[OFFICIAL]Rig Suggestion Q&A Thread V5!

Minecrafter
post Mar 19 2014, 03:58 PM

ROCK N ROLL STAR
5,043 posts

QUOTE(kelv1983 @ Mar 19 2014, 03:55 PM)
Can suggestion me to take which one for mobo ? B85 or H87?
You can take Asrock H87 Pro4..since it only costs 40 ringgit more than Asus B85M-G and Asrock B85M-Pro4 biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by Minecrafter: Mar 19 2014, 03:59 PM
Minecrafter
post Mar 19 2014, 04:52 PM

ROCK N ROLL STAR
5,043 posts

QUOTE(capitalFlynn @ Mar 19 2014, 04:26 PM)
Why conisder Asrock H87 Pro4 over that two? Mind sharing?

Basically can you share what is the important factor in choosing a mobo?

Thanks Minecrafter.  nod.gif
1.It has more USB3.0 ports,which might come in handy. wink.gif
2.It has Intel Smart Response Technology,which also helps if u have an SSD.I once got "taught" by a forumer here,cause i was clueless why H87 and not B85 since this 1 guy is asking for recommendation..here's about Intel SRT.
http://www.intel.com/content/www/us/en/arc...technology.html
3.More SATA3 ports,which may also come in handy. wink.gif

Important factor in choosing Mobo eh?

1.Well,first of all,your CPU.
For example your CPU is i5 3470,which is LGA1155(IvyBridge) socket.And if you wanna buy a Mobo,it has to be LGA1155 compatible.

2.Budget also comes into play.. tongue.gif

3.What is your usage and future "plans"?Like are you gonna SLI?CfX?If the mobo have 2 SATA3 Ports,and you have 4HDD that you want to install.But you can only install 2,since there's only 2 SATA3..unless,there's 2 SATA2..but it might decrease the speed of the HDD iinm.

4.How many sticks of RAMs do you want to install?If u have 4 sticks of 4GB,but there's only 2 RAM slots,you can only install 2.And remember,nowadays,Mobos only support from 1333 upto...2400MHz without problem?I could be wrong though.

5.If you wanna SLI/CfX,you need TWO and above PCIE 3.0 Slots that runs at X16 .Which im sure Z87 and X79 Motherboards has. tongue.gif

6.If you wanna overclock,let's say i7 4770K.And you have 2 choices,Asrock B85 Killer or Asrock Z87 Extreme4.You can't overclock it on Asrock 85 Killer...because it is NOT Z87.Intel CPUs with K prefix at the back can only be Overclocked with an Z87 Motherboard..(If u're using LGA1150 CPU)

I hope i've answered your questions.The first time i got a question like this since i started recommending.. sweat.gif wink.gif
Minecrafter
post Mar 19 2014, 05:18 PM

ROCK N ROLL STAR
5,043 posts

QUOTE(Zgames @ Mar 19 2014, 04:57 PM)
Ahh I see, thanks for the clarification. Minecrafter shoot him with your build.
Eh why don't you recommend him?Nervous? brows.gif
I always get that feeling the early days i recommend people..since my knowledge at that time is average-ish.. tongue.gif
Minecrafter
post Mar 19 2014, 05:27 PM

ROCK N ROLL STAR
5,043 posts

QUOTE(Siow @ Mar 19 2014, 04:46 PM)
Guys/gals, please comment on the build... ;-)

[Budget] 2.5K - 3K

[Purpose] Gaming / dualboot hackintosh

[Hardwares that will be re-use] HDD/SSD/Monitor

[Games & softwares that use frequently] Photo editing/Gaming

[Personal preferences]

{CPU} Core i5 4670
{MOBO} Gigabyte GA-Z87X-D3H
{RAM} 8GB 1600Mhz DDR3  -- Any ideas on this?
{PSU} Seasonic M12 II 620W PSU
{CPU cooler} Silverstone AR01 or AR03?
{GC} I'm lost on this ;-)
{Casing} Coolermaster/ Corsair?

