Palit 6800GS, anybody?

TSsteven437
post Jul 11 2006, 03:34 PM, updated 20y ago

I'm crazy, do you?
2,079 posts

does anybody here successfully unlock all the 16/6 on this card???want to know if there is anybody have unlocking this card.
cklim85
post Jul 11 2006, 03:58 PM

96 posts

erm if i'm not mistaken.. this card cannot be unlock as they are using the nv42 gpu and not nv40. Nv42 gpu is for pcie and nv40 is for agp...but for palit 6800gs(agp), they also use nv42 and bridge it to agp.. so in conclusions, palit/xpertvision 6800gs cannot be unlock...
TSsteven437
post Jul 11 2006, 04:18 PM

I'm crazy, do you?
2,079 posts

QUOTE(cklim85 @ Jul 11 2006, 03:58 PM)
erm if i'm not mistaken.. this card cannot be unlock as they are using the nv42 gpu and not nv40. Nv42 gpu is for pcie and nv40 is for agp...but for palit 6800gs(agp), they also use nv42 and bridge it to agp.. so in conclusions, palit/xpertvision 6800gs cannot be unlock...
aiyo teng lor tongue.gif

PK liau this time sad.gif

haii thought can OC OC abit mana tau use different core pulak sad.gif how??can i still mess with the core and mem speed??
cklim85
post Jul 11 2006, 04:26 PM

96 posts

ya u still can overclock the core and mem.. nv42 is a very good core for overclocking....
TSsteven437
post Jul 11 2006, 05:12 PM

I'm crazy, do you?
2,079 posts

QUOTE(cklim85 @ Jul 11 2006, 04:26 PM)
ya u still can overclock the core and mem.. nv42 is a very good core for overclocking....
what bout nv40??does it good for oc tongue.gif
coolblade
post Jul 12 2006, 01:15 AM

298 posts

I have a palit 6800GS. Just bought it last week.

steven, do u have this card too?

yup, the vertex and pixel shader pipeline can't be unlocked. i've tried the rivatuner utility software but not to avail in attempt to get these extra pipeline.

I wonder if cklim statement was true, then the nv42 technology prevent me to unlock these extra pipeline.

by the way, i think i can overclock the core and memory but i am still think twice because the palit card was still under warranty... sweat.gif

anyone can recommend a suitable aftermarket GPU heatsink for this 6800GS card?

maybe coolviva or artic cooling silencer 5? mm hmm..

This post has been edited by coolblade: Jul 12 2006, 01:21 AM
lactose_operon
post Jul 12 2006, 07:41 PM

[WTS] l.o.v.3
1,184 posts

dude..if its still under warranty...its the most suitable time to oc rclxm9.gif
max_cjs0101
post Jul 12 2006, 08:07 PM

Tarp hater and detector
1,368 posts

QUOTE(lactose_operon @ Jul 12 2006, 07:41 PM)
dude..if its still under warranty...its the most suitable time to oc rclxm9.gif
If oc core/mem speed nvm la..If flash,better don't lo...
Kaellis
post Jul 13 2006, 12:46 AM

Certified Perodua Alza hater
1,231 posts

does this card can do volt mod like 6800gs pcie(using pencil mod) at vr-zone
I wanna try rolleyes.gif

anyone?
TSsteven437
post Jul 13 2006, 11:04 AM

I'm crazy, do you?
2,079 posts

QUOTE(Kaellis @ Jul 13 2006, 12:46 AM)
does this card can do volt mod like 6800gs pcie(using pencil mod) at vr-zone
I wanna try rolleyes.gif

anyone?
waaahhhh just make sure you don't kill the card tongue.gif

by the way what you think about nv41 core??does it have the potential on oc?
TSsteven437
post Jul 13 2006, 11:06 AM

I'm crazy, do you?
2,079 posts

QUOTE(max_cjs0101 @ Jul 12 2006, 08:07 PM)
If oc core/mem speed nvm la..If flash,better don't lo...
i want to try flash to ultra bios tongue.gif and see if it work or not biggrin.gif huhuhuhu tongue.gif if it can't work, then have to reflash it to the gs again tongue.gif

probably the gs sonic and the gs super from palit, the board might be the same board as the normal gs tongue.gif any body want to try to flash it to gs sonic or super tongue.gif
TSsteven437
post Jul 13 2006, 07:50 PM

I'm crazy, do you?
2,079 posts

hahahaha got my card today biggrin.gif

overclocked from 350/1000 ---> 510/1350 temp at 57c

now want to run stress biggrin.gif

wish me good luck biggrin.gif
TSsteven437
post Jul 13 2006, 09:55 PM

I'm crazy, do you?
2,079 posts

guys anybody have a good recomendation for good heatsink for this card??

