constant_weight
post Jan 21 2018, 01:53 PM

916 posts

QUOTE(amad108 @ Jan 20 2018, 03:13 PM)
Sienta V

[attachmentid=9531224]

[attachmentid=9531225]
Where do you stays? Your first picture translated to about one hour to cover 50km. This is the very ideal case even my turbocharged car can do 20km/l. Most cars do very good at this pace.

You are so lucky. Most of us in the city jam always and we typically take 1.5x longer time to cover same distance as you. In between includes 100km/h+ and also 15min crawling to cross one traffic light.

Can you get 13km/l on a bad day when it takes you 80 min to cover the same distance as your first pic?
constant_weight
post Aug 12 2020, 09:21 AM

916 posts

QUOTE(Acoen @ Jun 25 2020, 10:31 PM)
Proton X70 1.8TGDI 6AT

1) Petrol Used : Shell RON 95
2) Engine Oil Used : Shell Helix Ultra SAE5W40
3) Fuel Consumption average: 10km/Litre town driving based on meter / pure highway driving 12km/Litre
4) Driving mode: Normal mode and Light footed (so far never used Eco mode)
5) Tyre size: 225/55 R19 - Conti UC6 SUV

Showing the average speed is the better indicator. thumbsup.gif

The so called city driving that most put remark doesn't include traffic condition, no rush hour city driving in 50-60km/h range is more economical than speeding in highway.
Highway driving also if KL area, within the metropolitan doing mostly 80km/h range also far cry from speeding at NSE.

constant_weight
post Nov 5 2020, 08:20 PM

916 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Nov 5 2020, 06:04 PM)
correct... high cc engines got enough torque/power to run more efficiently ~1.8k rpm @ 140 kmh than small cars... small cars will need to run at slower speed to be as efficient, if at same speed will drink a lot
Here's spreadsheet I developed to compare transmission of various car type at redline and 3000rpm. It shows their theoretical top speed if not limited by engine power or electronic.

More powerful engine can afford to have wider overdrive gear ratio thus cruise at lower rpm, it is the transmission.

Gearbox change speed and torque. A 10 to 1 (10:1) speed reduction gear set reduce the speed from driver to driven gear by 10x, it also amplify the torque by 10x. In overdrive, it is the other way round 1:2 ratio double the output speed, but drop the torque by half.

constant_weight
post Nov 5 2020, 09:43 PM

916 posts

QUOTE(DM52 @ Nov 5 2020, 08:59 PM)
very attractive spreadsheet. u automotive engineer urself?. If u are, then please active more and correct those facts in k and f&f. lol.

last time got few automobile engineer here. but all no longer active. they found life outside maybe
Not related with automotive, just car enthusiast. But my work is need linear algebra and calculus, so this spreadsheet is relatively quite simple tongue.gif
constant_weight
post Nov 6 2020, 12:51 AM

916 posts

QUOTE(DS51 @ Nov 5 2020, 10:21 PM)
He might refer to your info in the spreadsheet, not the spreadsheet layout lor. tongue.gif
That one covered in high school physics, and kemahiran hidup, maybe back in my old days.
constant_weight
post Nov 6 2020, 12:52 AM

916 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Nov 5 2020, 10:03 PM)
cool... would be interesting to also fix a constant speed, say 120 kmh for the final gear, then work backwards to see engine speed... with this can check where it sits on the torque and power curves  thumbsup.gif

also another good speed to test is 70 kmh... why 70?...because some automatics with 8/9 gears will downshift from overdrive and run on gear 7 or 6... this will burn more fuel compared to lower powered car running on overdrive... lol
lol, I'm lazy. I give you the formula you make one want or not?

0.0600sec    1.06    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 04:12 AM