QUOTE(gark @ Apr 15 2014, 10:14 AM)
2 years...  brows.gif
ok let's put aside homer for a while.

what's your opinion of lost opportunity cost? smile.gif

jonchai
post Apr 15 2014, 10:22 AM

Ask me anything
1,568 posts

QUOTE(lambethwalk @ Apr 15 2014, 10:21 AM)

what's your opinion of lost opportunity cost?  smile.gif
heartache, high blood pressure, possible heart attack, possible stroke, depression

end up dying earlier

This post has been edited by jonchai: Apr 15 2014, 10:22 AM
gark
post Apr 15 2014, 10:28 AM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(lambethwalk @ Apr 15 2014, 10:21 AM)

what's your opinion of lost opportunity cost?  smile.gif
If in 2 years it can make up for it, and get at least 20%, i don't view that as 'lost' of opportunity cost rather better put as 'deferred' earnings. This way you will have the mentality to hold for longer term.

And yes my minimum criteria for any investment is 10% p.a. 'only', no need put too high expectations... sleep.gif

This post has been edited by gark: Apr 15 2014, 10:36 AM
spring onion
post Apr 15 2014, 10:31 AM

1,087 posts

Dsonic brows.gif

This post has been edited by spring onion: Apr 15 2014, 10:32 AM
gark
post Apr 15 2014, 10:37 AM

12,534 posts

Boon3 Already trigger your CP for Inari? wink.gif

This post has been edited by gark: Apr 15 2014, 10:38 AM
lambethwalk
post Apr 15 2014, 10:44 AM

2,635 posts

QUOTE(gark @ Apr 15 2014, 10:28 AM)
If in 2 years it can make up for it, and get at least 20%, i don't view that as 'lost' of opportunity cost rather better put as 'deferred' earnings. This way you will have the mentality to hold for longer term.

And yes my minimum criteria for any investment is 10% p.a. 'only', no need put too high expectations...  sleep.gif
Ah, new term... deferred earnings.. thumbup.gif

ok noted the pointers thanks smile.gif
Top Gun
post Apr 15 2014, 10:49 AM

1,370 posts

QUOTE(jonchai @ Apr 15 2014, 10:19 AM)
Holy shit! The world must be really in need of condoms right now ....

I regret not buying at 2.84 ..... damn greedy me
You mean that our mother earth is too crowded or too many people have STDs now? tongue.gif
spring onion
post Apr 15 2014, 11:03 AM

1,087 posts

QUOTE(gark @ Apr 15 2014, 10:28 AM)

And yes my minimum criteria for any investment is 10% p.a. 'only', no need put too high expectations...  sleep.gif
bull market you'll usually hit it more than 20% per year 1 based on my observation. even gark can double his portfolio in a year whistling.gif

2 years? i 2 months already 12% wor.... but the amount no much... and i suspect recent price are high.... although you all are mentioning about those satu enam thingy rclxub.gif
SUSwankongyew
post Apr 15 2014, 11:07 AM

1,177 posts

My personal target is also around 7% to 10% p.a. Remember that what can be achieved with a capital of less than 50k is very different from what can be achieved with a capital of 1m+.
andrekua2
post Apr 15 2014, 11:15 AM

13,478 posts

QUOTE(wankongyew @ Apr 15 2014, 11:07 AM)
My personal target is also around 7% to 10% p.a. Remember that what can be achieved with a capital of less than 50k is very different from what can be achieved with a capital of 1m+.
7-10% is a bit low... I thought most people invest in stock because they want to double or triple? laugh.gif
hehe86
post Apr 15 2014, 11:17 AM

Gratitude
1,497 posts

Guys, usually when they say exit at breakeven, most of the time does it include the other fees or just your entry point? Because if based on the other fees, it also take into consideration of your sizing.

