LYN - Subaru AWD (xv/forester) Owners Discussion, *plan to get subaru? ask the owners!*

Subang Nuclear Reactor
post Feb 7 2016, 12:23 PM

165 posts

QUOTE(sunnyckh @ Feb 6 2016, 05:58 PM)
Good day all, currently driving a Mazda3 (previous ver) due to having high mileage (190k) so i start seeking for new car...i have test drive XV, HRV, Cx-5...shift to suv coz im a weekend cyclist i prefer convenient for me to put a bike

HRV is bored to drive, no surprise, but front well equipped with modern design
Cx-5 is good but 2.0 seems lacking power, steering extremely light (i prefer heavier like mazda3) and dont make me feel like zoom zoom anymore
*both HRV n Cx5 i can put my road bike vertically after take out front wheel which mean space wise

XV driving pleasure is close to my ride now, pickup fast, ignore the dated interior, good handling, wind noise sure noticeable (my mz3 noticeable after 100km/h), my friend sit at rear seat told quite goyang whenever i turn (the leather seat is slippery i assumed), poor sound proof as sound from outside was noticeable, rear boot i can't put my bike vertically but is acceptable...

My heart goes to Subaru XV, currently Subaru having promo (2015 stock) and i get quoted 113k for premium and 120k for STI ver...so i seeking opinion from owners here is it worth to take STI version with 7k top up (even this STI w/o engine tuning)?
is this the price for pre facelift or the facelift version, i assume it's prefacelift right

Subang Nuclear Reactor
post Feb 7 2016, 12:25 PM

165 posts

btw i also planned on getting a somewhat soft road or off tarmac capable SUV for logging road and construction sites, compared between sportage 4wd, and xtrial and xv, i've test driven sportage but it dissapoint me, xtrial feels ok but i kinda still love the sporty look on XV more, anyone took their XV off tarmac and can give some review how it performs, i dont have friends or family that drives XV so i can't bring it off road

i assume showroom wont let me do it also hahahaha
Subang Nuclear Reactor
post Feb 13 2016, 10:27 AM

165 posts

QUOTE(cherasmari @ Feb 10 2016, 12:34 AM)
Hi everyone,

Tried searching in this forum about after-market keyless entry and push start topic but didn't find any.

Have any of you guys have had it installed in their XV or have research for intention to do so?

icon_question.gif
how bout remote start ? brows.gif

https://www.viper.com/smartstart/systems.aspx
Subang Nuclear Reactor
post Feb 15 2016, 04:46 PM

165 posts

QUOTE(keano82 @ Feb 15 2016, 10:59 AM)
I suggest you to test drive XV at Motion Beyond Setia Alam. The SA will bring you test off road condition.
No need liao, loan for xv sti already approve, collect car soon hahahaa
Subang Nuclear Reactor
post Feb 17 2016, 10:54 PM

165 posts

QUOTE(anykti @ Feb 16 2016, 11:39 AM)
The STI package is just cosmetics but the XV does look better with the STI package.
A few from the FB group actually went offroad near Ulu Yam, u can search for the post & pics once u join the group.
looking at all the mods u did drool.gif

already kena poison liao

btw anyone in the group raised suspension for XV and put skid plate ?

if cannot source locally i think need to ship the kits from australia liao, damn expensive
Subang Nuclear Reactor
post Mar 8 2016, 04:20 PM

165 posts

just collected my car
something to share
car is definitely solid, feels good and rigid when going through pot holes and climbing tembok for parking
wheels planted when going through sands
but there are some flaw, the HU feels cheap, side mirror adjusting knob is wobbling, number plates simply tampal using double sided tapes and half dangling, even though these does not affect performance and safety, but if can improve in fit and finish then it's really a perfect car, i like the layout of the interior tho im not sure why people say its dated, it is definitely better than the 2.0 CX-5 that i test drove before purchasing this car laugh.gif

now time for mods laugh.gif rclxms.gif

Subang Nuclear Reactor
post Mar 16 2016, 05:13 PM

165 posts

QUOTE(pai3355 @ Mar 15 2016, 11:09 AM)
congrats and enjoy the ride. Make sure u check tyre alignment or try adjust to 'sport mode' at tyre shop for different feel  icon_rolleyes.gif
wah sport mode
usually i did my alignment back at SC de wo, even though i know price confirm kena chop but i had once a bad experience at outside shop then i recon they might not have knowledge to adjust all car ? laugh.gif
Subang Nuclear Reactor
post Mar 27 2016, 01:48 AM

