5 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 >Bottom

Long term effects of overclocking., Please share your experience.

lichyetan
post Aug 3 2006, 02:13 AM

2,295 posts

anyone know the effects if oc high with default vcore???
cool disel
post Aug 3 2006, 03:40 AM

177 posts

QUOTE(lichyetan @ Aug 3 2006, 02:13 AM)
i think it will hang bcoz not enough power ?????
uzairi
post Aug 3 2006, 03:46 AM

Team almostthere
6,744 posts

QUOTE(lichyetan @ Aug 3 2006, 02:13 AM)
The proc will become hotter than using stock voltage. More voltages means more heat and would lead to the decrease of the proc's lifespan.
RIGmaster
post Aug 3 2006, 10:27 AM

735 posts

It is very important to never let your Processor reach 50 celcius once biggrin.gif

thats my Key biggrin.gif

Ah .... electron is such a cute fellow but also create such problem when migration and tunneling happens biggrin.gif

No way to prevent a Component for not ROSAK at all . Thats why Superconductor is so important ... The current flow without Resistance . Since no resistance , no work against the unwanted force and hence no heat being dessipated and hence no thing will be delocalised biggrin.gif

The Most stable structure is still Subatomic Particle biggrin.gif

It form from the first universe start with all the 6 Quarks , electron , positron , neutrino and anti neutrino . Things never change since then .
Haha , unless you can break quarks into even smaller particle tongue.gif
magiara
post Aug 3 2006, 01:21 PM

Legend
1,599 posts

QUOTE(uzairi @ Aug 3 2006, 03:46 AM)
The proc will become hotter than using stock voltage. More voltages means more heat and would lead to the decrease of the proc's lifespan.
what if 1.6Vcore and 1.4Vcore but with same temperature?

alex_tan1983
post Aug 3 2006, 01:23 PM

206 posts

your pc actually will quite stable if overcloking not more than 10%.
G-ShoCk
post Aug 3 2006, 02:19 PM

233 posts

QUOTE(alex_tan1983 @ Aug 3 2006, 01:23 PM)
your pc actually will quite stable if overcloking not more than 10%.
please indicate where u got this statement.. smile.gif please dont give any statement without any sapporting proof smile.gif :cheer:
nelza_ax
post Aug 3 2006, 04:49 PM

i am me
889 posts

QUOTE(magiara @ Aug 3 2006, 01:21 PM)
what if 1.6Vcore and 1.4Vcore but with same temperature?
stay at 1.4v blush.gif
G-ShoCk
post Aug 3 2006, 07:44 PM

233 posts

QUOTE(nelza_ax @ Aug 3 2006, 04:49 PM)
stay at 1.4v  blush.gif
hurm..actually i agree with this feller..BUT if u got a really nice hsf which u have tried the full load temp juz around 50celius..i think its ok to use vcore 1.6Volt rite smile.gif but be reminded..dont simply increase the vcore~ to 1.6volt straight away
Aurora
post Aug 3 2006, 11:14 PM

630 posts

I OCed my Barton for a period of time before, for benchmarking. From 166*10.5 to 200*10.5 on a lock barton. Temperature never exceeded 50C. Then one day, my PC just sudden death. Like *poof* while I was surfing the net and chatting, then restart, nothing. After I check, the culprit was mobo. My rig was left in the corner of my room for 1 month. Finally when i got my new mobo, replaced it, and next the case fan and HSF led just lid for less than a second and stop, as well as the fan attempt to move then halt. Tried it several time, then *spark*, my ICUTE PSU kaput. Now running on enermax from garage sale, luckily my mobo and other component didn't fry with the PSU. End of the story.

I open up the ICUTE PSU, the fuse has shatter everywhere. I don't dare to change the PSU and try it again, who knows what would happen next. I learn an important lesson, PSU is as important as other component, and ICUTE = bad.
lichyetan
post Aug 4 2006, 01:53 AM

2,295 posts

QUOTE(G-ShoCk @ Aug 3 2006, 07:44 PM)
hurm..actually i agree with this feller..BUT if u got a really nice hsf which u have tried the full load temp juz around 50celius..i think its ok to use vcore 1.6Volt rite smile.gif but be reminded..dont simply increase the vcore~ to 1.6volt straight away
there are some theory frm electronics which increase the voltage will make the proc die faster even with good cooling, i dunno hw to explain though but it seems related to atoms... and also all proc have a lifespan, overclock too high will greatly reduce the lifespan...
empire23
post Aug 4 2006, 04:05 AM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

QUOTE(RIGmaster @ Aug 3 2006, 10:27 AM)
It is very important to never let your Processor reach 50 celcius once biggrin.gif

thats my Key biggrin.gif

Ah .... electron is such a cute fellow but also create such problem when migration and tunneling happens biggrin.gif

No way to prevent a Component for not ROSAK at all . Thats why Superconductor is so important ... The current flow without Resistance . Since no resistance , no work against the unwanted force and hence no heat being dessipated and hence no thing will be delocalised biggrin.gif

The Most stable structure is still Subatomic Particle biggrin.gif

It form from the first universe start with all the 6 Quarks , electron , positron , neutrino and anti neutrino . Things never change since then .
Haha , unless you can break quarks into even smaller particle tongue.gif
First of all heat isn't related, since it just damages the physical lattice and increases environment reaction rates.

