PlayStation VR™ Community Official Thread | V1, PlayStation VR2™ Revealed!

allvin
post Apr 8 2016, 02:35 AM

4,506 posts

I just had chance to try out PS VR on Tokyo last week ago. The VR itself is quite comfortable (even for glasses people like myself) and good build quality, best part is lightweight. It has rubber surrounding your eyes area, something like goggles. I try on the kids game (The Playroom VR), darn you can't choose game which to try on.

Since the game is The Playroom VR, can't comment on the graphic itself. It has good responsive and works as advertised. I didn't have much headache or dizzy after using it, comparing to Samsung VR or those android cupboard VR.
allvin
post Oct 24 2016, 11:30 PM

4,506 posts

QUOTE(bononoz @ Oct 24 2016, 10:41 PM)
Just received and plugged in my PSVR. thoughts so far:

1. Like others, no protective sticker on the lens. Also, It's only a matter of time before my glasses scratch the PSVR lens.. I think I keep feeling the lens against my glasses

2. Had a hard time getting the PSVR to fit right on my head - no thanks to my tiny asian nose letting light in. Subsequent tries getting better.

3. first impression: MY GAWD IS IT PIXELATED. I SPENT RM2K ON THIS?! Tried Allumette. the weird grey silk texture thing is apparent on the night sky. Doesnt matter, It's pretty nifty how you can look into the ships, under bridges and get close up on people. Another thing is the positional audio works great. Instinctively home in on the source of the sound in the 3D world.

4. Tried Playroom VR, Robot Rescue as its the only game for less than 2 persons as I have no friends so my experience ends here I guess. Things far quite blur but when  nearby it gets pretty good, I can tell from the pixels and from having seen quite a few pixels in my lifetime. Controller can get jittery. Anyway, This game is perfect for VR, I love it and I dont even like platformers! VR will definitely change alot of game genres.

5. Managed to play an hour + before my brain made me feel like my legs were going to detach from my body

TLDR: At this stage VR is pretty crappy but I'm loving the experience. This is the best piece of junk I ever bought, 5/7 would buy again
I think currently the other 2 VR headsets also facing pixelated issue. I did not test vive/rift. But based on this sim site, it really needs 4k screen VR headset in order to have some sharper graphic. PS VR very noticeable on the horizon line compare to others 2

http://vr.mkeblx.net/oculus-sim/

allvin
post Oct 26 2016, 07:52 PM

4,506 posts

QUOTE(beanbeanchong @ Oct 26 2016, 10:20 AM)
Order from Sony Official Online Store. Never know sony own online store got such a bad experience.
Today call them, they just tell me my area in progress of delivery. May be few more day Gdex will contact me.
i straight show unhappiness. Something not right obviously, they seem like unable to solve it seriously.
Where got take so long for Gdex to sell a product. item send on last friday also can reach on Saturday morning.
Well I bet they lie. IMO, few pages back, one guy say maxlink retailer got miscalculate the pre-order units (sony fault btw) and so now Sony try to get 2nd batch shipment ASAP. Just today heavyARM post that their 2nd shipment just arrived. So I bet for your case, today GDex baru ship for you using the 2nd batch shipment.
allvin
post Oct 29 2016, 11:30 AM

4,506 posts

QUOTE(loumou @ Oct 29 2016, 02:27 AM)
Got my unit today

Tried several games in vr worlds would say the expericence is worth the money

But the graphics is quite blurry and pixelated

Is it normal or my setting not right ?
Pixelated is always there. Especially the jagged graphic cos low AA.

For blurry, it depends on which games. In general, nearby you should see crisp wording (like the virtual controller), anything at far from your top should be blurry.
allvin
post Oct 29 2016, 01:43 PM

4,506 posts

Our region VR demo disc lame. End up i go dl US region demo. EVE don't have included. 40GB sweat.gif
allvin
post Oct 30 2016, 02:48 AM

4,506 posts

Try battlezone and EVE.

