News ROG GL552VW i7-6700HQ GTX960m 128GB FHD W10 ~ 4399, XPS15 6300HQ GTX960,4K infinityEdge~6699

andyliew97
post Apr 23 2015, 09:31 PM

358 posts

need opinion from you guys, i own a nitro v15 ,just bought it 2weeks ago,but while i play gta v,all graphic set to high instead of very high(auto set) ,sometimes when i play,suddenly frames drop then i go check temperature, i realized my cpu temp around 93.. can i know will i able to replace the thermal with a better one at the shop i bought this laptop or acer service center ?really tak tahan la ,any game i play, temp 90+ confirm thermal throttling D:

edit: no cooling fan ,but i put small box on all sides to elevated the laptop higher abit to get proper vent and use it in air condition room,still the same thing, only get hot slower
btw is the fan as per attached really can help much? probably want to buy one as im going to further study and the room i rent no aircond

This post has been edited by andyliew97: Apr 23 2015, 10:09 PM

andyliew97
post Apr 24 2015, 10:07 AM

358 posts

QUOTE(zuhaili87 @ Apr 23 2015, 10:33 PM)
I use nitro before, my suggestion is just raise the back part of the laptop a lil bit higher, then you're good to go. No need to raise all sides. Just the back part since thats where the fan is. nod.gif btw do u play games on room temperature or aircond room? Your temperature is a bit high. I remember last time i dont even get to 90'C when gaming on ultra settings. nod.gif
I play in room temperature and sit under ceiling fan, the laptop is still elevated that time,still can get hot so easily. Tried in aircond room bur that time didn't elevate it but still get hot p.s laptop is very near to aircond lol
andyliew97
post Apr 24 2015, 10:58 AM

358 posts

QUOTE(AthrunIJ @ Apr 23 2015, 11:06 PM)
How about trying the fan speed thing (If it still works.)

Link : https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3489863 << Acer Nitro thread. I think it is post 1.
wah thanks bro,really works hhaha..
btw if i gaming for like 2 hours a day and max out the fan speed manually, won't this will shorten the laptop lifespan?
andyliew97
post Apr 24 2015, 12:02 PM

358 posts

QUOTE(JungWoo @ Apr 24 2015, 11:07 AM)
huh? just 2 hour gaming  notworthy.gif
it's a laptop bro and i need to take care of this laptop until i finish my study ..
and i read somewhere there state that gaming too long will reduce lifespan and avg 2hours a day should be ok
andyliew97
post Apr 24 2015, 01:24 PM

358 posts

QUOTE(AthrunIJ @ Apr 24 2015, 12:09 PM)
Nono, since you max the fan speed. The fan life span is shorten and if you take care of your laptop it will last you a long time.
Alright thanks bro hehe now i can back to 60fps gaming biggrin.gif
andyliew97
post May 23 2015, 06:16 PM

358 posts

Anyone know what is the max ram supported by acer v nitro? 860m version.. Currently 8gb,thinking of maxing it,but will it void warranty if i send to the shop where i brought it to upgrade? Or need send to highpoint?
andyliew97
post May 24 2015, 10:09 AM

358 posts

QUOTE(AthrunIJ @ May 23 2015, 11:17 PM)
Most likely 16GB max.
Don't think it will void warranty if you add in yourself  hmm.gif  hmm.gif
i see, thanks anyway..
it's hassle to access to the ram section on this laptop so i better leave it to the shop to open it up rather than me screwing up anything inside(maybe).
so if i replace the thermal by myself it should not be a problem right ?
andyliew97
post May 24 2015, 04:48 PM

358 posts

QUOTE(AthrunIJ @ May 24 2015, 10:39 AM)
Replacing the thermal paste would be more hard than replacing RAM. i think you let the shop fellow do it when adding RAM but do it in front of you.
alright.. thanks

0.1480sec    0.55    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 10:53 AM