Yamaha LC135 Y15ZR Y16ZR Club - V18, King of kings

dinbk90
post Jun 4 2018, 01:37 PM

23 posts

QUOTE(ry8128 @ Jun 4 2018, 12:40 PM)
Ok, thanks for info. If not mistaken, all Yamaha moped need oil filter right? Even the lagenda also need. Currently torn between lagenda and ex5, since lc is more exp. duno which to choose.
Yup, all yamaha moped need oil filter including lagenda. I suggest u to include in your option wave dash fi alongside ex5 fi & lagenda fi. In my opinion, if u choose honda moped, buy wave dash fi since it looks better & sporty overall compared to old school look of the ex5 which retains the look of the infamous honda super cub. plus, both wave dash fi & ex5 fi use the same 110cc engine. the only difference is the fuel tank size; wave dash fi 4 litre, ex5 fi 4.3. only 0.3 litre difference there.

I'm a wave dash fi user myself, have been using the bike since October last year until today. The bike is still running good as I do regular maintenance. What I can say, the bike is really economical in term of fuel consumption & maintenance. I ride to work around 2000km monthly, and I only need to spend fuel cost of around rm100 max per month. For eo, I use hadi oil 15w 50 which I change every 1500-2000km. My mileage is now reaching 16k km, already changed rear tyre ( corsa v22), rear absorber (original honda), spark plug and air filter so far. About fuel consumption, one full tank can go 170km with the average speed around 80-100kmh. If ride more santai with 80kmh max & below, one full tank can even go 200km distance. I'm sure u cant get such fuel efficiency with lc135 if u ride around 80-100kmh most of the time since lc is still using carburetor. Fuel injection will always win in fuel efficiency compared to carburetor.

Another good thing about wave dash fi is that it has a u-box under the seat which u can put your raincoat, etc (small items la).. ex5 for sure dont have any compartment under the seat & might need to install givibox if u want more carrying capacity. ex5 fi might have the same fuel efficiency like wave dash fi except for the slightly bigger tank, which is a good thing.

About lagenda, it is the same overall characteristics with wave dash fi except for the engine cc( 110 vs 115) & lagenda being more powerful in term of torque & horsepower. I dunno about lagenda fuel efficiency but I heard people claim that it is as equally fuel efficient just like other fuel injected bikes, which means more or less the same like wave dash fi & ex5 fi.

In conclusion, if u choose honda moped, either wave dash fi or ex5 fi, u r guaranteed to get fuel & maintenance saving benefit. if u choose lagenda, u get a faster bike than those two honda moped but slightly expensive maintenance ( the oil filter of course ). At the end, it relies on what bike u think is better looking overall.. haha..

I hope my insight can be a help to u. plus, u can ask me anything about wave dash fi in case u want to know more smile.gif
dinbk90
post Jun 4 2018, 09:28 PM

23 posts

QUOTE(ry8128 @ Jun 4 2018, 08:40 PM)
Thanks a lot for ur review. Really in depth and help me a lot for my decision. I was looking wave dash after reading your post, and I found out it is more expensive than ex5 and lagenda. sad.gif

To be honest, I can live with the ex5 design. I just need a bike that can give me peace of mind and cheap maintenance, beside reliability. Lagenda design is nicer, and from ur review it seems like a good bike with more power. But I am still more inclined to reliability if I were to choose.

Having said that, I am still considering all 3 choices, haha. Will pay more attention on the road too for this 3 bikes to see if it will help my decision making.
Regarding the reliability, I think these 3 options are more or less the same. If u take care of it & do regular maintenance ( never skip even once ), the bike will serve u just well. Yamaha & Honda quality the same nowadays.
Maintenance wise, wave dash & ex5 is the same since both use the same engine. lagenda as I told u got oil filter, so a bit costly there.

Regarding the price, for wave dash fi, look for the s-racing version which is the single disc one. the s-racing should cost u around rm6100 otr.. the r-racing which has double disc will cost more, +rm200. repsol edition will cost even more, +rm300-400. lagenda sure is cheaper nowadays since yamaha announced new price without gst recently.