Seriously thought, EVE would have been better if they take their time to code better, make the cockpit looks better but using better bit texture while rest of the stuff using low res texture. It makes sense to think that cockpit is nearest to you (better graphic) while enemy space ship looks muddy because it's so much further way. I bet mostly they direct port from their PC version. If let game system low res, everything low res.

Battlezone is really more immersive. Cockpit so clear.

Somehow if the game using cell-shaded texture, the game looks better. If using realism texture, really looks muddy.

This post has been edited by allvin: Oct 30 2016, 02:49 AM
allvin
post Oct 30 2016, 02:22 PM

4,506 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Oct 30 2016, 01:36 PM)
I bet you say that to make yourself feel better. Coz if it's running the PC version, everything is pin sharp. I have that very same version for free on my Rift. I bet that the PS4 version suffers this muddy smeared oil treatment because the PS4 GPU horsepower couldn't handle texture details and geometry because it's below the PC hardware requirement for VR. Something's gotta give. The PS4 cant even do Multi-res shading, that would help immensely with performance, it does what you described earlier with the "cockpit looking better, the rest look lower res" thing.

The problem with the PS4 version is that the game is rendered in such low resolution and low detail, to maintain higher framerate, but jaggies were plainly visible at low resolution and low detail that, some form of aggresive anti-aliasing is "smeared" on top of the game itself, making it look like that, like it's swimming inside oil, in an attempt to make the image quality "look better". The devs were hoping that with you moving so much during the game, that you'd forgive the "smeared oil" look, and let the game's visually kinetic motion attempt to immerse you.
Yea i admit that. mega_shok.gif

Guess wait and see PS4 Pro render PSVR. I guess for now, if really want enjoy "acceptable" graphic is the toon cell-shaded texture game
allvin
post Nov 4 2016, 11:03 PM

4,506 posts

QUOTE(Ninja @ Nov 4 2016, 07:55 PM)
Yeah, around 5-7 minutes. But it's only 1.2GB download anyway and it's FREE.  tongue.gif
yes it same like EVE demo. I like want 1 thing about this 'demo' compare to EVE. This game cockpit got slightly better texture (clearer) than EVE. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by allvin: Nov 4 2016, 11:03 PM
allvin
post Nov 15 2016, 08:05 PM

4,506 posts

QUOTE(Revamperz @ Nov 15 2016, 07:36 PM)
this thing should have like built in fan or something. itll fog up after sometime n make it even moar blurry

enjoycing the playstayion vr room. any way to make it less blurry?
Get ps4 pro biggrin.gif
allvin
post Nov 16 2016, 12:21 AM

4,506 posts

QUOTE(Revamperz @ Nov 16 2016, 12:04 AM)
oh bcoz my glasses the vr lenses are clean n shiny lol , should just use fake/gaming glass just to protect the vr lenses?

btw hours pass by without any prob, untill i tried driveclub vr. so fun but yea dizzy after 2nd race puke.gif

is there any good rollercoster stuff?
The only rollercoaster game is Rush of Blood. FYI, plenty of jump scare moments laugh.gif

Try take ginger candy/tea or chewing gum helps on motion sickness

This post has been edited by allvin: Nov 16 2016, 12:22 AM
allvin
post Nov 21 2016, 12:32 PM

4,506 posts

QUOTE(Poodlepaddly @ Nov 21 2016, 12:27 PM)
They said by December there will be a batch of stocks arriving. I didn't asked in detail whether those are preordered stocks or first come first serve basic. They their preorders/waitlist for VR are open now.

Rough understanding will be we will need PS VR + PS Pro + 4k TV + good Headset to get a good VR experience. Not counting move/eye. PS4 standard edition with VR... seems will not cut it.
Just keep your expectation low. Eve is a wrong game to try and also DriveClub. You should try sony playroomVR or Job Simulator. I bet you will impress how immersive it is. If you looking for like good HD graphic quality, don't really bother for VR now. It's not really PS2 quality, more like PS3 quality. PS2 is really crappy btw.

