West Highland White Terrier aka Westie, Importing it... soon!

TSPennywise
post Jul 10 2006, 02:53 AM, updated 20y ago

5,796 posts

A couple of days ago, I started a thread wondering which pet-dog should I get. In the end of the discussion, I settled with the idea of buying a West Highland White Terrier also known as Westie.

What I didnt know is that, this dog is quite rare in M'sia. I searched The Star's Classifieds but there was none. Looked back through into two weeks old newspapers but there's none to be found. I asked a few (7 - 8) petstore in Klang but none of them can help me.

If you guys or girls know any Westie owners or breeders who has a puppy, please let me know.

I am looking for:
- MALE puppy
- PURE breed
- Age of 2 - 4 MONTHS old

If I cannot find any local breeders by the end of this week. I will ask my cousin in Australia to help me find a breeder and fly it back with them when they come back in Aug' 06.

If all else fails, I will just have to import them back via air-freight. Locally, I have relatives and friends who owns freight company that can do the cargo clearance for me at the airport.

For any other Westie lovers, if you are interested, you can bulk purchase with me. I do not know how much the overall cost might be yet but if you are interested, drop me a PM and I will let you guys know.

I am calling up MAS cargo dept for more information on pets import tomorrow. Thanks in advance on any help that you guys can provide me with on a Westie. Appreciated.
TSPennywise
post Jul 10 2006, 06:11 PM

5,796 posts

What makes me opt for a westie? Cause they are white and they dont shed and I like how they look like. Simple adorable.

Here's my reason:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/West_Highland_White_Terrier

Look at the picture on the right hand side which says "A West Highland White Terrier groomed with "Lion Cut""
TSPennywise
post Jul 10 2006, 07:14 PM

5,796 posts

QUOTE(sx_wayne @ Jul 10 2006, 06:20 PM)
Last time i found this kind of dog in Malaysia...& my friend said she know the breeder as well but this kind of dog is quite expensive...maybe i could ask for you if you wanna find in Malaysia...
If you could help me locate a breeder, please do. Much appreciated. Thanks!

QUOTE(crazymouse_yyh @ Jul 10 2006, 06:24 PM)
Actually this breed is barkish lah... My friend's friend has one and it is debarked under Australian law coz the dog is too noisy and barkish.... so if you can stand barks here and there, train it to be less yappy the should be ok.
Barkish eh? Well, I think they should be a way to overcome that right? All we need is a little training. I'm all prepared for war with my Westie!
TSPennywise
post Jul 10 2006, 07:24 PM

5,796 posts

QUOTE(crazymouse_yyh @ Jul 10 2006, 07:18 PM)
Yah, train when young. Now my dog knows how to stop barking after I scold it Shut Up hahahah...
Woahhh, just SHUT UP will do the trick? Is that your dog in your avatar.

I have zero experience with dogs. Used to be a dog-hater too! Fell in love with a puppy Shih-Tzu in one of my recent visits to the pet store but their fur pose a problem to my household, thus a Westie, but now their price pose a problem to my wallet!!
TSPennywise
post Jul 10 2006, 07:56 PM

5,796 posts

I was wondering... If you teach a dog to do their business (pee and poo) on a newspaper. The newspaper will have to be thick to sustain everything right? One day = one newspaper?

ANother thing is, if you already teach your dog to do their business on the newspaper. Then we cannot teach them to fetch the morning newspaper anymore, right?
TSPennywise
post Jul 10 2006, 11:21 PM

5,796 posts

I live in double storey terrace, moving house next year - still constructing at the moment.

Well, the problem is at my current compound, my mom use the garden to tanam her plants - those herbal plants, medicinal plants, etc. I scared if my dog pee or poo on it, my mother will kill it and cook claypot dog-meat.

I am planning to set up a play-pen for my dog whenever I go to work. Afternoon, my sister will train and play with it. At night, it will either watch TV with my granny or come play with me when I'm home. Either way, I was told that puppies sleep a lot so my worries are lessen.

If it cannot fetch the morning paper, nevermind. Important is the poo & pee problem. If they can target the newspaper, everything would be PERFECT! That is my main worry for now.
TSPennywise
post Jul 11 2006, 11:37 PM

5,796 posts

This is probably a silly question but why does the Westie have two different looks?

If you look at this website: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/West_Highland_White_Terrier

The top right picture says: A West Highland White Terrier groomed with "Lion Cut"

The bottom right picture says: Westie wearing the Clan Campbell tartan of the Duke of Argyll (with a Kilted companion)

Somehow, when I compare these two pictures, I feel they look different - WHY?

Is it because one has a longer fur and one has a shorter one?

Or one has just been groomed and the other havent?

