4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

English Clubs Manchester United Street Talks, 02/04 ManUtd v BayernMunich 2:45 816/834

sunblaze
post Feb 27 2014, 08:42 AM

107 posts

QUOTE(pundex @ Feb 27 2014, 12:11 AM)
Yea. Hope there are more translated videos of Cruyff's discussion on tactic. Here is another one that kind of very similar to the problem we are having.

Good stuff! rclxms.gif
sunblaze
post Feb 28 2014, 10:08 AM

107 posts

QUOTE(thatsound @ Feb 27 2014, 10:45 PM)
I am still adamant of United's chances of progressing into the quarter-finals; one need not look any further with Chelsea's 2011/2012 Champions League winning season which started with a first leg 3-1 defeat away to Napoli in the Last 16, but went on to beat the likes of Barcelona and Bayern Munich to win the trophy despite finishing sixth the Premier League.

I just want to urge all United fans to be patient, because we all know the mammoth task of succeeding SAF will definitely harness a few bad hiccups along the way. Sure, people can say DM has inherited a team of Premier League champions but obviously he has his own ideals and philosophies that he wants to inject into a side which has been quietly deteriorating over the years. (recalling an already retired Paul Scholes, buying a 29 year-old frontman, and constantly relying on a 40-year old winger to play CM only goes to show that SAF, with all due respect, has gradually run out of ideas to rebuild an aging squad).

We have got to see glimpses of some of those ideals being translated onto the pitch with a more cautious approach in most games in efforts to retain some stability and balance onto United's tactics, and I believe this system will have to take time to build and is difficult to be judged right away. I think if United adopts the sort of holy-trinity creative outlets most top European teams are currently deploying (Hazard-Oscar-Willian, Bale-Ronaldo-Di Maria, Robben-Kroos-Gotze) on top of a line-up which shows stability, then that is the time that we can truly see the ability of the team that DM is trying to architect. At the moment our most creative players, Mata, Rooney, Januzaj and Kagawa are all playing in similar positions, so DM and Ed Woodward must step up efforts to bring in extra-dimensional creative outlets to really strengthen the team.

I say axe Tom Cleverly, Ashley Young and Antonio Valencia because they have been give too many opportunities but failed to deliver, and bring in the 6-7 world-class talents as suggested by Roy Keane, only then we can judge whether DM is the right manager or not. I say give it until next season, if there is still no improvement, then only we should debate on whether DM should stay or go.
I don't think SAF ran out of ideas. I think he did that because:
1) He wanted to get players who were mature and ready to deliver performances (Kagawa/RvP), and who could eventually replace Rooney if necessary (look at what happened last season, SAF was ready to offload him instead of risking another 2010 scenario).
2) He wanted more mature players because he was nearing the end of his time @ OT and wanted to sign off with a bang (EPL title/CL/whathaveyou).

SAF said before that teams typically run in 4 year cycles, after which you need to rebuild or the team loses steam. Rebuilding a team takes time, 2 maybe 3 years before the team peaks. Strongly suspect that SAF would have retired a season earlier if we had won the title then. We didn't so he stayed and held things together and dragged the team to one last title before stepping down and giving the team rebuilding task to someone younger.

Edit: Also, I'd rather we signed 2-3 players (LB, CM especially) and looked at promoting from within for the remaining slots. Signing too many new players won't help either, since it will be too many changes to the team and everyone will be unfamiliar with each other. If we are gonna get 6-7 new signings then it's better to spread it over a few transfer windows.

This post has been edited by sunblaze: Feb 28 2014, 10:13 AM
sunblaze
post Feb 28 2014, 10:10 AM

107 posts

QUOTE(andrewtho @ Feb 28 2014, 12:32 AM)
Ashely Young needs to be shipped out, problem is..will there be any takers? Crossing the ball without looking at who's inside the box beforehand. Get the ball, cross. Lel.
Quite hard, and he is on big wages too. United would need to find someone willing to pay his huge salary and a transfer fee. Given how Young has been performing since he joined, that is pretty unlikely unless we take a huge loss on his transfer fee.

sunblaze
post Mar 1 2014, 10:42 PM

107 posts

QUOTE(maxkiller @ Mar 1 2014, 09:18 PM)
Of course not. Honestly, I kinda feel sorry for him. There was a time when our teams play was suited to his style of play (when were playing very aggressive attacking +pressing + 1-2 touch passing at higher speed), which is why he shone.

