I see, not much then.
Thank you
University Monash University Thread V4, Malaysia & Aus Campus, QS 2016: 67!! THES 2016: 73!! up up up!!
Nov 2 2020, 11:07 AM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
82 posts Joined: Aug 2011 |
I see, not much then.
Thank you |
Nov 2 2020, 12:51 PM
2,096 posts Joined: Dec 2011 |
QUOTE(Gnomeo @ Nov 2 2020, 11:07 AM) There's a reason why it's limited, as you're literally paying local fees, since you're still enrolled in your original campus.If you're looking for something longer, then you'll need to look at the campus transfer instead, but with this, you'll be paying your fees in AUD instead of MYR Gnomeo liked this post
Nov 2 2020, 03:52 PM
18,395 posts Joined: Oct 2010 |
Want your opinion in comparing engineering in UTM/UM (rm13k), Monash.my(rm200k), Monash.au(rm700k).
Nov 2 2020, 04:17 PM
803 posts Joined: Jul 2007 From: Kuala Lumpur |
Nov 2 2020, 05:39 PM
QUOTE(tpleong @ Nov 2 2020, 04:17 PM) Already started at Electrical@UTM last month, after 4 years if want to migrate will do post-grad overseas with the savings of rm700k, probably can even work part-time oversea with an engineering degree, that is the plan. Even better if can get a job with UTM degree in OZ then after got PR take up Post-grad. This post has been edited by MGM: Nov 2 2020, 05:56 PM |
Nov 2 2020, 05:54 PM
QUOTE(MGM @ Nov 2 2020, 05:39 PM) Already started at Electrical@UTM last month, after 4 years if want to migrate will do post-grad overseas with the savings of rm700k, probably can even work part-time oversea with an engineering degree, that is the plan. He needs to study in Australia for 2 years to be entitled for the 2 years graduate VISA, otherwise he has only 3 months to find a job.This post has been edited by tpleong: Nov 2 2020, 05:55 PM |
Nov 2 2020, 10:47 PM
1,846 posts Joined: May 2013 |
QUOTE(Selma yassin @ Nov 1 2020, 05:07 PM) Hi They're both identical. Your testamur won't state which campus you graduate from. But, employers may ask, and some may view them differently.Is engineering degree in Monash Malayshia different from Australia or they are identical to each other ?? QUOTE(MGM @ Nov 2 2020, 03:52 PM) What engineering? For most engineering, if it isn't geographic-specific, then I don't see the need to pay more for almost equivalent degree. UTM/UM graduate often perform fine and on par or even better than Monash's graduate. You should opt for Monash only if you intend to go overseas, or want to exchange to Melbourne. Else, I don't think it's necessary to study in Monash. For civil engineering, where geographic practice matters a lot, one thing to note is that Malaysia adopts Eurocode (EN) but Australia adopts Australian Standard (AS). While the base concept and understanding are the same, the approaches and design considerations are different so if you intend to work in Malaysia, graduating from an Australian university would mean you'll need to learn Eurocode on your own when you enter the workforce. Eurocode is pretty dissimilar from AS, but like I said the basic concepts are the same, so you can catch up. The question is are you willing to? One main difference is EN uses 1.35DL+1.5LL, AS uses 1.2DL+1.5LL but there's a capacity reduction. EN uses two formulae to calculate a steel beam bending capacity (one for sectional bending and another for LTB) while AS combines both into one formula by placing two parameters for each case (alpha s and alpha m). Common steel grade in Malaysia is S275, S355 but common grades in AS are 300, 350. They look minor, but once you scrutinise both codes, you'll find a lot more minor differences that would ultimately affect how you use them. Civil engineering is quite geographic-specific, and each country has different practices that unlike other engineering branches, though the concept is universal, the approach will not be. This post has been edited by Just Visiting By: Nov 2 2020, 10:49 PM Selma yassin liked this post
Nov 2 2020, 11:46 PM
