DIY NAS [Updated, full spec inside]

TSmastermindsos
post Mar 7 2014, 04:05 PM, updated 10y ago

373 posts

Hi guys,

I would like to diy a NAS.
The price of ready made NAS device is quite expensive to me, that it is not worth the hardware I am to pay for.

Would it be better/cheaper if I make one compared to ready made NAS device?
For eg: given a RM600 budget, comparable to the cost of Synology DS214SE.

Would these hardware made a better NAS?
Mini-ITX build.
1)Casing of my choice Jonsbo U1/V2 bundle with psu 300W ~ RM260
2)Intel Bay trail-D or AMD Kaveri APU (10W-25W) ~ Not sure how much this will cost, mostly it will come together with a motherboard
Planning to get this.
3)Old notebook hd 500GB sata2 ~ recycle
3)2gb ram ~ recycle notebook ram
4)Any free NAS OS on the internet, probably freenas/xpenology

Usage, mainly will be a media server(DLNA), file server, downloader, not sure of any other useful NAS features I might need. But basically these.
I wonder if this low power CPU is better than the one use in ready made NAS?
Could it handle transcoding as well?
Could it handle multiple user at the same time? ~ 2-3 users max

Your opinion are very much welcome. Thank you.

This post has been edited by mastermindsos: Jul 14 2016, 01:47 PM
shakku
post Mar 7 2014, 04:16 PM

365 posts

If you need a NAS server with DLNA function, why not just get WD My Cloud for 2TB? It's around RM450ish and do the above function except downloading.

You need a functional PC for downloads and route the files into the server.

SUSchokia
post Mar 7 2014, 04:16 PM

Chartered Member
3,617 posts

i wonder why branded NAS is more expensive than a computer.

Pathetic
TSmastermindsos
post Mar 7 2014, 04:23 PM

373 posts

QUOTE(shakku @ Mar 7 2014, 04:16 PM)
If you need a NAS server with DLNA function, why not just get WD My Cloud for 2TB? It's around RM450ish and do the above function except downloading.

You need a functional PC for downloads and route the files into the server.
I wonder if this could transcode movie on the fly?
I have my main pc. I wish not to run this 24/7 to download and as a media server.

ps:I feel, it is for my own satisfaction if I could build one that is comparable to ready made one smile.gif
daoh2.0.10
post Mar 7 2014, 04:29 PM

47 posts

If you don't have problems with D-Link product, maybe you can consider DNS-320L http://www.dlink.com/uk/en/support/product...orage-enclosure.

If i remember correctly, it only cost me RM235 for DNS-320L and RM225 for WD RED 1TB. Quite reasonable price for me.
As price is way very cheap compared to Synology, so don't compare the app and software to Synology. This NAS-320L come with very basic app but still bundle with torrent downloader, ftp for file sharing, and CIFS/SAMBA/NFS for local file sharing.

And if you dare enough and have basic linux for simple editing and package installation, you can install other software to utilize it.

For my setup:

1. I share NAS drive to my PC for easier access. Also for my android. Can streaming movie.
2. Enable FTP to share movie to my friend through public / internet.
3. Install fun_plug to enable / easier to install package.
4. Install Transmission to replace stock torrent downloader (older version transmission), for torrent download.
5. Install Automatic for Transmission to automatically download TV series / Anime which come out weekly. This can be done by preconfigured rss for download link.

TSmastermindsos
post Mar 7 2014, 04:48 PM

373 posts

QUOTE(daoh2.0.10 @ Mar 7 2014, 04:29 PM)
If you don't have problems with D-Link product, maybe you can consider DNS-320L http://www.dlink.com/uk/en/support/product...orage-enclosure.

If i remember correctly, it only cost me RM235 for DNS-320L and RM225 for WD RED 1TB. Quite reasonable price for me.
As price is way very cheap compared to Synology, so don't compare the app and software to Synology. This NAS-320L come with very basic app but still bundle with torrent downloader, ftp for file sharing, and CIFS/SAMBA/NFS for local file sharing.

And if you dare enough and have basic linux for simple editing and package installation, you can install other software to utilize it.

