West Highland White Terrier aka Westie, Importing it... soon!

TSPennywise
post Jul 10 2006, 02:53 AM, updated 20y ago

5,796 posts

A couple of days ago, I started a thread wondering which pet-dog should I get. In the end of the discussion, I settled with the idea of buying a West Highland White Terrier also known as Westie.

What I didnt know is that, this dog is quite rare in M'sia. I searched The Star's Classifieds but there was none. Looked back through into two weeks old newspapers but there's none to be found. I asked a few (7 - 8) petstore in Klang but none of them can help me.

If you guys or girls know any Westie owners or breeders who has a puppy, please let me know.

I am looking for:
- MALE puppy
- PURE breed
- Age of 2 - 4 MONTHS old

If I cannot find any local breeders by the end of this week. I will ask my cousin in Australia to help me find a breeder and fly it back with them when they come back in Aug' 06.

If all else fails, I will just have to import them back via air-freight. Locally, I have relatives and friends who owns freight company that can do the cargo clearance for me at the airport.

For any other Westie lovers, if you are interested, you can bulk purchase with me. I do not know how much the overall cost might be yet but if you are interested, drop me a PM and I will let you guys know.

I am calling up MAS cargo dept for more information on pets import tomorrow. Thanks in advance on any help that you guys can provide me with on a Westie. Appreciated.
nairud
post Jul 10 2006, 08:28 AM

One Leg Kick Ultra
7,529 posts

I've read your questions over there and seriously, what makes you opt for a westie? They, as terriers, are a yappy type just like MS.
TSPennywise
post Jul 10 2006, 06:11 PM

5,796 posts

What makes me opt for a westie? Cause they are white and they dont shed and I like how they look like. Simple adorable.

Here's my reason:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/West_Highland_White_Terrier

Look at the picture on the right hand side which says "A West Highland White Terrier groomed with "Lion Cut""
sx_wayne
post Jul 10 2006, 06:20 PM

543 posts

Last time i found this kind of dog in Malaysia...& my friend said she know the breeder as well but this kind of dog is quite expensive...maybe i could ask for you if you wanna find in Malaysia...
crazymouse_yyh
post Jul 10 2006, 06:24 PM

www.suggiesathome .wordpress.com
12,047 posts

Actually this breed is barkish lah... My friend's friend has one and it is debarked under Australian law coz the dog is too noisy and barkish.... so if you can stand barks here and there, train it to be less yappy the should be ok.
TSPennywise
post Jul 10 2006, 07:14 PM

5,796 posts

QUOTE(sx_wayne @ Jul 10 2006, 06:20 PM)
Last time i found this kind of dog in Malaysia...& my friend said she know the breeder as well but this kind of dog is quite expensive...maybe i could ask for you if you wanna find in Malaysia...
If you could help me locate a breeder, please do. Much appreciated. Thanks!

QUOTE(crazymouse_yyh @ Jul 10 2006, 06:24 PM)
Actually this breed is barkish lah... My friend's friend has one and it is debarked under Australian law coz the dog is too noisy and barkish.... so if you can stand barks here and there, train it to be less yappy the should be ok.
Barkish eh? Well, I think they should be a way to overcome that right? All we need is a little training. I'm all prepared for war with my Westie!
crazymouse_yyh
post Jul 10 2006, 07:18 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(Pennywise @ Jul 10 2006, 07:14 PM)
If you could help me locate a breeder, please do. Much appreciated. Thanks!
Barkish eh? Well, I think they should be a way to overcome that right? All we need is a little training. I'm all prepared for war with my Westie!
Yah, train when young. Now my dog knows how to stop barking after I scold it Shut Up hahahah...
TSPennywise
post Jul 10 2006, 07:24 PM

5,796 posts

QUOTE(crazymouse_yyh @ Jul 10 2006, 07:18 PM)
Yah, train when young. Now my dog knows how to stop barking after I scold it Shut Up hahahah...
Woahhh, just SHUT UP will do the trick? Is that your dog in your avatar.

I have zero experience with dogs. Used to be a dog-hater too! Fell in love with a puppy Shih-Tzu in one of my recent visits to the pet store but their fur pose a problem to my household, thus a Westie, but now their price pose a problem to my wallet!!
crazymouse_yyh
post Jul 10 2006, 07:26 PM

12,047 posts

I got 4 dogs... the one in my avatar will shut up when see newspaper... lol, my dad trained him to understand rolled up newspaper....