Maybe u should go for lagenda if u want more power & good look but a bit mahal sikit maintenance. if u want cheaper option from honda, take ex5. One side note, both wave dash & lagenda got compartment under the seat which is useful but ex5 doesn't. I know this fact is redundant but just wanna remind u again since this might also affect your choice.. haha tongue.gif

dinbk90
post Aug 15 2018, 05:24 PM

23 posts

Hello guys.. I just restored my dad's lc v1 recently since my dad just only changed the eo regularly but neglected the other maintenance.. So I already changed the tire both, air filter, spark plug, brake pad and even eo as well. I notice that the fuel consumption is aint really that good. One tank can only go like 120 km distance with aggressive riding style.. or to be precise 35 km/l. Is this considered normal fuel consumption rate for lc? or I need to also service the carb? I feel like the lc kuat makan petrol alot compared to my previous kriss.. rclxub.gif

I dunno whether I'm the one who feel like the lc kuat makan petrol or I've been spoilt with the injection kapcai since I use honda dash as my daily ride.. rclxub.gif The thing is, as I mentioned before I also used kriss 100 previously but the fuel consumption isn't like this, so kuat makan petrol la... hmm.gif or I'm the one who r not familiar with lc135? sweat.gif
dinbk90
post Aug 15 2018, 06:48 PM

23 posts

QUOTE(iewann @ Aug 15 2018, 05:40 PM)
120km per 4liters fuel with aggressive riding seems quite a lil bit high for lc. Mine lc v4 barely 130km per 4liters maintaining 120kmh meter and above, kl-senawang-kl (carb & exhaust aftermarket). So for standard set i think should be around 130-140+km with aggressive riding. Before mod, fully stock lc135 v4 can go around 170km+ 4liters (empty tank sudah, lucky standby botol  rolleyes.gif ), normal riding, below 100kmh on meter. Try servicing your carb first if u want, bersih2 sikit dalam tu.
Thanks for the input bro! I will do carb service soon.. smile.gif
dinbk90
post Oct 9 2018, 10:26 PM

23 posts

QUOTE(yk.chong @ Oct 9 2018, 07:42 PM)
Just sent my lc 4s to workshop convert to fuel injection,hopefully can get by this week to test out
Wow! Are u using the fuel gain kit injection set? Interested to know as well how is the result of the conversion to fuel injection, especially in term of bike performance & fuel consumption rate... I'm a bit disappointed with the fact that Hong leong yamaha simply never upgrade lc135 to fuel injection...
dinbk90
post Oct 15 2018, 03:50 PM

23 posts

QUOTE(yk.chong @ Oct 13 2018, 08:38 PM)
Dam they send wrong fuel tank otherwise complete already. As spec using y15 kit just fuel tank need to get at thai
I bet u r trying to get fuel tank from yamaha spark 135i model? hmm.gif
dinbk90
post Nov 8 2018, 02:25 PM

23 posts

Noob question here. How u guys lc135 & y15 users bring your raincoat when riding your bike? I know that those who installed givibox have no problem to bring raincoat & other stuff, but how about for those who dont have one, or will never install one?

Put in the bakul perhaps? but then your bakul will be full by the raincoat itself, cannot put other things like groceries..

I'm interested to get lc135 but a bit worried about this tiny issue especially during this rainy season.. I'm so used to having underseat compartment like honda wave kapcai, which easily u can put your raincoat though.. sweat.gif
dinbk90
post Dec 13 2018, 12:38 PM

23 posts

Just bought myself a used lc v1 standard, just for motor backup, and.. just for fun tongue.gif I did some restorations since the bike is kinda old & many things nearly broken except for the engine (since the engine is still quiet). I've done the essential fixes to my bike (air filter, bulb, master pump, switches & meter replacement)

The bike's performance is still okay but the only thing that bothers me the most is the fuel consumption.. I only managed to get 9x km-ish full tank with the standard ratio sprocket. I did manage to get 13x km something full tank before with the rear sprocket size of 33, the size when I got the bike from the shop, which later I changed to standard size which is 39.. as part of my restoration process.

Is that consider normal for 10 years old lc v1 to have such lousy fuel consumption? sad.gif I've read around that lc135 standard should be able to get around 140 to 150 km full tank..