Due to the high risk/energy draining/injury risk that comes with that style of play, we slowed down a bit and played a more measured style. Since then his ability to perform has suffered. He isn't impressive in terms of the physical/tackling side, he doesn't have a range of passing that catches the eye (no hollywood long balls or super penetrating passes), he doesn't dribble amazingly well, he isn't a goalscoring midfielder, and he doesn't (or can't) control the game tempo like some other players do

Basically his game doesn't match our teams style of play as well as it did the previous one, so all he can do is offer some energy (i.e. run around a lot), do safe passing to try and keep things ticking without messing up, and try to intercept/tackle. Kinda like a shorter and younger Carrick that doesn't pass quite as well but moves a bit faster. And considering even Carrick got a fair bit of stick (and still does now at times) ............................

sunblaze
post Mar 1 2014, 10:44 PM

107 posts

QUOTE(damnself @ Feb 28 2014, 10:04 PM)
Why did we renew nani's contract (which increase his wage from £90k to £95k) when I just don't see him have any future here? Playing only 10 times this season (8 league, 1 league cup and 1 ucl). He should have been sold in the summer (waste of wage and space in the team) but I actually prefer him over Young. High wage and crappy play sweat.gif

Moyes seriously need to give chance not only to his favourite player but also to Kagawa, Nani and Chicharito so he can at least open up are different dimension in his tactics.
Hasn't Nani been injured for the past month or two? Something about his knee, iirc
sunblaze
post Mar 6 2014, 03:06 PM

107 posts

QUOTE(sinoffire @ Mar 6 2014, 09:24 AM)
fffffffffuuuuuuuuuuuuuu

brows.gif  brows.gif  drool.gif  drool.gif  icon_idea.gif  icon_idea.gif
Even if this is true, doubt RVP would want to go to Monaco unless they really pay huge wages. PSG are ahead as a team, and RVP wants trophies.

sunblaze
post Mar 7 2014, 04:00 PM

107 posts

No chance to go, working today : /

WBA = hopefully we can deliver a good attacking performance!

sunblaze
post Mar 7 2014, 04:02 PM

107 posts

QUOTE(angel-face @ Mar 7 2014, 01:38 PM)
Hardly surprising, Zabaleta is ahead @ RB and for some reason none of his managers rate him as a CB either.

sunblaze
post Mar 8 2014, 10:57 PM

107 posts

Good result! Hope the team can take confidence from this and keep moving forward smile.gif

sunblaze
post Mar 10 2014, 04:26 PM

107 posts

QUOTE(andrewtho @ Mar 10 2014, 03:08 PM)
I doubt Moyes will stop playing Clevz. He is on the verge of getting a new contract, Moyes likes him, Roy Hodgson likes him.
Plus he came through the academy, i.e. players like him will give hope to the guys coming through the youth ranks that at this club, they will be given a proper chance to make it in the first team.
sunblaze
post Mar 14 2014, 08:49 AM

107 posts

QUOTE(gr8fr8 @ Mar 14 2014, 06:38 AM)
well said! biggrin.gif

sunblaze
post Mar 14 2014, 09:05 AM

107 posts

QUOTE(-bLiZZarD- @ Mar 14 2014, 02:28 AM)
well, do you guys think Vidic gonna start the game with Liverpool? or maintain the same back 4 with west brom?
Was wondering too. Evans *might* be more suited to the game, if he is fit. Reason being Liverpools attackers rely on speed a fair bit, and Vidic has at times had serious problems vs that.