My smaller dog, the CKCS is with the shut up command hahah... took me some time too.

Well, once you like a dog, you will like it no matter what.... do read up online, got many dog guide websites. Or go to MPH and get a book on training.... I got a few books and it helps a lot.
TAGreptiles
post Jul 10 2006, 07:31 PM

taggyMY
1,874 posts

QUOTE(crazymouse_yyh @ Jul 10 2006, 07:18 PM)
she's still to a certain limit annoying...lol....especially when we drop by at night...she wake up the whole house. lol. before take off shoes must carry her first...or else...yap yap yap non stop...hahahha

TSPennywise
post Jul 10 2006, 07:56 PM

5,796 posts

I was wondering... If you teach a dog to do their business (pee and poo) on a newspaper. The newspaper will have to be thick to sustain everything right? One day = one newspaper?

ANother thing is, if you already teach your dog to do their business on the newspaper. Then we cannot teach them to fetch the morning newspaper anymore, right?
crazymouse_yyh
post Jul 10 2006, 08:19 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(TAGreptiles @ Jul 10 2006, 07:31 PM)
she's still to a certain limit annoying...lol....especially when we drop by at night...she wake up the whole house. lol. before take off shoes must carry her first...or else...yap yap yap non stop...hahahha
Hahah... can't be helped lah... she LOVES visitors... especially the people she recognises lah hehehe.... But then after you carry her and layan her she will quiet down wan. tongue.gif

QUOTE(Pennywise @ Jul 10 2006, 07:56 PM)
I was wondering... If you teach a dog to do their business (pee and poo) on a newspaper. The newspaper will have to be thick to sustain everything right? One day = one newspaper?

ANother thing is, if you already teach your dog to do their business on the newspaper. Then we cannot teach them to fetch the morning newspaper anymore, right?
You live landed property or condo? Coz I still think let dogs do their business on grass is the easiest to train... I tried newspaper and it worked also but I see better results when they do on grass.

You will need say 10 pieces of paper thickness if not at home.... but if you are around, then half of that lah. A dog won't reuse the same newspaper if wet or soiled, so best you give large space of newspaper.

Fetch the morning paper? LOL.... dunno, never train that before coz we go out to buy paper hehehe....
TSPennywise
post Jul 10 2006, 11:21 PM

5,796 posts

I live in double storey terrace, moving house next year - still constructing at the moment.

Well, the problem is at my current compound, my mom use the garden to tanam her plants - those herbal plants, medicinal plants, etc. I scared if my dog pee or poo on it, my mother will kill it and cook claypot dog-meat.

I am planning to set up a play-pen for my dog whenever I go to work. Afternoon, my sister will train and play with it. At night, it will either watch TV with my granny or come play with me when I'm home. Either way, I was told that puppies sleep a lot so my worries are lessen.

If it cannot fetch the morning paper, nevermind. Important is the poo & pee problem. If they can target the newspaper, everything would be PERFECT! That is my main worry for now.
smellyocheese
post Jul 11 2006, 10:34 AM

Quack
2,599 posts

QUOTE(TAGreptiles @ Jul 10 2006, 07:31 PM)
but she's too cute!! annoying also nevermind tongue.gif
TSPennywise
post Jul 11 2006, 11:37 PM

5,796 posts

This is probably a silly question but why does the Westie have two different looks?

If you look at this website: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/West_Highland_White_Terrier

The top right picture says: A West Highland White Terrier groomed with "Lion Cut"

The bottom right picture says: Westie wearing the Clan Campbell tartan of the Duke of Argyll (with a Kilted companion)

Somehow, when I compare these two pictures, I feel they look different - WHY?

Is it because one has a longer fur and one has a shorter one?

Or one has just been groomed and the other havent?

I think the top picture Westie look pretty handsome, meanwhile the bottom picture look plain going ugly. Can anyone explain to me this issue?
crazymouse_yyh
post Jul 11 2006, 11:43 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(Pennywise @ Jul 11 2006, 11:37 PM)
This is probably a silly question but why does the Westie have two different looks?

If you look at this website: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/West_Highland_White_Terrier

The top right picture says: A West Highland White Terrier groomed with "Lion Cut"

The bottom right picture says: Westie wearing the Clan Campbell tartan of the Duke of Argyll (with a Kilted companion)

Somehow, when I compare these two pictures, I feel they look different - WHY?

