> [WTSettle] Sold LCD monitor to Djmix, Dead Pixel Problem

empire23
post Jul 20 2006, 05:34 PM, updated 20y ago

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

Stipulations of the deal.

a 19inch Viewsonic bought by me from FCC Technology was to be sold to Djmix. Specific details below of course.

Model : Viewsonic VA902B

Bought from : FCC Technology, Midvalley Megamall

Sold To : Djmix

Used : Around 1 or 2 hours not including pre sale test

Test method : http://www.gdargaud.net/Hack/DeadPixels.html, Standard color gradient (32bits gradual) , DPT tester http://www.dps.uk.com/freeware_DTP.htm

Reason sold : 19 inches is too small, i wanted to save for something bigger, my pals at HW can vouch for that.

Date sold : 1/07 @ 8-9 PM @ LYP

Date of Complaint : 13/07 @ 9:39 PM

Price sold for : Exactly 780 Ringgit

Stipulated Personal Warranty and Return time : One week, all my buyers know this and i guess it's standard SOP.

Problem : Single Dead pixel at the higher top of the screen. Personally assumed that there were many dead pixels at first.

List of communications :

Date deal closed : 1/07
Date of complaint : 13/07
Date of escalation : 20/07

Delay : Reason for not being able to deal immediately after complaint was due to Assignments which many reputable members can vouch for since they know me personally plus i offered to take it for checking and hopefully repairs on the 21st or 22nd (Friday or Saturday)

Recommendation to the Buyer : I assumed there were a enough dead pixels at first so i gave him the suggestion to send it back to where it was bought, and i would contact the seller, Annie Wong or Benjamin to expedite the process. The assumation on my part was bad of course and that i accept responsibility for such an assumption.

Escalation : Due to only 1 pixel being dead, RMA services we not able to be carried out. Viewsonic has a warranty policy of having 7 dead pixels before replacing a panel with no guarantee the replacement would be fault free either.
http://www.viewsonic.com/support/qa.cfm?to...lcd&question=01

Problem : I cannot go back on my on my personal warranty, why? Because i only hold the cash for one week before using it and confirming that there are no buyer complaints during the period. And to add to that the possibility of the buyer damaging the product after one week and passing the buck to me is there. I'm just trying to protect myself as a seller and it's not due to the buyer.

Solution : I'm certainly open to recommendations from other users and the aggrieved party.

PS: I have posted here to seek a solution to our dillemma and of course uphold the trust my buyers have in me, i would prefer if no one posted senseless comments and such, although real opinions and suggestions are duly welcome.

This post has been edited by empire23: Jul 20 2006, 05:41 PM
kev da man
post Jul 20 2006, 05:47 PM

super lurker
15,278 posts

it fell out of the warranty and return date, nuff said.

besides, it is only a single dead pixel. he should be comforted that my workstation monitors have deadpixels of 10 or more.
sniper msia
post Jul 20 2006, 05:58 PM

Do U Scratch?
1,127 posts

No more personal warranty from you, means the buyer has to settle with FCC Technology directly (or distributor).

Your responsibilty for any problems pertaining to the product ceased to exist the moment the one week personal warranty period ended.
WaCKy-Angel
post Jul 20 2006, 06:00 PM

PeACe~~
21,963 posts

I remembered someone selling LCD with 1 dead pixel...is it you?

But anyway, its very clear most brands will only accept 5-7 above dead pixel but not 1..for warranty.

And the personal warranty exceeded 1 week as normal practice.

I think its not your fault anymore any problems after 7 days..
cloudwan
post Jul 20 2006, 06:01 PM

- Knob -
8,526 posts

Yalor, 1 dead pixel only ler... Not 5-20.... item sold at RM780 plak tu.. My sis lappie has a deadpixel and it doesnt bother that much... it's almost unnoticable...
sevendogz
post Jul 21 2006, 10:57 AM

1,276 posts

it's fair what u have tried u help, and i think if there is any proof that both of u accepted that personal warranty only valid within first 7 days, after the period, case is closed..
i remember last time i sold a monitor to a guy, personal warranty for 7 days also, and he sms me 5 hours after the initial 7 days (168 hours to be exact), i just replied, case is closed, sorry..
that is business
KilJim
post Jul 25 2006, 02:11 AM

^-_-^ ZzzZzZzZzzz....
4,424 posts

After the 1 week stated, it's solely up to you whether to help or not
Buyer cant complain since it's already past the warranty length
goldfries
post Jul 25 2006, 09:53 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

ok thread cleaned-up. this is not the place for
1. trying to solve dead-pixels
2. telling others what you (or someone you know) bought LCD with deadpixels
3. telling others your LCD has deadpixels.

smile.gif btw i hope you did PM Djmix about this thread? hope you did.

and also - do you happen to know what's Djmix's current stand on this matter?

to me - personal warranty over, it's not your problem already. and it's very nice of you to still offer help.
sniper69
post Aug 3 2006, 10:37 AM

.: One Shot One Kill :. .+|Level 9 Type Shit|+.
7,173 posts

i noe this guys, he's the one to get my case n end up, he didnt sms/pm me for COD.last i heard (as he told) he's in indonesia, studying or something...
Kabadi84
post Aug 7 2006, 08:53 PM

weeeeeee..................
1,012 posts

same here been ffk by him ....with a very stupid method of escaping stupid i waited him arrrggghhh nvrmind

0.0187sec    1.49    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 10:26 PM