Proton PrevĂ© V20, Don't provoke the modest beast!

flex3x
post Mar 18 2014, 11:47 AM

QUOTE(Gekko @ Mar 18 2014, 10:56 AM)
Hi Preve owners, I am also considering joining the club. I am also looking to upgrade mty ride to the Preve 1.6 Exec CVT (Non-CFE). Currently my ride is the Saga FL Manual Executive. My concerns are as follows:

1. CVT noise - how bad is this or its bearable?
2. Engine Noise - compare with my Saga, I guess I can accept this.. biggrin.gif
3. Power and pick-up - consulted with SA, recommended me to go for CFE but I do not have the budget. Is the pick-up really bad? I did not want to go for test
    drive as the one they have is a CFE and is not the model I am looking at.
4. FC - they say the normal CVT model drinks quite a fair bit but if go outstation is good - similar to my Saga FL?

Do please give comment/your thoughts on the above. I am very keen to upgrade to the Preve. Thanks
Preve got engine noise due to its CVT smile.gif
flex3x
post Mar 25 2014, 12:25 PM

QUOTE(hafizhans @ Mar 25 2014, 10:57 AM)
how much cost to replace? cracked fog lamp

http://www.ecsenang.com/goods.php?id=443
flex3x
post Mar 27 2014, 11:29 AM

QUOTE(services189 @ Mar 27 2014, 10:23 AM)
Thanks man. Really appreciate this. Will try out this brand then this weekend.
You may have more information with this seller smile.gif
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/729059/all

flex3x
post Apr 1 2014, 10:55 AM

QUOTE(rachel_xxx @ Mar 31 2014, 10:40 PM)
want to buy the car mat..where can get cheap cheap but good 1?
Hi bro, you may find on this site smile.gif
flex3x
post Apr 3 2014, 03:17 PM

QUOTE(adios.putra @ Apr 3 2014, 02:18 PM)
thnx bro. overall I satisfied with the car. Only wish the clutch be a bit shorter.
remember my first day after pick up my preve, enjin mati atas bukit. pretty hard to balance. need time to adapt. ahaaa  hmm.gif  hmm.gif
Shorter clutch is easier to drive isn't it ? no need to use so much on your knee ma.. tongue.gif
flex3x
post Apr 8 2014, 01:12 PM

QUOTE(ZeroHavoc @ Apr 8 2014, 12:43 PM)
any manual owner here?

im having trouble with the gear stick, a bit tight for me.
really hard to shift to gear 1 and 2.

another thing is the reverse mode,
sometimes the reverse alert sound is not there when i shift to reverse.

and i experienced the stick kick itself back up even when in reverse few times already,
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CAdyJbahD9U
This one is similar with the gear stick problem smile.gif
May send to SC to check smile.gif
flex3x
post Apr 10 2014, 05:48 PM

QUOTE(Kenneth225 @ Apr 10 2014, 09:48 AM)
Hi guys just got my car last fri, is an exec cvt, i encounter problem like when during uphill or slope i press throttle and the car making some weird sound like wooon wooon woon. now sometimes ada got this sound but is just for a while only. is this normal? tq
Congrats bro and enjoy your ride smile.gif
flex3x
post Apr 17 2014, 01:50 PM

QUOTE(kulatkia @ Apr 16 2014, 09:18 AM)
dear sifu,
surprisingly i can't find basic guidance check during car collection at first page. am i miss out any? pls guide me. thx!
Locks

Keyless Entry (Lock and unlock using remote)
Manual Entry (Lock and unlock using key)
Master Lock
Individual Lock
Alarm
Alarm reset switch

Windows

Power Windows(Check that the driver side auto window is working)
Windows control Lock

Electric Mirrors

Electric Mirrors Control ( Up, Down, Left & Right )
Folding Mirrors(Check that the Mirrors can be retractable by either manual or electrical folding.)

Console

Engine Start Button (if any)
Air-Conditioning
Fan Speeds
Rear Demister
Radio/CD/DVD Player
Reverse Camera (if any)
Steering controls (if any)

Switches

Headlights
Directional Signals
High Beam
Hazard Lights
Parking Lights
Tail Lights
Brake Lights
Fog Lamps
Interior light
Wiper (Make sure each speed is correct)
Wiper Spray
Horn

Dashboard

Dashboard lights come on when headlights are on
Information lights (eg. Parking brake ) are lit at relevant time
Check that odometer does not display excessive mileage

Transmission & Brakes

Smooth Gearshift
Automatic transmission
Over Drive button
Shift Lock button
Footbrake
Handbrake

Things to look out for:
Test auto-transmission for shock while engaging gear.
Make sure that the brake has to be depressed to shift out of Park mode.
Make sure that the car can only start in Neutral or Park mode.