I think the top picture Westie look pretty handsome, meanwhile the bottom picture look plain going ugly. Can anyone explain to me this issue?
TSPennywise
post Jul 11 2006, 11:52 PM

5,796 posts

So both the pictures' differences are just the hair cut? If you notice, the dog-food brand CASER also has a Westie logo and that look handsome but some other Westies look much skinnier like the one in the second pict on Wikipedia.

Example, look at Brody's picture at http://www.dogbreedinfo.com/westhighlandphotos2.htm

This post has been edited by Pennywise: Jul 11 2006, 11:56 PM
TSPennywise
post Jul 12 2006, 12:43 AM

5,796 posts

QUOTE(sx_wayne @ Jul 12 2006, 12:07 AM)
Westie is really a cute dog...if not expensive may ask my aunt to consider one huh?hehe...
Lol, that's the main reason I bought them. Oh yea, Chris called already. Thanks man.
TSPennywise
post Jul 12 2006, 06:08 PM

5,796 posts

Thanks for the guide you posted, crazymouse_yyh. I read that already. Anyway, thank you.

Am I the only one interested with a Westie here? Anyone with a Westie and a story to share?
TSPennywise
post Jul 13 2006, 01:14 PM

5,796 posts

Basically all the terrier breeds are about the same, is it? If so, I can just close this thread and go to the terrier threads for my questions.

Yea, I dont trust petaling street pet stores too!
TSPennywise
post Jul 13 2006, 07:45 PM

5,796 posts

What can I expect from a MKA cert?

A petstore is trying to sell me a Westie pup for 2.3k next week (is the 8th week), claiming that both its parents are imported, champion's breed. Unfortunately, the petstore owner say that dam and the sire is in Perak - he cannot let me meet the breeder.

*Understandable since he is middleman, wanna earn some money. But how can I know for sure that the puppy's parents are purebreed, imported or champion line??

Is it written in the certification? How to distinguish a truth and a lie?

Please help.

This post has been edited by Pennywise: Jul 13 2006, 07:46 PM
TSPennywise
post Jul 13 2006, 11:49 PM

5,796 posts

QUOTE(sup3rfly @ Jul 13 2006, 07:56 PM)
hey penny my fren's brother still hasnt call u up yet?  sweat.gif
Hmmm... your friend would be Chris right? Is it? I think he called but I forgot what he said already. So many people has been calling me and I have been calling so many people. So in the end, I only remember one lady and this one petstore my friend recommended. The others told me to wait... WAIT wat la, I dont have the patience man.

Since Chris is your friend, can you call him and ask him what he said to me? Refresh my memory since I've forgotten.

QUOTE(nairud @ Jul 13 2006, 08:03 PM)
MKA cert is just to show that the dog is 100% purebreed with 4 generations family tree.

For you to make sure it's imported or champion line, call up MKA and ask for the kennel name or ask for the sire and dam's m/chip no to verify
Okay, so I just have to make sure that the pup I get is MKA certified - to prove it's 100% purebreed with 4 generations family tree.

How to make sure import or champion line? Call up MKA and ask for kennel name? I do understand when you say ask for the sire and dam's microchipped no to be verified. But how to if I dont get to see the dam and the sire?

QUOTE(jhcj @ Jul 13 2006, 08:17 PM)
Penny!! You're into Westies as well?!?!?!

Owning a westie is my ultimate goal when I have a home of my own in the future. I absolutely love terriers (my current one is also a terrier), and there's no better terrier breed than the westie. smile.gif

I can handle a barkish furkid alright. Mine knows how to zip it when I say "enough". laugh.gif
Yea, suddenly, I am into dogs... Was never into pets even! Westie is just handsome la... I will use it to kowlui! Bwahahahahaha... Now, I only got 3 worries - barking, pooing and peeing.

QUOTE(sup3rfly @ Jul 13 2006, 08:27 PM)
same here...i will get a westie when i have my own home... i cant even get a puppy now coz i m staying in a condo in shah alam  rclxub.gif
Lolx, I dont even have my own place but what the heck man. You want the dog, it does not matter where you live mar, right? Love it enough to just buy it!
TSPennywise
post Jul 14 2006, 01:38 AM

5,796 posts

QUOTE(nezumitaro @ Jul 14 2006, 12:26 AM)
maybe u can ask the owner to fax over the parents pedigree..so u will be able to see... get the owner names too, so u can call up MKA ask if this owner having pups n register under these pair of doggie.  explain that u r going to buy a pup from them, just would like to check.  then mka should help u.

in the pedigree u will able to see if the parents are with CH title, n also is in imported.
Hahaha... thanks a lot man! =) Appreciated. I will call up MKA to double check. Thanks!

0.0196sec    0.46    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 01:53 PM