ever read this, but the 1st SGP distributor who treats ori gamers over here properly and help with any RMA will monopolize all the grey export market

maybe email jacky (bob creator and G3 boss) for help icon_idea.gif icon_idea.gif
acougan
post Jan 8 2007, 12:29 AM

590 posts

QUOTE(Syuji @ Jan 8 2007, 12:26 AM)
Thanks Acougan...maybe i will try...
but i also dunno what should i say...they are not part of MS...tell them also no use
hehe, ask him prepare lists of valid singapore addresses to rent out to M'sians for warranty & RMA purposes for a service fee. LoL.

eh? just read u actually have relatives residing there. should have ask them represent u buy 360 from Courts.M SGP for 2 years warranty. icon_idea.gif icon_idea.gif

This post has been edited by acougan: Jan 8 2007, 12:33 AM
acougan
post Jan 9 2007, 10:33 PM

590 posts

hmm....perhaps our hot & humid equatorial climate doesn't agree well with a 360.
i know ppl here will laugh at me, but i wrap my set in P-A bubblewrap when its cooled down & not being played sweat.gif

^ LoL the wrapping is because of dust factor. my 4 yr old ps2 damn dusty both outside & inside. those P-A bubblewrap is the perfect size, just cut some space for the power cord, i unplug the video cable everytime icon_idea.gif laugh.gif

also i seldom switch off the set right after a game, i leave it on dashboard for a few minutes b4 shutting it down (the air coming out at the back is cooler when it's idle)

QUOTE(nakata101 @ Jan 9 2007, 08:50 PM)
Me also thinking to do that too... just now i play every 45 minute will stop for 10 minute.... set my alarm ring every 45 minute... then my table fan non stop working for it....    sweat.gif
i think if u r ready to game for a few hours (4~6h), just play it in 1 session. playing and stopping for frequent cooling breaks might introduce extreme hot-cold cycles and further stress those weak solder points.

This post has been edited by acougan: Jan 9 2007, 10:41 PM
acougan
post Jan 10 2007, 12:02 PM

590 posts

QUOTE(acougan @ Jan 9 2007, 10:33 PM)
hmm....perhaps our hot & humid equatorial climate doesn't agree well with a 360.

also i seldom switch off the set right after a game, i leave it on dashboard for a few minutes b4 shutting it down (the air coming out at the back is cooler when it's idle).

i think if u r ready to game for a few hours (4~6h), just play it in 1 session. playing and stopping for frequent cooling breaks might introduce extreme hot-cold cycles and further stress those weak solder points.
its funny how my little xbox has turned me into a superstitous freak.

my set barely 3 mths old and yes its modded. ( i know the risk of banhammer and 3RoD when i did this) i even joked with andy when i bought it that i hoped it'll tahan until an official Msia launch when i can get a core set with warranty tongue.gif tongue.gif

i dont have aircon or ceiling fan, only a measly tabletop fan on a corner of room. i just make sure the box & power brick gets plenty of room. i elevate it using chinese chess pieces on the floor in front of the tv, and put it away nicely when not in use. (hence, the bubblewrap pyjammas to take care of dust & humidity tongue.gif) sometimes, i even check & feel the temperature of its exhaust air.

i just try reading some xbox-scene forums fr time2time and see how they doing with their heatgun treatment and dunno what reflow solder process (i actually have no technical clue what's that abt). actually the failure rate here is pretty similar to the bob.sg forums. dunno whether is environment related or purely hardware related? like someone said, we seldom hear a jpn gamer b****ing abt 3RoD or 90 days warranty. mb becos, jpn gamers only b**** in jpn forums which most of us dont understand? tongue.gif

its not all doom & gloom. many always-gaming owners celebrate their box 1st anniversary. those demo units at GH practically work around the clock. hopefully, 3RoD is not majorly threatened by old house electrical wiring or TNB power supply issues.

This post has been edited by acougan: Jan 10 2007, 12:11 PM
acougan
post Jan 10 2007, 12:46 PM

590 posts

some choice quotes from bob.sg tongue.gif

"Too hot will overheat, too cold will underheat. KNN 360 you are worse than my GF!" - m3taphor -

"My also 6 months w/o problem. It really depend on the usage. No matter what happen to our xbox, I believe it has given us endless hours of joy and happiness. " rayleh

"Hi, welcome to xbox360 club.
As a new owner of Xbox360, also read up about the thread on 3 red rings of death. Juz in case it happens (touch wood) so that you are mentally prepared
Anyway, have fun with your box !!" ryan_khoo

"its unpleasant to tell him this leh
newbie somemore..." JOGK

This post has been edited by acougan: Jan 10 2007, 12:48 PM
acougan
post Jan 16 2007, 02:35 PM

590 posts

erm, so either we stick lead-free solders for a better future environment and risk 3RoD, or we replace them with lead-based solders and further poison our planet. decisions...decisions...
acougan
post Jan 17 2007, 02:21 PM

590 posts

i think the small shop is not the MS' official replacement centre. many products company sub-contract their RMA services to that small office. and yeah, the replacement tested sets are always out of stock rclxub.gif rclxub.gif read bob. monsoon season is 3RoD retirement time sweat.gif sweat.gif

/

on another topic, do anyone remember some forumer talking about the 360 leaking some AC current? i think there was a previous discussion on that in one of the forums. is leaking = the power supply is not grounded?

