Philips Crystal Vision 4300k, Will I get in trouble?
TSsaru04
Jan 11 2014, 12:22 PM, updated 12y ago
Hey guys,
I'm planning to change to Philips Crystal Vision 4300k halogen bulbs.
Will I get into any trouble during roadblocks by police or JPJ?
And is the light color yellowish white or pure white?
Thank you.
Andy0625
Jan 11 2014, 01:28 PM
It is legal to change to a more efficient halogen bulb like the Philips CV 55w 4300k. If the authorities still pull you over, just simply show them the box of it and explains to them that it is a halogen bulbs. Crystal vision will be yellowish white instead, pure white temperature is at 6000k.
In my opinion, it is pretty easy to differentiate between a HID kit and halogen bulbs. I believe the authorities is smart enough to differentiate either.
k!nex
Jan 11 2014, 03:01 PM
QUOTE(saru04 @ Jan 11 2014, 12:22 PM) Hey guys, I'm planning to change to Philips Crystal Vision 4300k halogen bulbs. Will I get into any trouble during roadblocks by police or JPJ? And is the light color yellowish white or pure white? Thank you. If JPJ stop u and accuse you of using HID, just pop your hood and show them you got no ballast for the HID. 4300k is yellowish white, not pure white. 6000k above only can see pure white light But I can tell you, from my experience of using Philips Crystal Vision lights for H4 type. It only last me for 2 years. I only on my headlights in the morning going to work every weekdays coz I leave home at 6.40am . I hardly drive at nite. This post has been edited by k!nex: Jan 11 2014, 03:03 PM
TSsaru04
Jan 11 2014, 03:04 PM
I see. Thank you for the help.
Because I went and search for images of cars with Philips CV 4300k, and the light is pure white. Some is yellowish white.
Thats why I am very confused. Haha.
I also searched up through google that there are people who receive summons from authorities for having such lights.
Is it true?
This post has been edited by saru04: Jan 11 2014, 03:05 PM
6UE5T
Jan 11 2014, 06:28 PM
QUOTE(k!nex @ Jan 11 2014, 03:01 PM) If JPJ stop u and accuse you of using HID, just pop your hood and show them you got no ballast for the HID. 4300k is yellowish white, not pure white. 6000k above only can see pure white light But I can tell you, from my experience of using Philips Crystal Vision lights for H4 type. It only last me for 2 years. I only on my headlights in the morning going to work every weekdays coz I leave home at 6.40am . I hardly drive at nite. Wah that's very short life time ler. I'm actually seriously considering this bulb also but for my HB3, so hopefully would last much longer since only used for high beam.
nzh0920
Jan 11 2014, 06:50 PM

QUOTE(k!nex @ Jan 11 2014, 03:01 PM) If JPJ stop u and accuse you of using HID, just pop your hood and show them you got no ballast for the HID. 4300k is yellowish white, not pure white. 6000k above only can see pure white light But I can tell you, from my experience of using Philips Crystal Vision lights for H4 type. It only last me for 2 years. I only on my headlights in the morning going to work every weekdays coz I leave home at 6.40am . I hardly drive at nite. no use one, they suspect u then u in trouble d, ask u bring your car go for inspection
WaCKy-Angel
Jan 11 2014, 06:54 PM
the officer will only look for the HID ballast. if they cant find it then they cant summon u.
i know coz i kena once pulled over by JPJ. my license even expired 1 day luckily they let me go without anything. just ask me to renew license
MR_alien
Jan 11 2014, 09:31 PM
h3llb0urne
Jan 11 2014, 09:50 PM
Hi Saru04
No you will not get any fine for a halogen bulb. However, the risk of getting pull over might be there.
Crystal Vision releases light yellow color, not pure white.
Not sure if you are doing this for safety purpose or cosmetic only, but Crystal Vision did not really do a great job for me in terms of lightning the road ahead. This, however is very subjective to every driver's preference. Phillips Xtreme Vision 100% on the other hand works better but light color would not be something that you sought after. Google it and take a look at the difference. I know it because I have had experience with Crystal, Diamond and Xtreme vision.
If you really insist in getting those white light and safe driving, xenon is the best. Just make sure your car is alright to install one though.
k!nex
Jan 11 2014, 10:05 PM
QUOTE(6UE5T @ Jan 11 2014, 06:28 PM) Wah that's very short life time ler. I'm actually seriously considering this bulb also but for my HB3, so hopefully would last much longer since only used for high beam. U use for high beam only. Then it should be ok I guess. Unless u high beam all day long Seriously cosmetic wise, it looks very nice. Neither white nor yellow, but in between both.
6UE5T
Jan 11 2014, 11:18 PM
QUOTE(k!nex @ Jan 11 2014, 10:05 PM) U use for high beam only. Then it should be ok I guess. Unless u high beam all day long Seriously cosmetic wise, it looks very nice. Neither white nor yellow, but in between both. Thx for your info.
overfloe
Jan 12 2014, 12:20 AM
I'm using this bulb. Very nice white with a slight hint of yellow. Nice without being rice. Not too white like Diamond Vision (5000k). You wont get pulled over because it doesn't cause any glare. If you see some pictures on the net showing crystal vision producing white beam - this is because the camera.
JBSwagger
Jan 12 2014, 12:21 AM
Using this bulb currently and it does get you into trouble with JPJ once in awhile but nothing wrong since it not HID. Most of the time they will ask you to pop the hood and just show them no ballast (HID or not also cannot tell some these JPJ people)
Just make sure you got some yellow spotlight to back you up during raining days because it does get absorb in the rain on black tarmac.
Quazacolt
Jan 12 2014, 01:21 AM
i'm on the crystal vision 4300k, used more than 2 years, never stop by jpj. only stop by jpj for my white colored drl
gbsaint
Jan 12 2014, 08:19 AM