[Location]Pg
You can't use Mac OS since it's only available for Macbooks and iMacs. tongue.gif
You can use Linux and Windows though.But i've no idea on how to switch OSs.. whistling.gif

If you're doing Photo Editing is a lot,then consider this.

CPU:Intel Xeon E3 1230 V3 3.3GHz RM799
Mobo:Asrock H87 Pro4 RM319
GPU:Gainward GTX760 Phantom 2GB GDDR5 RM849
RAM:Corsair 8GB DDR3 1600Mhz RM239
PSU:Seasonic M12II 80+ Bronze 620W RM359
CPU Cooler:CoolerMaster TX3 Evo RM89
Casing:CM K380 RM149
ODD:Liteon 24x DVDRW RM59
Total:RM2862
GPU is from Lingloong @GS,CPU Cooler is from C-Zone,the rest are from Viewnet.

This post has been edited by Minecrafter: Mar 19 2014, 05:31 PM
Minecrafter
post Mar 19 2014, 05:29 PM

ROCK N ROLL STAR
5,043 posts

QUOTE(Zgames @ Mar 19 2014, 05:19 PM)
Nah, not my kind of stuff. I am lazy der, need to check the price everytime. I dunno why I haven't download the PDF yet. Since he's gonna double boot, you think a Xeon would do good?
I can remember around 85% of the stuffs i recommend price's.. brows.gif
Once you start recommending a lot more,you'll get used to it.. wink.gif The early days for me,everytime wanna recommend *opens up hardwarezone pricelists*. tongue.gif

Double Boot?Using Linux and Windows at the same time or Linux then can change to Windows vice versa? hmm.gif

This post has been edited by Minecrafter: Mar 19 2014, 05:30 PM
Minecrafter
post Mar 19 2014, 05:43 PM

ROCK N ROLL STAR
5,043 posts

QUOTE(Sentinel92 @ Mar 19 2014, 05:36 PM)
Yup. My boss is using a crack version of Windows 7 Ultimate in his Macbook Air in dual boot mode with the Mac OS. So anytime I need to do things using Windows I just slide the touchpad and I go from Mac to Windows screen.  thumbup.gif

And rajin nyer taikor suggestion thread ni.  tongue.gif
Just slide the touchpad?!Man,i didn't know about that haha.. tongue.gif

Haha terima kasih. biggrin.gif Now can remember most of the prices la haha.. tongue.gif
Minecrafter
post Mar 19 2014, 05:45 PM

ROCK N ROLL STAR
5,043 posts

QUOTE(Zgames @ Mar 19 2014, 05:37 PM)
Taiko kite, given many suggestion ady brows.gif
notworthy.gif notworthy.gif

Sudah around 600 posts,(the rest bukan suggestions.. tongue.gif ),but i still consider myself as a "Rookie" Sifu haha.Still more to belajar haha.. biggrin.gif
Minecrafter
post Mar 19 2014, 05:46 PM

ROCK N ROLL STAR
5,043 posts

QUOTE(Sentinel92 @ Mar 19 2014, 05:44 PM)
Dedikasi bro.  flex.gif  Wait abit more. Sure get 'Elite' tag edi.  brows.gif
notworthy.gif notworthy.gif

Me as a Elite Member? xD If i do get the tag,i'd be the youngest Elite Member ever on LYF.. brows.gif

This post has been edited by Minecrafter: Mar 19 2014, 05:46 PM
Minecrafter
post Mar 19 2014, 05:51 PM

ROCK N ROLL STAR
5,043 posts

QUOTE(Sentinel92 @ Mar 19 2014, 05:47 PM)
Yeah lol. Mac has Damn nice dual boot mode for laptops. Not sure about PCs though. Prolly just needs a push of a button.

