XBMC / KODI users club, An Open Source Media Center

toytoy
post Feb 26 2014, 03:23 PM

875 posts

I've been running OpenElec XBMC with RPi for quite some time now.

IceFilm, 1Ch are good but recently i m using SimplyPlaer and GoTV/I wanna watch to watch US TV Series in HD. Especially SimplyPlayer is highly recommended.

There's no simple answer to which repo to use. U can go to XBMCHUB.com forum to read up on all the available repos but for me easiest way is to install all the REPOs and then install all the add-ons 1-by-1 to try them out.

There is also a wizard in FUSION which will install the most common/recommended plugins for you. Go try them out smile.gif

Good Chinese/HK/Korean sources are scarce nowadays. Mainly using Azdrama.net , Good Drama and Drama Crazy. Last time AzDrama used to have lots of 720p sources but noawdays 240/480 at best sad.gif

KissAnime is great, they stream 1080p animes and all up to date smile.gif

For sports you can try Navi-x or SportsDevil (maxmusterman Repo)

But nowadays HD sports channel are also hard to come by sigh...

To me RPi is fast enough. All depending on the SD Card you use. Also i moved the storage to USB ThumbDrive instead of SD Card itself and the best thing is you can easily Overclock RPi to make it faster (I m using medium settting).

Try to google as much as you can, all info are there. Once you get a hang of it, it's easy.

i've even managed to reprogram the buttons on my TV remote for one touch functions like searching for Subtitles etc tongue.gif

toytoy
post Feb 26 2014, 03:26 PM

875 posts

Also, you can download XMBC remote using ur iOS/Android device to control XMBC.

And i especially like the AirPlay function. You can stream any video / picture from your iphone/ipad to the TV. No need buy ATV tongue.gif
toytoy
post Aug 22 2015, 05:36 PM

875 posts

QUOTE(chokia @ Aug 22 2015, 05:03 PM)
Just upgraded to 30mbps Unifi,  xbmctorrent speed around 4mbps suitable for DD TrueHD and DTS HDMA movies

Hi. Where to find source for DD TrueHD and DTS HDMA movies?
toytoy
post Aug 22 2015, 08:27 PM

875 posts

QUOTE(chokia @ Aug 22 2015, 06:39 PM)
when you search any movie in xbmctorrent you can choose which one to play

Thanks. I will try later smile.gif

For IPTV Stalker users, why not try VDUBT25 or Phoenix addons?

Can watch NBCSN 1080p and 720p
toytoy
post Aug 22 2015, 09:02 PM

875 posts

Just installed IPTV Stalker, authorization failed.

They fixed the fake MAC loophole ady?
toytoy
post Aug 24 2015, 02:27 PM

875 posts

QUOTE(xngjn @ Aug 24 2015, 02:20 PM)
Hey guys, I do spring cleaning and found my raspberry pi Model B in my store room. I want to run kodi on it. Should I direct download OPENELEC or NOOBS from their web?
Is there any limitation using raspberry pi to stream video from NAS? example HD movie will lag?
Thank you
The only limitation is cannot play RMVB files. So far streaming from Local Network (NAS, PC etc) no problem.

Although i have never tried big files (4-5GB) but should be no prob I believe.
toytoy
post Aug 25 2015, 12:23 AM

875 posts

QUOTE(xngjn @ Aug 24 2015, 02:49 PM)
Thanks for the feedback.
Yours file normally is MP4? around 3GB files?
If I attach a USB DVD ROM to raspberry pi, can I play DVD using it?
Yes. Mp4 mkv etc.

I've tried attaching USB DVD ROM b4. It works. Or share the dvd ROM from ur existing pc through network also can.
toytoy
post Aug 25 2015, 12:25 AM

875 posts

QUOTE(xngjn @ Aug 24 2015, 05:10 PM)
anyone using KMediaTorrent? Why all the movies I click also show Playback error "One or more items failed to play. Check the log for more information about this message"
Maybe the link is dead?

I tried playing some truehd and dts-hdma files but only played for few seconds then exit to main screen.

Anyone facing same prob?
toytoy
post Sep 7 2015, 10:02 PM

875 posts

Bros who are using xbmctorrent or kmediatorrent pls help.

I can't seem to play any video successfully.

I'm using new hypp tv STB from tm and running kodi in Android.

At first I ran kmediatorrent from Android without external storage and it filled up the miserable 600MB space in no time.

So I bought an 8GB sdhc and moved the kodi storage into the sdhc. But few seconds after kmediatorrent plays it will freeze and exit to main page.

Today I tried moving the storage into an external USB drive and it's the same.

Now it makes the whole android machine very slow.

Sometimes whole machine hang and have to hard reset.

Anyone experienced this before can advise? Thanks.
toytoy
post Sep 7 2015, 10:41 PM

875 posts

Thx for the reply bro.

