QUOTE(cfa28 @ Dec 10 2014, 02:45 PM)
Still pending for the results of appeal. If decline again, will appeal to BNM.
Complaint on Great Eastern Insurance, Declination of Guarantee Letter
Dec 10 2014, 02:54 PM
10 posts Joined: Dec 2014 |
Dec 10 2014, 02:56 PM
4,830 posts Joined: Jan 2012 |
Dec 10 2014, 02:57 PM
10,162 posts Joined: Nov 2014 |
Hope you'll get good news soon.
Dec 10 2014, 03:07 PM
86 posts Joined: Mar 2013 |
QUOTE(kathi24 @ Feb 7 2014, 04:41 PM) I am very frustrated and angry with Great Eastern Insurance Company. If the amount is not huge, you can try Tribunal Court. Things like this needs to be highlighted to mass media as well to prevent future customer from being cheated again. A month ago, I brought my mother for treatment to Sime Darby Medical Center, as my mother was experiencing PR bleeding (bleeding when she goes to toilet) and stomach pain for 3 days continuously. The doctor has stated the illness as "Colitis", and has urged my mother to be admitted and undergo endoscope and other necessary treatments ASAP. But, to my shock, Great Eastern has declined the admission Guarantee Letter (GL) . When I called their customer service asking for the reason, they were giving many reasons such as my mother is a new customer (11 months old), no sufficient information, they suspect this might a pre-existing illness and many more. After numerous phone calls, I was still not able to understand on what basis or exclusion term they have declined the guarantee letter. They are just guessing that it could be this or that or this, and based on that, they are declining me my benefits. When I asked them to justify and validate their speculation, they said they will need to investigate and that will take approx 2 to 3 months. How could a patient wait for 3 months? Are they out of their mind? The next day I brought my mother to Selayang Gvt Hopt for treatment. Then, I have submitted an formal written complaint to the insurance company, and they responded, giving me the same biased reasons, which I am not willing to accept. I feel cheated by this company and I have lost my trust in this company. They are giving many invalid reasons to deny GL for a genuine case. I have asked to terminate my mother's policy, and full refund of the premiums that I paid, but they resisted on that. I am thinking of taking legal action against this company, if its posibble. Hence, I would like to get advice if the case can be fought in court, and what are the chances of winning. Please help. I feel that this company is cheating me. Despite my mother being a medical insurance holder, I still had to bring her to government hosp where the waiting list for treatment is longer. They are taking my money, but not giving me what I deserve.They are not being fair. I want justice. Please advice. Thank you. If this is standard SOP, then it must be made known to client before the purchase of the insurance or else there is a malice intention behind such. Imagine out of 100 clients, they reject 50, and out of 50 only 25 make noise and follow up until compensation. In such scenario, they have saved and profited from 25 clients by simply making their claims harder to get to. Wish you luck! |
Dec 12 2014, 09:58 AM
182 posts Joined: Oct 2008 |
i am not insurance agent. But i think your complaint and some of the replies are speechless.
the insurance company did not say do want to pay you. Just they asking u to pay first then claim back later if your case is genuine after investigation. So simple. As a consumer or policy holder, i think the investigation is reasonable in this situation. Dont be afraid to pay first if your case is really genuine. You are afraid to pay first because you afraid that the insurance company may not pay you back later |
Dec 12 2014, 12:10 PM
QUOTE(makinglife @ Dec 12 2014, 09:58 AM) i am not insurance agent. But i think your complaint and some of the replies are speechless. It all depends on how much the medical bill can cost.the insurance company did not say do want to pay you. Just they asking u to pay first then claim back later if your case is genuine after investigation. So simple. As a consumer or policy holder, i think the investigation is reasonable in this situation. Dont be afraid to pay first if your case is really genuine. You are afraid to pay first because you afraid that the insurance company may not pay you back later If its only RM5K, no problem, sure can pay first can claim later But if its RM50K, it could pose a problem for most salaried workers. 5% min payment if u swipe CC = RM2.5K Balance accumulate interest is enough to kill u |
Dec 16 2014, 09:22 AM
200 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Mars Planet |
Hi all you there, Just for your infomation only, You need to be carefully especially MAAKL MUTUAL BERHAD. They (UTC) were allowed to practise switch between funds to collect the dividend. When dividend collected then switching to other fund to collect the dividend so the dividend payout of a fund will dilute the fund price (switching will cost the investors).