Is it because one has a longer fur and one has a shorter one?

Or one has just been groomed and the other havent?

I think the top picture Westie look pretty handsome, meanwhile the bottom picture look plain going ugly. Can anyone explain to me this issue?
It is the wat it is groomed. Thier fur don't need as much grooming as a shih tzu but they still need to go for grooming once in 2 months to have a good upkeep of fur.

Lion Cut is just a hair cut. All Westies looks the same when not groomed.
TSPennywise
post Jul 11 2006, 11:52 PM

5,796 posts

So both the pictures' differences are just the hair cut? If you notice, the dog-food brand CASER also has a Westie logo and that look handsome but some other Westies look much skinnier like the one in the second pict on Wikipedia.

Example, look at Brody's picture at http://www.dogbreedinfo.com/westhighlandphotos2.htm

This post has been edited by Pennywise: Jul 11 2006, 11:56 PM
sx_wayne
post Jul 12 2006, 12:07 AM

543 posts

Westie is really a cute dog...if not expensive may ask my aunt to consider one huh?hehe...
crazymouse_yyh
post Jul 12 2006, 12:08 AM

12,047 posts

The original look is the Westie wearing the Clan Campbell tartan. Brody is a puppy, he has not grown his full coat yet.

The one in Caser dog food is lion cut fur.... all dogs will look nice with grooming. My friend's friend's Westie looks like the Westie wearing the Clan Campbell tartan, that is how a pure Westie should look like loh. Lion cut is where the body fur is striped off to make it short, then the head fur is retained to give the Lion look.

A Westie in ungroomed fur

Natural look

Lion Cut
nezumitaro
post Jul 12 2006, 12:15 AM

Taro: I am the KING, all GERBILS are MINE!!
4,711 posts

loll i think once come to shower.. all of them will looks skinny!! biggrin.gif
nairud
post Jul 12 2006, 12:16 AM

One Leg Kick Ultra
7,529 posts

Somemore one must remember usually there's diff size in a dog because one is nurtured into a show quality dog and one is used as a companion dog.... there are diff in both of them
crazymouse_yyh
post Jul 12 2006, 12:20 AM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(nairud @ Jul 12 2006, 12:16 AM)
Somemore one must remember usually there's diff size in a dog because one is nurtured into a show quality dog and one is used as a companion dog.... there are diff in both of them
Yah loh, this is true... show quality the fur thicker and the body looks compact. Muzzle also not so long I think...
crazymouse_yyh
post Jul 12 2006, 12:23 AM

12,047 posts

West Highland White Terrier Breed Standard
Terrier Group

General Appearance
The West Highland White Terrier is a small, game, well-balanced hardy looking terrier, exhibiting good showmanship, possessed with no small amount of self-esteem, strongly built, deep in chest and back ribs, with a straight back and powerful hindquarters on muscular legs, and exhibiting in marked degree a great combination of strength and activity. The coat is about two inches long, white in color, hard, with plenty of soft undercoat. The dog should be neatly presented, the longer coat on the back and sides, trimmed to blend into the shorter neck and shoulder coat. Considerable hair is left around the head to act as a frame for the face to yield a typical Westie expression.

Size, Proportion, Substance

The ideal size is eleven inches at the withers for dogs and ten inches for b****es. A slight deviation is acceptable. The Westie is a compact dog, with good balance and substance. The body between the withers and the root of the tail is slightly shorter than the height at the withers. Short-coupled and well boned. Faults--Over or under height limits. Fine boned.

Head
Shaped to present a round appearance from the front. Should be in proportion to the body.

Expression--Piercing, inquisitive, pert. Eyes--Widely set apart, medium in size, almond shaped, dark brown in color, deep set, sharp and intelligent. Looking from under heavy eyebrows, they give a piercing look. Eye rims are black. Faults--Small, full or light colored eyes. Ears--Small, carried tightly erect, set wide apart, on the top outer edge of the skull. They terminate in a sharp point, and must never be cropped. The hair on the ears is trimmed short and is smooth and velvety, free of fringe at the tips. Black skin pigmentation is preferred. Faults--Round-pointed, broad, large, ears set closely together, not held tightly erect, or placed too low on the side of the head.

