Photography Nikon D3200 vs Sony A58, Need more opinion on them

TSChaosSixth
post Mar 17 2014, 10:11 PM, updated 12y ago

Nothing special
1,420 posts

I need more opinion on them coz im quite dilemma on either nikon d3200 or sony a58. I think i will be using the kit lens for quite a long time. I'm new to this field and I hope everyone be patient with my noobiness >.<
vincentlee90
post Mar 18 2014, 01:28 AM

Alpha E-mount user
723 posts

QUOTE(ChaosSixth @ Mar 17 2014, 10:11 PM)
I need more opinion on them coz im quite dilemma on either nikon d3200 or sony a58. I think i will be using the kit lens for quite a long time. I'm new to this field and I hope everyone be patient with my noobiness >.<
if you're new user, and u looking for cheaper lenses & accessory for upgrade, Sony A58 is ur ideal choice.

Sony A58 autofocus is faster than D3200, and more AF point (15 VS 11)
A58 capture more detail than D3200, especially when low ISO sensitivity. however, A58 noise reduction is activated when using high ISO sensitivity, start from 1600 and higher. generally, SLT camera noise reduction is slightly stronger than conventional DSLR. stronger noise reduction may creates cleaner image, yet detail will be ruined. it is depends user preference, whether detail or clean image is more important for individual
A58 colour accuracy is more accurate than D3200.
about lenses choices, nikon got 2 category - Vibration Reduction (VR) or non-VR lenses. non-VR lenses is cheaper than VR lenses. most of sony lenses price range is in between nikon's non-VR & VR lenses (same range)

if i were u, i will consider D90 rather than D3200, because D90 overall performance is better than D3200, and i believe price is more reasonable
TSChaosSixth
post Mar 18 2014, 07:30 AM

Nothing special
1,420 posts

QUOTE(vincentlee90 @ Mar 18 2014, 01:28 AM)
if you're new user, and u looking for cheaper lenses & accessory for upgrade, Sony A58 is ur ideal choice.

Sony A58 autofocus is faster than D3200, and more AF point (15 VS 11)
A58 capture more detail than D3200, especially when low ISO sensitivity. however, A58 noise reduction is activated when using high ISO sensitivity, start from 1600 and higher. generally, SLT camera noise reduction is slightly stronger than conventional DSLR. stronger noise reduction may creates cleaner image, yet detail will be ruined. it is depends user preference, whether detail or clean image is more important for individual
A58 colour accuracy is more accurate than D3200.
about lenses choices, nikon got 2 category - Vibration Reduction (VR) or non-VR lenses. non-VR lenses is cheaper than VR lenses. most of sony lenses price range is in between nikon's non-VR & VR lenses (same range)

if i were u, i will consider D90 rather than D3200, because D90 overall performance is better than D3200, and i believe price is more reasonable
is the 24.1mp in d3200 really important?

what is the pros and cons of d3200 because I asked alot of ppl in lowyat and alot recommend other model rather than 3200. some recommend d5100 and some a58. very confused rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by ChaosSixth: Mar 18 2014, 07:34 AM
piscesguy
post Mar 18 2014, 07:44 AM

私の名前はりゅうです
3,965 posts

If wanna buy entry level, then buy latest Nikon D3300. biggrin.gif

Technical data shows it's quite superior. thumbup.gif

http://www.imaging-resource.com/news/2014/...the-competition

vincentlee90
post Mar 18 2014, 08:17 AM

Alpha E-mount user
723 posts

QUOTE(ChaosSixth @ Mar 18 2014, 07:30 AM)
is the 24.1mp in d3200 really important?

what is the pros and cons of d3200 because I asked alot of ppl in lowyat and alot recommend other model rather than 3200. some recommend d5100 and some a58. very confused  rclxub.gif
generally, larger MP allowing larger printing. however, 24mp has not much difference compare with 20mp
cons, is matter of different MP with same image sensor size. larger MP means the camera will gather more noise if using high ISO sensitivity. as example, 24mp APS-C sensor camera gather more noise compare with 16mp APS-C sensor camera

talk about camera recommendation, if u often visit
www.imaging-resource.com or www.dpreview.com
and u search of nikon camera and compare the image sample in between nikon camera with others camera, u can notices of nikon camera gather more noise compare with any other brand camera, as nikon DSLR default noise reduction is lesser compare with any other brand camera
TSChaosSixth
post Mar 18 2014, 08:26 AM

Nothing special
1,420 posts

QUOTE(piscesguy @ Mar 18 2014, 07:44 AM)
If wanna buy entry level, then buy latest Nikon D3300.  biggrin.gif 

Technical data shows it's quite superior. thumbup.gif

http://www.imaging-resource.com/news/2014/...the-competition
how much is nikon d3300 now in market? my budget is around 1.5k only