165 posts

QUOTE(kentzhailee @ Mar 27 2016, 01:32 AM)
just got my XV for one week , had to send back to Service centre for at least 3 working days due to reverse camera wiring .
facelifted or prefacelift car you got ?

very sien la CKD cars nowadays, my honda also alternator sot in few weeks after collect car

now XV almost 1k mileage going for first service lucky everything still fine
Subang Nuclear Reactor
post Mar 30 2016, 09:38 PM

165 posts

QUOTE(LongExp @ Mar 30 2016, 09:19 PM)
yeah, i m aware of this. just checking if anyone tried & experience any difference. not necessarily more power.

somehow my personal experience on my 12yrs old kembara 1.3 dvvt starts to hv pinging after few years on 95. the pinging gone after few months of 97. then i use back 95, the engine sound rough. 

i m not saying 97 for sure is better.  after asking around friends,  it seems like new cars are less likely to feel any difference.
i think the benefits of 97 over 95 in our case should be just 'cleaner' fuel, or better additives, maybe your engine will experience less wear, but then i think for the price difference it does not justify it laugh.gif

the higher octane certainly does not do anything, but i think 97 uses slightly better additives, maybe

This post has been edited by Subang Nuclear Reactor: Mar 30 2016, 09:40 PM
Subang Nuclear Reactor
post Apr 9 2016, 02:47 AM

165 posts

QUOTE(LongExp @ Apr 9 2016, 01:46 AM)
while house keeping photos in my phone, i found a screenshot of price after GST on Apr 2015 from <link removed>.
price for xv sti w/o insurance was 126k++. for mine is like 139k++ before discount. 

wow...  price really  increase 13k or 10%+ over almost 1 yr or markup for discount?
Original price memang 139
126 is with discount
And now get even more discount
Subang Nuclear Reactor
post Apr 16 2016, 10:51 AM

165 posts

QUOTE(gs20 @ Apr 16 2016, 10:45 AM)
Thanks!

My appointment is 45 minutes away.  biggrin.gif
I'm still contemplating between the XV 2015 vs the enhanced ASX 2016 though.
xv is a more capable car overall, except maybe space wise, lose out to ASX
Subang Nuclear Reactor
post Apr 16 2016, 06:48 PM

165 posts

QUOTE(LongExp @ Apr 16 2016, 03:31 PM)
i choose xv mainly bcos of the unique boxer engine & symmetrical AWD and the 5 digits discount for 2015 stock.

Many commented of the dated dashboard. somehow i love the simplicity much more than the modern design like Altis, Vios or City which i personally find it too bulky.

one shud take note buying a car firsr consider the ride (engine & handling)  & cosmetic/accessories is secondary because when u r driving, what u see is just the windscreen ;-)
i got both the new city with touch air cond control and XV, and TBH, XV one more practical, the touch screen control really takes away a lot of attention from the road
door panels and all also XV one look better, at least to me. maybe i just cannot get used to those design of good looking but not practical interior
Subang Nuclear Reactor
post Apr 18 2016, 09:25 AM

165 posts

QUOTE(coconutzz @ Apr 18 2016, 08:10 AM)
Hey guys , I m considering the xv.. What would u suggest between  2015 or straight got 2016 model?

Also , will it be difficult / expensive to get the spare parts after foc service period?

Also, mine to share or pm where to get the best deal pls if I m looking at 2015 version?