Skull--Broad, slightly longer than the muzzle. not flat on top but slightly domed between the ears. It gradually tapers to the eyes. There is a defined stop, eyebrows are heavy. Faults--Long or narrow skull. Muzzle--Blunt, slightly shorter than the skull, powerful and gradually tapering to the nose, which is large and black. The jaws are level and powerful. Lip pigment is black. Faults--Muzzle longer than skull. Nose color other than black. Bite--The teeth are large for the size of the dog. There must be six incisor teeth between the canines of both lower and upper jaws. An occasional missing premolar is acceptable. A tight scissors bite with upper incisors slightly overlapping the lower incisors or level mouth is equally acceptable. Faults--Teeth defective or misaligned. Any incisors missing or several premolars missing. Teeth overshot or undershot.

Neck, Topline, Body
Neck--Muscular and well set on sloping shoulders. The length of neck should be in proportion to the remainder of the dog. Faults--Neck too long or too short. Topline--Flat and level, both standing and moving. Faults--High rear, any deviation from above. Body--Compact and of good substance. Ribs deep and well arched in the upper half of rib, extending at least to the elbows, and presenting a flattish side appearance. Back ribs of considerable depth, and distance from last rib to upper thigh as short as compatible with free movement of the body. Chest very deep and extending to the elbows, with breadth in proportion to the size of the dog. Loin short, broad and strong. Faults--Back weak, either too long or too short. Barrel ribs, ribs above elbows. Tail--Relatively short, with good substance, and shaped like a carrot. When standing erect it is never extended above the top of the skull. It is covered with hard hair without feather, as straight as possible, carried gaily but not curled over the back. The tail is set on high enough so that the spine does not slope down to it. The tail is never docked. Faults--Set too low, long, thin, carried at half-mast, or curled over back.

Forequarters
Angulation, Shoulders--Shoulder blades are well laid back and well knit at the backbone. The shoulder blade should attach to an upper arm of moderate length, and sufficient angle to allow for definite body overhang. Faults--Steep or loaded shoulders. Upper arm too short or too straight. Legs--Forelegs are muscular and well boned. relatively short, but with sufficient length to set the dog up so as not to be too close to the ground. The legs are reasonably straight, and thickly covered with short hard hair. They are set in under the shoulder blades with definite body overhang before them. Height from elbow to withers and elbow to ground should be approximately the same. Faults--Out at elbows. Light bone, fiddle-front. Feet--Forefeet are larger than the hind ones, are round, proportionate in size, strong, thickly padded; they may properly be turned out slightly. Dewclaws may be removed. Black pigmentation is most desirable on pads of all feet and nails, although nails may lose coloration in older dogs.

Hindquarters
Angulation--Thighs are very muscular, well angulated, not set wide apart, with hock well bent, short, and parallel when viewed from the rear. Legs--Rear legs are muscular and relatively short and sinewy. Faults-- Weak hocks, long hocks, lack of angulation. Cowhocks. Feet--Hind feet are smaller than front feet, and are thickly padded. Dewclaws may be removed.

Coat
Very important and seldom seen to perfection. Must be double-coated. The head is shaped by plucking the hair, to present the round appearance. The outer coat consists of straight hard white hair, about two inches long, with shorter coat on neck and shoulders, properly blended and trimmed to blend shorter areas into furnishings, which are longer on stomach and legs. The ideal coat is hard, straight and white, but a hard straight coat which may have some wheaten tipping is preferable to a white fluffy or soft coat. Furnishings may be somewhat softer and longer but should never give the appearance of fluff. Faults--Soft coat. Any silkiness or tendency to curl. Any open or single coat, or one which is too short.

Color
The color is white, as defined by the breed's name. Faults--Any coat color other than white. Heavy wheaten color.

Gait
Free, straight and easy all around. It is a distinctive gait, not stilted, but powerful, with reach and drive. In front the leg is freely extended forward by the shoulder. When seen from the front the legs do not move square, but tend to move toward the center of gravity. The hind movement is free, strong and fairly close. The hocks are freely flexed and drawn close under the body, so that when moving off the foot the body is thrown or pushed forward with some force. Overall ability to move is usually best evaluated from the side, and topline remains level. Faults--Lack of reach in front, and/or drive behind. Stiff, stilted or too wide movement.

Temperament
Alert, gay, courageous and self-reliant, but friendly. Faults--Excess timidity or excess pugnacity.

