msi r9 270x overclocking, msi r9 270x overclocking
Mar 30 2014, 04:55 PM, updated 12y ago
Show posts by this member only | Post
491 posts Joined: Jan 2014 |
hello lowyat forums sifus! i would like to ask, im still new to overclocking, i currently own an msi r9 270x gaming edition 2gb, and after the latest msi afterburner (beta 19) it finally has unlocked voltage, so at stock the voltage was 1206mv ( i left +20% on already btw), (stock speeds 1120mhz core/1400mhz memory) speeds i managed to reach without touching the voltage was 1160/1400. Then i decided to increase the voltage from 1206 to 1219mv and managed a stable overclock of 1211mhz core/ 1500 memory, temps on unigine valley ( i ran it for 1hr+ straight), temperatures maxed out at around 70 degrees fan speed was 39% /1696 rpm, so my sifus, am i at any risk of damaging my gpu? will it last for 5 yrs if i leave it this way? or is it better to go back to the 1160/1400 earlier since i didnt touch the voltage, all help is appreciated. thank you
Apr 5 2014, 12:39 AM
945 posts Joined: Mar 2009 From: battle field |
if your target for 5 years better go for stock clock..
and 70 degree for this time, later it will increase more than 70 degree.. and if 70 degree on idle mode is bad for gpu, if u are gaming with it get 70 degree still ok.. |
Apr 5 2014, 12:49 AM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
5,144 posts Joined: Oct 2009 |
QUOTE(waka14 @ Mar 30 2014, 04:55 PM) hello lowyat forums sifus! i would like to ask, im still new to overclocking, i currently own an msi r9 270x gaming edition 2gb, and after the latest msi afterburner (beta 19) it finally has unlocked voltage, so at stock the voltage was 1206mv ( i left +20% on already btw), (stock speeds 1120mhz core/1400mhz memory) speeds i managed to reach without touching the voltage was 1160/1400. Then i decided to increase the voltage from 1206 to 1219mv and managed a stable overclock of 1211mhz core/ 1500 memory, temps on unigine valley ( i ran it for 1hr+ straight), temperatures maxed out at around 70 degrees fan speed was 39% /1696 rpm, so my sifus, am i at any risk of damaging my gpu? will it last for 5 yrs if i leave it this way? or is it better to go back to the 1160/1400 earlier since i didnt touch the voltage, all help is appreciated. thank you Playing with voltage is basically killing the card, slowly.How much % performance increased after overclock it ? |
Apr 6 2014, 12:40 AM
QUOTE(drivenheat @ Apr 5 2014, 12:39 AM) if your target for 5 years better go for stock clock.. idle is usaly 34 degrees, full load gaming then it moves around 66-70 degrees,so i leave it with the stock voltage oc safer?and 70 degree for this time, later it will increase more than 70 degree.. and if 70 degree on idle mode is bad for gpu, if u are gaming with it get 70 degree still ok.. |
Apr 6 2014, 12:42 AM
QUOTE(WiLeKiyO @ Apr 5 2014, 12:49 AM) Playing with voltage is basically killing the card, slowly. usualy its like extra 3-4 fps compared to stock clocks, but how much voltage I add is considered dangerous?or the moment i increase voltage its already a death sentence? How much % performance increased after overclock it ? |
Apr 6 2014, 12:47 AM
QUOTE(waka14 @ Apr 6 2014, 12:42 AM) usualy its like extra 3-4 fps compared to stock clocks, but how much voltage I add is considered dangerous?or the moment i increase voltage its already a death sentence? 3-4 FPS is not worth it to increase voltage.I get extra 7-15FPS on my HD7850 without even touching voltage. Increase voltage means extra heat, which shortening the life of your card. |
Apr 6 2014, 12:50 AM
QUOTE(WiLeKiyO @ Apr 6 2014, 12:47 AM) 3-4 FPS is not worth it to increase voltage. damnnnnn, 7-15fps? how did you do it? or is it just luck? how long since you running with that overclock btw ?I get extra 7-15FPS on my HD7850 without even touching voltage. Increase voltage means extra heat, which shortening the life of your card. |
Apr 6 2014, 12:53 AM
Apr 6 2014, 12:55 AM
Apr 6 2014, 01:03 AM
QUOTE(waka14 @ Apr 6 2014, 12:55 AM) thats alot of overclock...your advise? just leave it at my 1160 (no added voltage except +20%), is best for longevity? No comment on longevity, I would say all depend on luck. BTW, your card is already a OC-ed version. This post has been edited by WiLeKiyO: Apr 6 2014, 02:05 AM |
Apr 6 2014, 02:27 AM
Forum Admin
44,415 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
framerates gained also depends on the game and setting.