This post has been edited by acougan: Jan 17 2007, 02:33 PM
acougan
post Jan 18 2007, 03:39 PM

590 posts

http://bob.com.sg/forum/showpost.php?p=345872&postcount=392

^ tongue.gif tongue.gif i'm evil but i cannot help laughing inside at his/her mis-fortune. cheap SDTV FTW!?

This post has been edited by acougan: Jan 18 2007, 03:39 PM
acougan
post Jan 21 2007, 07:49 AM

590 posts

hm, wondering if we can discuss this situation with some of them bob gamers in SGP for help. as u know, SGP gamers get to claim warranty much easier if they claim the sets was bought by them (no SN registration/receipt necessary). i wonder if any of them gamer/technopreneur will open a RMA help service for a fee. there's even someone working at the service center posting at bob icon_idea.gif icon_idea.gif
acougan
post Jan 23 2007, 05:41 PM

590 posts

if there's any technical guru who has a proper workshop & can invest in some equipment

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Reflow_soldering

^collect all the 3RoD coffins and start a refurbish xbox360 factory tongue.gif tongue.gif
acougan
post Jan 24 2007, 02:26 PM

590 posts

QUOTE(rach @ Jan 23 2007, 11:37 PM)

Majority 3ROD cases might be due to Xenon/GPU BGA solder joint issue. This is because overtime of average high temperature(60-70 deg)(when playing) + linear cooling temperature drop(when off) will effect PCB to bend thus causing solder ball on BGA to crack.

Based on PCB design guideline, prevention method is to kept system temperature <40 deg and there is where the fan modding kicks in.
They managed to do wonderfull additional internal FAN modding to kept system way under 40 deg(35-40 deg).

Repair method was to re-solder Xenon/GPU BGA chip and it work!.

thanks for translating that interesting article.

2 points to note - how much work is involved in re-soldering the GPU/CPU chips? i wonder if normal technicians can perform it?

- that small internal fan can lower the temp form (60-70 deg) to (35-40 deg)!? sounds hard to believe

QUOTE(silencer @ Jan 24 2007, 01:06 AM)
...go straight to challenger superstore there..and buy the xbox 360 ...if anything happen..u can always go back to the place for 1 to 1 exchange without any hassle ... and the transport cost is less than RM250 ..........
even if u buy 360 at SGP even with proper receipt, 1 to 1 exchange is not without hassle. the RMA procedure is easier if the S/N is registered to a SGP gamertag. also the whole process can take anywhere from 2 days to 2 weeks depending on availability of replacement sets. another bad point is that alot of bad rumors saying some untrustworthy JB shops have been carefully tampering with those warranty stickers. so can understand why their service center might have a certain bias if those RMA requests are coming in from JB cry.gif cry.gif

This post has been edited by acougan: Jan 24 2007, 02:33 PM
acougan
post Jan 25 2007, 12:48 PM

590 posts

QUOTE(michael9413 @ Jan 25 2007, 12:00 PM)
yeah the 3ROD is kinda fuss...
I hope my future unit won get this...  smile.gif

BTW, still no one can answer my question???
Jus like Lord_Ashe said... if we bring it back where do we have to get it to???
haha, pls dont worry too much abt 3RoD before it happens, u r only allowed to worry abt it after u have it, LoL

/
The exchange is at Service Hub next to Challenger at Funan Centre 6th level. It's open daily until 7 pm except Sunday until 3pm.

You need to obtain a service tag number from XBox Support and wait for confirmation of product availability before making the trip:

Xbox Singapore Customer Care toll free number is 800 448 1330.

The call centre is open from Monday to Friday 9.00am - 6.00pm (note that this is different from Service Hub opening hours).

/
XBOX Support and Service Centre are 2 different places.

You have to get the Service Request No. from XBOX Support before exchanging your console at the Service Centre

XBOX Support operates on weekdays 9am to 5pm
Call them at 800 448 1330

/
when you go for exchange, the service hub personnel at funan will hand you a slip stating that:

1) your console old serial number
2) your console new serial number
3) that your warranty registration of the new console has been entered
4) "Your product is warranted for the remainder of the original warranty period.."
more here;
http://bob.com.sg/forum/showthread.php?p=345442#post345442

This post has been edited by acougan: Jan 25 2007, 12:50 PM
acougan
post Jan 25 2007, 02:55 PM

590 posts

QUOTE(Dothan @ Jan 25 2007, 12:13 AM)
Hi All, my xbox360 got 3ROD after getting the GOW patch. It hangs and then 3ROD until now. My gf will kill me sad.gif
sorry to hear ur set also kena. i was hoping ur working on it - replacing the thermal paste & polishing the heatsink would improve the situation. do u have any know-how & equipment to resolder/reflow solder/reball/etc the GPU/CPU chip?

also, thanks for ur chess piece advice notworthy.gif i still using them.

This post has been edited by acougan: Jan 25 2007, 02:58 PM
acougan
post Jan 26 2007, 07:48 PM

590 posts

QUOTE(DjiNn @ Jan 26 2007, 07:39 PM)
actually there is another method .. no need to use towel.. just use tapes.. I cured two xbox 360 but they cant run gears of war..

I 'm thinking if the grahphics are way too heavy.. it will hang again.
u mean taping over all the airvents on the sides/behind? wonder if we should buy & test a "dehumidifier" gadget. maybe move to a dry climate country and resurrect it! tongue.gif

0.0362sec    0.33    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 07:27 AM