There is an option to store download in the kmediatorrent config.

Every time I set the directory it will hang halfway.

But if I restore default it will download to the android box but it will play normally until the storage is filled up and error message shown.

So like u say the downloaded file must be stored android box itself and can't be saved in external devices?

I thought it follows the kodi storage file path. Sigh.

So that means no hope for truehd and dts-hdma for me.

Unless download first then play from ext drive. sad.gif
toytoy
post Sep 8 2015, 12:21 AM

875 posts

Haha. Yaya. 1st time using android box. Quite excited. Good starting point. Will invest in a better box later.

Been using raspberry pi and pi 2 until now with kodi and so far so good. But android more fun. 😁
toytoy
post Sep 8 2015, 11:47 AM

875 posts

Depends on your usage and budget.

RPi2 is fast, lightweight, cheap.

I plug mine into the USB port of the TV. Everytime TV power on RPi2 will be on. Easy. Bootup is fast.

Supports HDMI-CEC, can straightaway use TV Remote to control RPi2. No need buy extra remote control.

There are some learning curves to using KODI. I spent more than 2 years using it and I'm still learning.

But there are so many tools and wizards out there which make things a tad easier. Start off with www.tvaddons.ag

Android boxes are more versatile. Supports "Apps" downloadble from Marketplace. Easy to use.

But when it comes to KODI it's the same thing, u still need to set it up.

So it's more powerful than RPi2.

As for NUC, it's a MiniPC which works just like a PC. So it'll be easy to setup and you will have full flege functionality of a PC.

Same as the other 2 devices, setting up KODI still need some time and effort.

So in short, there're no shortcut to using KODI, there are only some tools to help you get it up and running faster.

It's not difficult, once you grasp the concept you'll love it.
toytoy
post Sep 8 2015, 04:24 PM

875 posts

Hehe no harm getting both. RPi2 is cheap and useful if you have more than 1 TV at home.

I have 3 RPi and 1 RPi2. But sadly i don't have 4 TVs tongue.gif
toytoy
post Sep 8 2015, 09:59 PM

875 posts

I didn't buy the codecs. Don't feel like im missing anything though. Don't think we really need it hehe.

Not really pro lah. Still learning. Bro AVFAN more pro tongue.gif

Anyway, i'd say if the purpose is for video streaming, android box is not a bad choice. The amount of apps are amazing and easy to use.

And for those things cannot be found from the various marketplaces, you can always install KODI.

Mini PC is just another PC and having windows being windows there are sure to be some problem down the road.

Just my 2 sen lah.

------------------

Just tried popcorn time, set the cache to SDCard and can play for a while, not bad, but not TV remote friendly. Need to use KB and Mouse.

I got an Rii Mini i25 Wireless KB+Mouse for this purpose. Not bad to use biggrin.gif

http://www.amazon.com/Rii-Multifunction-Wi...5/dp/B00J621YX0
toytoy
post Sep 8 2015, 11:01 PM

875 posts

Yaya. I don't think sd cards are up to it.

How come mi box only comes with 4gb flash?

Spec looks OK. 6+2 core for normal edition and 4+2 core for mini edition.

This post has been edited by toytoy: Sep 8 2015, 11:03 PM
toytoy
post Sep 10 2015, 02:10 PM

875 posts

QUOTE(luminaryxi @ Sep 9 2015, 09:55 PM)
No Bro, am using mibox
Hi bro, which version of mibox u using?

How's the performance?

Subscribed to any IPTV services?
toytoy
post Sep 22 2015, 09:09 AM

875 posts

Try Drama24h, by DK also. The HD version of AZDRAMA.
toytoy
post Oct 2 2015, 03:35 PM

875 posts

Kodi remote can be downloaded app store / play store

or u can key in the ip address for raspberry pi to get a web based controller.

i am also using Rii Mini i25. Not bad. Air Mouse need getting used to. smile.gif
toytoy
post Oct 4 2015, 11:35 AM

875 posts

QUOTE(tryingtolearn @ Oct 3 2015, 07:41 PM)
Thank you so much smile.gif
Can i know where you bought it?
Will keep that in mind. Thanks smile.gif

Another question. Is anyone here using Odroid C1/C1+ instead of RPi2 for kodi? Is it better or is it much safer sticking to RPi2 and let the decoding (and what not) be taken care of by my desktop?

Thank you.
I got it from lelong smile.gif around RM12x
toytoy
post Oct 24 2015, 09:07 AM

875 posts

For Taiwan variety dramas etc, use sugoideas from DK. Same as azdrama.

Yes. Lambda is thinking of removing Genesis. Says it's too much work keeping up the work and feel unappreciated. Too many complaints. Doing free stuff still let ppl complain. Human are an ugly bunch.

Anyway. Try out SALT. A good genesis replacement.

0.0307sec    0.37    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 06:19 PM