For my setup:

1. I share NAS drive to my PC for easier access. Also for my android. Can streaming movie.
2. Enable FTP to share movie to my friend through public / internet.
3. Install fun_plug to enable / easier to install package.
4. Install Transmission to replace stock torrent downloader (older version transmission), for torrent download.
5. Install Automatic for Transmission to automatically download TV series / Anime which come out weekly. This can be done by preconfigured rss for download link.
I have researched on this product previously, and I actually ended up choosing Synology DS214SE based on the performance benchmark.
But the price of DS214SE doesn't justify with its hardware unfortunately, probably the software.
Thus, comes my DIY project. Hopefully, someone will give me some suggestions/opinions.
Thank you.
jzng89
post Mar 7 2014, 06:45 PM

95 posts

QUOTE(mastermindsos @ Mar 7 2014, 04:05 PM)
Hi guys,

I would like to diy a NAS.
The price of ready made NAS device is quite expensive to me, that it is not worth the hardware I am to pay for.

Would it be better/cheaper if I make one compared to ready made NAS device?
For eg: given a RM600 budget, comparable to the cost of Synology DS214SE.

Would these hardware made a better NAS?
Mini-ITX build.
1)Casing of my choice Jonsbo U1/V2 bundle with psu 300W ~ RM260
2)Intel Bay trail-D or AMD Kaveri APU (10W-25W) ~ Not sure how much this will cost, mostly it will come together with a motherboard
  Planning to get this.
3)Old notebook hd 500GB sata2 ~ recycle
3)2gb ram ~ recycle notebook ram
4)Any free NAS OS on the internet, probably freenas/xpenology

Usage, mainly will be a media server(DLNA), file server, downloader, not sure of any other useful NAS features I might need. But basically these.
I wonder if this low power CPU is better than the one use in ready made NAS?
Could it handle transcoding as well?
Could it handle multiple user at the same time? ~ 2-3 users max

Your opinion are very much welcome. Thank you.
I previously did think of doing the same project as you with my dad as we wanted to setup the our home equipment to connect to a simple storage mainly for media sharing. But then we gave up the thought as the construction cost came up to be not worth the time and the power consumption would be higher (the idea of an NAS is to have it left on for long periods of time so power consumption is overall an important matter here).

You're looking at the Synology DS214SE which is quite a high end model when it comes to NAS. If you're building your own NAS the cost would definitely be cheaper but in the long run you would probably be better off buying a a factory manufactured NAS as the overall power consumption would be lower and the equipment are made specifically for handling storage and networking functions (ASIC, application specific integrated circuits) which would perform better than any NAS you could make at a low budget.

But I still applaud your for wanting to try this out. What I would suggest is:

1. Build your own rig : This is what you're planning but I would suggest you buy a new hardisk, the whole idea of a NAS is the storage so using a reused hardisk could prove to be a risky move, especially if it's going to be left on the whole day. You could get an enterprise grade disk or at least a WD Red, 2 pieces if you want redundancy, but doing this would put you back to square 1, the cost would come up to the same as an NAS.
2. Buy a router/switch with NAS function, some of these routers/switches do provide basic download applications as well (namely torrent apps) and work with USB connected hardisk, performance overall not impressive but it'll do since the whole idea is to keep it running 24/7 so this would save you some RM in the long run.
3. Buy a NAS

The only reason why you would actually build your own NAS would actually be for the ability to customize it and like you said, self satisfaction. But remember when there are more moving parts there is going to be higher chance of breakdowns as well and with a NAS what we aim for is reliability. Custom NAS would give you flexibility but reliability would depend on what you build it with, cut too much cost and your risk of losing your data would be higher, thats why factory made NAS are so expensive. I have a WD MyBook Live 2Tb and it works beautifully, plus it's portable since I carry it around when I travel.
TSmastermindsos
post Mar 7 2014, 07:43 PM

373 posts

QUOTE(jzng89 @ Mar 7 2014, 06:45 PM)
I previously did think of doing the same project as you with my dad as we wanted to setup the our home equipment to connect to a simple storage mainly for media sharing. But then we gave up the thought as the construction cost came up to be not worth the time and the power consumption would be higher (the idea of an NAS is to have it left on for long periods of time so power consumption is overall an important matter here).