QUOTE(vincentlee90 @ Mar 18 2014, 08:17 AM)
generally, larger MP allowing larger printing. however, 24mp has not much difference compare with 20mp
cons, is matter of different MP with same image sensor size. larger MP means the camera will gather more noise if using high ISO sensitivity. as example, 24mp APS-C sensor camera gather more noise compare with 16mp APS-C sensor camera

talk about camera recommendation, if u often visit
www.imaging-resource.com or www.dpreview.com
and u search of nikon camera and compare the image sample in between nikon camera with others camera, u can notices of nikon camera gather more noise compare with any other brand camera, as nikon DSLR default noise reduction is lesser compare with any other brand camera
doh.gif oh my. that is a down part of nikon d3200. I do aware of sony a58 image quality is slightly better than d3200. but i am still not so confident with sony yet. How about technical issue or warranty claim for sony? is there any sony service centre or they have to send back to factory to repair?

Any other recommendation ? canon eos 1100D?

This post has been edited by ChaosSixth: Mar 18 2014, 08:30 AM
Ryou
post Mar 18 2014, 08:37 AM

866 posts

QUOTE(ChaosSixth @ Mar 18 2014, 08:26 AM)
doh.gif oh my. that is a down part of nikon d3200. I do aware of sony a58 image quality is slightly better than d3200. but i am still not so confident with sony yet. How about technical issue or warranty claim for sony? is there any sony service centre or they have to send back to factory to repair?

Don't worry so much about Sony's quality just because you have only heard Canon and Nikon. I've claimed warranty with Sony and it went quite smooth.

Sony's equipment is arguably cheaper than Canon & Nikon but its quality is as good as Canon & Nikon's. Look at their cheaper yet better Carl Zeiss lenses, look at their brilliantly designed flashgun that goes cheaper than Canon & Nikon's offering. Not to mention that Sony tends to be much innovative when it comes to technology advancement.

vincentlee90
post Mar 18 2014, 09:13 AM

Alpha E-mount user
723 posts

I am using Sony A700 since 2008, and until now there's no problem at all. it serve me very well smile.gif

no need to doubt about image quality and quality of product from sony. whenever u bought sony camera which is genuine sony malaysia unit, 100% u will be able to register warranty via mysony. if warranty claim issue, the service staff will trace the camera and serial number with their intranet system, for trace when u register warranty via mysony. in KL, KLCC and The Curve have Sony service centre.
Ryou
post Mar 18 2014, 10:32 AM

866 posts

QUOTE(vincentlee90 @ Mar 18 2014, 09:13 AM)
I am using Sony A700 since 2008, and until now there's no problem at all. it serve me very well smile.gif

no need to doubt about image quality and quality of product from sony. whenever u bought sony camera which is genuine sony malaysia unit, 100% u will be able to register warranty via mysony. if warranty claim issue, the service staff will trace the camera and serial number with their intranet system, for trace when u register warranty via mysony. in KL, KLCC and The Curve have Sony service centre.
I would like to also mention that their HQ is located in North point Midvalley. Operating only one weekdays though.
TSChaosSixth
post Mar 18 2014, 10:59 AM

Nothing special
1,420 posts

QUOTE(vincentlee90 @ Mar 18 2014, 09:13 AM)

QUOTE(Ryou @ Mar 18 2014, 10:32 AM)
I would like to also mention that their HQ is located in North point Midvalley. Operating only one weekdays though.
Did u guys know anyone that are using Sony a58 and still actively post their image ? Maybe their Flickr account. Wanna see how clear the image from a58

Ryou
post Mar 18 2014, 11:02 AM

866 posts

QUOTE(ChaosSixth @ Mar 18 2014, 10:59 AM)
Did u guys know anyone that are using Sony a58 and still actively post their image ? Maybe their Flickr account. Wanna see how clear the image from a58
Use the function of Camera finder on flickr.

TSChaosSixth
post Mar 18 2014, 11:05 AM

Nothing special
1,420 posts

QUOTE(Ryou @ Mar 18 2014, 11:02 AM)
Use the function of Camera finder on flickr.
Can Ar? Lol I nvr use Flickr before. XD
Ryou
post Mar 18 2014, 01:34 PM

866 posts

QUOTE(ChaosSixth @ Mar 18 2014, 11:05 AM)
Can Ar? Lol I nvr use Flickr before. XD
http://www.flickr.com/cameras/sony/alpha-slt-a58/
TSChaosSixth
post Mar 18 2014, 03:02 PM

Nothing special
1,420 posts

I just visited a camera shop and talked to the fella there. They said better go for d5200 coz the focus point is more than 3200. What u guys think about d5200?