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Jan 12 2014, 01:21 AM) i'm on the crystal vision 4300k, used more than 2 years, never stop by jpj. only stop by jpj for my white colored drl  Bro some say the lifespan is short?? If true, is it because of any underlying reason??
TSsaru04
Jan 12 2014, 12:15 PM
thanks guys for the wonderful tips and advice.
i plan to settle down for crystal vision for now because i was told it helps by giving slightly longer and wider vision compared to OEM lights.
and since its yellowish white not pure white thats just what I need.
when its just changing car bulb, it doesn't affect anything right?
because last time for my old car I installed HID, it affected my signal lights and double signal light. Like went haywire. Keep flicking fast or not working.
But if this is just changing bulb it wouldn't have all these problems right?
Quazacolt
Jan 12 2014, 06:21 PM
QUOTE(gbsaint @ Jan 12 2014, 08:19 AM) Bro some say the lifespan is short?? If true, is it because of any underlying reason?? no idea mine still alive so don't care.
overfloe
Jan 13 2014, 08:49 AM
QUOTE(saru04 @ Jan 12 2014, 01:15 PM) i plan to settle down for crystal vision for now because i was told it helps by giving slightly longer and wider vision compared to OEM lights. and since its yellowish white not pure white thats just what I need. when its just changing car bulb, it doesn't affect anything right? because last time for my old car I installed HID, it affected my signal lights and double signal light. Like went haywire. Keep flicking fast or not working. But if this is just changing bulb it wouldn't have all these problems right? just a bit brighter than OEM bulbs, wide seems similar.. installation just a straight swap. plug & play since it is using the same wattage.
ajaibman
Jan 13 2014, 10:14 AM

I used Osram Hyperwhite (claimed +5000K) H7 bulb in my previous SAvvy.... stopped on several jpj and Polis traffic roadblock because they thought its pure HID... (have to admit, savvy headlight design and H7 bulb are the best from Proton).
However after pop up the hood and shown the bulb, they let me go (even one time got another savvy stopped and clearly they can see the difference in color temp of both car).
SUSskyblu3
Jan 13 2014, 01:41 PM

QUOTE(saru04 @ Jan 11 2014, 12:22 PM) Hey guys, I'm planning to change to Philips Crystal Vision 4300k halogen bulbs. Will I get into any trouble during roadblocks by police or JPJ? And is the light color yellowish white or pure white? Thank you. Why you worry? You are in Malaysia. right?
EP6CDTM
Jan 13 2014, 01:53 PM
we've RM50 license for everything
kent1818
Feb 18 2014, 02:26 PM
QUOTE(EP6CDTM @ Jan 13 2014, 01:53 PM) we've RM50 license for everything 
kahjye
Feb 18 2014, 02:45 PM
4300k is the normal standard for the luxury cars like audi and bimers using right?
Ge[N]ez
Mar 3 2014, 10:57 AM

QUOTE(EP6CDTM @ Jan 13 2014, 01:53 PM) we've RM50 license for everything  Sometimes also if u add 10cents face also can convert the rm50 license become rm10 license.
kadajawi
Mar 3 2014, 11:41 AM
QUOTE(kahjye @ Feb 18 2014, 02:45 PM) 4300k is the normal standard for the luxury cars like audi and bimers using right? Err... They use HID, which requires headlight washers, auto leveling etc. to ensure others are not blinded. And they do not use halogen bulbs.
kahjye
Mar 3 2014, 01:18 PM
QUOTE(kadajawi @ Mar 3 2014, 11:41 AM) Err... They use HID, which requires headlight washers, auto leveling etc. to ensure others are not blinded. And they do not use halogen bulbs. My car is an accord which comes with projector headlamp. However , it uses a yellow light . Can i change its bulb color to white but not so white? Hahaha Like 4300k ones. H11 size bulb
amdxp
Mar 3 2014, 04:35 PM