Should I service the carb or buy a new carb, or is there anything else that I should do? icon_question.gif

I also have a plan to change the carb to fi somewhere next year, given if I got the budget. tongue.gif ( there are two available brands for such conversion; Apitech conversion fi for lc or Fuel Gain Kit - retrofit efi..)

dinbk90
post Jan 16 2019, 05:58 PM

23 posts

For standard lc, which carb is the most fuel efficient? V1 or v2/v3/v4? I want to restore my lc v1 carb system since it is kuat minyak now, lazy to do carb service since nobody wants to offer such service to me, (tired of asking around & no shop or pomen seemed to be interested to do carb service) hence I decided to get a new carb directly, malas nk pening kepala lagi now.. sweat.gif
dinbk90
post Jan 17 2019, 12:04 AM

23 posts

QUOTE(alexei @ Jan 16 2019, 11:02 PM)
Pusing the fuel screw only...
New carb also won't last very long if you refuse to set a carb yourself.

Yeah.. I know, I did ask some pomen at several Kedai motor, to do carb service & do what u had suggested for my bike, but non seemed to be interested to do that for me.. This one pomen even suggested me to change cdi, which is wayy off
from my actual issue. What..? I just own lc not even 2 months yet, I'm not familiar at all with lc. And I can't afford to learn all the tips & tricks that easily, with me busy with work & family stuff.. I guess I will just let it be then until the carb got prob by itself. Luckily that lc is just my backup bike, not my daily ride..
dinbk90
post May 26 2019, 09:12 PM

23 posts

QUOTE(Spawnster @ May 26 2019, 05:31 PM)
My customer just bought lagenda 115i for rm5800... Looks good. Any opinion on lagenda vs LC besides more cc and top speed?
Lagenda is fuel injection, hence more fuel efficient eventhough u lenjan it, it still will jimat petrol. Lc is the opposite, the more u lenjan, it slurps fuel like nobody business. Fuel injection bike has no problem to cold start the engine in the morning. For lc, u need to use choke for cold engine start, normal with every carburetor bike. Lagenda is the kurang panas bike compared to lc, which still considerably panas nowadays despite of the variety of 150cc kapcai.. Lagenda got spacious underseat storage. Can put raincoat, etc which is very convenient. Lc got nothing under the seat, just can put cloth & tiny stuff. Lagenda despite its small 115cc, its pickup power is rather respectable, boleh tahan laju. Still can tapau any honda kapcai 125cc & below if test pickup race, in standard configuration between lagenda & any honda kapcai.
dinbk90
post Nov 22 2020, 08:19 PM

23 posts

QUOTE(cawan @ Nov 22 2020, 08:50 AM)
any rumours on LC135 with fuel injection on Vietnam/Indonesia market?
I thought Lc135 had been discontinued everywhere except Malaysia since several years ago? Even now there is no sign or anything that yamaha will even ever upgrade Lc135 with fuel injection, since the sale is still good, albeit not a worthy one IMO in this age for a carb kapcai at a hefty price of rm 7k.. The way I see it, yamaha will just continue on selling lc135 with new stripe facelift every year, with nothing new on the bike, in Malaysia...
dinbk90
post Nov 22 2020, 11:58 PM

23 posts

QUOTE(cawan @ Nov 22 2020, 11:04 PM)
own this model before, 6 years back, which yes LC135 V3 are well overall good bike. sold it for $$..

im conseding new bike.. but LC135 not many hope for now.. with carb, fine tune was downturn..

im not seeing other model with this range, performance, or satisfaction.

this list design out, performance so so only..
Honda, future/wave/dash
Yamaha Lagenda,

this list mahai..
honda RS150,
Yamaha with Y15z, yes mahal..

or if you having the option to choose, within price range, design, overall.. which model?
I would say 150cc kapcai is already a different category because of the manual clutch transmission and barely any storage compartment (of course still can have bakul and install top box). also the price range is in the expensive category.

I would choose lagenda fi myself because it is the top performer among the 125cc kapcai and below. Plus, it is quite affordable too.. Aftermarket parts for it are plenty and even got many pomen can modify lagenda fi. As people say, 'lagenda fi kalau dh modi, berhantu kot pergi dia..' more or less like this la people said. However, I personally dislike the look of lagenda fi especially the handlebar design (kepala dia jendul buruk kot) and the ugly tail lamp (capang belakang dia paling huduh sekali).

However, I own dash 125 now and quite satisfied with it. I'm putting my hope that one day honda will have a direct competitor to lc135 in the future, which means honda needs to invent 135cc engine as they don't have one now. Just my personal opinion la.. rolleyes.gif

0.1853sec    0.73    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 03:05 PM