sunblaze
post Mar 16 2014, 09:01 PM

107 posts

QUOTE(franco87 @ Mar 16 2014, 09:00 PM)
Thank god. sad hernandez not on the sub.
He picked up an injury during internationals, maybe that's why.

sunblaze
post Mar 16 2014, 11:38 PM

107 posts

QUOTE(aztechx @ Mar 16 2014, 11:23 PM)
Look at the stretford end....those are fans
Yea when the camera panned to them in the last minute of the game with the freekick being lined up..... see them going steady. respect!

sunblaze
post Mar 16 2014, 11:43 PM

107 posts

QUOTE(O-haiyo @ Mar 16 2014, 11:38 PM)
and enuff with vidic. he aint better than smalling or evans.
Both injured. What to do? Already expected the worst, he has a thing about red cards against speedy players...zzzz this time kena cheated by a diver, even worse.
sunblaze
post Mar 16 2014, 11:44 PM

107 posts

QUOTE(Tsuto @ Mar 16 2014, 11:41 PM)
Noone mentions Rooney giving ball away few times?
Yea more than once. So many moves broke down because of him losing the ball or slowing the game down with a dinked pass instead of a fast one.

Between him and RVP today, idk which one made me facepalm more often with their form.

SIGH

sunblaze
post Mar 16 2014, 11:52 PM

107 posts

QUOTE(anip94 @ Mar 16 2014, 11:50 PM)
hahaha...
Didn't Agger give Wilshere something recently?
sunblaze
post Mar 16 2014, 11:56 PM

107 posts

QUOTE(SomeoneElse @ Mar 16 2014, 11:50 PM)
Honestly , without the first Penelty , I still think its going to be a hard game for Liverpool . Even though we did not play the best football , Liverpool did not either . First half was probably 40-60 ( not possession ) which still isn't that bad .

That being said , 2-0 down , hoping to see at least some shots or chance , nothing big came.

Back to half time . I feel that januzaj should be subbed out right after the 1st half . In situation like this , I would rather see young at the wings to be honest . RvP had a horrible night , he look like he lost his heart to play after going 2-0 down .

I feel like we need players with pace in this game especially at the wings , someone like Nani ? If you look at our midfield and attack , nobody has good pace .

This game has past , hopefully there will be a better performance next game , a desperately needed big win .
Nani injured. Januzaj struggled with the physical side of this game.

Look at some of the comments above you (about Welbeck, Cleverley, and Young), if Young had played he might have been blamed for all 3 penalties, and for the pitch too tongue.gif

sunblaze
post Mar 17 2014, 12:01 AM

107 posts

QUOTE(G_KeN @ Mar 16 2014, 11:56 PM)
well, if u watch the same match that i did just now, liverpool completely controlled the opening of the match. only in the middle did fellaini made some exceptional tackles to help us get a lil bit control of the ball. tongue.gif

apart from that rooney shot at the end of the first half, i thought there was nothing else to shout about.

the problem here is not about pace, but tactics. we ditched fast runners like young and valencia for januzaj and mata and yet we still wanna play the same traditional winger tactic, and hoping to cross the balls. mata had to stray from his position only then we had several possessions in the middle
I agree that we didn't get a lot of anything from the wings, and in fact our promising/threatening moves were (almost?) all from the middle.

Problem is, everytime we got the ball into a promising position in the penalty box, RvP would mess it up or it would be blocked.

Between his wayward shooting and his dropping into excessively deep positions (almost like a CAM) when he is supposed to be leading the line, RvPs performance today really felt poor.

sunblaze
post Mar 17 2014, 12:03 AM

107 posts

QUOTE(Tsuto @ Mar 17 2014, 12:01 AM)
Young should not be playing for Manutd in any game. He is not pacey, he has no technique to dribble pass defenders and his passing/crossing is poor. The only thing he probably good at is shooting outside of the box when no one marks him......

If he plays in this game, foresee many balls pass back to Evra and keep repeating the pass back process.
Probably.

Quite likely his main possible contribution would be to get fouled by some overzealous tackling and get an opponent sent off.

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0391sec    0.15    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 04:49 AM