You're looking at the Synology DS214SE which is quite a high end model when it comes to NAS. If you're building your own NAS the cost would definitely be cheaper but in the long run you would probably be better off buying a a factory manufactured NAS as the overall power consumption would be lower and the equipment are made specifically for handling storage and networking functions (ASIC, application specific integrated circuits) which would perform better than any NAS you could make at a low budget.

But I still applaud your for wanting to try this out. What I would suggest is:

1. Build your own rig : This is what you're planning but I would suggest you buy a new hardisk, the whole idea of a NAS is the storage so using a reused hardisk could prove to be a risky move, especially if it's going to be left on the whole day. You could get an enterprise grade disk or at least a WD Red, 2 pieces if you want redundancy, but doing this would put you back to square 1, the cost would come up to the same as an NAS.
2. Buy a router/switch with NAS function, some of these routers/switches do provide basic download applications as well (namely torrent apps) and work with USB connected hardisk, performance overall not impressive but it'll do since the whole idea is to keep it running 24/7 so this would save you some RM in the long run.
3. Buy a NAS

The only reason why you would actually build your own NAS would actually be for the ability to customize it and like you said, self satisfaction. But remember when there are more moving parts there is going to be higher chance of breakdowns as well and with a NAS what we aim for is reliability. Custom NAS would give you flexibility but reliability would depend on what you build it with, cut too much cost and your risk of losing your data would be higher, thats why factory made NAS are so expensive. I have a WD MyBook Live 2Tb and it works beautifully, plus it's portable since I carry it around when I travel.
The new line up from Intel, only have 7.5W TDP.
Link
jzng89
post Mar 7 2014, 11:29 PM

95 posts

QUOTE(mastermindsos @ Mar 7 2014, 07:43 PM)
The new line up from Intel, only have 7.5W TDP.
Link
But with those prices you could buy a NAS liao right~~~
TSmastermindsos
post Mar 7 2014, 11:50 PM

373 posts

But none of the entry level NAS able to transcode movie on the fly.
And I read that they are not suitable for CPU extensive services running on it concurrently.

Still, I do not know how these bay trail or kaveri apu perform as this moment.
I am still looky looky on what options I have.

Your point 1 makes me wonder actually. While it is true that the price will go near certain NASes, I do wonder if the performance is better? That's the point for me to build 1 anyway smile.gif

blacktubi
post Mar 8 2014, 12:20 AM

-
8,416 posts

One famous choice is get the HP N40L and install Xpenology.
Great performance and flexible, N40L is fully stable on Xpenology too.

There's a NAS thread on another section anyway - https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2931469

Prebuild NAS are expensive eg.Synology but considering the fact that the software have been tested to be fully stable on the hardware compared to self build which you may face a few hiccups if it is not configured properly.
TSmastermindsos
post Mar 8 2014, 12:56 AM

373 posts

QUOTE(blacktubi @ Mar 8 2014, 12:20 AM)
One famous choice is get the HP N40L and install Xpenology.
Great performance and flexible, N40L is fully stable on Xpenology too.

There's a NAS thread on another section anyway - https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2931469

Prebuild NAS are expensive eg.Synology but considering the fact that the software have been tested to be fully stable on the hardware compared to self build which you may face a few hiccups if it is not configured properly.
I feel that HP NAS is kind of overkill for an average home user. tongue.gif
I have checked out that thread previously, but they are mostly talking about prebuilt NAS.(Well actually I thought that it is not the right thread to ask for DIY NAS)
There are some DIY NAS in there, but they are using yesterday's technology by recycling an old pc.
I think that it defeats the purpose of building a NAS if the power consumption is high. However, I also understand that using low power cpu gives a low/average performance.
But as long as the performance is acceptable while keeping the power consumption low, and also as long as it is cheaper than any other prebuilt NAS, I am a happy man smile.gif

I am just going to choose the hardware parts for now.
My main concern is the ability to transcode my media file. Will it be able to transcode it on the fly? Most of the entry level NAS are not able to do this unfortunately.

I might faced problem when choosing and configuring the NAS OS later. It will be a learning curve for me. Seeking pointers here would definitely solve my problems smile.gif

Hhmm... the bay trail-T/M/D actually stands for tablet/mobile/desktop counterpart.