Apr 6 2014, 01:10 PM
QUOTE(WiLeKiyO @ Apr 5 2014, 12:49 AM) Playing with voltage is basically killing the card, slowly. i agree with u.. some part got voltage specification, if the part cannot effort the custom voltage will easily defect..How much % performance increased after overclock it ? also increase the voltage will increase the temperature too.. TS also might have to buy water cooling system if want to do hard OC.. |
Apr 6 2014, 08:22 PM
QUOTE(WiLeKiyO @ Apr 6 2014, 01:03 AM) i read alot of reviews b4 this, alot of 270x can reach 1200mhz on the core and 1500mhz on memory,thats y i was trying lol to reach close to that speeds with as little voltage as possible, i also noticed, if i touch 1220mhz performance actually decreases alot, so i left it at 1160mhz/1400mhz at the moment. |
Apr 6 2014, 08:24 PM
Apr 6 2014, 08:25 PM
QUOTE(drivenheat @ Apr 6 2014, 01:10 PM) i agree with u.. some part got voltage specification, if the part cannot effort the custom voltage will easily defect.. well so far temps are okay with the stock twin frozr iv, but where can i check the voltage specification? i searched the box and papers in there dont have......also increase the voltage will increase the temperature too.. TS also might have to buy water cooling system if want to do hard OC.. |
Apr 6 2014, 11:04 PM
QUOTE(waka14 @ Apr 6 2014, 08:25 PM) well so far temps are okay with the stock twin frozr iv, but where can i check the voltage specification? i searched the box and papers in there dont have...... i mean the electronics part mount on the gpu board, like diod, transistor, power regulator, i/c and many more have own itself voltage/temp spec.. u will not find the part characteristic unless u work with them, know the circuit and material they used.. usually people doing oc to enter a competition.. its just temporary oc to break the record and u have to adjust everything.. not sure where to find max temp since amd prefer not to show max temperature on the specification.. |
Apr 7 2014, 12:29 AM
QUOTE(drivenheat @ Apr 6 2014, 11:04 PM) i mean the electronics part mount on the gpu board, like diod, transistor, power regulator, i/c and many more have own itself voltage/temp spec.. u will not find the part characteristic unless u work with them, know the circuit and material they used.. oh i get what u mean now, so for long term, i leave it at +20% power limit, stock volts and the mild oc of 1160/1400 (stock 1120/1400), is okay for long term right?usually people doing oc to enter a competition.. its just temporary oc to break the record and u have to adjust everything.. not sure where to find max temp since amd prefer not to show max temperature on the specification.. |
Apr 7 2014, 01:22 AM
Apr 7 2014, 07:22 PM
Apr 7 2014, 07:53 PM
QUOTE(waka14 @ Apr 7 2014, 07:22 PM) the weird thing is, my gpu memory cant oc, i tried before at 1500mhz, i get artifacts after 1hr+, while other msi r9 270x can hit 1550mhz, cooling defect? not cooling defect, 1 of those vram chip unable to effort that speed or defect.. usually vram chip have body mark as part number.. u can check over the internet about the spec of the vram.. maybe different version.. |
| Change to: | 0.0189sec
5 queries
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 05:42 AM |