This question pops out after my exit in gadang.... zzzz
Boon3
post Apr 15 2014, 11:19 AM

15,942 posts

QUOTE(lambethwalk @ Apr 15 2014, 10:00 AM)
opportunity cost loh  hmm.gif
Constant thinking of opportunity cost will cause havoc to your trading mindset. tongue.gif

It's a no-no.....

whistling.gif

This post has been edited by Boon3: Apr 15 2014, 11:20 AM
andrekua2
post Apr 15 2014, 11:21 AM

13,478 posts

QUOTE(hehe86 @ Apr 15 2014, 11:17 AM)
Guys, usually when they say exit at breakeven, most of the time does it include the other fees or just your entry point? Because if based on the other fees, it also take into consideration of your sizing.

Breakeven means what huh? If lose money, how to call it breakeven?
lambethwalk
post Apr 15 2014, 11:23 AM

2,635 posts

QUOTE(Boon3 @ Apr 15 2014, 11:19 AM)
Constant thinking of opportunity cost will cause havoc to your trading mindset. tongue.gif
It's a no-no.....
whistling.gif
Isn't trading short term? 2 months max laugh.gif
SUSwankongyew
post Apr 15 2014, 11:24 AM

1,177 posts

QUOTE(andrekua2 @ Apr 15 2014, 11:15 AM)
7-10% is a bit low... I thought most people invest in stock because they want to double or triple?  laugh.gif
Warren Buffett long-term performance is something like 20%. Your statement implies that everyone is capable of achieving that. If so, then Buffett would merely be normal and would not be unusual. Also when I say 7% to 10%, I mean a real target that is realistically achievable and have been achieved in previous years as an average return for my entire capital.I do not refer to what I hope I can achieve or what I wish I can achieve.

I too have earned much more than that for selected stocks over less than a year. But I have also taken losses.
Boon3
post Apr 15 2014, 11:24 AM

15,942 posts

QUOTE(gark @ Apr 15 2014, 10:37 AM)
Boon3 Already trigger your CP for Inari?  wink.gif
LOL! Sked already ah? tongue.gif

Told you the other day, the price is already stalling....

... as you can see, price weakness has now crept in....

..... price now only 264..... wink.gif

sweat.gif sweat.gif sweat.gif sweat.gif
andrekua2
post Apr 15 2014, 11:27 AM

13,478 posts

QUOTE(wankongyew @ Apr 15 2014, 11:24 AM)
Warren Buffett long-term performance is something like 20%. Your statement implies that everyone is capable of achieving that. If so, then Buffett would merely be normal and would not be unusual. Also when I say 7% to 10%, I mean a real target that is realistically achievable and have been achieved in previous years as an average return for my entire capital.I do not refer to what I hope I can achieve or what I wish I can achieve.

I too have earned much more than that for selected stocks over less than a year. But I have also taken losses.
Erm... I dont know about you la.

Personally, I work with relative's company. Company do borrow from relatives at 6% per annum. Risk free get 6%... why bother with stock market if only targeting single digit.
Boon3
post Apr 15 2014, 11:28 AM

15,942 posts

QUOTE(lambethwalk @ Apr 15 2014, 11:23 AM)
Isn't trading short term? 2 months max  laugh.gif
Trading is trading. biggrin.gif

Now let me ask you, why attach the time frame to your trading?
Isn't that a handicap?

Think about what is needed....
you have to choose the right stock...
you have to choose the right price...
and then.... if you have a time frame.....
then it means you have to choose the right stock, right price and at the right time.

Isn't this putting extra weight to your horse?
Can still lari kuat kuat meh? tongue.gif
SUSwankongyew
post Apr 15 2014, 11:29 AM

1,177 posts

QUOTE(andrekua2 @ Apr 15 2014, 11:27 AM)

Personally, I work with relative's company. Company do borrow from relatives at 6% per annum. Risk free get 6%... why bother with stock market if only targeting single digit.
This is not risk-free...
Boon3
post Apr 15 2014, 11:29 AM

15,942 posts

QUOTE(hehe86 @ Apr 15 2014, 11:17 AM)

cheh... trying to show off ah?

heeeeehehe laugh.gif

153 Pages « < 91 92 93 94 95 > » Top

0.0296sec    0.51    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 04:51 PM