News ROG GL552VW i7-6700HQ GTX960m 128GB FHD W10 ~ 4399, XPS15 6300HQ GTX960,4K infinityEdge~6699
jusuchin85
Mar 12 2014, 03:03 PM

Hi sifus, Planning to grab a Y510P at the end of this month. Would like to clarify something from everyone here. The plan:- Install an SSD as the main drive, migrate Windows 8 to SSD and then use the 1TB HDD (in Ultrabay + HDD caddy) as a secondary drive for data. - A dual-boot setup with Ubuntu 13.10 for work (Windows for play). My question on this regard would be the SSD installation itself on our locally distributed Y510Ps: I see some suggested to get the MyDigitalSSD 128GB 42mm SATA III 6G M.2 NGFF SSD. I've seen some great reviews there. Then there's the Samsung Electronics 840 EVO-Series 120GB 2.5-Inch SATA III. - Would I be able to install the Samsung one to our machines, or is it only possible to install the MyDigitalSSD M2? Thanks, all!
jusuchin85
Mar 12 2014, 03:26 PM

QUOTE(tachlio @ Mar 12 2014, 03:14 PM) The NGFF is using M2 slot, IINM the samsung will use the primary Sata3 slot. So you can install both, which is waste of $ Choose either one enough Thanks, tachlio. Yup, I was actually contemplating between the two. I've read rave reviews for the Samsung, so I was geared for that. Then, I read PennzoilGuy offered the MyDigitalSSD as an option. So, I was just confused by both, really.
jusuchin85
Mar 13 2014, 08:35 AM

QUOTE(tachlio @ Mar 12 2014, 03:14 PM) The NGFF is using M2 slot, IINM the samsung will use the primary Sata3 slot. Yea, the Samsung Evo needs a SATA-3 port to function at its best capability. A question: the internal HDD is on SATA-3, or the laptop has the SATA-3 port itself?