This post has been edited by mastermindsos: Mar 8 2014, 11:54 AM
TSmastermindsos
post Jul 14 2016, 01:51 PM

373 posts

This project was put on hold for so long that recently I decided to give it a go.

Spec:

MSI AM1I mini-itx board
amd am1 athlon 5350
8GB DDR3L 1.35v
500GB WD Blue, 3TB HD WD Red
Dual port PCI-EX4 Intel Pro 1Gbit 82576EB Network Adapter
Flex atx psu 250W
NAS case Link

Software:
ESXI with 3VMs
- pfSense (router)
- ubuntu server + pi-hole (domain server + adblock)
- OMV (file/media server)

ESXI is installed on a 4GB thumbdrive.
500GB HD is used as the data store where VMs are installed.
3TB is used as data store (RDM) of OMV.
My data is not sensitive. So data loss is not yet a problem for me.
Got to think of a backup only when it is necessary.

This post has been edited by mastermindsos: Jul 14 2016, 02:05 PM
DecaPix
post Jul 14 2016, 02:55 PM

5 star monkey
3,000 posts

err...the board and processors are recycled items?
how many SATA does the board have?

just thinking that a lower power consumption CPU might be better?
TSmastermindsos
post Jul 14 2016, 03:57 PM

373 posts

QUOTE(DecaPix @ Jul 14 2016, 02:55 PM)
err...the board and processors are recycled items?
how many SATA does the board have?

just thinking that a lower power consumption CPU might be better?
Everything is new except the 500GB HD.
Based on reviews on the net, the whole system of that AMD cpu + motherboard combo power consumption is not more than 35W on full load, avg 19W on idle.
The power could probably be lesser/more depending on number of hardwares used and also the efficiency of the power supply.
I do not have a power watt calculator, so I can't tell you my wattage.
This board has 2 sata ports, but could be extended by using the mini pcie port.

This post has been edited by mastermindsos: Jul 14 2016, 04:00 PM
DecaPix
post Jul 15 2016, 10:26 AM

5 star monkey
3,000 posts

QUOTE(mastermindsos @ Jul 14 2016, 03:57 PM)
Everything is new except the 500GB HD.
Based on reviews on the net, the whole system of that AMD cpu + motherboard combo power consumption is not more than 35W on full load, avg 19W on idle.
The power could probably be lesser/more depending on number of hardwares used and also the efficiency of the power supply.
I do not have a power watt calculator, so I can't tell you my wattage.
This board has 2 sata ports, but could be extended by using the mini pcie port.
wont the intel J1900 or those newer N3150 do a better job at a lower power consumption?
I would prefer one with at least 4 SATA port. wont know those PCIE compatibility with NAS software and sutff.
4 SATA port at least can run RAID 5 if needed.

hope you dont mind my 2 cents.
I am planning for a DIY NAS as well, just no budget for the HDD tongue.gif
TSmastermindsos
post Jul 15 2016, 12:21 PM

373 posts

QUOTE(DecaPix @ Jul 15 2016, 10:26 AM)
wont the intel J1900 or those newer N3150 do a better job at a lower power consumption?
I would prefer one with at least 4 SATA port. wont know those PCIE compatibility with NAS software and sutff.

hope you dont mind my 2 cents.
I am planning for a DIY NAS as well, just no budget for the HDD  tongue.gif
Based on benchmark, the J1900 outperformed N3150 and J1900 required more power.
Likewise, the AMD cpu I have chosen outperformed the J1900 and used more power.
But all of these cpu are nowhere close to the mainstream CPU performance and of course use less power at max load.

You can decide it depending on your usage and casing(important factor because of heat dissipation).
I could not find a 4 SATA port mini-itx AM1 motherboard here.
So I just make do with 2 SATA ports.

wcypierre
post Jul 15 2016, 12:32 PM

Newbie Programmer
4,619 posts

QUOTE(mastermindsos @ Jul 14 2016, 01:51 PM)
This project was put on hold for so long that recently I decided to give it a go.

