Advice on changing career choice resume., Any guidance is appreciated thanks.

nononsense
post Feb 16 2014, 12:52 AM

106 posts

QUOTE(brightjoey @ Feb 2 2014, 10:54 PM)
I have worked in a food manufacturing company as a production engineer for 1 year. After a while I really felt this job isn't suitable for me. I like to do more technical stuff and work with electronic industry, never try never know right? Problem is I applied to many companies but haven't receive a single callback. Now I'm wasn't sure whether it's my poor grades or my poor resume or changing industry, but I want to fix my problem.
Can any sifu take a look at my resume and recommend correction? I really hope to work in Penang Island but if really no choice then I have to apply to KL.

If too troublesome to dl then screenshot here:

Had a quick glance through at your resume and my suggestion would be :-
1. Remove diploma CGPA. It is too low to do you any good and might harm your chances.
2. Remove SPM results. It is not even relevant when you have a degree and diploma.
3. Work experience might be too boring for HR. Suggest you try to make it more interesting? Maybe add in some accomplishment?
4. Remove expected salary. No point to tie down your negotiation power.
5. Remove irrelevant personal particulars i.e. IC number, transportation.
6. Seems like you have leadership and event organising experience. I would suggest you re-phase these to your advantages and park it under skills. For example, list out communication skills and you go on to show how you are the MC for the event. Fully attended by students is too vague. If there are thousands of participants, do not be shy and make sure you quantified it in your resume as a key strength.
7. I would suggest you remove the Warcraft 3 name from your resume. Some interviewers might interpret it as being too childish. Instead, you could maybe list it as an event organising skills. For e.g. organised inter school computer game tournament whereby xxx number of participants attended.
8. Why the heck is FYP included? Is it applicable? If not, remove it.

0.0192sec    0.64    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 03:04 PM