FIMM also said it is allowed as it will avoid the timing risk. I am really speechless and I think they have lacked at all. They (UTC) also recommended anyone buying "unapproved product". You will be the next victim so.. FIMM, Securities commission and MAAKL MUTUAL BERHAD said not responsible at all. SO Carefully ya.. OK |
Dec 16 2014, 10:53 AM
QUOTE(daniel_wu @ Dec 16 2014, 09:22 AM) Hi all you there, Just for your infomation only, You need to be carefully especially MAAKL MUTUAL BERHAD. They (UTC) were allowed to practise switch between funds to collect the dividend. When dividend collected then switching to other fund to collect the dividend so the dividend payout of a fund will dilute the fund price (switching will cost the investors). i thought MAAKL Mutual was taken over by Manulife.FIMM also said it is allowed as it will avoid the timing risk. I am really speechless and I think they have lacked at all. They (UTC) also recommended anyone buying "unapproved product". You will be the next victim so.. FIMM, Securities commission and MAAKL MUTUAL BERHAD said not responsible at all. SO Carefully ya.. OK Don't think that a comany like Manulife will tolerate such unethical practices. Switching of Funds can only be done with customer consent right? Have you made complaints to the manulife or SC |
Dec 16 2014, 11:41 AM
14 posts Joined: Jul 2014 From: Escape from Planet Earth |
I have made my complaint to FIMM but unfortunately they replied me that there no misconduct. It is because i have signed the switching form.
MAAKL UTC asked me to sign the switching form faster without asked me to read the "Rules, Regulations, Laws, Policies, and Guidelines" first. SO how? Too bad.. Carefully! OK FIMM still lacking....no safe... This post has been edited by kenji_lin: Dec 16 2014, 05:31 PM |
Dec 16 2014, 11:45 AM
11,554 posts Joined: Aug 2009 |
In Malaysia, all insurance companies is like this, giving them money for them to enjoy is right, claiming from them are wrong.
So I never buy insurance anymore, as the policies are not protecting my interest. |
Dec 16 2014, 03:13 PM
670 posts Joined: Aug 2005 |
QUOTE(kenji_lin @ Dec 16 2014, 11:41 AM) I have made my complaint to FIMM but unfortunately they replied me that there no misconduct. It is because i have signed on the switch form. what they mean by signing switch form? MAAKL UTC asked me to sign my name in the form "faster" without asked me to read the "Rules, Regulations, Laws, Policies, and Guidelines" first. SO how? Too bad.. Carefully! OK FIMM still lacking....no safe... QUOTE(supersound @ Dec 16 2014, 11:45 AM) In Malaysia, all insurance companies is like this, giving them money for them to enjoy is right, claiming from them are wrong. not all insurer is like that la bro . . . just that you pick a bad apple, you forever dont eat apple mehSo I never buy insurance anymore, as the policies are not protecting my interest. thrust me 8 years in this line, insurance still have the beauty of it if not miss selling / cheat cust & etc cases due to nature of human This post has been edited by Colaboy: Dec 16 2014, 03:16 PM |
Dec 16 2014, 05:27 PM
14 posts Joined: Jul 2014 From: Escape from Planet Earth |
QUOTE(Colaboy @ Dec 16 2014, 03:13 PM) what they mean by signing switch form? i mean..sign the switching form .. it is same like "LETTER OF AUTHORIZATION FOR REPURCHASES/SWITCHING FUND" This post has been edited by kenji_lin: Dec 16 2014, 05:30 PM |
Dec 16 2014, 08:39 PM
11,554 posts Joined: Aug 2009 |
QUOTE(Colaboy @ Dec 16 2014, 03:13 PM) what they mean by signing switch form? Yup, you are right, Prudential excluded. I have a prudential agent that worked for 20 years also dare to cheat me to get his million dollar table seat, I'm sure you are also fighting for it.not all insurer is like that la bro . . . just that you pick a bad apple, you forever dont eat apple meh thrust me 8 years in this line, insurance still have the beauty of it if not miss selling / cheat cust & etc cases due to nature of human |
Dec 17 2014, 10:52 PM
2,173 posts Joined: Jan 2012 From: Butterworth, Penang |
QUOTE(daniel_wu @ Dec 16 2014, 09:22 AM) Hi all you there, Just for your infomation only, You need to be carefully especially MAAKL MUTUAL BERHAD. They (UTC) were allowed to practise switch between funds to collect the dividend. When dividend collected then switching to other fund to collect the dividend so the dividend payout of a fund will dilute the fund price (switching will cost the investors). Wait a minute. Aren't we allowed to do switching of funds without any fee or has this changed? (at least that is true in Public Mutual Gold).FIMM also said it is allowed as it will avoid the timing risk. I am really speechless and I think they have lacked at all. They (UTC) also recommended anyone buying "unapproved product". You will be the next victim so.. FIMM, Securities commission and MAAKL MUTUAL BERHAD said not responsible at all. SO Carefully ya.. OK But of course switching the funds simply without understanding the fund's status may 'dilute' the funds |
Dec 18 2014, 01:21 PM
1,522 posts Joined: Mar 2007 From: Kuala Lumpur |
