LYN - Subaru AWD (xv/forester) Owners Discussion, *plan to get subaru? ask the owners!*

Nitrous
post Feb 12 2014, 03:43 PM

212 posts

Hi all
Would like to ask the FXT owners here a few things, as I am interested in getting one soon to replace a souped up car of mine. Can I know a few items below, if it is not too difficult for u guys?

1) How is the servicing by MI in malaysia? Any problems with terrible service or crap attitudes from them (heard some horror stories but unsure if they are authentic or not). Are they capable of taking care of the new FB engine, or more prone to giving excuses?
2) Any problems with the car specifically? Read something on the clamp issue, but not sure what is it about. How about the CVT box (can it withstand the punishment of the high torque of the turbo) and the DI engine (do we need to run RON97 all the time?)?
3) What is the rim size, PCD and holes for the rims? I want to transfer my forged rims over, but unsure if it will fit (its a CE28N Genesis).
4) Any other issues/niggles which I should know about, part and parcel of owning this car?

I am actually more concerned about after sales servicing, as there are not a lot of Subaru service centers around Malaysia, and I am not sure if MI is capable of taking care of the latest FB engine or cars here in Malaysia. What do owners like you guys think?

Thanks a lot!
Nitrous
post Feb 12 2014, 04:29 PM

212 posts

QUOTE(joker98 @ Feb 12 2014, 04:10 PM)
1) For normal servicing, I have not had any issues to warrant a complaint. But nothing to make me jump for joy either.

2) Clamp issues exist and may cause some cars to experience knocking when pulling hard. Knocking also may be related to tuning. But after the clamps were tightened, my knocking problem improved tremendously and the engine is really sweet. The CVT is ok, and it tends to limit your off the line acceleration. But once on the move, the car is fast. Of course not GOLF R kinda fast.

3)  Ori rims are 18inchx7j 48mm offset PCD5x100

4) You need to really get the hang of the CVT to drive this car fast. It is very different to any auto or DSGs out there when you try to drive it fast. Slam the pedal down and it will be slow and most likely to protect the CVT. You need to adjust your right foot along the RPM range to bring out the max. power. If you are used to other turbo cars with DSGs you will initially think that the FXT is lethargic. But once you learn how to handle the pedal, then the CVT makes sense all of a sudden.
Thanks a lot for the reply.
My rims are 18X8J PCD5X11.43, looks like i gotta get a new set of rims then.
I actually did test the car previously, both my wife and myself quite liked it (gotta retire from souped up ah beng cars), and it does have the space we need, and the power/nimbleness which belies its size. The only worrying part is the after sales, seems like it is just a normal run-of-the-mill service centers then.
The clamp issue, is it an engine part which is supposed to clamp the engine down? There are a lot of clamps in the engine bay, but unsure which clamp are you guys describing here. I do not pull hard, but it is disconcerting to know that something might be wrong. Can it be fixed by tightening the clamp ?

0.0445sec    0.88    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 09:20 AM