Enquiries/Recommendations Buying a new laptop? NEED RECOMMENDATIONS? V23, Please FOLLOW the FORMAT TQ~!
ahbey0805
Apr 18 2014, 01:05 AM
Sifu, asking for your recommend
1. Preferred Brand ~ Any Brand 2. Budget ~ <3k 3. Usage ~ woking , entertainment, light gaming 4. Preferred laptop/screen size >14' 5. preference~ i wish could get backlit keyboard and msata cache for ssd upgrade, longer battery life and don't overweight
currently consider HP ENVY TouchSmart 15-j144TX Notebook PC, wondering how good for the hp after service, because i didn't but hp device before...
ahbey0805
Apr 18 2014, 10:23 AM
QUOTE(raymondtong94 @ Apr 18 2014, 09:38 AM) the HP is a good choice. specs are pretty decent. about service, HP is one of the manufacturers with good after sales service.  Do you have any suggestion other than this model...i would like to listen your advices
ahbey0805
Apr 18 2014, 11:19 AM
QUOTE(raymondtong94 @ Apr 18 2014, 10:45 AM) well, if your definition of light gaming is just those flash game titles, perhaps you can consider this : Dell Inspiron 14 7000, i5-4200U + Intel HD4400 + (1366x768; touch)+ 32GB mSATA + 500GB(5400rpm)@RM2999[1.99kg], 6GB(soldered), W8.1, backlit keyboard, 58Whr, No ODD just i dont know which kind of game titles do you play. my gaming tittle is mostly like fifa, nba 2k series...most of the sport game do you think that i need to consider y510p in stead of hp j144tx?? but what i heard from them that y510p is very heavy and low battery life...is that true?? this dell version i also consider before, but they doesn't involve any graphic card on this series.
ahbey0805
Apr 18 2014, 12:41 PM
QUOTE(raymondtong94 @ Apr 18 2014, 11:54 AM) sports game, i'd like you to take the Dell i listed. most of the sports game arent graphic demanding, so i dont think you really need to have a graphics card. but if you worry about that : Lenovo Z400 touch, i5-3230M + Nvidia GT740M + (1366x768, touch)@RM2399, 4GB, 1TB, W8; 2 years warranty this is sufficient enough.  So do you think that dell inspiron 14' 7000 series is better and more worth than this Hp envy touchsmart j144tx model?? coz both of the price is same as 2999.
ahbey0805
Apr 18 2014, 01:45 PM
QUOTE(raymondtong94 @ Apr 18 2014, 12:47 PM) its kinda hard to say.  because your preferences : and it seems like Dell Inspiron 14 7000 fits your preferences. but as i said, if you want performance, you can go for HP or the Lenovo i listed, just that you need to sacrifice lightweight. Okay...thanks for your recommendation  I got some other question willing to ask 1.Do you think that I should buy my laptop from lyn seller rather than outside shop trusted reseller?? Coz the price from lyn is cheaper than outsite the shop who sell 2.Do you think that add on the warranty on laptop is a good idea?? Or better don't waste that money?? 3.Do you thibk that touchscreen is a must function while experience win8.1 4. Is Asus and Lenovo has a good feedback on after sales service in Malaysia??
ahbey0805
Apr 18 2014, 02:21 PM
QUOTE(raymondtong94 @ Apr 18 2014, 01:54 PM) 1. This is kinda hard to judge, as each has pros and cons. But normally, i would prefer to COD with online resellers. save back my parking fees and time to travel to Lowyat Plaza. but if you got to lowyat, you can get to touch the laptop that you wanted to buy. 2. Pretty a good idea and recommended to save your hassles. If you constantly travel with your laptop, best to purchase the accidental damage support (which Dell normally has). 3. No. This is a waste of money and gimmick. 4. Lenovo's service is better than ASUS a lot. ASUS is popular for having a terrible after sales service. yeah, thanks for the help, sifu... now i getting clearer for my decision