just now run stress whole pc hang sad.gif i think the card too hot liau sad.gif now tune it back to normal speed tongue.gif

don't want to kill the card tongue.gif

hehehe
linkin182
post Jul 13 2006, 10:54 PM

283 posts

whoa!? 6800gs can go to 510? on core? WAAAH! 1350 on ram!!??? wooooh...hmmz...i wonder how the ultra fare like that? with 16 pipes!?

btw...can hardmod the 6800 ah?? tongue.gif
TSsteven437
post Jul 13 2006, 11:01 PM

I'm crazy, do you?
2,079 posts

QUOTE(linkin182 @ Jul 13 2006, 10:54 PM)
whoa!? 6800gs can go to 510? on core? WAAAH! 1350 on ram!!??? wooooh...hmmz...i wonder how the ultra fare like that? with 16 pipes!?

btw...can hardmod the 6800 ah?? tongue.gif
i'm still testing it biggrin.gif

still using the original heatsink and original fan biggrin.gif, so after knowing it can do 510/1350 then i try with playing game, and the game get frozen after several minute tongue.gif so i restart my machine make sure everything is good in place and tune back to original speed biggrin.gif

me now still downloading 3dmark to stress kau kau, and get a better heatsink and fan biggrin.gif, after that trying to flash to ultra biggrin.gif

muaa hahahaha biggrin.gif

must be my lucky day biggrin.gif

hardmod arr tongue.gif me not very don't know wor tongue.gif no knowledge in hard mod biggrin.gif hehehe

This post has been edited by steven437: Jul 13 2006, 11:01 PM
Kaellis
post Jul 14 2006, 01:59 AM

Certified Perodua Alza hater
1,231 posts

mine got 530/1350 ddr got artifacts but dont notice it in game
no prob running game

i wanna change to zalman but ppl say hsi will kacau sweat.gif

why wanna flash to ultra?the ultra core is nv40 and palit 6800gs is nv42 doh.gif

goldfries
post Jul 14 2006, 02:03 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

i would suggest a step-by-step (gradual) OCing without touching the BIOS.

if it already could meet your need, then it's no point tampering / pushing it any further unless you want more things to do .......or bragging rights. biggrin.gif
linkin182
post Jul 14 2006, 08:05 AM

283 posts

a question...the 7600 core uses which core aH? nv40? or nv41? or nv42? of coz 7600 series run on different architecture la..but hey...if the GS can already go 500mhz (<-- consider stable? wif proper hsf?) then the ultra maybe can push to 550? or 560? thats as good as 7600 edi~ (correct me if im wrong)

hehe..been an ATI user la..only now..alot of LYP forumers are changing my mind! (STOP OC-ing Nvidia's! they're killing ATI LOL)
TSsteven437
post Jul 14 2006, 11:22 AM

I'm crazy, do you?
2,079 posts

QUOTE(Kaellis @ Jul 14 2006, 01:59 AM)
mine got 530/1350 ddr got artifacts but dont notice it in game
no prob running game

i wanna change to zalman but ppl say hsi will kacau  sweat.gif

why wanna flash to ultra?the ultra core is nv40 and palit 6800gs is nv42 doh.gif
my palit card is nv41, why want to change to ultra arr tongue.gif don't know just want to test it biggrin.gif for the OC fun maybe biggrin.gif hehehehe

by the way what heatsink you are using? 530/1350 is pretty impressive

QUOTE(goldfries @ Jul 14 2006, 02:03 AM)
i would suggest a step-by-step (gradual) OCing without touching the BIOS.

if it already could meet your need, then it's no point tampering / pushing it any further unless you want more things to do .......or bragging rights. biggrin.gif
hehehe i kind of agree with you tongue.gif hmmm maybe i'll stop there when i get a better heatsink biggrin.gif
TSsteven437
post Jul 14 2006, 11:28 AM

I'm crazy, do you?
2,079 posts

QUOTE(linkin182 @ Jul 14 2006, 08:05 AM)
a question...the 7600 core uses which core aH? nv40? or nv41? or nv42? of coz 7600 series run on different architecture la..but hey...if the GS can already go 500mhz (<-- consider stable? wif proper hsf?) then the ultra maybe can push to 550? or 560? thats as good as 7600 edi~ (correct me if im wrong)

hehe..been an ATI user la..only now..alot of LYP forumers are changing my mind! (STOP OC-ing Nvidia's! they're killing ATI LOL)
i'm not sure lar, but i think all the pcie card is running on nv41, 42, 45

not sure about 7600gs biggrin.gif maybe google wub.gif have the answer

This post has been edited by steven437: Jul 14 2006, 11:29 AM

0.0166sec    0.59    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 12:09 AM