> cimb account number shorter

TSsaigetsu
post Feb 4 2014, 08:27 AM, updated 12y ago

707 posts

Hi k, after updated cimb thingy, i notice my account number has changed...

Based on cimb click it become shorter so does my favourite accounts. So next time need to use which avcount number? The old one 16 digits or the shorter one?
queenc
post Feb 4 2014, 08:28 AM

~GGMU~
1,853 posts

wow... tukar baru ke.. never know that.
WhatMan
post Feb 4 2014, 08:30 AM

1,623 posts

Ya? I better check mine too.
rayng18
post Feb 4 2014, 08:32 AM

1,481 posts

of course the new 10digit number lah, at the moment can still use the old 16digit until its completely phased out
donalduck
post Feb 4 2014, 08:35 AM

452 posts

haiz i already hafal my 16 number, now need to hafal new one.

when phase out?
queenc
post Feb 4 2014, 08:36 AM

~GGMU~
1,853 posts

QUOTE(donalduck @ Feb 4 2014, 08:35 AM)

when phase out?
later tonite
memphiz_zero88
post Feb 4 2014, 08:40 AM

My stars has gone. T_T
2,255 posts

QUOTE(saigetsu @ Feb 4 2014, 08:27 AM)
Hi k, after updated cimb thingy, i notice my account number has changed...

Based on cimb click it become shorter so does my favourite accounts. So next time need to use which avcount number? The old one 16 digits or the shorter one?
http://www.cimbbank.com.my/important_notic...AQ_A4_V2_D3.pdf
SUSGlockers
post Feb 4 2014, 08:44 AM

169 posts

Senang nak ingat skit. ..
deanunited07
post Feb 4 2014, 08:44 AM

191 posts

ya hooo.....

later pipu wrongly bank-in to me how le?

rclxms.gif
TSsaigetsu
post Feb 4 2014, 08:48 AM

707 posts

Shit. Seriously. Not many people know about this. Stupid la... Bgtau upfront la. Bodo
red streak
post Feb 4 2014, 08:48 AM

Doto 2 Pinoy Slayer
1,594 posts

QUOTE(deanunited07 @ Feb 4 2014, 08:44 AM)
ya hooo.....

later pipu wrongly bank-in to me how le?

rclxms.gif
The old one still works.
fantasy1989
post Feb 4 2014, 09:07 AM

4,707 posts

QUOTE(saigetsu @ Feb 4 2014, 08:48 AM)
Shit. Seriously. Not many people know about this. Stupid la... Bgtau upfront la. Bodo
u must be the ppl who login cimbclicks and straight press X on that pop up message box

https://www.cimbclicks.com.my/upgrade-ok.html

This post has been edited by fantasy1989: Feb 4 2014, 09:13 AM
memphiz_zero88
post Feb 4 2014, 09:10 AM

My stars has gone. T_T
2,255 posts

orang dh bgtau sebelum upgrade lagi doh.gif
deanunited07
post Feb 4 2014, 09:15 AM

191 posts

baru tau pagi ni pasal benda ni

suprisingly

all my kolik also baru tau

sebab aku yg bagitau dorg

nasib baik TS dah bagitau psl ni

kalau tak,tak tau la aku

tongue.gif
vin_ann
post Feb 4 2014, 09:21 AM

10,912 posts

holy shitzzzzzz
sharpeye
post Feb 4 2014, 09:27 AM

24 posts

i dun think they will phase out the old number.. they just hide the old number and ppl will forced to use the new number
Scar_face
post Feb 4 2014, 09:28 AM

522 posts

either one can be use..old or new
Black Red
post Feb 4 2014, 09:30 AM

485 posts

will it affect the autodebit that we have? because account number is different dy.
Scar_face
post Feb 4 2014, 09:32 AM

522 posts

plus if u got normal cimb acc gonna show as SA PASSBOOK, if islamic gonna show WADIAH
memphiz_zero88
post Feb 4 2014, 09:39 AM