If car already fitted with project headlamp it should be quite fine to put in HID correct ? I had it installed on my wife's alza since 3.5 years ago, never stopped by JPJ. But of course, I hardly drive that car out at night
kadajawi
Mar 3 2014, 05:02 PM
QUOTE(amdxp @ Mar 3 2014, 04:35 PM) If car already fitted with project headlamp it should be quite fine to put in HID correct ? I had it installed on my wife's alza since 3.5 years ago, never stopped by JPJ. But of course, I hardly drive that car out at night  No. The headlights should have auto adjustment depending on luggage. It should have headlight washers.
AmenoJaku
Mar 3 2014, 05:20 PM
QUOTE(kadajawi @ Mar 3 2014, 05:02 PM) No. The headlights should have auto adjustment depending on luggage. It should have headlight washers. How about if got manual levelling? Also cannot? And headlight washers... well shit... only lixury makes and d-segments above have those... in Msia at least. Or perhaps Msia regulation isn't as strict as Europe.
amdxp
Mar 4 2014, 09:27 AM

QUOTE(kadajawi @ Mar 3 2014, 05:02 PM) No. The headlights should have auto adjustment depending on luggage. It should have headlight washers. Is that fixed rules or something ? If there is wrong (manual) leveling for normal halogen light, even without auto leveling and headlight washers would also blind oncoming cars what ....
kadajawi
Mar 4 2014, 11:27 AM
Malaysian rules are very simple. Was the car fitted with HID from factory? Legal. Otherwise illegal.
Typically what I stated should be the rules to get approval for factory fitted systems. Malaysia is a bit more relaxed...
Halogen blinds too, but nowhere near as much as HID if set wrongly.
Also manual adjustment is better than no adjustment (which is forbidden in Germany for example).
assange
Mar 5 2014, 09:42 AM
HID 35W above required headlamp washer by law. Any HID required auto levelling by law. Some car come with only 25W so do not required washer but the light output not as bright as compared to those 35 and 55W HID.
Please note that those OEM relector headlamp designed for halogen is different with those reflector designed for HID. The reflecting angle designed in reflector type HID headlamp is different from what you think. No matter you use after market D2R HID for reflector designed for halogen based headlamp, you will still make the opposite driver uncomfortable.
fix24311
Dec 17 2014, 01:27 PM

QUOTE(ajaibman @ Jan 13 2014, 10:14 AM) I used Osram Hyperwhite (claimed +5000K) H7 bulb in my previous SAvvy.... stopped on several jpj and Polis traffic roadblock because they thought its pure HID... (have to admit, savvy headlight design and H7 bulb are the best from Proton). However after pop up the hood and shown the bulb, they let me go (even one time got another savvy stopped and clearly they can see the difference in color temp of both car). they should've summon u already, as > 5000K color temp isn't legal
akallen
Sep 7 2015, 11:35 PM

NOw days philips also comes with HID.. but it's at 4200K or 4300K.. i also Lupa lready.. anyone got experience before at roadblock?? I intend to install it on vios..which has projector headlamps.. anyone??
wyshin88
Sep 8 2015, 01:03 PM

Actually what is the purpose of head light washer for HID headlight? Can anyone explain please?
KennyKB
Sep 8 2015, 01:53 PM
QUOTE(wyshin88 @ Sep 8 2015, 01:03 PM) Actually what is the purpose of head light washer for HID headlight? Can anyone explain please? If there is dirt on the headlights the HID light will scatter and blind other drivers. The Philips Crystal Vision is not HID but halogen bulbs where colour temp has been adjusted to whiter than normal halogen. They are actually less bright than normal halogen bulbs of the same wattage so if your intention is to light the road ahead more clearly it defeats the purpose. You may also have less visibility in rain at night. If your headlights doesn't come factory installed with HID just live with it. There is no aftermarket HID conversion kit which is legal. Without auto levelling you will blind other drivers.
wyshin88
Sep 8 2015, 04:54 PM

QUOTE(KennyKB @ Sep 8 2015, 01:53 PM) If there is dirt on the headlights the HID light will scatter and blind other drivers. The Philips Crystal Vision is not HID but halogen bulbs where colour temp has been adjusted to whiter than normal halogen. They are actually less bright than normal halogen bulbs of the same wattage so if your intention is to light the road ahead more clearly it defeats the purpose. You may also have less visibility in rain at night. If your headlights doesn't come factory installed with HID just live with it. There is no aftermarket HID conversion kit which is legal. Without auto levelling you will blind other drivers. Thanks for your explanation.
:3mushy:3
Sep 8 2015, 08:36 PM
Had my share of using this. I can tell you, good luck in surviving a rainy night.
This post has been edited by :3mushy:3: Sep 8 2015, 08:36 PM
SUSnm7
Sep 8 2015, 08:44 PM

QUOTE(:3mushy:3 @ Sep 8 2015, 08:36 PM) Had my share of using this. I can tell you, good luck in surviving a rainy night. Not as bad as diamond vision la. Foggy nights are far worst a problem