Problems due to electron flow is called electromigration, as you raise the voltage, the force behind and electron continues to grow with it, the electron is already moving at C which is as fast as the laws of physics allow for, but then it doesn't stop it increasing it's kenetic energy, and that kenetic energy will eventually thin out and break those mircoscopic traces.

Resistance is another point, semiconductors require resistance to operate. It's by the laws of physics that for any action, some energy must be put it, so the switching of a transistor (which uses heat or energy to allow the source and drain to connect) must have resistance. Generally it's the use of logic, good placement, less redundancy, higher IPC and better processes that allow for less heat. Since generally all transistors are the same and switch using the same amount of energy, it's just a problem of needed switching and other factors.

Particles do not break unless you can overcome the electrostatic forces detailed in Coloumb's law and the strong force (one of the 4 fundemental forces) that binds the atoms together. There is decay, but the amount of time it takes for such particles to decay is insanely long

QUOTE(lichyetan @ Aug 4 2006, 01:53 AM)
there are some theory frm electronics which increase the voltage will make the proc die faster even with good cooling, i dunno hw to explain though but it seems related to atoms... and also all proc have a lifespan, overclock too high will greatly reduce the lifespan...
Generally if kept within the confines of the process limitations, procs can survive a very long time. Semiconductor based OPAMPs already have an MTBF of 10^12 hours and that's damned long lol. Same goes generally with processors, unless you take them far past their process specifications (Eg; Intel 90nm, AMD 90nm SOI, TSMC 80nm)

This post has been edited by empire23: Aug 4 2006, 04:06 AM
ikanayam
post Aug 4 2006, 04:25 AM

there are no pacts between fish and men
10,544 posts

QUOTE(empire23 @ Aug 3 2006, 03:05 PM)
Since generally all transistors are the same and switch using the same amount of energy, it's just a problem of needed switching and other factors.

Not sure what you mean by this. AFAIK transistors vary greatly in terms of switching characteristics.
magiara
post Aug 4 2006, 06:25 AM

Legend
1,599 posts

QUOTE(nelza_ax @ Aug 3 2006, 04:49 PM)
stay at 1.4v  blush.gif
QUOTE(G-ShoCk @ Aug 3 2006, 07:44 PM)
duh of course i know sweat.gif
my only works super stable at 1.6 vcore, but worrying that running high vcore can kill the procesor

my cooling is decent enough, 1.4 and 1.6 vcore both have same temperature at full load
cannavaro
post Aug 4 2006, 08:09 AM

CATTENACIO
3,008 posts

Eh... I see you guys talking about 1.4-1.6 vcore being good.

My ancient P4 (1.7@2.0) is running at 1.8 vcore. The lowest it can be adjusted in the bios is 1.7 vcore.
Motherboard limitation or it's standard for the ancient P4?
nelza_ax
post Aug 4 2006, 09:59 AM

i am me
889 posts

QUOTE(cannavaro @ Aug 4 2006, 08:09 AM)
Eh... I see you guys talking about 1.4-1.6 vcore being good.

My ancient P4 (1.7@2.0) is running at 1.8 vcore. The lowest it can be adjusted in the bios is 1.7 vcore.
Motherboard limitation or it's standard for the ancient P4?
wiilemette rite? should be normal..
empire23
post Aug 4 2006, 10:04 AM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

QUOTE(ikanayam @ Aug 4 2006, 04:25 AM)
Not sure what you mean by this. AFAIK transistors vary greatly in terms of switching characteristics.
I meant All transistors on the same piece of silicon lah tongue.gif. I know SOI and Strained Silicon have far different switching characteristic and there are tons more processes with different variables.
ernie ball
post Aug 4 2006, 10:10 AM

459 posts

Who cares about long term effects when you o/c? You probably just gonna use your hardware for ~6months before your hands itch to touch the new mobo again. And good luck to the next owner. I used to be a hardcore overclocker myself around 1 year ago, now had a car had no more extra $$ to spend on pc hardware, so I play silent pc instead. Do underclocking, passive cooling etc.

Sometime you don't need all the processing power at all, if all you do is browse some geeks forum asking whether overclocking will kill your mobo faster, dl some pr0n, IM etc etc. BTW, i run my Barton 2600+ at 1GHz 1.1v (stock is 1.67GHz 1.65v) heat output is roughly 18w full load. Very flexible processor since it can do 2.4+GHz on stock voltage.
G-ShoCk
post Aug 4 2006, 12:34 PM

233 posts

QUOTE(magiara @ Aug 4 2006, 06:25 AM)
duh of course i know sweat.gif
my only works super stable at 1.6 vcore, but worrying that running high vcore can kill the procesor

my cooling is decent enough, 1.4 and 1.6 vcore both have same temperature at full load
owh~ can u now at what speed ur rig running on rite now? i also a noob in oc thing..btw regarding on the voltage thing..u sure really sure izzit..somehow kind of interesting ur fact notworthy.gif i didn't know that running on different vcore wont effect much on ur proc under full load..

magiara
post Aug 4 2006, 02:32 PM

Legend
1,599 posts

QUOTE(G-ShoCk @ Aug 4 2006, 12:34 PM)
owh~ can u now at what speed ur rig running on rite now? i also a noob in oc thing..btw regarding on the voltage thing..u sure really sure izzit..somehow kind of interesting ur fact  notworthy.gif i didn't know that running on different vcore wont effect much on ur proc under full load..
speed is in my siggy wink.gif

5 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.0193sec    0.61    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 10:16 PM