QUOTE(AL0716 @ Dec 10 2014, 01:30 PM) I am having similar situation recently. In the midst of appealing now. Mind letting us know the reason of declination?GE declined my claim with reasons which is not acceptable. In short: --> the time they approach, anything CAN CAN CAN. --> the time we need claim, they will decline with all kind of funny funny reasons to leceh us. As a ex-GE staff, in order to decline a claim, we have to open a physical file and write down our justification and proof. Usually the whole file consist of 10+ pages for a single case and it's not an easy process to decline a claim. Last but not least, for every declination >RM5,000, we will need to present and get the approval from our Chief Operating Officer which is very tedious because he is our top management and that's the reason we don't decline case without solid proof. Whereas approving a claim is so much easier. I think it would be fair for both Insurer and Insured if you explain the whole situation in detail especially for the mass market. If you need help in fighting for your claim, do let me know your policy number, I'm sure I will be able to help you if your case is genuine. |
Jan 8 2015, 12:03 PM
QUOTE(ExpZero @ Dec 18 2014, 01:21 PM) Mind letting us know the reason of declination? I bought GE since 1994 (36 illness) and til Jun 2013, my agent came and approached me to upgrade my policy. Unfortunately, I diagnosed with LEFT breast cancer in May 2014. Now, they reject my claim due to the reason of "UNDISCLOSED" because they said I never disclose that I did my yearly medical check since 2001 and found I got a small cyst on my RIGHT breast. Frankly speaking, since 2001 - 2014, doctor did not comment anything on my cyst found in RIGHT breast but just advice to do yearly check up as usual. Also, my LEFT breast is normal at that time (last medical check on JAN 2014). I wrote an appeal letter and explained but still they insisted I did not disclose the "cyst found on my right breast" upon signing of the upgraded policy in Jun 2013. How do I know I have to mention about it although my doctor did not comment anything special on it????? I don't understand.eAs a ex-GE staff, in order to decline a claim, we have to open a physical file and write down our justification and proof. Usually the whole file consist of 10+ pages for a single case and it's not an easy process to decline a claim. Last but not least, for every declination >RM5,000, we will need to present and get the approval from our Chief Operating Officer which is very tedious because he is our top management and that's the reason we don't decline case without solid proof. Whereas approving a claim is so much easier. I think it would be fair for both Insurer and Insured if you explain the whole situation in detail especially for the mass market. If you need help in fighting for your claim, do let me know your policy number, I'm sure I will be able to help you if your case is genuine. Now they reject my appeal again by giving the same reason "UNDISCLOSED", at least they have to call me up and let us sit together and talk about it (I think). Otherwise, their final judgement means final, as an insurer, we have to accept.....is it???? I think the last step I could do is go to BNM and appeal. Just wanted to know, can I hire a lawyer to sue GE on this? I really do not know what to do now. I am very frustrating. As a cancer patient, the compensation and medical coverage is very important to me, but now, all gone. I feel very disappointed with insurance, I trust GE for more than 20 years but at the end, it's useless to me. What's the point???? Appreciated if anyone can assist me by giving your advice here. |
Jan 8 2015, 12:17 PM
QUOTE(cfa28 @ Dec 10 2014, 02:56 PM) Hope your appeal will be accepted. I bought GE since 1994 (36 illness) and til Jun 2013, my agent came and approached me to upgrade my policy. Unfortunately, I diagnosed with LEFT breast cancer in May 2014. Now, they reject my claim due to the reason of "UNDISCLOSED" because they said I never disclose that I did my yearly medical check since 2001 and found I got a small cyst on my RIGHT breast. Frankly speaking, since 2001 - 2014, doctor did not comment anything on my cyst found in RIGHT breast but just advice to do yearly check up as usual. Also, my LEFT breast is normal at that time (last medical check on JAN 2014). I wrote an appeal letter and explained but still they insisted I did not disclose the "cyst found on my right breast" upon signing of the upgraded policy in Jun 2013. How do I know I have to mention about it although my doctor did not comment anything special on it????? I don't understand.....it's unfair to me.Please do update and hope all is well for you. When u are better, please do give us more details God Bless Now they reject my appeal again by giving the same reason "UNDISCLOSED", at least they have to call me up and let us sit together and talk about it (I think). Otherwise, their final judgement means final, as an insurer, we have to accept.....is it???? I think the last step I could do is go to BNM and appeal. Just wanted to know, can I hire a lawyer to sue GE on this? I really do not know what to do now. I am very frustrating. As a cancer patient, the compensation and medical coverage is very important to me, but now, all gone. I feel very disappointed with insurance, I trust GE for more than 20 years but at the end, it's useless to me. What's the point???? Appreciated if anyone can assist me by giving your advice here. |
Jan 8 2015, 12:23 PM