My stars has gone. T_T
2,255 posts

QUOTE(Black Red @ Feb 4 2014, 09:30 AM)
will it affect the autodebit that we have? because account number is different dy.
don't think got problem since old account no still can be used.
Black Red
post Feb 4 2014, 09:43 AM

485 posts

QUOTE(memphiz_zero88 @ Feb 4 2014, 09:39 AM)
don't think got problem since old account no still can be used.
thanks, than what's the use of the new account number? rclxub.gif
memphiz_zero88
post Feb 4 2014, 09:46 AM

My stars has gone. T_T
2,255 posts

QUOTE(Black Red @ Feb 4 2014, 09:43 AM)
thanks, than what's the use of the new account number?  rclxub.gif
maybe due to the new system core change. so they have to assign new account no.

they do make it convenient for users by letting them keep using the old account no, so nothing to worry about. only those who're too lazy to read the note saying this is a problem.

just consider that your CIMB account now has 2 account no, one is the old 14 digit number and another one is the new 10 digit number.

This post has been edited by memphiz_zero88: Feb 4 2014, 09:48 AM
Joeyskullz
post Feb 4 2014, 10:40 AM

244 posts

QUOTE(donalduck @ Feb 4 2014, 09:35 AM)

when phase out?
You can still use the old account number it will auto direct to new account number later on. thumbup.gif
donalduck
post Feb 4 2014, 10:41 AM

452 posts

ty
Gamer88
post Feb 4 2014, 10:48 AM

52 posts

Hopefully ptptn money can still come to old account
iskazulka
post Feb 4 2014, 11:43 AM

62 posts

QUOTE(Black Red @ Feb 4 2014, 10:43 AM)
thanks, than what's the use of the new account number?  rclxub.gif
change new system, then kena change new number lor. but most people will not aware of it. if halt all the old numbers, then will cause uncomfortable for them, then cause havoc one ma. bank will give ample time before they blocked the old numbers. same as before eon bank account bank change to hong leong bank account bank. nothing to shout about.
WhatMan
post Feb 4 2014, 11:45 AM

1,623 posts

Wah my account number also gone 13" to 2". This is good because the old one was ridiculously long.

deanunited07
post Feb 4 2014, 01:59 PM

191 posts

so,this thing didnt affect br1m application right? cause when i fill the br1m form,i put my old cimb acct no there...
MjMax15
post Feb 4 2014, 02:09 PM

Uncle Scrooge is back!
1,372 posts

bawak bertendang guys.
this is my 3rd account no change since bumiputra commerce.
SUSFreeloader
post Feb 4 2014, 02:20 PM

82 posts

wah 2 pages and no CIMB defenders yet.

anyway expected la.

CIMB, Cibai Malaysia Bank.
memphiz_zero88
post Feb 4 2014, 02:25 PM

My stars has gone. T_T
2,255 posts

QUOTE(deanunited07 @ Feb 4 2014, 01:59 PM)
so,this thing didnt affect br1m application right? cause when i fill the br1m form,i put my old cimb acct no there...
no
Boldnut
post Feb 4 2014, 02:28 PM

2,209 posts

I still kanot brain why need to shorten the acc number. 14digit is not really too long.

inb4 later 10digit habis guna have to upgrade 11digit lagi.
ClericKilla
post Feb 4 2014, 02:29 PM

1,789 posts

QUOTE(fantasy1989 @ Feb 4 2014, 09:07 AM)
u must be the ppl who login cimbclicks and straight press X on that pop up message box
https://www.cimbclicks.com.my/upgrade-ok.html
+1 just like some customers I know who complain this and that but actually sendiri tak baca TnC and info. doh.gif
memphiz_zero88
post Feb 4 2014, 02:36 PM

My stars has gone. T_T
2,255 posts

QUOTE(Boldnut @ Feb 4 2014, 02:28 PM)
I still kanot brain why need to shorten the acc number. 14digit is not really too long.

inb4 later 10digit habis guna have to upgrade 11digit lagi.
maybe bcoz of the new system, old 14 digit account no not compatible with it. so they convert it to 10 digit but still letting users use the old account no.