QUOTE(Just Visiting By @ Nov 2 2020, 10:47 PM) They're both identical. Your testamur won't state which campus you graduate from. But, employers may ask, and some may view them differently. Sorry I should be more specific, it is Electrical-Mechatronic (SKEM): https://engineering.utm.my/electrical/under...hatronics-skem/, interested to pursue post-grad oversea in Robotics/AI.What engineering? For most engineering, if it isn't geographic-specific, then I don't see the need to pay more for almost equivalent degree. UTM/UM graduate often perform fine and on par or even better than Monash's graduate. You should opt for Monash only if you intend to go overseas, or want to exchange to Melbourne. Else, I don't think it's necessary to study in Monash. For civil engineering, where geographic practice matters a lot, one thing to note is that Malaysia adopts Eurocode (EN) but Australia adopts Australian Standard (AS). While the base concept and understanding are the same, the approaches and design considerations are different so if you intend to work in Malaysia, graduating from an Australian university would mean you'll need to learn Eurocode on your own when you enter the workforce. Eurocode is pretty dissimilar from AS, but like I said the basic concepts are the same, so you can catch up. The question is are you willing to? One main difference is EN uses 1.35DL+1.5LL, AS uses 1.2DL+1.5LL but there's a capacity reduction. EN uses two formulae to calculate a steel beam bending capacity (one for sectional bending and another for LTB) while AS combines both into one formula by placing two parameters for each case (alpha s and alpha m). Common steel grade in Malaysia is S275, S355 but common grades in AS are 300, 350. They look minor, but once you scrutinise both codes, you'll find a lot more minor differences that would ultimately affect how you use them. Civil engineering is quite geographic-specific, and each country has different practices that unlike other engineering branches, though the concept is universal, the approach will not be. |
Dec 17 2020, 10:04 PM
This year saw almost half of the medical cohort secured internship/houseman in Australia ...a record
Dec 18 2020, 02:24 AM
Dec 18 2020, 07:32 AM
Jan 20 2021, 11:11 AM
82 posts Joined: Aug 2011 |
Can anyone tells me how long usually takes the admission process at Monash between application to offer? Also, it seems that there are 3 intake periods, 2 majors in feb & july and a minor one in oct. Is there a drawback with october intake? Thank you |
Feb 27 2021, 02:18 PM
70 posts Joined: Oct 2020 |
https://www.freemalaysiatoday.com/category/...e-not-gazetted/
Wow...MD degree from Monash not in MMC schedule? |
Feb 27 2021, 09:46 PM
QUOTE(kakikopiluwak @ Feb 27 2021, 02:18 PM) https://www.freemalaysiatoday.com/category/...e-not-gazetted/ In the midst , very soon , delayed by the pandemic . Just admistrative oversight . The first cohort of MDWow...MD degree from Monash not in MMC schedule? |
Mar 1 2021, 07:04 PM
Probation
24 posts Joined: Jan 2020 |
Mar 9 2021, 08:32 AM
146 posts Joined: May 2019 |
Hello, what do you guys think of computer science courses in Monash compared to other unis?
Mar 12 2021, 08:10 PM
QUOTE(kakikopiluwak @ Feb 27 2021, 02:18 PM) https://www.freemalaysiatoday.com/category/...e-not-gazetted/ The MD has been gazetted !Wow...MD degree from Monash not in MMC schedule? |
Oct 8 2021, 03:09 PM
4,761 posts Joined: Jun 2007 From: My house |
Besides Sunway Monash Residence, like to know other accommodation available which are:
a. close to Monash uni (within 5-15 mins walking distance) b. cheaper than SMR (less than RM1000 pm) c. close to makan place Thanks. |
Oct 28 2021, 10:01 AM
Probation
2 posts Joined: Oct 2021 |
Can I start and finish my Bachelor's degree in Monash Sunway without having to go to Australia? I think my parents can afford to fund my studies locally but not if I have to do it overseas. Thanks.
Oct 28 2021, 03:05 PM
226 posts Joined: Sep 2007 From: PJ |
QUOTE(eric2021 @ Oct 28 2021, 10:01 AM) Can I start and finish my Bachelor's degree in Monash Sunway without having to go to Australia? I think my parents can afford to fund my studies locally but not if I have to do it overseas. Thanks. Yes, you can complete it locally. Going to Australia is optional. eric2021 liked this post
| Change to: | 0.0267sec
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 06:07 PM |