PROTON EXORA BOLD OWNERS THREAD! V3, Unleash the turbo power!

akchang
post Apr 1 2014, 10:08 PM

1,441 posts

About the oil sludge have u guys consider oil catch tank for that issue? I mean even if u dun any addictive there r still oil sludge goes into our turbo...
akchang
post Apr 2 2014, 09:37 AM

1,441 posts

QUOTE(alexei @ Apr 1 2014, 10:26 PM)
Oil sludge is a common problem is cars, in some cases even with correct service intervals. Google this up: "turbo engine oil" and you'll find some reads that you ought to know. One thing to know, is oil sludge cannot be filtered or separated. Problem is that it is part of the oil, exposed to high heat and chemically degraded and it sticks to surfaces unnecessarily. It is like cholesterol to the human body.
Yes even with the oil catch tank there's still oil sludge. From my understanding it can reduce them to the turbo component.
akchang
post Apr 2 2014, 04:45 PM

1,441 posts

QUOTE(rOnnyJustrOn @ Apr 2 2014, 11:10 AM)
I never hear oil catch tank can catch oil sludge.  shakehead.gif  shakehead.gif
Oil catch tank is to trap blow-by gas from reentering intake manifold.
If u dismantle the air intake hose see the oil sludge around your turbo input. The breather also catch oil fumes which in long run you will see oil sludge build up in the tank.

No?

This post has been edited by akchang: Apr 2 2014, 04:48 PM
akchang
post Apr 3 2014, 11:10 AM

1,441 posts

QUOTE(rOnnyJustrOn @ Apr 3 2014, 10:11 AM)
What is “Blow-By” or is it normal for my car to have oil in the intake plumbing?

In your motor, the piston is moving up and down in its cylinder, and the rings on the piston are creating a seal so that when you ignite an air-fuel mixture, that reaction is converted into power.  As good a seal as the rings make, they will never be perfect.  What this means is that some of that expanding gas will get past the rings, and then it will be present in the crank-case.

First, keep in mind that we are talking about a very small percentage of pressure here (as long as your engine is in good running order), but that pressure still has to go somewhere.  For this reason, your car has a Positive Crank-Case Ventilation (or PCV) to release this pressure, and it will rout it back into your intake system.

There are two reasons that this is sent back into the intake, rather than being sent out to atmosphere.  The first is that Automobile manufacturers aren’t allowed to emit anything directly to the atmosphere for environmental reasons.  The second is that it can actually be advantageous for there to be a slight vacuum present in the crank-case because then there is less on the piston’s down-stroke.

However, because this air comes from the crank-case where there is a lot of oil present, this air usually has some oil vapor present in it.  This oil is also referred to as blow-by, and in moderation, it is completely normal.

https://www.facebook.com/TurboOwnersClub/po...578421665588110
Ohh yes this is wat I meant exactly.

Thanks for the share

akchang
post Apr 3 2014, 11:19 AM

1,441 posts

QUOTE(alexei @ Apr 3 2014, 10:53 AM)
Pls can help to confirm, the breather hose is before the turbo and intercooler?
IMO, blow by can cause oil droplets in mid air, and the partly the heat will boil the EO to turn it to fume. When that happens, many side effects including carbon build up on piston below piston ring, together with degraded oil additive, and in turn causing sludge.
Hi, if u see "ronnyjustron" link the pictures explains it.

So by replacing the the crank hose to oil catch tank can tremendously reduce the oil build up in long runs. Still u need to check the turbo inlet from time to time.
akchang
post Apr 3 2014, 02:52 PM

1,441 posts

Shitz...just blew the radiator hose to turbo cooling. Temporary fix super glue the hose... Haiz
akchang
post Apr 10 2014, 11:14 AM

1,441 posts

QUOTE(alexei @ Apr 9 2014, 05:01 PM)
Guys, from Preve/Saga forum, seems they talked about DEO (Digital Engine Optimizer), Racechip, ECU remap etc... anyone tried those?

As for e-throttle, or throttle booster, I am not interested.
you need more Vrrroooomm?! rclxms.gif
akchang
post Apr 11 2014, 07:55 PM

1,441 posts

QUOTE(alexei @ Apr 11 2014, 06:08 PM)
CPS is more fuel efficient than CFE lo... :thumbs some more with less noise like the one from CVT.
Sometimes bring friends around town, they ask me how come the car like driving lorry... damn malu la.
The CVT fluid from proton (whichever they r using) does make ur transmission loud. With the humming sound even at low speed.

My experience is not the CVT hardware fault..I luv the cvt driving experience whether in town or highway. It is great!

This post has been edited by akchang: Apr 11 2014, 07:57 PM
akchang
post Apr 29 2014, 04:03 PM

1,441 posts

This post has been edited by akchang: Apr 29 2014, 04:04 PM

0.0252sec    0.69    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 01:38 PM