This post has been edited by allvin: Nov 21 2016, 12:34 PM
allvin
post Nov 21 2016, 07:56 PM

4,506 posts

QUOTE(squall_12 @ Nov 21 2016, 04:51 PM)
correct if u want good graphic with vr then pc is the only option for now.  PS4 pro patch VR games will give u better graphic according to user with ps4pro console.
I doubt that for now. It's need roughly 4k screen for HMD for like normal HD quality. That why don't bother any VR if you are so concern on graphic wise, back to 2D game. For now, PSVR is the cheapest VR in the current gaming market.
allvin
post Nov 22 2016, 10:57 AM

4,506 posts

QUOTE(r2t2 @ Nov 22 2016, 10:45 AM)
I envy a bit you guys who don't wear specs ... got more space to adjust for the sweetest spot of sharpness.  cool2.gif
Mine, huh, when adjusting, my specs will touch the lens .... which made me couldn't adjust too much, for fear of scratching the lens.  sad.gif
I wearing spec and no problem getting the sweet spot. Try adjust upward (top of your forehead) and also IPD. Good tips is close an eye to adjust your sweet spot.

allvin
post Dec 5 2016, 01:24 AM

4,506 posts

QUOTE(shinchan^^ @ Dec 4 2016, 10:54 PM)
Surgeon is out on US store .anyone getting?
Heard it a lot of negative comments. Bad tracking problem and weird gameplay. Based on people who play the PC version (nonVR), the gameplay is weird, make it hard to grab stuff and so on. So in VR, probably the weird bad tracking problem is the gameplay itself. sweat.gif
allvin
post Dec 6 2016, 09:36 AM

4,506 posts

QUOTE(shinchan^^ @ Dec 5 2016, 08:18 AM)
just realized the demo has three endings.
I only finished with the one got knocked at the end of the door. I thought its over. that's y deleted it
don't think so
I watched ppl play in vive. very smooth

nvm this game still have my money ready  rclxm9.gif  while waiting for the patch.
bossa studio employee already respond to the buyer says first to check on Monday when the employee get into office
Not really. The gameplay itself is intended (psvr need to play in slower pace, not really a bug. Probably due to psvr is not 1:1 tracking compare to Vive). Due to community don't like it, the dev has responded and change to similar gameplay like Vive, more user friendly gameplay laugh.gif . So yea, will have patch to fix the gameplay.

This post has been edited by allvin: Dec 6 2016, 09:39 AM
allvin
post Dec 6 2016, 04:44 PM

4,506 posts

QUOTE(dOtcOm @ Dec 6 2016, 01:22 PM)
The latest re7 demo with vr is the beginning hour demo? Or another separate demo. So confusing la this re7 demo
Same demo la... Cos' the game itself support VR and nonVR. Firstever hybrid game. Wish more games like RE7.
allvin
post Dec 8 2016, 12:00 AM

4,506 posts

QUOTE(Exoskeleton834 @ Dec 7 2016, 11:57 PM)
Finally media player updated to support 360 video. have anyone it yet with PSVR?
It's support 360video since PSVR launch i think, but non-stereoscopic type. So back to square one.
allvin
post Dec 21 2016, 09:56 AM

4,506 posts

QUOTE(squall_12 @ Dec 20 2016, 12:44 PM)
ya MY store really shit compare to US store for VR.
After do some reading, know why our MY store so lame. Due to Sony Playstation Store policy, digital game MUST be language localization based on region in order to be able to publish. So our region must have chinese language.
allvin
post Jan 16 2017, 11:58 AM

4,506 posts

QUOTE(toytoy @ Jan 16 2017, 10:39 AM)
Yes. I was moving very fast. Coz used to COD etc.
Bottomline, you need grow some "VR Legs" biggrin.gif

Go eat some chewing gum, this trick works for me.
allvin
post Jan 25 2017, 02:12 PM

4,506 posts

QUOTE(shinchan^^ @ Jan 25 2017, 02:08 PM)
weird the SBS 3D is not working in the youtube

Top Down 3D can

any idea to change the settings?
Only 360 video 3D can work in youtube. SBS cannot. Because Sony tak allow bangwall.gif

0.0264sec    0.99    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 09:18 AM