Other Interiors

Steering wheel properly aligned
Steering wheel adjusting lever
Bonnet release lever
Boot release lever
Fuel tank release lever
Check for stains and holes on seats
Seat adjuster (Forward, backward, recline)
Seat belts (Check that the Seat belts lock when pulled hard)
Seat belts height adjuster
Check for scratches and dents on the trims
Rear Mirror
Glove box
Check for stains on carpets
Air-con vents (Check that they are able to move freely)
Speakers
Moonroof (Opens and closes fully)

Exterior

Check that car plate is correct
Check that body surface is free from dents and scratches.
Check that windows and windscreens are free from stains and scratches
Check that lights are clear and undamaged
Check that door handles are working
Check that tyres are free from holes and punctures
Check that rims are free from scratches
Check that the radio antenna is working
Check that fuel cap is secured

Under The Bonnet

Engine Oil level
Brake Fluid level
Battery Water level
Transmission Fluid level
Coolant level
Air-Conditioning gas level
Check engine compartment with any obvious defects and damage

Inside the Boot

Base board
Boot light
Tool kit
Spare tyre

Documentation

Road Tax Disc
Vehicle log card
Certificate of insurance
Car owner manual

Miscellaneous

Check tyres pressure
Cruise control (if any)
All goodies promised are given
flex3x
post Apr 24 2014, 11:37 AM

QUOTE(rachel_xxx @ Apr 23 2014, 09:08 PM)
my preve exe today suddenly got "ung ung" sound, especially in morning when I just started my car.

this happened when turning the steering and crossing the bump.

What happened ar?
Could be struts or the springs may not be seated properly if everything else checks out. smile.gif
flex3x
post May 6 2014, 12:02 PM

QUOTE(cts0418 @ May 5 2014, 07:50 PM)
thumbup.gif  I would say preve is the best car for me in this price range , from safety , accessories , comfort to performance  thumbup.gif
Agreed bro.. Preve is a good choice, Base Model is only about RM63K or something like than but of course, the CFE version is closer to RM73K. But Preve handling is better than Almera and a bit bigger and more comfortable for long distance driving smile.gif
flex3x
post May 14 2014, 11:28 AM

Preve can save on roadtax and fuel consumption icon_rolleyes.gif
flex3x
post May 22 2014, 11:08 AM

QUOTE(thinesh2711 @ May 22 2014, 09:29 AM)
Hi Guys, new Preve Exec owner here. Took delivery of my car on Tuesday only. I live in Kepong, which SC nearest to my place do you recommend me take my car for servicing?
COngrats bro..may try to service at smile.gif
BUKIT MALURI SERVICE CENTRE 03-62756657 03-62759060 012-2335468
Lot 37626, Jalan 2/37A Off Jln Kepong, Potential Industrial Estate, Bukit Maluri, 52100 KL
flex3x
post May 27 2014, 10:15 PM

QUOTE(heart strings @ May 27 2014, 04:46 PM)
guys,
i'm planning on getting this car for my dad. what's the FC like?
On paper, the fuel consumption of Proton Preve is around RM 0.12 sen / 12 cents per km at the constant speed of 90km/h for the Preve Premium 1.6 CFE soft turbo which is around 6.6l/100km while Preve IAFM CVT 1.6 gives better FC at around 5.8l/100km which is around 17.24 km/litre at constant speed cruising due to the 6 speed CVT transmission that gives high speed at lower RPM and NA (Naturally Aspirated) standard IAFM 1.6 litre engine. While the manual have 5 speed transmission gives a bit higher FC than CVT at 6.2l/100km hmm.gif
flex3x
post Jun 3 2014, 09:18 PM

QUOTE(benny888 @ Jun 3 2014, 11:42 AM)
Batu Pahat EON service center is excellent . After each service the mechanic will even tell n advise me some care tips. My wife's Preve had been sent in for 1000,5000 n last was 10000km. Each service takes no more than 2 hours including wait time.
thanks for sharing..u went on weekend bro ?
flex3x
post Jun 12 2014, 07:23 PM

Suprima has many improvements over Preve, namely 6 airbags, Electric Vacuum Pump and a lot of other convenience features that makes Suprima a better choice smile.gif
flex3x
post Jun 18 2014, 05:42 PM

QUOTE(blaze91 @ Jun 18 2014, 02:57 PM)
guys im gona take my car soon. preve exec is the checklist applicable for exec model too?
Congrats bro rclxms.gif
New car checklist smile.gif
flex3x
post Jun 24 2014, 05:24 PM

QUOTE(blaze91 @ Jun 24 2014, 01:15 PM)
Can you tell me the model of HID your using? smile.gif
Bro may look on this site smile.gif
flex3x
post Jun 26 2014, 10:27 PM

QUOTE(sAm fIsher @ Jun 26 2014, 05:55 PM)
@:3mushy:3

admin, pls add me into the list pls  rclxm9.gif  got mine today

Genetic Silver - Turbo (CFE)
one thing i found when i was taking off the plastics cover from my seats, the rear 2-seater which can be folded, it is not secured tightly after locking it. unlike the single seater which is tightly locked.

PS: dunno how to tag ppl actually.  tongue.gif
Congrats bro rclxms.gif
flex3x
post Jul 1 2014, 03:39 PM

QUOTE(blaze91 @ Jun 30 2014, 02:32 PM)
can you give me specific locationg bro? maybe a landmark around that area? icon_question.gif
Google search for this landmark bro
McDonald's, 1 Jalan 18/42, Taman Sri Serdang, 43300 Seri Kembangan, Selangor, Malaysia
flex3x
post Jul 3 2014, 02:39 PM

QUOTE(:3mushy:3 @ Jul 3 2014, 07:25 AM)
Yes, but with the recent changes in window tinting regulation, I'm hoping by adding another layer, it would still pass the test. Of course, homework first.
fyi the second layer of tinting cannot pass the test smile.gif

0.0586sec    0.57    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 07:39 AM