This post has been edited by ChaosSixth: Mar 18 2014, 03:15 PM
vincentlee90
post Mar 18 2014, 03:36 PM

Alpha E-mount user
723 posts

QUOTE(ChaosSixth @ Mar 18 2014, 03:02 PM)
I just visited a camera shop and talked to the fella there. They said better go for d5200 coz the focus point is more than 3200. What u guys think? A58 vs d5200 now?
D5200 image still more noise compare with A58, as D5200 has 24mp compare with A58's 20mp
although D5200 AF point is more than A58, yet D5200 has no AF motor, AF capability is completely depends with the lenses, and typically slower than A58
1 more thing, D5200 is more expensive than A58. with D5200's current market price, I would choose D90
piscesguy
post Mar 18 2014, 04:26 PM

私の名前はりゅうです
3,965 posts

Don't think u can get d3300 with rm1.5k.
piscesguy
post Mar 18 2014, 04:27 PM

私の名前はりゅうです
3,965 posts

I just visited a camera shop and talked to the fella there. They said better go for d5200 coz the focus point is more than 3200. What u guys think about d5200?
d5200 can get with 1.5k? hmm.gif
Newbieeeeee
post Mar 18 2014, 04:49 PM

:)
1,286 posts

Looks like you're leaning towards Nikon more than Sony even though people here are recommending Sony. I'd suggest you to go for the 3200 or 5200 sine you're more comfortable with Nikon. I personally will choose the SLT anytime. smile.gif

This post has been edited by Newbieeeeee: Mar 18 2014, 04:50 PM
vincentlee90
post Mar 18 2014, 05:26 PM

Alpha E-mount user
723 posts

just realized the quote. that's impossible to get D5200 or even D5300 with RM1500. even A58 at least around RM1700-1800. anyway, i suggest u better do research from camera expert website, listen from user, and test camera by yourself, and never simply listen from reseller, as some reseller not even test camera by themselves and don't know camera's performance
TSChaosSixth
post Mar 18 2014, 05:48 PM

Nothing special
1,420 posts

QUOTE(vincentlee90 @ Mar 18 2014, 03:36 PM)
D5200 image still more noise compare with A58, as D5200 has 24mp compare with A58's 20mp
although D5200 AF point is more than A58, yet D5200 has no AF motor, AF capability is completely depends with the lenses, and typically slower than A58
1 more thing, D5200 is more expensive than A58. with D5200's current market price, I would choose D90
true that. i tested at courts just now the a58 and the focus is fast and nice too. Nikon one is slightly small for my hand. sony looks bigger than nikon d3200.

QUOTE(piscesguy @ Mar 18 2014, 04:26 PM)
Don't think u can get d3300 with rm1.5k.
yeah just went out to survey the price which is around 1.8k for a 3300

QUOTE(piscesguy @ Mar 18 2014, 04:27 PM)
d5200 can get with 1.5k? hmm.gif
cannot. but my budget can plus extra 600 if that 600 do make a big differ in performance. if the difference is not prominent then upgrade extra rm600 is useless for me.

QUOTE(Newbieeeeee @ Mar 18 2014, 04:49 PM)
Looks like you're leaning towards Nikon more than Sony even though people here are recommending Sony. I'd suggest you to go for the 3200 or 5200 sine you're more comfortable with Nikon. I personally will choose the SLT anytime. smile.gif
I used to bias towards nikon before i did my survey coz i used to believe that nikon and canon are the best camera producing company and other cant beat their models off. But after i try to use sony a58 I feel more firm (i have big hands and fingers) than nikon. and also it looks huge (match with my big body size) than the nikon. Im getting the feel of sony but i still need more hands to hands feel of nikon coz the courts didnt charge the battery of nikon dslr.

QUOTE(vincentlee90 @ Mar 18 2014, 05:26 PM)
just realized the quote. that's impossible to get D5200 or even D5300 with RM1500. even A58 at least around RM1700-1800. anyway, i suggest u better do research from camera expert website, listen from user, and test camera by yourself, and never simply listen from reseller, as some reseller not even test camera by themselves and don't know camera's performance
yeah. If the leaps of rm600 really make a huge difference in performance and image quality i dont mind put the cash into it. but if the difference is just minimal, then i think rm600 should be spend on others. Well, if u guys wanna know what the reseller says, he claimed that nikon d5200 is good for that price. dont go for d3200 coz its not worth for the price. He claimed that if you wanna sell back sony, no one wanna buy even its rm500.. doh.gif since im new to this field, i dunno what to believe and trust. any sifus here can tell me anything? is he talking rubbish only just to sell off his nikon d5200?

Guys, i saw that the A58 is point and shoot category in flickr. shouldnt it be DSLR? whistling.gif

This post has been edited by ChaosSixth: Mar 18 2014, 05:53 PM

0.0211sec    0.64    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 01:48 AM