inb4 waiting for owner of account no 7999999999
Boldnut
post Feb 4 2014, 02:38 PM

2,209 posts

QUOTE(memphiz_zero88 @ Feb 4 2014, 02:36 PM)
maybe bcoz of the new system, old 14 digit account no not compatible with it. so they convert it to 10 digit but still letting users use the old account no.

inb4 waiting for owner of account no 7999999999

lousy system I guess? lel

fantasy1989
post Feb 4 2014, 02:44 PM

4,707 posts

QUOTE(Boldnut @ Feb 4 2014, 02:38 PM)
lousy system I guess? lel
what i know is they want to standardize it ..because some bank(especially international) are having some difficulty to transfer it to cimb bank account (because their bank didnt provide such long column for them to fill up) hmm.gif

if 14 digit is perform well ..then whats the point to "downgrade" the length?

and 10 digit should be more than enough for malaysia saving/current account ..unless we got more than 99mil of peoples hmm.gif

This post has been edited by fantasy1989: Feb 4 2014, 02:47 PM
homicidal85
post Feb 4 2014, 02:50 PM

295 posts

dah bagitau upfront tapi orang bodoh still ignore, what to do? need to send rep go visit every single account holder to personally inform?
Boldnut
post Feb 4 2014, 02:56 PM

2,209 posts

QUOTE(fantasy1989 @ Feb 4 2014, 02:44 PM)
what i know is they want to standardize it ..because some bank(especially international) are having some difficulty to transfer it to cimb bank account (because their bank didnt provide such long column for them to fill up)  hmm.gif

if 14 digit is perform well ..then whats the point to "downgrade" the length?

and 10 digit should be more than enough for malaysia saving/current account ..unless we got more than 99mil of peoples  hmm.gif

So other bank fault lah. laugh.gif btw, some people got a few acc one lah, so it is not exactly 99mil laugh.gif

Now abit mahfan haiz, have to install new acc # into my brain memory again. *cant keep using old one either since they sooner or later need to phase one. tongue.gif

btw, their cimb clicks password maxlength is a bit short doh.gif (at least b4 this upgrade, I havent visit them since upgrade)

This post has been edited by Boldnut: Feb 4 2014, 02:57 PM
satayboy2003
post Feb 4 2014, 02:56 PM

L.O.V.E
635 posts

burn with freaking old acc. no...
the 10 number is freaking smooth to remember. . . #myacc.lah
fantasy1989
post Feb 4 2014, 02:57 PM

4,707 posts

QUOTE(Boldnut @ Feb 4 2014, 02:56 PM)
So other bank fault lah.  laugh.gif btw, some people got a few acc one lah, so it is not exactly 99mil  laugh.gif

Now abit mahfan haiz, have to install new acc # into my brain memory again. *cant keep using old one either since they sooner or later need to phase one.  tongue.gif
lol ...ya lo ...i can recall my old 14 digit account anytime
memphiz_zero88
post Feb 4 2014, 03:00 PM

My stars has gone. T_T
2,255 posts

i can't even recall my old 14 digit account no sweat.gif
cfa28
post Feb 4 2014, 03:16 PM

4,830 posts

I cannot brain how badly CIMB has managed this Systems Upgrade.

Just telling their customers, SORRY, for the long CNY Weekend, just withdraw your money in advance cos its all systems down (save for Credit Cards) is just the wrong way to go.

Its not about giving notice but causing inconvenience to your customers.

I was at the shopping mall for the CNY Holiday and at each day, I saw angry people at the CIMB ATM Machine and I had to tell them its 100% Systems down for ATM cos those ppl also tried at the other ATM Machine.

Someone in CIMB should make a public apolgy.

nazrul90
post Feb 4 2014, 03:24 PM

302 posts

already make notice. bodoh
^pomen_GTR^
post Feb 4 2014, 03:32 PM

1,077 posts

tau tau tau tau tau
sjz
post Feb 7 2014, 08:28 PM

3,878 posts

its juz a matter of time before they discontinue the old account number...
and it will create a hell lot of confusion with 2 account number...

its plain stupid for a bank to change account number without any merger happening, like bank being sold then no choice..