Taken from http://www.akc.org/breeds/west_highland_wh...rrier/index.cfm
TSPennywise
post Jul 12 2006, 12:43 AM

5,796 posts

QUOTE(sx_wayne @ Jul 12 2006, 12:07 AM)
Westie is really a cute dog...if not expensive may ask my aunt to consider one huh?hehe...
Lol, that's the main reason I bought them. Oh yea, Chris called already. Thanks man.
wizardboy
post Jul 12 2006, 09:25 AM

436 posts

westie are cute. i almost planning to get one for my gf. they look like maltese abit with pointed ears. but too bad la they fall under terrier, my gf will have hard time with them. anyway..our maltese too adorable now, and she can learn very very fast.
CrazyNut
post Jul 12 2006, 01:01 PM

434 posts

Nice choice Penny. My old dog was a Westie cross Maltese, and he possessed the best traits out of the 2 breeds. Smart, witty and relatively obedient, though the barking can be a problem.

So far I've come across 3 Westies in 3 different petshops, though they are rare indeed. Perhaps you can try Pets Wonderland in 1U, and another one in Petaling Street. I can't remember where I saw the third one...they carry pricey tags though, bout RM3k+.

This post has been edited by CrazyNut: Jul 12 2006, 01:01 PM
TSPennywise
post Jul 12 2006, 06:08 PM

5,796 posts

Thanks for the guide you posted, crazymouse_yyh. I read that already. Anyway, thank you.

Am I the only one interested with a Westie here? Anyone with a Westie and a story to share?
CrazyNut
post Jul 12 2006, 11:12 PM

434 posts

I just saw a male Westie for sale in Petaling Street, going at RM3880.

I think I've come across another thread on Westie in this section..
nairud
post Jul 13 2006, 11:03 AM

One Leg Kick Ultra
7,529 posts

Actually, it should be asked inthe Terrier thread smile.gif

Petaling street pet shops are a no no.
TSPennywise
post Jul 13 2006, 01:14 PM

5,796 posts

Basically all the terrier breeds are about the same, is it? If so, I can just close this thread and go to the terrier threads for my questions.

Yea, I dont trust petaling street pet stores too!
nairud
post Jul 13 2006, 07:45 PM

One Leg Kick Ultra
7,529 posts

ahhaha..i guess you can maintain this thread coz groovemaster , me and few more guys are JRT owners. tongue.gif
TSPennywise
post Jul 13 2006, 07:45 PM

5,796 posts

What can I expect from a MKA cert?

A petstore is trying to sell me a Westie pup for 2.3k next week (is the 8th week), claiming that both its parents are imported, champion's breed. Unfortunately, the petstore owner say that dam and the sire is in Perak - he cannot let me meet the breeder.

*Understandable since he is middleman, wanna earn some money. But how can I know for sure that the puppy's parents are purebreed, imported or champion line??

Is it written in the certification? How to distinguish a truth and a lie?

Please help.

This post has been edited by Pennywise: Jul 13 2006, 07:46 PM
sup3rfly
post Jul 13 2006, 07:56 PM

Techno Slave
1,561 posts

hey penny my fren's brother still hasnt call u up yet? sweat.gif

This post has been edited by sup3rfly: Jul 13 2006, 07:57 PM
nairud
post Jul 13 2006, 08:03 PM

One Leg Kick Ultra
7,529 posts

QUOTE(Pennywise @ Jul 13 2006, 07:45 PM)
What can I expect from a MKA cert?

A petstore is trying to sell me a Westie pup for 2.3k next week (is the 8th week), claiming that both its parents are imported, champion's breed. Unfortunately, the petstore owner say that dam and the sire is in Perak - he cannot let me meet the breeder.

*Understandable since he is middleman, wanna earn some money. But how can I know for sure that the puppy's parents are purebreed, imported or champion line??

Is it written in the certification? How to distinguish a truth and a lie?

Please help.
MKA cert is just to show that the dog is 100% purebreed with 4 generations family tree.

For you to make sure it's imported or champion line, call up MKA and ask for the kennel name or ask for the sire and dam's m/chip no to verify

jhcj
post Jul 13 2006, 08:17 PM

TK 20682
2,357 posts

Penny!! You're into Westies as well?!?!?!