QUOTE(AL0716 @ Jan 8 2015, 12:17 PM) I bought GE since 1994 (36 illness) and til Jun 2013, my agent came and approached me to upgrade my policy. Unfortunately, I diagnosed with LEFT breast cancer in May 2014. Now, they reject my claim due to the reason of "UNDISCLOSED" because they said I never disclose that I did my yearly medical check since 2001 and found I got a small cyst on my RIGHT breast. Frankly speaking, since 2001 - 2014, doctor did not comment anything on my cyst found in RIGHT breast but just advice to do yearly check up as usual. Also, my LEFT breast is normal at that time (last medical check on JAN 2014). I wrote an appeal letter and explained but still they insisted I did not disclose the "cyst found on my right breast" upon signing of the upgraded policy in Jun 2013. How do I know I have to mention about it although my doctor did not comment anything special on it????? I don't understand.....it's unfair to me. To me, GE should insurer based on your previous Policy then, which you bought donkey years ago.Now they reject my appeal again by giving the same reason "UNDISCLOSED", at least they have to call me up and let us sit together and talk about it (I think). Otherwise, their final judgement means final, as an insurer, we have to accept.....is it???? I think the last step I could do is go to BNM and appeal. Just wanted to know, can I hire a lawyer to sue GE on this? I really do not know what to do now. I am very frustrating. As a cancer patient, the compensation and medical coverage is very important to me, but now, all gone. I feel very disappointed with insurance, I trust GE for more than 20 years but at the end, it's useless to me. What's the point???? Appreciated if anyone can assist me by giving your advice here. You did not disclose cos 1) Doctor did not make a BIG deal out of it 2) Your Agent did not prompt you and ask you the necessary questions There is NO WAY that GE can reject you as you were a customer for 20-years They can reject you for the upgraded policy cos the timing is very close but not based on your earlier policy My wife had a similar case, bought ING like 15-years ago Then Agent asked her to upgrade policy but in less than 6-mths she had a knee operation ING Rejected and I wrote a Threatening Letter - saying what I said above, must honour based on First Policy ING eventually relented Hope it helps Btw, your Agent sucks - so just blame the Agent for nor prompting you CC your letter to BNM |
Jan 8 2015, 04:07 PM
220 posts Joined: Jul 2009 |
QUOTE(AL0716 @ Jan 8 2015, 12:17 PM) I bought GE since 1994 (36 illness) and til Jun 2013, my agent came and approached me to upgrade my policy. Unfortunately, I diagnosed with LEFT breast cancer in May 2014. Now, they reject my claim due to the reason of "UNDISCLOSED" because they said I never disclose that I did my yearly medical check since 2001 and found I got a small cyst on my RIGHT breast. Frankly speaking, since 2001 - 2014, doctor did not comment anything on my cyst found in RIGHT breast but just advice to do yearly check up as usual. Also, my LEFT breast is normal at that time (last medical check on JAN 2014). I wrote an appeal letter and explained but still they insisted I did not disclose the "cyst found on my right breast" upon signing of the upgraded policy in Jun 2013. How do I know I have to mention about it although my doctor did not comment anything special on it????? I don't understand.....it's unfair to me. Firstly very sorry to hear of your diagnosis, hope that you will get well soon. I believe you have rather a strong case here because a cyst in 2001 may not be related to cancer in 2014. Furthermore, your policy was bought way back in 1994 when the cyst was non existent then. Now they reject my appeal again by giving the same reason "UNDISCLOSED", at least they have to call me up and let us sit together and talk about it (I think). Otherwise, their final judgement means final, as an insurer, we have to accept.....is it???? I think the last step I could do is go to BNM and appeal. Just wanted to know, can I hire a lawyer to sue GE on this? I really do not know what to do now. I am very frustrating. As a cancer patient, the compensation and medical coverage is very important to me, but now, all gone. I feel very disappointed with insurance, I trust GE for more than 20 years but at the end, it's useless to me. What's the point???? Appreciated if anyone can assist me by giving your advice here. Suggest to write to Financial Mediation Bureau which is stated in the decline letter sent to you. They are rather unbiased. Good luck. |
Jan 8 2015, 05:05 PM
QUOTE(zest168 @ Jan 8 2015, 04:07 PM) Firstly very sorry to hear of your diagnosis, hope that you will get well soon. I believe you have rather a strong case here because a cyst in 2001 may not be related to cancer in 2014. Furthermore, your policy was bought way back in 1994 when the cyst was non existent then. May be I din stated clearly. Actually they have settled (paid) the policy which I bought in 1994. The one that declined was the upgraded policy which entered in may 2013. But based on the info I mentioned above, I felt like being cheated.Suggest to write to Financial Mediation Bureau which is stated in the decline letter sent to you. They are rather unbiased. Good luck. |
| Change to: | 0.0266sec
5 queries
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 10:41 AM |