Spec:

MSI AM1I mini-itx board
amd am1 athlon 5350
8GB DDR3L 1.35v
500GB WD Blue, 3TB HD WD Red
Dual port PCI-EX4 Intel Pro 1Gbit 82576EB Network Adapter
Flex atx psu 250W
NAS case Link

Software:
ESXI with 3VMs
- pfSense (router)
- ubuntu server + pi-hole (domain server + adblock)
- OMV (file/media server)

ESXI is installed on a 4GB thumbdrive.
500GB HD is used as the data store where VMs are installed.
3TB is used as data store (RDM) of OMV.
My data is not sensitive. So data loss is not yet a problem for me.
Got to think of a backup only when it is necessary.
what's the individual costing for each of the items?
TSmastermindsos
post Jul 15 2016, 01:27 PM

373 posts

QUOTE(wcypierre @ Jul 15 2016, 12:32 PM)
what's the individual costing for each of the items?
Here are the breakdowns:
MSI AM1I mini-itx board RM178
amd am1 athlon 5350 RM260
8GB DDR3L 1.35v RM127
3TB HD WD Red RM509
Dual port PCI-EX4 Intel Pro 1Gbit 82576EB Network Adapter Ebay RM92
FSP Flex ATX psu 250W + NAS case Bought last year from Taobao including shipping + forwarder service charge RM536

The cpu price is higher than expected. It is quite hard to find it compared to athlon 5150.

TSmastermindsos
post Jul 15 2016, 01:55 PM

373 posts

QUOTE(DecaPix @ Jul 15 2016, 10:26 AM)
Forgot to inform you, I do not know your casing form factor.
But if you want to build a mini itx, the J1900 and N3150 only come with 2 SATA port variant locally (in Malaysia).
At least that's what I was told by the distributor.

satanhead2003
post Jul 16 2016, 11:15 AM

551 posts

Ive tried this and to be honest its better to get middle/high end parts.why?instead of going to nas path u better off using esxi (as what im doing right now). Esxi on thumbdrive 16gb,2tb hd,quad core intel cpu,16gb ram. Heres my setup

VM's
1.pfsense
2.Linuxmint
3.windows 8.1
4.xpenology/owncloud

Media server is on windows 8.1 with OpenMediaServer (support on-the-fly transcoding). Nas is on xpenology with integrated owncloud.

But thats me. I dont care hoow big the whole thing is as long as it serve my needs. And still, i have 5 more sata ports if more storage is needed.
jeopardise
post Jul 21 2016, 09:42 PM

tidak memberi seketul tahi!
1,767 posts

Wow. Since you've pm'ed me I wonder what was your interest is.

Looks like going the same direction.

I would like to ditch my Buffalo NAS and do my own. Looking forward.
TSmastermindsos
post Jul 21 2016, 09:54 PM

373 posts

My server is already running.
But the sound is a little noisy.
It is either the pc case fan or the PSU fan.
My hunch is on the PSU fan because I have wired the case fan to run at 5v.
Either get a replacement fan for the PSU or get one picoPSU.
But I think I would get a picoPSU, also to reduce the heat inside the box.
Ree73
post Jul 25 2016, 09:49 AM

761 posts

Well I have a DIY NAS with asrock baytrail and 2 SATA HDD. 1 2.5inch HDD recycle OS and one 3T red HDD for DL.

I dont need so many HDD as it will kill the life spend of all. My main usage is only for BT DL with GB LAN, as media server, some minor backup...

Heat no prob here as i am using coolermaster casing... Am thinking my RAM is over kill with 16G of RAM ( as i get it from US and it is very cheap)

Since the casing have so many USB3 port, i have purchase the PCIE 2 USB3 slot for it as well, if you want more SATA, you can do so for PCIE 2 SATA...

This post has been edited by Ree73: Jul 25 2016, 09:51 AM
irwan6179
post Jul 25 2016, 05:24 PM

1,040 posts

If you don't need much storage, I'd strongly suggest using a router as downloader and file server.

For my case, I have an old 1TB external 3.5in disk. So I just use huawei WS880 (flashed with Asuswrt-Vortex) as my BT downloader and files/samba server. Powerful enough for occasional downloading, and stream video files to my desktop through gigabit. The only shortcoming is that it can't do transcoding on the fly for high bitrate/complexity video files.

Save electricity as well.

0.0201sec    0.54    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 06:22 AM