This post has been edited by sjz: Feb 7 2014, 08:29 PM
Tuah_3
post Feb 7 2014, 08:34 PM

98 posts

izit the old acc number not use anymore... or it will redirect to new acc no if enter old acc no??

if not, aiyyoo.. kacau la BRIM mcm ni.. if need to update must go KDN..??

C**** bank laaa....
SUSfuzzy
post Feb 7 2014, 08:35 PM

*pew pew pew*
7,106 posts

QUOTE(sjz @ Feb 7 2014, 08:28 PM)
its juz a matter of time before they discontinue the old account number...
and it will create a hell lot of confusion with 2 account number...

its plain stupid for a bank to change account number without any merger happening, like bank being sold then no choice..
The reason it is being change is due to the new core banking system implementation, which means all the CIMBs across the region will share the same IT platform and thus account number. This is to facilitate cross border trades / transactions.

It is not done for fun and if you rage now, you wait until Maybank, RHB and the rest does the same. The reason they are not doing it yet is simply because their system is not ready. It was also done during the festive season because that is the time most businesses do not crucially rely on the banking system (as many is closed for holidays) thus the criticality and risk is lower. smile.gif
sjz
post Feb 7 2014, 08:38 PM

3,878 posts

QUOTE(fuzzy @ Feb 7 2014, 08:35 PM)
The reason it is being change is due to the new core banking system implementation, which means all the CIMBs across the region will share the same IT platform and thus account number. This is to facilitate cross border trades / transactions.

It is not done for fun and if you rage now, you wait until Maybank, RHB and the rest does the same. The reason they are not doing it yet is simply because their system is not ready. It was also done during the festive season because that is the time most businesses do not crucially rely on the banking system (as many is closed for holidays) thus the criticality and risk is lower.  smile.gif
the comparison is very simple...

for the sake of small amount of customers using CIMB cross border trades / transactions , ALL customers not using cross border trades system are being affected?

we will see if maybank or RHB will do the same..
but chances are there since bolehland management especially GLC seemed to think in a different way than other countries.

This post has been edited by sjz: Feb 7 2014, 08:39 PM
SUSfuzzy
post Feb 7 2014, 08:46 PM

*pew pew pew*
7,106 posts

QUOTE(sjz @ Feb 7 2014, 08:38 PM)
the comparison is very simple...

for the sake of small amount of customers using CIMB cross border trades / transactions , ALL customers not using cross border trades system are being affected?

we will see if maybank or RHB will do the same..
but chances are there since bolehland management especially GLC seemed to think in a different way than other countries.
You will be surprised. Consumer banking, while remaining the bread and butter for banks, pales in comparison to investment, commercial, private wealth, SME, etc etc... This is done mainly for businesses (your MNCs and such) as well as to enhance the bank's back end system as there were a lot of systems that have been in used since the 80's. Many systems are just applied on top of older systems or small improvements.

I can bet you they will follow as I have some first hand knowledge of those wink.gif .. I think Maybank is probabaly just a year or so behind? There are some Tigers here that might be able to shed a more accurate light on the timeline. Maybe they can do it much better than CIMB, but they should since they would be able to learn from whatever CIMB has done.
xpole
post Feb 7 2014, 08:48 PM

Rain on me baby
1,410 posts

My grandma applied BRIM using CIMB account. Do i need to update it?
memphiz_zero88
post Feb 7 2014, 08:59 PM

My stars has gone. T_T
2,255 posts

QUOTE(Tuah_3 @ Feb 7 2014, 08:34 PM)
izit the old acc number not use anymore... or it will redirect to new acc no if enter old acc no??

if not, aiyyoo.. kacau la BRIM mcm ni.. if need to update must go KDN..??

C**** bank laaa....
QUOTE(xpole @ Feb 7 2014, 08:48 PM)
My grandma applied BRIM using CIMB account. Do i need to update it?
any transaction done with the old account no will redirect to the new account no. so no need to update.

0.0212sec    0.57    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 06:18 PM