Enquiries/Recommendations Buying a new laptop? NEED RECOMMENDATIONS? V23, Please FOLLOW the FORMAT TQ~!

Pistolmanik
post Apr 10 2014, 01:12 AM

28 posts

Sup fellas!

1. Preferred Brand : Anything!

2. Budget : RM 2500 - 3500

3. Usage : University (Mechanical Engineering..presentation, project work, CAD program and also programming, and maybe some light video editing for projects), light gaming/Indie games to ease my mind like Don't Starve, Bastion etc., watching movies, listening to songs.

4. Preferred laptop/screen size : I would like a laptop that gets the job done in portability scenarios. Mostly I will bring it around campus, use it as a study material in libraries and maybe it will become and entertainment system when I'm on board a plane..so I will need a laptop that has a long battery life, slim and not give a lot of noise and heating. I don't really need perfect speakers because I will mostly use headphones. Screen size can be anything in between the 'not too small and not too big' category. If possible..NO GLOSS!

This post has been edited by Pistolmanik: Apr 10 2014, 01:16 AM
Pistolmanik
post Apr 10 2014, 01:31 AM

28 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Apr 10 2014, 01:26 AM)
I think only you will know whether a notebook is "not too big or not too small"? laugh.gif
Anyways, I think for engineering work, a 15" (larger than what most people choose) notebook will be the better pick- larger workspace nod.gif

Unfortunately long battery life/slim/quiet/good cooling don't come together, compromises have to be made hmm.gif

Can consider these:
For Performance:
Asus S551LB-CJ075H, i7-4500U + Nvidia GT740M + 24GB mSATA + 1TB + (1366x768;touch)@RM3499[2.4kg], 8GB, W8, 3-cell
Lenovo Z510, i7-4702MQ + Nvidia GT740M@RM2799[2.2kg], 4GB, 1TB, backlit, W8; 2 yrs
MSI GP60-2PE-026MY, i7-4700HQ + Nvidia GT840M + (1920x1080; anti-glare) @RM3299[Dynaudio], 4GB, 1TB HDD, W8.1
For longer battery life:
Dell
Inspiron 15 7000, i5-4200U + Nvidia GT750M (GDDR5) + (1366x768; Touch)@RM2899[2.6kg], 6GB, 750GB(5400rpm), W8.1SL, backlit keyboard, 58Whr
Inspiron 15 7000, i7-4500U + Nvidia GT750M (GDDR5) + (1920x1080; Touch)@RM3599[2.6kg], 8GB, 1TB(5400rpm), W8.1SL, backlit keyboard, 58Whr

*Prices in RRP, negotiable
I see..thanks!! Decisions...decisions...I'll probably try them when I got the chance to drop by Lowyat.
Pistolmanik
post Apr 10 2014, 01:34 AM

28 posts

QUOTE(raymondtong94 @ Apr 10 2014, 01:32 AM)
not too big and not too small, i assume you might want something around 15inch. you can take advantage of one of the latest multimedia power horse. smile.gif

MSI
GP60-2PE-026MY, i7-4700HQ + Nvidia GT840M + (1920x1080; anti-glare) @RM3299[Dynaudio], 4GB, 1TB HDD, W8.1

or if you want a more battery efficient (but a little weaker processor for your productive assignments and no anti-glare) :

Dell
Inspiron 15 7000, i7-4500U + Nvidia GT750M (GDDR5) + (1920x1080; Touch)@RM3599[2.6kg], 8GB, 1TB(5400rpm), W8.1SL, backlit keyboard, 58Whr

you will benefit the full HD screen of both laptops a lot since you do CAD and programming projects. it also benefits your movie experience, while the speakers for both laptops are from decent manufacturers (although you dont need it). nod.gif
prices in RRP and negotiable.

EDIT : dayum sifu TJ mentioned the same laptops! tongue.gif i suppose he was sleeping at this time. laugh.gif
Alright! Thanks guys!

0.0423sec    0.50    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 02:58 AM