2016 price too close to forester, if i can afford 2016 one i might as well buy forester, bigger, and with xmode
Subang Nuclear Reactor
post Apr 19 2016, 11:10 AM

165 posts

QUOTE(LongExp @ Apr 19 2016, 10:14 AM)
anyone bought the STI model here? did your salesman mention about the engine is tuned slightly higher performance?  Just curious how true is this statement or just some sweet talk.
i got the STI model, engine same 100% no difference, but handling better, high speed stability also better, due to the flexible strut bar and the actual bodykit that went through wind tunnel testing. STI also more comfy, the front leather seat is different, the cushion is much much thicker and got a red STI stitching
Subang Nuclear Reactor
post Apr 19 2016, 03:00 PM

165 posts

QUOTE(coconutzz @ Apr 19 2016, 12:19 PM)
Hey guys I was told by SA , for 2015 model, u can opt to change the odometer part and the steering to somehing similar to 2016 xv.. For rm2k++

Anyone did that?
kind of pointless if what the MFD shows is the same, the person who changed it to colorful MFD said it can't show traction condition of the tyres, what it can do is just present what our original MFD can do, only in a colorful way
Subang Nuclear Reactor
post Apr 21 2016, 07:21 PM

165 posts

QUOTE(Mr.Docter @ Apr 21 2016, 06:44 PM)
I think so, too.

Any recomendation for seller?

Also, any opinion between Premium + STi bodykit VS Sport version?
heard from SA that STi bodykit is controlled by Motor Image, they only sell to actual XV STi owners if theirs broken, i rmb someone wanted to buy from MI and they dont wanna sell.
Sports version grill looks more wild and aggressive, Premium one look a bit smooth
i think it's worth the price for XV STi afterall the front leather seat is different, the flexible strut bar, and body kits, if you were to buy all these aftermarket, they dont come with same quality, and you add up they would cost about the same also
Subang Nuclear Reactor
post Apr 21 2016, 10:24 PM

165 posts

QUOTE(LongExp @ Apr 21 2016, 10:09 PM)
i also fancy the more aggressive sport grille. anyone change? Wonder how much it cost.
AE parts and services got sell, forgot how much it cost, i think above RM600

you can take your car to outside bodykit shop let them measure and make, maybe cheaper but then quality maybe not as good
Subang Nuclear Reactor
post Apr 21 2016, 11:23 PM

165 posts

QUOTE(LongExp @ Apr 21 2016, 11:21 PM)
i will try Plasti Dip the center chrome  piece to darker color. attached a photoshop simulation

i will either go for original or non (save the $$).
nice desert khaki biggrin.gif

when i'm choosing color been torn between desert khaki and tangerine orange for very very long time

1 month later decided to choose orange, to match the orange ford ranger i got laugh.gif
Subang Nuclear Reactor
post Apr 22 2016, 09:53 AM

165 posts

QUOTE(LongExp @ Apr 22 2016, 12:22 AM)
i think we shud share our doubtful experience here for confirmation.  Mine is XV STI

- Morning cold start: some slight vibration
- 110km/h - RPM slightly over 2000.  I think the Premium i test drove is around 1600. I took note bcos SA was emphasizing this low RPM advantage.
- Sound proof, sometimes felt like the windows is not fully wound up whem motorbike pass by.
- hit the accelerator down fast (not yet flooring),  sometimes feel like very fast response but sometimes like not especially from low speed around 40km/h.
- brake rubbing sound when making small movement/adjustment during parking.
- reverse camera, no guide lines.
I also reverse camera no guide lines
rpm indeed sometimes 110kmh will reach 1.4k sometimes 1.1k, and the feeling you got from sudden acceleration sometimes responsive sometimes not responsive is the very famous cvt characteristic, rubber band effect, all 3 cvt cars i owned also like that one
Soundproof wise same problem like you, sometimes i thought i didnt shut the door right

QUOTE(Mr.Docter @ Apr 22 2016, 06:15 AM)
Wondering, how much do you guys fork your own money before getting the key, all inclusive?
If i rmb i did paid 600 for booking, she say refundable until i confirm the color, then apply loan for however much i want, then outstanding amount pay last as downpayment after loan approve.
Subang Nuclear Reactor
post Apr 23 2016, 11:12 PM

165 posts

QUOTE(Mr.Docter @ Apr 23 2016, 09:58 PM)
Anyone using Sport that instal STI bodykit? biggrin.gif
not easy and not cheap to find STi bodykit ooh, full set easily over 2.5k

it makes more sense to buy STI and change to sports grille laugh.gif

0.0566sec    0.66    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 10:47 PM