If i were your dad and you fail exam I would scold you for remembering PC prices more
Than your sejarah/science/math homework.  tongue.gif  rclxms.gif
Press the button with Windows logo and slide to right/left? biggrin.gif

PC Hardware history anyone? brows.gif icon_idea.gif

This is turning more and more into a Rig Suggestions Thread and a bit of a chit-chat haha. wink.gif
Minecrafter
post Mar 19 2014, 05:53 PM

ROCK N ROLL STAR
5,043 posts

QUOTE(Sentinel92 @ Mar 19 2014, 05:50 PM)
The heck. Zgames also 16 only. Walao eh suggestion thread so many young guys. I also feel old like hell now.
I'm 3 years younger.. tongue.gif flex.gif

Minecrafter
post Mar 19 2014, 06:03 PM

ROCK N ROLL STAR
5,043 posts

QUOTE(faridz7 @ Mar 19 2014, 06:01 PM)
Hi guys

am planning to build a rig soon and am still surveying the prices around. I usually buy my parts from Viewnet and have them assemble it 

Would you guys recommend going to places like IdealTech or Cyntrix Technologies (in terms of pricing / service ) or would I be better off getting the parts and having them assembled from Viewnet/All-IT etc ?

thanks guys
Pricing more or less the same..but shops like IdealTech have good service... brows.gif icon_idea.gif
Even IdealTech does better Cable Management than those shops in Lowyat Plaza.. brows.gif

This post has been edited by Minecrafter: Mar 19 2014, 06:06 PM
Minecrafter
post Mar 19 2014, 08:00 PM

ROCK N ROLL STAR
5,043 posts

QUOTE(Sentinel92 @ Mar 19 2014, 07:28 PM)
How about this?
CPU-Intel Xeon E3 1230 V3-RM779
Mobo-Asrock H87M-Pro-4-RM319
Memory-Gskill Value ram 2x8GB-RM478
GPU-Leadtek GTX760 OC 2GB GDDR5 RM949
SSD-Samsung 840 EVo 250GB-RM569
HDD-Seagate Barracuda 3TB-RM379
PSU:Seasonic S12II 80+ Bronze 620W RM299
ODD-liteon 24x DVD/RW-RM59
Fractal Design Define R4 Black Pearl Non-Window RM370

Getting a nice new PSU will help in the long run. Especially if your old one is a really old unit. SSD for all your programs, and nice big HDD to store all your data.
Tak mau Gainward GTX760 Phantom 2GB GDDR5 RM849 dari Lingloong? brows.gif

Minecrafter
post Mar 19 2014, 08:53 PM

ROCK N ROLL STAR
5,043 posts

QUOTE(Sentinel92 @ Mar 19 2014, 08:41 PM)
Asrock for the simple reason it has pretty good bang for buck value. But it's all down the preference I guess. If you still want Gigabyte it's fine. smile.gif

Not much really. If you can find a lower price 16GB 1600Mhz RAM by all means go ahead and get it. I know for your work load more RAM is better.

The in built graphics processor is a pale shadow of the discrete GPU in your system. Which I'm not sure whether it can handle your workload. Is your requirements very graphics intensive? If yes, then the in built one won't do much.

Btw you can remove the Leadtek GPU i suggested and go with the Gainward Phantom Mr minecraft suggested. Cheaper and very nice looking. But no slouch in the speed department either.

Also, Cable also has a good x79 setup for you to consider. smile.gif
X79 Haoness.  notworthy.gif
U called me wot m8
Haha,i already saw people called my name incorrectly..5-6 times already.. tongue.gif
Minecrafter
post Mar 19 2014, 08:56 PM

ROCK N ROLL STAR
5,043 posts

QUOTE(faridz7 @ Mar 19 2014, 08:52 PM)
thanks alot guys! really appreciate it

ok ive to look up on this Gainward GTX760 Phantom card

still have to do my research on the difference between the cards, like for example, I had my eyes set on the msi gtx 660 twin frozr which is priced at rm900+, and yet this gtx760 is much cheaper..