Owning a westie is my ultimate goal when I have a home of my own in the future. I absolutely love terriers (my current one is also a terrier), and there's no better terrier breed than the westie. smile.gif

I can handle a barkish furkid alright. Mine knows how to zip it when I say "enough". laugh.gif
sup3rfly
post Jul 13 2006, 08:27 PM

Techno Slave
1,561 posts

QUOTE(jhcj @ Jul 13 2006, 08:17 PM)

Owning a westie is my ultimate goal when I have a home of my own in the future. I absolutely love terriers (my current one is also a terrier), and there's no better terrier breed than the westie. smile.gif

I can handle a barkish furkid alright. Mine knows how to zip it when I say "enough". laugh.gif
same here...i will get a westie when i have my own home... i cant even get a puppy now coz i m staying in a condo in shah alam rclxub.gif
nairud
post Jul 13 2006, 09:20 PM

One Leg Kick Ultra
7,529 posts

then i requote you that there's no better terriers than a Jack Russell Terrier tongue.gif
jhcj
post Jul 13 2006, 09:23 PM

TK 20682
2,357 posts

QUOTE(nairud @ Jul 13 2006, 09:20 PM)
then i requote you that there's no better terriers than a Jack Russell Terrier tongue.gif
>_>

Ok lah...ALL terriers are awesome. biggrin.gif
nairud
post Jul 13 2006, 09:27 PM

One Leg Kick Ultra
7,529 posts

(;_;)

darn funny
TSPennywise
post Jul 13 2006, 11:49 PM

5,796 posts

QUOTE(sup3rfly @ Jul 13 2006, 07:56 PM)
hey penny my fren's brother still hasnt call u up yet?  sweat.gif
Hmmm... your friend would be Chris right? Is it? I think he called but I forgot what he said already. So many people has been calling me and I have been calling so many people. So in the end, I only remember one lady and this one petstore my friend recommended. The others told me to wait... WAIT wat la, I dont have the patience man.

Since Chris is your friend, can you call him and ask him what he said to me? Refresh my memory since I've forgotten.

QUOTE(nairud @ Jul 13 2006, 08:03 PM)
MKA cert is just to show that the dog is 100% purebreed with 4 generations family tree.

For you to make sure it's imported or champion line, call up MKA and ask for the kennel name or ask for the sire and dam's m/chip no to verify
Okay, so I just have to make sure that the pup I get is MKA certified - to prove it's 100% purebreed with 4 generations family tree.

How to make sure import or champion line? Call up MKA and ask for kennel name? I do understand when you say ask for the sire and dam's microchipped no to be verified. But how to if I dont get to see the dam and the sire?

Yea, suddenly, I am into dogs... Was never into pets even! Westie is just handsome la... I will use it to kowlui! Bwahahahahaha... Now, I only got 3 worries - barking, pooing and peeing.

QUOTE(sup3rfly @ Jul 13 2006, 08:27 PM)
same here...i will get a westie when i have my own home... i cant even get a puppy now coz i m staying in a condo in shah alam  rclxub.gif
Lolx, I dont even have my own place but what the heck man. You want the dog, it does not matter where you live mar, right? Love it enough to just buy it!
nairud
post Jul 13 2006, 11:53 PM

One Leg Kick Ultra
7,529 posts

QUOTE(Pennywise @ Jul 13 2006, 11:49 PM)
How to make sure import or champion line? Call up MKA and ask for kennel name? I do understand when you say ask for the sire and dam's microchipped no to be verified. But how to if I dont get to see the dam and the sire?
Usually if ppl import champion dogs into msia, i'm sure they'd want to breed them and to breed them i'm sure they would change the ownership to them.

You can get the no and ask MKA whether is it a champion or not. i'm not sure.
nezumitaro
post Jul 14 2006, 12:26 AM

Taro: I am the KING, all GERBILS are MINE!!
4,711 posts

maybe u can ask the owner to fax over the parents pedigree..so u will be able to see... get the owner names too, so u can call up MKA ask if this owner having pups n register under these pair of doggie. explain that u r going to buy a pup from them, just would like to check. then mka should help u.

in the pedigree u will able to see if the parents are with CH title, n also is in imported.

This post has been edited by nezumitaro: Jul 14 2006, 12:27 AM
sup3rfly
post Jul 14 2006, 12:43 AM

Techno Slave
1,561 posts

QUOTE(Pennywise @ Jul 13 2006, 11:49 PM)
Hmmm... your friend would be Chris right? Is it? I think he called but I forgot what he said already. So many people has been calling me and I have been calling so many people. So in the end, I only remember one lady and this one petstore my friend recommended. The others told me to wait... WAIT wat la, I dont have the patience man.