@Sentinel92 oh the reason for the in built cards for  the i7 rather than the xeon is because in case of gpu failure then at least ive the option to use the in built graphics card for my graphics work just for emergencies
GTX760 is better than GTX660. tongue.gif Higher the price doesn't mean it's better.. wink.gif

Just to poison you.. brows.gif brows.gif

This post has been edited by Minecrafter: Mar 19 2014, 08:58 PM

Attached image(s)
Minecrafter
post Mar 19 2014, 09:02 PM

ROCK N ROLL STAR
5,043 posts

QUOTE(Zgames @ Mar 19 2014, 08:59 PM)
I'm still waiting if GTX 750 Gainward gonna come sleep.gif
Gainward GTX750Ti Phantom.. brows.gif icon_idea.gif Doubt that will happen though. hmm.gif
Minecrafter
post Mar 19 2014, 09:15 PM

ROCK N ROLL STAR
5,043 posts

QUOTE(Zgames @ Mar 19 2014, 09:04 PM)
Got 750 TI GS. http://www.gainward.com/main/vgapro.php?id=925&lang=en
Bet it'll either be RM 690-ish icon_idea.gif icon_idea.gif But the 750 looks small and cute enough....
RM690 ish can get you Sapphire R9 270 OC RM679 OR Gainward GTX760 at RM789.. brows.gif icon_idea.gif
Minecrafter
post Mar 19 2014, 09:16 PM

ROCK N ROLL STAR
5,043 posts

QUOTE(Sentinel92 @ Mar 19 2014, 09:07 PM)
I did it on purpose. I like calling you Mr Minecraft.  tongue.gif  laugh.gif
Mr WC SENTINEL!! tongue.gif laugh.gif
*time to go back to thread topic*
Minecrafter
post Mar 20 2014, 02:59 PM

ROCK N ROLL STAR
5,043 posts

QUOTE(mykchin8 @ Mar 20 2014, 10:27 AM)
The Intel i3-4xxx CPU is sufficient to support most of the games out there, as most games do not take advantage of more than 2 cores.  I think games like Crysis 3 are considered the exception, and is able to take advantage of up to 4 cores.  If budget is a constraint, the i3 should be OK for >95% of the time.

In general, for gaming, the GPU is still the main bottleneck today, so if you are interested in a smooth, and enjoyable game play experience, the Geforce GTX760 that is recommended quite often here is a very good choice, especially if the price is ~RM850, which is a good deal.  GTX760 will give a better experience compared to GTX750Ti.
An i3 can also run R9 280X.. nod.gif
Goldfries once tried an i3 with R9 280X iinm,he said no problem.. wink.gif
Btw,Lingloong sells Gainward GTX760 2GB at RM789.. brows.gif

This post has been edited by Minecrafter: Mar 20 2014, 03:03 PM
Minecrafter
post Mar 20 2014, 03:08 PM

ROCK N ROLL STAR
5,043 posts

QUOTE(ChickenWorm @ Mar 20 2014, 03:01 PM)
Around 2k-2.5k
CPU:Intel Core i5 4440 3.1GHz RM579
Mobo:Asrock B85M-Pro4 RM279
GPU:Gainward GTX760 Phantom 2GB GDDR5 RM849
RAM:Corsair 8GB DDR3 1600MHz RM239
HDD:WD Caviar Blue 1TB RM189
PSU:Antec VP-550 550W RM199
Casing:CM K380 RM149
ODD:Liteon 24x DVDRW RM59
Total:RM2542
GPU is from Lingloong @GS,the rest are from Viewnet.
A bit over budget there,if you want it cheaper,you can consider Sapphire R9 270 2GB GDDR5 OC RM679 and FSP Hexa 500W RM149 (From Viewnet). wink.gif
If u want to upgrade the GPU to let's say GTX770/R9 280 and above,you need a better PSU. smile.gif

This post has been edited by Minecrafter: Mar 20 2014, 03:32 PM
Minecrafter
post Mar 20 2014, 03:35 PM

ROCK N ROLL STAR
5,043 posts

QUOTE(Cable707 @ Mar 20 2014, 03:27 PM)
Tone down the PSU to Antec VP-550 so chickenworm can afford to buy Gainward GTX760 Phantom 2GB.
Edited the build. wink.gif icon_rolleyes.gif

21 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0670sec    0.49    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 07:03 PM