Since Chris is your friend, can you call him and ask him what he said to me? Refresh my memory since I've forgotten.

Lolx, I dont even have my own place but what the heck man. You want the dog, it does not matter where you live mar, right? Love it enough to just buy it!
yeah his name is chris... i will try to call n ask him again.... i cant rare a puppy coz i m staying in shah alam.... i heard that shah alam cant rare puppy in apartments cry.gif

This post has been edited by sup3rfly: Jul 14 2006, 12:44 AM
TSPennywise
post Jul 14 2006, 01:38 AM

5,796 posts

QUOTE(nezumitaro @ Jul 14 2006, 12:26 AM)
maybe u can ask the owner to fax over the parents pedigree..so u will be able to see... get the owner names too, so u can call up MKA ask if this owner having pups n register under these pair of doggie.  explain that u r going to buy a pup from them, just would like to check.  then mka should help u.

in the pedigree u will able to see if the parents are with CH title, n also is in imported.
Hahaha... thanks a lot man! =) Appreciated. I will call up MKA to double check. Thanks!
crazymouse_yyh
post Jul 14 2006, 02:48 AM

12,047 posts

Hahah... best to call.

I once almost bought a MS.... well, at first the breeder said so much good things about himself... but after chatting with the breeder, realise not a true homebreeder. I mean, if you are a dog breeder, you will only concentrate on 1 breed rite? Well, it was shocking to know the breeder breeds poodles, MS, shih tzus and also buys dogs from puppymills and sells them as his own dogs.... and this breeder is from MKA also... summore the breeder boasted about how beautiful and high quality his MS was and it was imported from a very popular champion line but when I googled, champion line also is other breed in taiwan but same kennel lah. Summore boasted that his dogs are far far better than the show dogs in MKA dog shows...... but when see pic, looks like normal MS to me hahahah....And when asked for parent dogs pictures he say don't have. So how to trust?

Why I stated that? Just be careful, even with MKA breeders, do question them and best if to view the dogs personally. Get comfortable and talk all you want about the breed. If the breeder breeds more than 2 or 3 types of breeds, then better not get coz he or she would be more commercialize than breeding on qualities of a dog. If you call and seems the breeder has no knowledge, means it could be the person is selling for someone else... well, these things happen lah here. Once I got a number from MKA, go there to see the dog, realise it is Puppy Mill. Yups, puppy mills do get MKA dogs and their numbers are listed in MKA directory. MKA doesn't know bout this coz they can't track every breeder in Malaysia... so best we do reseach on our own first.

This post has been edited by crazymouse_yyh: Jul 14 2006, 02:50 AM
cavien
post Jul 14 2006, 10:03 AM

75 posts

QUOTE(Pennywise @ Jul 10 2006, 02:53 AM)
A couple of days ago, I started a thread wondering which pet-dog should I get. In the end of the discussion, I settled with the idea of buying a West Highland White Terrier also known as Westie.

What I didnt know is that, this dog is quite rare in M'sia. I searched The Star's Classifieds but there was none. Looked back through into two weeks old newspapers but there's none to be found. I asked a few (7 - 8) petstore in Klang but none of them can help me.

If you guys or girls know any Westie owners or breeders who has a puppy, please let me know.

I am looking for:
- MALE puppy
- PURE breed
- Age of 2 - 4 MONTHS old

If I cannot find any local breeders by the end of this week. I will ask my cousin in Australia to help me find a breeder and fly it back with them when they come back in Aug' 06.

If all else fails, I will just have to import them back via air-freight. Locally, I have relatives and friends who owns freight company that can do the cargo clearance for me at the airport.

For any other Westie lovers, if you are interested, you can bulk purchase with me. I do not know how much the overall cost might be yet but if you are interested, drop me a PM and I will let you guys know.

I am calling up MAS cargo dept for more information on pets import tomorrow. Thanks in advance on any help that you guys can provide me with on a Westie. Appreciated.
i also wanna find a terrier i think is austrialia one ...if you get any try to give me a call at +60162905290 inform me do you have import some , pls inform me ..i need your help to import too, and pls do let me know the price ....thx thumbup.gif

0.0246sec    0.98    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 08:29 PM